Onetangi Beach Apartments
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Onetangi Beach Apartments

5-7 Fourth Avenue Onetangi Beach, Onetangi, Auckland, Waiheke Island 1081 New Zealand
Traveller (98)
Beachfront 1 bedroom with sea views
Room & Suite (43)
Beach Activities: Onetangi Beach Apartments
Pool & Beach (15)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 1 small hotel in Onetangi
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Waiheke Island holiday accommodation and conference venue on beautiful Onetangi Beach - the most beautiful beach in the Auckland region...this 2km, north facing white sandy beach is the perfect getaway. Onetangi Beach Apartments is unique with a wide range of modern accommodation for all types of travelers, all in the one location. It is the perfect base for ocean enthusiasts, nature lovers, families, couples, corporate groups, wedding parties or those just looking for a little rest and relaxation. We offer quality, fully serviced holiday accommodation with FREE WiFi, Room Service, Off-street parking and 24/7 On-site management. Our helpful staff have the local knowledge that will ensure you get the best that Waiheke has to offer, just ask us.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast in the room
Beach
Canoeing
Conference facilities
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Street parking
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Private balcony
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
331Reviews1Q+A87Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 176
  • 105
  • 30
  • 15
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
SunHol1 wrote a review Jan 2021
Auckland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Perfect location, right on Onetangi Beach - walking distance to a few restaurants and petrol station. Great value for money, the rooms are spotlessly clean with lots of unexpected extras (free use of beach towels, plunger coffee, toiletries etc) and are serviced daily. Friendly staff and a lovely relaxed feel to the overall complex. Will definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Christina Hyde, General Manager at Onetangi Beach Apartments
Responded 13 Jan 2021
Thank you so much for your lovely review! Appreciate you taking the time to write us one and especially glad that you enjoyed your stay with us on beautiful Waiheke Island! Look forward to welcoming you back :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David E wrote a review Apr 2020
Leicester, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had planned to stay here for four nights, but when our flights were cancelled due to COVID-19 issues we extended our stay to six nights. We were initially booked in a standard 1 bedroom sea-view apartment and were able to extend that for one night, but as it was already booked for the final night the managers gave us another much better room on ‘The Strand’ at a much reduced price, which was most kind. The apartments were clean, comfortable, well maintained and well equipped, and Neil and the rest of the staff so kind and helpful.
The beach at Onetangi is wonderful. There are no shops in Onetangi itself, but there is a petrol station selling some provisions and an adjacent wine shop 10 minutes walk up the hill, and also a couple of restaurants. There is a good half-hourly bus service to Ostend and Oneroa, both of which have supermarkets and other shops. It is also within easy walking distance of the Obsidian and Casita Miro vineyards, whilst many other vineyards including Te Motu, Tantalus, Cable Bay, and Mudbrick (all recommended) are easily reached by the local buses and a short walk.
We would be delighted to have the opportunity to visit this apartment hotel in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from OnetangiBeachAparts, Front Office Manager at Onetangi Beach Apartments
Responded 13 Apr 2020
Hi David, Thank you so much for your lovely informative review. It was an absolute pleasure having you and your wife stay, and we are so glad we could accommodate you for those extra few nights. Sounds like you made the most of all the world class wineries we have at our door step. Glad to hear that you are back at home safe after travelling. Will make sure Neil sees your review once we are back in the office! Looking forward to your next visit. Take care until then, Hannah
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Xplor138 wrote a review Mar 2020
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
These were fab apartments. But I’ll start with the hospitality, because Neil, the manager (and Hannah) sum up everything that makes New Zealand great: charm and genuine hospitality.

We’ll miss them, they made our final week in New Zealand, in the wake of the global coronavirus pandemic, less anxious, good humoured and high spirited.

We stayed in two apartments. One was a first floor, very spacious, one bedroom apartment with big veranda, dining area, good size kitchen with all the appliances, and living room. You could see the ocean and hear the waves breaking the beach with their soothing rhythm 24/7.

We also hired a studio (trendy design), with living area and verandas. Adequate kitchenette. Big bathroom.

We had to move to the studio because the Coronavirus situation had forced us to delay leaving New Zealand and the one bedroom apartment wasn’t available beyond the dates we originally booked.

The apartments are 60 seconds walk from a dramatic, long stretch of beach.

There are two lively restaurants and a boutique cafe a stone’s throw away, too. The cafe isn’t cheap but it is good for breakfast and light or take-away meals.

And the two restaurants have a great reputation (one called 372) and the bar-come-restaurant is also lively with a good casual menu.

This enclave in Waiheke doesn’t have a lot of shops, for that you need a ten to 15 minute taxi or bus ride. Bus stop is adjacent to the apartments.

A 6 minute walk gets you to a gas station with convenience store and small liquor outlet.

We’d come back. Comfortable. Super friendly. Close to an excellent beach. Plus some good bars / restaurants nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from OnetangiBeachAparts, Manager at Onetangi Beach Apartments
Responded 21 Mar 2020
Thanks so much for this great review. We're glad that we could help you with your stay during these trying times. Best of luck, stay safe, and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Coldsmoke99 wrote a review Jan 2022
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the ocean view apartment and a courtyard unit.

The location of both is great and the view from the apartment is sensational.

However many of the items in the apartment are nowhere near up to standard. Stuff like frying pans and knives etc are all the cheapest crap you can buy and very old. A flaking non stick frying pan is simply not acceptable at $650 per night. The fridge in our courtyard unit barley worked.

Also it seems dishwashing tablets and toilet paper are being rationed as if it were WW2.

Wifi does not work and nor did the sky TV. These issues seem known to management but clearly no desire to address.

It is a shame as with a little care and attention along with a minimal spend on the part of the owners, the experience could easily go from mediocre to excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Christina Hyde, General Manager at Onetangi Beach Apartments
Responded 8 Jan 2022
Hi Simon, I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay. The guests in your unit after you did report intermittent problems with Sky, and we did find it was simply a loose connection at the back of the Sky box, so that issue has now been rectified. Toiletries and kitchen supplies are available free of charge via our housekeepers or reception - I'm sorry if you had problems getting these. We will pass on your comments regarding the fry-pans and knives to the owners, and turn up the dial on the fridge. Cheers, Christina
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Susanne wrote a review Nov 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We travelled from Queenstown To Waiheke for our Xmas function staying at Onetangi Beach Apartments this was the perfect location and place to stay. Apartments were very clean and tidy / service was superb. The Beach was at our doorstep as well as bars and cafes. Thanks again for hosting us!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Christina Hyde, General Manager at Onetangi Beach Apartments
Responded 14 Dec 2020
Thanks so much for your review! Glad you enjoyed your stay and our wonderful location! Hopefully see you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katrina D wrote a review Mar 2021
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had an excellent stay at Onetangi Courtyard Apartments in an upstairs corner studio. Comfortable bed - nice decor and the kitchen had everything we needed for a weeks stay. The daily cleaning was great and also being able to have fresh beach towels when required was much appreciated.
The location to beach, restaurants, cafes and bus stop were perfect.
We will definitely be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Upstairs seemed to have more light and outlook.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Christina Hyde, General Manager at Onetangi Beach Apartments
Responded 8 Apr 2021
Thank you so much for your lovely review Katrina! So glad that you enjoyed your time on Waiheke and your stay with us. Be sure to contact us direct when you return for a return guest discount :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sandy6662016 wrote a review Jan 2021
Auckland Central, New Zealand
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Came by car ferry to Waiheke Island from Pine Harbour to spend a couple of days visiting vineyards and restaurants. Selected Onetangi Apartments as a base for myself and my adult son and his girlfriend. I had stayed here before and recall the enjoyable experience. The location is excellent, right across the road from the wonderful beach, and adjacent to great restaurants and bars. There is always a busy vibe around the street which makes for interesting viewing. The apartment (2 double bedrooms) was immaculate and well decorated and supplied with full kitchen/dining should one need to eat at home. Sunny and secure with parking right outside. Thoroughly enjoyable and will definitely come again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Christina Hyde, General Manager at Onetangi Beach Apartments
Responded 13 Jan 2021
Thank you so much for your great review Sandy. Appreciate you taking the time to leave one for us, and glad that you enjoyed your stay with us in what sounds like one of our Superior Strand Apartments. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nickhex wrote a review Apr 2023
Palo Alto, CA
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for a few days to kick off a New Zealand trip and were not disappointed. The apartments are right on the beach (just had to cross the street) and are very nice, with all the things we needed and plenty of space. The front office was really helpful with helping us figure things out and there was a chest full of beach toys and boogie boards to borrow, which we made good use of. The beach sand was fine and the surf was perfect for boogie and body boarding, with lots of nice hikes around Onetangi. There was a clothing washer in the room (no dryer) we made use of to avoid suits getting smelly on our 5th trip to the water. Great stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Hot tub is frequently in use so don't plan on it during popular times.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Scenic270077 wrote a review Feb 2020
Cambridge, New Zealand
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great little apartments (We stayed in the two bedroom superior), clean, comfortable, great views of the beach and a great location. Perfect for a family of four, king bed in master and twin beds in second bedroom.
A nice bonus were the beach toys and activities available to borrow at no charge, kids had a great time on the boogie boards :-) Staff were really nice and thoughtful.
The beach is lovely and safe, wish we could have stayed longer!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Superior 2 Bedroom apartment was great!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from OnetangiBeachAparts, Manager at Onetangi Beach Apartments
Responded 8 Feb 2020
Thank you so much for your lovely review. So glad you and the kids enjoyed your stay with us!! Looking forward to welcoming you back next time :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ellen M wrote a review Mar 2024
Weymouth, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I am aware that the apartments are all individually owned, so this review is only about apartment number 9.
The apartment is tired and in need of some repairs. Some of the slats were missing from the blinds in the lounge area. Half of the wardrobe in the main bedroom was locked, so very little space to put your clothes. The bed in the second room is lumpy and the blind does not close properly.
Half of the cupboards in the kitchen are locked. It seems like the owners do not really want people staying in their apartment. The microwave is so high that I had to stand on a chair to be able to use it, fine if you are over 6 feet tall though!
The housekeeping service was provided daily, but they did no cleaning and only changed towels, topped up toilet rolls and made the bed. There was a small dustpan and brush, but nothing else to enable us to keep the floor clean of sand.
The apartments are ideally located, only a couple of minutes to the beach, but because it is quite a gritty sand we were constantly walking it back in to the apartment.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Check out all the apartments and their facilities before booking. They are all individually...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Christina Hyde, General Manager at Onetangi Beach Apartments
Responded 19 Mar 2024
Thank you for your review. Sorry to read that you were not happy with your apartment. All our apartments are individually owned so some owners do have a few cupboards locked for their personal items for when they stay, however we always make sure there is still ample storage space for guests. If it was bought to our attention during we your stay we would have happily removed any extra items such as spare blankets to create further space. Sorry that you also felt the daily service was not substantial, again we would have happily addressed any issues at the time if we had been made aware. We will follow up with the Housekeeping team as to what is required for a daily service, especially for a longer stay such as your own. There was also a broom in the apartment, but may not have been spotted as it is kept beside the kitchen cupboard near the sliding doors. I hope you still enjoyed your time on Waiheke. Safe travels.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from MsWaiheke555
Auckland2 helpful votes
Hi there, I have no idea who MsWaiheke555 - but in answer to your question; we do allow pets in certain apartments. Beachfront 2 bedroom, Courtyard 2 bedroom and Ground floor studios. Please make contact with us directly so we can ensure you are in a pet-friendly apartment. 09 372 0003 Many thanks for your enquiry, Tanya
Ellen M wrote a tip Mar 2024
Weymouth, United Kingdom23 contributions13 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check out all the apartments and their facilities before booking. They are all individually owned, so have different spec."
Read full review
María N wrote a tip Feb 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Close the windows before night, because is an island and there are bugs :)"
Read full review
Lost_in_the_Pacific wrote a tip Dec 2023
Auckland Central, New Zealand21 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"The apartments are all owned by different people anx some are in slightly better state than others - not standardised so vary a lot."
Read full review
Maureen G wrote a tip Nov 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book directly with the apartment. Doing that got us an upgrade."
Read full review
Sandi wrote a tip May 2023
Waihi Beach, New Zealand5 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid courtyard units, nothing like the photos on website"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Onetangi area.
PRICE RANGE
$270 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
onetangi beach apartments hotel waiheke island
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandWaiheke IslandOnetangi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ONETANGI BEACH APARTMENTS - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Onetangi Beach Apartments
Which popular attractions are close to Onetangi Beach Apartments?
Nearby attractions include Wild on Waiheke (2.0 km), Oneroa Beach (7.2 km), and Rangihoua Estate (2.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Onetangi Beach Apartments?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and conference facilities.
Which room amenities are available at Onetangi Beach Apartments?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Onetangi Beach Apartments?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Onetangi Beach Apartments?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Onetangi Beach Apartments?
Conveniently located restaurants include Casita Miro, Tantalus Estate Restaurant, and The Heke Kitchen, Brewery & Distillery.
Are any cleaning services offered at Onetangi Beach Apartments?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Onetangi Beach Apartments?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Stony Batter Historic Reserve (5.9 km).
Does Onetangi Beach Apartments have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire