We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
81 Seddon Street, Kumara 7832 New Zealand
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
eDreams
Travelocity
View all 12 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (121)
Dining (21)
Room & Suite (14)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kumara
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Theatre Royal has been lovingly restored and now features six themed rooms with adjoining en-suites. Five rooms are upstairs whilst one accessible room is located downstairs. Each room is unique, featuring a blend of Victorian decor and antique furnishings, while featuring all the modern amenities you would expect from a great hotel. The hotel includes a great restaurant and cafe, with your favorite West Coast brewed beers as well as a fine selection of wines and spirits.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Laundry service
Restaurant
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Private bathrooms
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
329Reviews0Q+A70Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 235
  • 69
  • 17
  • 6
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
k2LoFlyaNZ wrote a review Apr 2022
Lower Hutt, New Zealand402 contributions168 helpful votes
The accommodation - Miner's cottages are excellent and well-priced. We decided upon the Seddon Suite and to be frank it was a mistake. Whilst impeccably- decorated in period fashion it was a little dark and gloomy. They also lack a couple of basics - a microwave and heated towel rail. In hindsight we would have booked a miner's cottage.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Other at Theatre Royal Hotel
Responded 18 Apr 2022
Thank you very much for your constructive feedback; we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and acknowledge that the Seddon Suite is decorated in a very specific manner in comparison to the Miners Cottages. We hope to see you again in the future.
Read more
HellenWOrewa wrote a review Mar 2022
Orewa, New Zealand62 contributions7 helpful votes
The miners cottages were so comfortable and so large for a couple. Meals in the restaurant were substantial in size and all staff were so friendly and engaging. Having everything in the one place was a great advantage and the garden bar was a relaxing place to rehydrate after a days cycling.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Other at Theatre Royal Hotel
Responded 27 Mar 2022
Thanks for your great review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us!
Read more
Nakitravellers wrote a review Mar 2022
New Plymouth, New Zealand45 contributions14 helpful votes
We stayed overnight in the actual hotel and not in the miners cottages ( they were fully booked) when cycling the West Coast Wilderness Trail; room was lovely and clean, the staff were friendly and evening meal was lovely.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Other at Theatre Royal Hotel
Responded 27 Mar 2022
Thank you for your review, glad that you enjoyed your accommodation.
Read more
kevalanis wrote a review Dec 2021
Greymouth, New Zealand15 contributions2 helpful votes
Ordered the venison pie, chips and salad. I was initially enjoying as it was hot on the outside, but I soon found out it was stone cold (as in fridge cold) in the middle. Put me off really so didn't take up the offer to have it reheated. Polite staff but no refund offered.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Theatre Royal, Guest Services / Front Office at Theatre Royal Hotel
Responded 9 Jan 2022
Hi Kevalanis, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. Your feedback is very important to us. I'm very sorry to hear that your lunch was cold. If you did not accept a replacement meal we should have certainly offered you a refund. I am very sorry that this did not happen on this occasion. Please send an email to our address info@theatreroyalhotel.co.nz so that I can rectify this situation. Once again thank you for your feedback. Kind Regards, Ripley Fidler, hotel manager
Read more
Tarn W wrote a review Dec 2021
Te Anau, New Zealand10 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed here while biking the Wilderness Trail. Only biked from Paroa so not a big day but side tracked to Kumara Beach to fill in some time. Quite a neat place to stay, in keeping with the era. Lock up shed for bikes, good food for dinner and good breakfast. We spent the afternoon looking round the historic sites of Kumara so this hotel very central to do this.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Other at Theatre Royal Hotel
Responded 6 Dec 2021
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us, we appreciate it!
Read more
ingridh173 wrote a review Nov 2021
Nelson, New Zealand117 contributions44 helpful votes
At the recommendation of Kate at the nearby Greenstone Retreat, we went here for dinner. We both ordered the Wednesday special of pan-fried fish with cajun potatoes. It was by far the best fish meal I have eaten in a restaurant. Top marks to the kitchen staff. The waitress also did a commendable job, and was attentive and efficient. We will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Theatre Royal, Guest Services / Front Office at Theatre Royal Hotel
Responded 5 Dec 2021
Hi ingridh173, thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. It is so lovely to hear that you enjoyed the food in our restaurant and the service of our staff. I will pass your feedback onto the team. The chef will be especially proud. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Read more
Getaway76655 wrote a review Nov 2021
9 contributions1 helpful vote
We were met at reception by the gorgeous Celia, for whom nothing was too much trouble. The replica miners cottage was such a treat. Superb king sized bed, wonderfully relaxing claw foot bath after a wet day on my cycle . Wonderful food. My cycle week cared for in the shed. Washing machine & dryer (no charge) a real bonus.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Other at Theatre Royal Hotel
Responded 6 Dec 2021
Thanks so much for writing such a kind review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit.
Read more
Pam W wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
We recently stayed at the Theatre Royal Hotel Kumara for three nights. We had such an enjoyable experience, and found the accommodation very comfortable, staying in one of the houses across the road, where each bedroom had its own ensuite. Other choices were the miners cottages, the Bank of New Zealand, or the beautifully restored upstairs ensuited bedrooms in the hotel. The wonderful hosts Kerrie and Mark were very informative of the history of the coast, and Kerrie made our stay so special which we really appreciated. I’m looking forward to staying again in the near future.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Theatre Royal, Guest Services / Front Office at Theatre Royal Hotel
Responded 14 Nov 2021
Hi PamW1787, thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. It's so wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Theatre Royal Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Read more
Deb Powell wrote a review Oct 2021
Lincoln, New Zealand1 contribution
Amazing place to turn back time and share in the stories of historic Kumara and the Gold Rush . The Theatre Royal has been lovingly restored to its former glory, with a variety of accommodation. Rooms upstairs in the hotel are troves of past lives, celebrating men and woman who wove part of the rich tapestry that was Kumara in the 1800s. Each room especially named and respectfully decorated to celebrate the era that was. I was fascinated to learn so much about the life and time of these locals. However this time we stayed in one of the fully equipped Miner’s Cottages behind the hotel, with a sunny covered deck overlooking the bush. The two king beds were super comfy and we appreciated the modern bathroom facilities, including a claw bath. On our last night we were treated to a ‘quarter pounder’ …. a quarter pound whitebait pattie, served with salad and fries. The whitebait was fresh catch from the Hokitika River and such a treat. We plan to come back and stay .. this time to ride the West Coast Wilderness Trail. Thanks Team for your attention to detail and for never being boring or ugly !
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Theatre Royal, Guest Services / Front Office at Theatre Royal Hotel
Responded 1 Nov 2021
Hi Dream64290613153, what a wonderful review to read. Thank you very much for taking the time to write it for us. It is so lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Theatre Royal Hotel in our miners cottage. I'm glad that you enjoyed soaking in all the rich history of Kumara. We look forward to welcoming you back when you ride the West Coast Wilderness Trail.
Read more
marshee wrote a review Oct 2021
new zealand14 contributions2 helpful votes
We had the pleasure of staying at the Theatre Royal Hotel for 3 nights. The Miners cottages (No5 for us) were of exceptional quality and very comfortable for the two of us but could easily accommodate 4. The staff at the hotel were very welcoming and typically West Coast friendly. We dined at the hotel restaurant and bar area and the meals were of generous proportions and beautifully made. Would highly recommend the Theatre Royal Hotel as a great base to explore the region from. Would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: The Miners Cottages were excellent
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Theatre Royal, Guest Services / Front Office at Theatre Royal Hotel
Responded 15 Oct 2021
Hi Marshee, what a lovely review to read, thank you for taking the time to write it for us. It's so great to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Theatre Royal Hotel and your meals in the restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next west coast trip
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$72 - US$84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandWest Coast RegionKumara
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Theatre Royal Hotel
What are some of the property amenities at Theatre Royal Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Theatre Royal Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Theatre Royal Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Theatre Royal Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Honey Cafe & Honey Center, Prospectors Fish & Chips, and Jet Art and Craft Cafe.
Are there any historical sites close to Theatre Royal Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Shantytown Heritage Park (10.7 km).
Is Theatre Royal Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.