Willowhaven Holiday Park
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Willowhaven Holiday Park

31 Beaumont Road, Ngongotaha, Rotorua New Zealand
feeding birds activity
Traveller (37)
you will be welcomed by this view
Room & Suite (7)
sunrise by the lake
Pool & Beach (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 2 campsites in Ngongotaha
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Fishing
Children's playground
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
BBQ facilities
Shared kitchen
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Room types
Landmark view
60Reviews1Q+A12Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 37
  • 13
  • 4
  • 5
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Lorraine W wrote a review Jul 2020
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
After a bad experience in Taupo Accommodation we made a call to Willowhaven to see if they had any accommodation available, They came to our rescue. Helen was super helpful friendly and very accommodating at such late notice,
Beautiful little place they put us in, Affordable accommodation for the whole family Absolutely will be back when we stay in Rotorua again. Highly Recommend
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Helen Rodgers, General Manager at Willowhaven Holiday Park
Responded 13 Jul 2020
So Pleased you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you again
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
S Chambers wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If you ever have the pleasure of visiting Rotorua in New Zealand this is the place to stay. Stunning views, warm and friendly managers, clean and well kept amenities. This place was so peaceful and beautiful. Wayne and Helen - we will be back. PS: ask them where the best fish and chip shop is - yum!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Let Wayne and Helen know if you want a lake frontage
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Navigate58655070485, Manager at Willowhaven Holiday Park
Responded 7 Feb 2020
So pleased you enjoyed your stay & see you again
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nadav wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very welcoming, definitely THE BEST camping site in Rotorua by far. Only a 10 minute drive from the city, a quiet little place right on the lake. The owner is super nice and friendly, a well-equipped kitchenette, a laundry room, SUPER clean showers and toilets. Just the place we were looking for to rest and relax.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Helen Rodgers, General Manager at Willowhaven Holiday Park
Responded 13 Jul 2020
So pleased you enjoyed our little gem on Lake Rotorua
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Josh wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a powered site 6 months out. We also confirmed this booking one week out with an email confirming the dates, and site.

Upon arrival, we were told our only option was to setup in one site, then move to another site the next day. Despite stating this would be a problem in a full caravan with awning, we were told that was our only option despite booking so far out. There was no consideration, and the two people behind the counter seems to have a disagreement about it.

There was no give or take, so we stayed somewhere else. We have stayed in the past, and the camp site is lovely, and the facilities are in alright condition, so it was a disappointment that we couldn't stay. Unfortunately we wont be staying again, because after driving 400KM and having been meet with that attitude, we have been put right off.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Navigate58655070485, Manager at Willowhaven Holiday Park
Responded 14 Jan 2020
Hi Josh, we're sorry you weren't able to stay with us on this occasion. Sometimes we have to move people around the sites in order to accommodate everyone's wishes because of other prior and future bookings. We hope you will come and stay with us again in the future and we will endeavour to meet all your needs. Helen
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anna S wrote a review Jun 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This site is amazing. The owner was so friendly even though we arrived after it was dark. The facilities were clean and tidy and to top it all off the view from our camper van was amazing!!!!

We absolutely loved our stay and could not recommend this place more.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joanne H wrote a review Feb 2020
Paraparaumu, New Zealand65 contributions68 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a one night stopover on power site 6. Lovely welcome on arrival and a stunning site on the lake edge.Clean bathrooms and kitchen block. Really appreciated this wonderful camp which allowed our old dog to come along too. Shops are a very short walk down through a park.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Site 6 was lovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Navigate58655070485, Manager at Willowhaven Holiday Park
Responded 10 Mar 2020
Hi Joanne So pleased you enjoyed your stay at our little gem. Helen & Wayne
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
santo t wrote a review Mar 2022
Auckland, New Zealand7,467 contributions549 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Got the best position at the lake front, Rotorua Lake in front of our camper van. Spent one night at this really good Holiday Park, with decent bathroom and toilet, as well as nice shared kitchen. Free and NO need coin to take hot shower. As the best camper/ tent sites are at water front and facing east, expect a great sunrise in the morning at clear sky. Quiet at the night and decent sleep when we stayed at this site.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PeterPPapamoa wrote a review May 2014
Dunedin, New Zealand6 contributions7 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Way past it's sell by date!
No tea, coffee provided, had to go and ask for towels & soap!
One small heater in 'lounge' was useless & very old and noisy. Only heating in whole unit!
No light switches anywhere near beds & no bedside tables.
Lighting in grounds are inadequate
Read more
Date of stay: May 2014
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alan E wrote a review Mar 2017
Milan21 contributions7 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed at Willow Haven 3 sometimes 4 times a year for the past 18 years and had wonderful competent hosts who have made sure rooms were clean and aired on our arrival.
January we went to the office to pick up a key and apparently we had been booked in twice. We book from one visit to the next but were accused of phoning etc etc. She was adamant.
No one likes being told they are lying. We understand other parties had been double booked and one party was booked in twice but told their was no accommodation for them -the camp was fully booked. This set the tone for the weekend. We were accused of travelling too fast. Not possible as we were following another vehicle. Jan came over and in front of other patrons proceeded to berate us. She informed other members of our group we are banned from Willow Haven but did not inform us so we have no idea what we did wrong and why we are banned. Unacceptable & intolerable behaviour . Went to settle the account and it was not a nice experience. Her & her assistant were sniping at each other all weekend. Very unpleasant. They had a vendetta against us all weekend. We went to use the barbeque and the area had dog faeces lying everywhere and was very dirty. Rather than inform Jan (because of her ill temper) we cleaned it up ourselves. Shower walls in the cabins have mould on them and the floor of our cabin had remnants from previous guests lying under the table. We will not be participating in the camp New Year fishing competition in future and we will not be booking in to Willow Haven until management is replaced with competent managers. Our weekend was ruined by the incompetence of these so called Managers. Very disappointing after having spent so many years supporting this camp. D. Emmerson
Read more
Date of stay: January 2017
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
nath & Hannah fullwood wrote a review Mar 2019
Birmingham, United Kingdom37 contributions57 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our favourite campsite of our trip around north island, only planned on staying 1 night but ended up staying 2 nights. Our pitch backed right up to the lake which left us with stunning views. Fairly close to Rotorura it’s self and is practically opposite skyline mtb park which is the main reason We booked here.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Navigate58655070485, Manager at Willowhaven Holiday Park
Responded 7 Feb 2020
Im pleased you enjoyed your stay
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bridg_ttet asked a question Dec 2020
Pukekohe, New Zealand12 contributions4 helpful votes
Will be camping so wondering if they have fridges in the shared kitchen?
Noreen wrote a tip Mar 2020
southampton NY5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a spot on the lake😁"
Read full review
Joanne H wrote a tip Feb 2020
Paraparaumu, New Zealand65 contributions68 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Site 6 was lovely"
Read full review
S Chambers wrote a tip Jan 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Let Wayne and Helen know if you want a lake frontage"
Read full review
Caitlin Richards wrote a tip Apr 2019
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Every where on the park is quite, but if you were wanting a view definitely book for a site by the lake!"
Read full review
SW-TA wrote a tip Jan 2019
Singapore, Singapore66 contributions67 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"the spots next to the lake are not so suitable for tents"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ngongotaha area.
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandBay of Plenty RegionRotorua DistrictRotoruaNgongotaha
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WILLOWHAVEN HOLIDAY PARK - Campground Reviews (Ngongotaha) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Willowhaven Holiday Park
Which popular attractions are close to Willowhaven Holiday Park?
Nearby attractions include Rotofobia (6.5 km), Volcanic Air (5.8 km), and Wingspan National Bird of Prey Centre (2.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Willowhaven Holiday Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, internet access, and conference facilities.
Which room amenities are available at Willowhaven Holiday Park?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a view of a nearby landmark.
What food & drink options are available at Willowhaven Holiday Park?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Willowhaven Holiday Park?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Willowhaven Holiday Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include EL Mexicano Zapata Cantina, El Mexicano Zapata Express, and Poco Tapas & Wine.
Is Willowhaven Holiday Park located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Ngongotaha.
Are any cleaning services offered at Willowhaven Holiday Park?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Willowhaven Holiday Park?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Willowhaven Holiday Park?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Government Gardens (6.6 km), Ohinemutu (5.7 km), and Wai Ariki Hot Springs and Spa (6.2 km).
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire