We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Elterwater Independent Hostel Ltd Ambleside, Elterwater LA22 9HX England
Booking.com
Priceline
Agoda.com
ZenHotels.com
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (34)
Room & Suite (15)
Dining (11)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
The hostel is located in the peaceful village of Elterwater, in the Langdale valley, 15 minutes drive from Ambleside. The area has many walks for people of all abilities, from gentle riverside meanders to the challenge presented by the Langdale Pikes, Bowfell and Scafell. There is a local Co-op in Chapel Stile and a choice of pubs locally. Banks, shops and other amenities are available in Ambleside. The area is also a favourite for both on and off-road cycling, rock climbing and many other outdoor activities. An ideal overnight stop on the Cumbria way. The hostel is an ideal venue for individuals, families, outdoor groups, schools and college trips.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Hiking
Board games / puzzles
Non-smoking hotel
Shared kitchen
Snack bar
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
257Reviews3Q+A45Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 224
  • 27
  • 4
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
PDUK76 wrote a review 3 Jun
Derbyshire, United Kingdom3 contributions
Great location, excellent staff with everything you need. Very easy booking processes. Will definitely be visiting again, location is great for getting to some excellent walks. Just what a hostel should be like, nice mix of families, couples and solo travellers.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick Owen, General Manager at Elterwater Hostel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thanks for the great review Cheers Nick
Read more
Diane J wrote a review 1 Jun
Hexham, United Kingdom100 contributions49 helpful votes
I have visited this hostel over the past decade or more. The team are brilliant and nothing is too much trouble ( Thank you Charlie for the nail scissors 😀) Comfy beds, hot showers, idyllic location, fabulous food. What more can I say. The atmosphere is welcoming, inclusive and a lot of fun
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick Owen, General Manager at Elterwater Hostel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thanks for the lovely review... I hope there's no connection between your ID and the nail scissors?! :-)
Read more
Dan C wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
We had a fantastic time at Elterwater Hostel. Andy was a great host and the facilities were perfect as a base for outdoor adventure. Thanks for making us feel welcome and we look forward to coming back again soon.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick Owen, General Manager at Elterwater Hostel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thanks for the fabulous review Cheers Nick
Read more
Mitha l wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
I with my 14 year old daughter stayed here for two splendid days . We had single room with two bunks which was clean and adequate for our needs . The shared facility toilets showers and kitchen were clean and functional. The staff was excellent..very helpful . We booked it through Hoste.com which was a big mistake because Hostel.com who is the middle person only invites trouble . We lost money when I upgraded . Next time I will definitely book direct with Elterwater becuase I trust them . Abishek and Jesica
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick Owen, General Manager at Elterwater Hostel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thanks for the great review. As you say... always best to book direct. Cheers Nick
Read more
Will Bower wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions
Visited the hostel again this year to celebrate my birthday, lovely welcome and wanted for nothing. It's always an excellent stay, but each year they find small ways to improve - this year we got to use the new kitchen facilities. Always thoroughly recommended, never disappoints. A must-visit for any fan of the Lake District.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick Owen, General Manager at Elterwater Hostel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you Nick
Read more
Clara C wrote a review Oct 2021
2 contributions3 helpful votes
I stayed at the hostel for 3 nights and I struggled to find a fault! Elterwater is idyllic and the hostel is in the perfect location to explore the surrounding area. The staff were so welcoming and friendly and cooked up a mean breakfast that you order in advance! Great system. Kitchen had absolutely everything you could need. Due to the wet weather we also made use of the drying room which was a lifesaver! I highly recommend staying here - it feels like a cosy home away from home! Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick Owen, General Manager at Elterwater Hostel
Responded 26 Oct 2021
Thank you for the fabulous review Cheers Nick
Read more
David H wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
Stayed for 3 nights with 2 friends in late September. Accomodation in a family room was clean and comfortable. English breakfast was excellent. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Good eating at the hostel or Britannia Pub of Elterwater Country House. Well located for walking in the area. I will be coming back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick Owen, General Manager at Elterwater Hostel
Responded 4 Oct 2021
Thanks for the great review. Cheers Nick
Read more
Euan H wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
Stayed with 2 friends. En suite bunk room. Great location, welcoming staff, Great food (and drink). Very reasonable price. Hope to be back soon. Certainly recommend for family and/or friends. Will happily recommend to others. All in all very comfortable. Good base for exploring the hills
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick Owen, General Manager at Elterwater Hostel
Responded 4 Oct 2021
Thanks for your lovely review Cheers Nick
Read more
Samot484 wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
Great hostel with very friendly and helpful staff always willing to recommend local spots to visit. Also offer a lovely breakfast as well as having plenty of self-catering facilities. Rooms and facilities were clean and as expected.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick Owen, General Manager at Elterwater Hostel
Responded 26 Sep 2021
Thanks for the lovely review Cheers Nick
Read more
Danlite2020 wrote a review Sep 2021
London, United Kingdom2 contributions
Andy, Nick and Charlie made us feel like home from home in this unique special hostel. Fantastic service, great service, fellow guests were lovely, a most beatiful setting... The Village has a pub, a hotel to dine in and a cafe and it has access to some superb walks.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick Owen, General Manager at Elterwater Hostel
Responded 12 Sep 2021
Thanks for the great review Cheers Nick
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$71 - US$97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
YHA Elterwater
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCumbriaLake DistrictElterwater
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing