We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Elterwater Independent Hostel Ltd Ambleside, Elterwater LA22 9HX England
Booking.com
Agoda.com
ZenHotels.com
Priceline
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (34)
Room & Suite (15)
Dining (11)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
The hostel is located in the peaceful village of Elterwater, in the Langdale valley, 15 minutes drive from Ambleside. The area has many walks for people of all abilities, from gentle riverside meanders to the challenge presented by the Langdale Pikes, Bowfell and Scafell. There is a local Co-op in Chapel Stile and a choice of pubs locally. Banks, shops and other amenities are available in Ambleside. The area is also a favourite for both on and off-road cycling, rock climbing and many other outdoor activities. An ideal overnight stop on the Cumbria way. The hostel is an ideal venue for individuals, families, outdoor groups, schools and college trips.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Hiking
Board games / puzzles
Non-smoking hotel
Shared kitchen
Snack bar
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
257Reviews3Q+A45Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 224
  • 27
  • 4
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Sam M wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Came here after a long days walking, greeted by polite and friendly staff, clean and comfortable room with a well made breakfast in the morning. Nice pub within easy walking distance. Would certainly come back again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Leanne F wrote a review Jun 2022
Guiseley, United Kingdom4 contributions
Excellent place to stay in the lakes with lovely friendly hosts who even leant me their flask as I had stupidly forgotten mine. Very clean and well kept. Will definitely be back. Excellent location close to a pub that serves fabulous food. Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Limited parking but there is a national trust car park within a 2 minute walk
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Tourist62806190668 wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions
Lovely cottage in excellent location to walk from Great Langdale. Family ensuite bedroom very comfortable. Good food. Staff very welcoming and happy to provide good information for our walks. Daily detailed weather forecast displayed. Second visit and would come back again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
katebowen2018 wrote a review Jun 2022
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
Our first time, and it was lovely. Really friendly and felt like home! The food is also delicious, we ordered two vegan evening meals and they were both amazing. The village is tiny, just a pub, cafe and bowling green, and a bus stop. We'll definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick Owen, General Manager at Elterwater Hostel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thanks for the lovely review We'd love to have you back Cheers Nick
Read more
Helen wrote a review Jun 2022
York, United Kingdom3 contributions
Had a last minute booking to stay for one night over the jubilee, thanks to YHA cancelling my booking less than a week before I was due to arrive!! Complimentary tea and coffee at this venue which was a welcome surprise after a 3 hour drive. The shared kitchen is open 24 hours too. The room was clean and bed comfortable. There was only 1 shower for ladies, this wasn't a problem as I was up before everyone else. The staff very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. I would stay again. It was a little more than i would usually pay but think it was priced for 2 guests and I was alone, also it was a bank holiday. I felt lucky to have found something at such short notice but had to pay double what I'd originally planned. That is not the fault of this establishment though.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick Owen, General Manager at Elterwater Hostel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thanks for the review I should point out that there are also two unisex showers in the middle of the upstairs corridor which can be used by any guest Cheers Nick
Read more
PDUK76 wrote a review Jun 2022
Derbyshire, United Kingdom3 contributions
Great location, excellent staff with everything you need. Very easy booking processes. Will definitely be visiting again, location is great for getting to some excellent walks. Just what a hostel should be like, nice mix of families, couples and solo travellers.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick Owen, General Manager at Elterwater Hostel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thanks for the great review Cheers Nick
Read more
Diane J wrote a review Jun 2022
Hexham, United Kingdom101 contributions49 helpful votes
I have visited this hostel over the past decade or more. The team are brilliant and nothing is too much trouble ( Thank you Charlie for the nail scissors 😀) Comfy beds, hot showers, idyllic location, fabulous food. What more can I say. The atmosphere is welcoming, inclusive and a lot of fun
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: If you are a NT member then you can park free in their car park down the road.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick Owen, General Manager at Elterwater Hostel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thanks for the lovely review... I hope there's no connection between your ID and the nail scissors?! :-)
Read more
Dan C wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
We had a fantastic time at Elterwater Hostel. Andy was a great host and the facilities were perfect as a base for outdoor adventure. Thanks for making us feel welcome and we look forward to coming back again soon.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick Owen, General Manager at Elterwater Hostel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thanks for the fabulous review Cheers Nick
Read more
Mitha l wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
I with my 14 year old daughter stayed here for two splendid days . We had single room with two bunks which was clean and adequate for our needs . The shared facility toilets showers and kitchen were clean and functional. The staff was excellent..very helpful . We booked it through Hoste.com which was a big mistake because Hostel.com who is the middle person only invites trouble . We lost money when I upgraded . Next time I will definitely book direct with Elterwater becuase I trust them . Abishek and Jesica
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick Owen, General Manager at Elterwater Hostel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thanks for the great review. As you say... always best to book direct. Cheers Nick
Read more
Will Bower wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions
Visited the hostel again this year to celebrate my birthday, lovely welcome and wanted for nothing. It's always an excellent stay, but each year they find small ways to improve - this year we got to use the new kitchen facilities. Always thoroughly recommended, never disappoints. A must-visit for any fan of the Lake District.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick Owen, General Manager at Elterwater Hostel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you Nick
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$71 - US$97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
YHA Elterwater
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCumbriaLake DistrictElterwater
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Elterwater Hostel
Which popular attractions are close to Elterwater Hostel?
Nearby attractions include Ambleside Cowhides & Sheepskins (4.8 km), Easedale Tarn (3.5 km), and Loughrigg Fell (2.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Elterwater Hostel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Elterwater Hostel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and a snack bar during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Elterwater Hostel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Old Stamp House Restaurant, Fresher's Cafe, and Kysty Ambleside.
Is Elterwater Hostel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Elterwater.
Are there any historical sites close to Elterwater Hostel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Rydal Mount & Gardens (3.4 km), Bridge House (4.9 km), and St Michael and All Angels Church, Hawkshead (7.0 km).