We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1 N Kaniku Dr, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-9731
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Enjoy every 3rd Night Free
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
US$398
View deal
travelup.com
eDreams
Fairmont
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (3845)
Room & Suite (788)
Pool & Beach (698)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 11/01/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Fairmont Orchid
Updated 11/01/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 7 hotels in Puako
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
Inspired by culture, well-being and genuine aloha, Fairmont Orchid is a luxury Hawaii Island resort and spa beautifully located on the majestic Kohala Coast. Resort amenities feature our award-winning Spa Without Walls, a 10,000 square foot oceanfront pool, Hui Holokai Beach Club offering ocean and cultural activities, six restaurants, year-round children's program, golf, fitness center and tennis pavilion.
Read more
Room & Suite (788)788
Full view
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Diving
Babysitting
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Poolside bar
Golf course
Tennis court
Fishing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Concierge
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Room service
Safe
Iron
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Lagoon View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Japanese
Hotel links
Special Rate:Enjoy every 3rd Night Free
5,241Reviews174Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 3,335
  • 1,251
  • 407
  • 168
  • 82
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
suttona003 wrote a review Yesterday
Honolulu, Hawaii96 contributions65 helpful votes
It’s truly the best location to stay at! There are so many spots to sit and enjoy the sunset but not crowded! It’s so elegant and the staff are so friendly and engaging! The restaurant s are all fabulous!!! Covid clean and safe!!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with fairmont.com
Date of stay: April 2021
Helpful
Share
TLS56852 wrote a review Yesterday
Waxahachie, Texas104 contributions25 helpful votes
My daughter was married on the beach at Orchid. From start to finish everything, music, flowers, walkway, photographer, the Pastor, was excellent and timely. The arch was beautifully decorated with fresh flowers. I want to extend "Thank You's" to Celeste who walked my daughter through the process, Polly who is the head of weddings, Ruth the photographer, Carolina the lead in reservations, all of them made the wedding as excellent as it was. I could not be more pleased with how her special day turned out. We had a wedding dinner following the ceremony and pictures. It was in a private area, just outside of the pubic seating for Brown's. The tables were beautifully set using the flowers from the arch along with candles. The wait staff was great and attentive. The food was nice. I ordered the fish with lump crab as my main course. The fish was good, the crab was cold and bland. The compressed watermelon salad was delicious as were the desserts. The breads...............were delicious, all of them, my favorite being the crackers and pineapple bread. I enjoyed getting coffee from Brown's Deli once I knew it was there. They had some food choices that were inexpensive compared to the restaurants. However, one of the breakfast sandwiches I purchased had cold eggs and bacon. We chose not to take it back. They did have gluten free bread as an option, which was great. The lines were long. We all found most of the staff to be kind, respectful, pleasant and accommodating. Each of them seemed happy to be working there. The beach was small but really nice. I appreciate how clean and maintained it was. The pool was pretty and even had a lift for those who might need that accommodation. There were lots of families at the resort and it was fun to watch the children enjoy the beach. Most of the food we had at the hotel, was nice. It was however overpriced except at Brown's Deli. Two guests received the wrong food at Orchid Room at breakfast but chose not to say anything. The same couple got food to go, the same day, from Brown's, it was also wrong. They did let them know it was wrong, the server chose not to listen and didn't fix the order. They paid a very high price for a salad that was not what they ordered. I'm not sure if they went back to speak with the manager. The bathrooms are very large, having a separate shower along with a bathtub/shower combo. The toilet has is separated in the bathroom. The counter space is nice. The lighting in the room and bathroom could be better. The room sizes are good. It was nice to have a coffee maker and refrigerator in the room. The front desk doesn't tell you about these amenities, you have to look for them. They are hidden in the dresser. However, my daughter's fridge didn't work and the lunch meat she bought, spoiled. I'm not sure if they ever told anyone. Rm 2251 They also had a blow dryer, iron and a safe in the room. I enjoyed the balcony with a partial ocean view room. The hotel gave me a complementary upgrade due to my daughter's wedding being there. I enjoyed the view. It was great to be able to grab a bike and go for a ride. It was nice that this was complementary. I very much enjoyed that amenity. I tried to go two other times but the bikes were all out. Maybe consider adding some more bikes to the inventory as it is such a great activity. Due to this being a resort, very expensive room rates, resort fees and expensive restaurants, etc the following are things I think should be improved so it would increase the value based on the cost: --Updated rooms--the furniture is tired, some of the outlets do not work, the bathtub looks old, not inviting. Rm 2319 --The hallways, elevators, etc., should look pristine due to the price of the room. I saw wallpaper that was coming off, damaged wood trim, and lots of doors/walls that just needed a fresh coat of paint. --Information when you check in--I received very little information about the property at check-in. --It would have been helpful to know all the dining options with a menu, the activities available (exp. bikes) and the cost if there was one, transportation that is available, etc. --It would have been helpful to know to make reservations at the restaurants. --It would have been nice to have been offered water upon arrival. I came back to the front desk after taking my luggage to my room, to see where I could get water and a snack. It was around 10:00 and they said everything was closed and they didn't have vending machines. They graciously gave me 4 small water bottles and said we could get 4 of them every day. However, this is not something they tell you unless you ask. With the cost of the room, I would think guests wouldn't have to ask for water, after a long day of travel to be there. You only get the waters if you go get them every day. They do not put them in your room. --I wanted to take a bath when I arrived but there was hair in my bathtub so I chose the separate shower instead. ******After reporting to them about the hair in my tub, my room was deep cleaned the next day. David who is over housekeeping called me and sent a plate of goodies to my room, along with a card with an apology and his number should I need it. :). GREAT way to make up for a mistake!!! My room was cleaned every day after that. --Other wedding guests only received housekeeping every three days. This is unacceptable considering the price of staying there. This is a resort not a cheap hotel. --It would have been nice to have some shaded areas by the ocean and the pool, without having to pay for it! I automatically expect more from a property/resort, that charges $600+ for their rooms. I understand the pandemic has been hard on your business but it is easy to see the lack of updating and maintenance was an issue before the pandemic. I have stayed in rooms for under $200 that were more updated and maintained than my room here. I enjoyed my stay here because of the outside atmosphere, the beautiful views, the ocean and The Wedding. The wedding was beyond beautiful. Because my daughter's wedding was at The Orchid, we brought in a lot of revenue to the resort!!!! We ate all but one meal at the restaurants and most of the wedding guests had rooms there. I'm so grateful and thankful for the excellence of the wedding. We made an eternal memory on the beach that day. I'm so thankful for all the staff that made it all so easy for the bride/groom and the parents. I might look at other resort options if I return to Kona because of the price and the dated rooms. Thank you again for making my daughter's wedding everything she dreamed of for that special day.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with fairmont.com
Date of stay: April 2021
Helpful
Share
Tammy S wrote a review 14 Apr
Ottawa, Canada1 contribution
I have been enjoying my stay at The Fairmont Orchid. Staff are amazing and very helpful. Travelling during these times can be very stressful, Fairmont Orchid's Covid Protocols made me feel very safe. from the All Safe Ambassador who screen you upon arrival, to the Housekeeping staff making sure the rooms and public areas are clean & sanitized. The grounds are beautiful & well maintained, I really enjoy my morning walks around the property. As well the Staff at Hale Kai & Luana Lounge are super friendly and attentive, & the food is exceptional. Looking forward to trying out everything that this beautiful hotel has to offer.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Helpful
Share
purplechedi wrote a review 12 Apr
Truckee, California1 contribution2 helpful votes
Just back from a stay at the Fairmont and the overall impression is that the hotel is trying the best it can in a pandemic, but not likely at its best given the challenges of this past year (staffing and training being the most noticeable area negatively impacted). On the plus side, the hotel felt safe (staff and guests are masked in public areas and the every employee we encountered kept a reasonable distance, wore masks, and sanitized tables between guest seatings). It's a beautiful, expansive property with room for people to spread out. The man-made, sandy-bottomed lagoon is perfect for kids and just beyond a larger open water area (also protected) has amazingly good snorkeling (we snorkeled at another public site near Kona that is consistently on the top three snorkeling sites list and the area in front of the hotel is even better). There are also trails and roads with biking lanes in multiple directions that are great for walking, running, and biking. A nice tennis complex is also a few steps from the North Tower rooms. On the list of things to be improved: - definitely felt like the hotel is trying to recoup all the revenue it can between the resort fee that doesn't cover much and in not providing any beach umbrellas (but instead charging people for covered beach chairs and other shaded seating throughout the property) - the service in a few areas was lacking, especially in the front of house dining staff at various venues. At one point we noticed broken glass next to an empty table at Brown's Beach House and told one of the waiters, who first pretended not to work there, but then acted like we were bothering him. The same day we put in our name at the casual beach restaurant for dinner and were told we'd be seat next, but gave up after a 30 minute wait while staring at three empty tables. We also had to line up and then wait at least 20-30 minutes for breakfast each morning. - the rooms are a little tired, but ultimately serviceable Ultimately the property is well-situated (including a great supermarket nearby and a few good restaurants down the road) and will make guests who enjoy the water happy. It's a good choice for kids too, but hopefully they can iron out some service issues in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
asdasdq22131aewq wrote a review 9 Apr
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Do not recommend. Roach, bugs, mold, water damage, poorly managed hotel. This was a below average stay and would not recommend - please stay elsewhere as you will have a much better time I can assure you that.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with fairmont.com
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Barbara Nakamura, Other at Fairmont Orchid
Responded 2 days ago
Mahalo for taking the time to share your feedback. I was so disappointed to see your entire experience with us was not exceptional and not recommending our beautiful resort. We would like to extend our sincerest apologies for any issues you had and would like to connect with you. If you could kindly provide your contact information and the name your reservation was under at orchid@fairmont.com, we will make sure your concerns are addressed directly. I appreciate your time. With warm aloha, Barbie Nakamura Director of Quality
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$351 - US$751 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the fairmont orchid, hawaii hotel waimea, fairmont hotel kamuela, fairmont orchid hawaii, fairmont kamuela, kamuela fairmont
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiIsland of HawaiiKohala CoastPuako
NUMBER OF ROOMS
540
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Fairmont Orchid
Which popular attractions are close to Fairmont Orchid?
Nearby attractions include Kona Kozy's Comedy & Magic Show (1.1 km), The Shops At Mauna Lani (1.2 km), and Te 'E'a O Te Turama Hula Halau (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Fairmont Orchid?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Fairmont Orchid?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Fairmont Orchid?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Fairmont Orchid?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Fairmont Orchid?
Conveniently located restaurants include Under the Bodhi Tree, CanoeHouse, and Brown's Beach House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Fairmont Orchid?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Fairmont Orchid have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Fairmont Orchid offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Fairmont Orchid?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Fairmont Orchid offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Fairmont Orchid?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Puako Petroglyph Archaeological Preserve (0.5 km) and The Puako Petroglyphs (0.8 km).