We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Moeraki Haven Motel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (9)
Room & Suite (3)
Pool & Beach (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#1 of 2 small hotels in Moeraki
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Studio apartment and a 1 & 3 Bedroom motel homes. Both very well appointed, self contained and with views of coastline & beach. Caters for couples, families or groups. Moeraki offers a quiet space to relax, beaches, fishing and dining out. Luxury accommodation at a reasonable price, sure to please
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Beach
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
50Reviews3Q+A7Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 46
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
smuetz wrote a review Feb 2023
Germany8 contributions10 helpful votes
We stayed there 4 years ago in 2019 and had a really positive experience - even after all this time still remembered to leave a positive review! We had a great stay at their "Baywatch" house and the manager Suzette was great. We had a baby who lost its cuddle cloth in the house and Suzette was so nice to send it to us to Wellington after our stay. The area was such a charming peaceful place that we regretted only having stayed there for one night.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Chris wrote a review Dec 2019
1 contribution
Upon arrival, my partner and I were warmly greeted and shown around the accommodation. We were also recommended nice walks and places to eat. Owners so polite and friendly. Spotless room, comfortable bed, well equipped kitchen area. The view from our wee balcony was our favourite part. Gorgeous sea views and loved how peaceful and quiet the place was. Value for money. Definitely coming back!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Suzetted98, Manager at Moeraki Haven Motel
Responded 5 Jan 2020
Thank you for your warm and appreciated review. Glad you found everything to your expectation. So looking forward to having you back again, it was a real pleasure having you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
JAC wrote a review Feb 2019
5 contributions
Lovely apartment contains all you need, large clean and beautiful, in pretty gardens, lovely beach down the track and. Suzette welcoming and helpful and booked us into Fleurs Place for lovely fish meal. Lovely walk to the Boulders. Unfortunately didn't see any penguins, but lots of seals close up by the lighthouse reserve. Would have liked to stay longer.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Suzetted98, Manager at Moeraki Haven Motel
Responded 8 Feb 2019
Thank you for your review and rating. Its a shame you could not get to see the penguins or even the little hector dolphins, but maybe next time. Hope you will get to stay longer next time and enjoy a meal at the Tavern as well or take a day on one of the fishing charters. It was a pleasure to have you and hope to see you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Shadowspawn wrote a review Oct 2018
Dunedin, New Zealand4 contributions1 helpful vote
Very comfortable. Good couches and bed. Tidy and nicely decorated. Nice garden outside our window (1 bedroom unit). Convenient security light on motion sensor for car parking area. Wi-fi weak at times for phone and tablet, but solid connection from laptop.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Suzetted98, Manager at Moeraki Haven Motel
Responded 8 Feb 2019
Thank you for your review and rating, I think our wi-fi is now sorted. So hope we will see you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
NathanLewis27 wrote a review Oct 2018
10 contributions4 helpful votes
Upon arriving at the property we were very impressed by how spotlessly clean and tidy the place was, the photos on the website just dont do it justice, and the view from the balcony was just awesome, we are looking forward to coming here again over the summer.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Suzetted98, Manager at Moeraki Haven Motel
Responded 7 Oct 2018
Thank you for your review, looking forward to see you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lynne M wrote a review Aug 2018
Ohoka, New Zealand4 contributions1 helpful vote
I never tire of visiting this ocean-side piece of paradise. The accommodation had all the benefits of a true home, including a full kitchen. Absolutely lovely hosts. So much to do and see so close that you don't really need to use the car. I visited as a destination point, but would equally recommend as a spot to stop if you are going through.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Suzetted98, Manager at Moeraki Haven Motel
Responded 7 Oct 2018
Thank you for your review and recommendation.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
CoJonesUK wrote a review Jun 2018
London, United Kingdom168 contributions100 helpful votes
We were the only guests for a winter night and loved the peaceful setting and delightful bay view. The unit was large and well equipped, with a washer and dryer in the bathroom, although the former was not obvious to operate and we needed help! Heating was excellent and both the kitchen and bathroom stocked with everything you could wish for; a large lounge seating area, good satellite TV and a dining table ensured that a moderate sized family would be perfectly at home here. Comfortable beds, good blackout curtains and a short drive to both Fleur's Place and the lighthouse penguins/ seals. One minor issue to note was the poor quality of wi-fi in our unit. In the morning the Boulders were breathtaking as the sun rose, with the tide out and few tourists around to ruin photo opportunities!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: All have bay views.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Suzette d, Manager at Moeraki Haven Motel
Responded 29 Jun 2018
Hi there, it was a pleasure having you here, sorry for any inconvenience caused with the wifi and we will follow up on it as this had never been mentioned before. Hope you had a lovely stay/time in New Zealand.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Debbie O wrote a review Apr 2018
Rotorua, New Zealand14 contributions4 helpful votes
Stayed one night wished we had more time as a fantastic spot, one bedroom unit had everything. Beautiful view from unit, nice and quiet. Thanks so much. So glad we decided to stop in at moraki and called in.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Suzetted98, Manager at Moeraki Haven Motel
Responded 7 Oct 2018
Thank you for your review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Peter K wrote a review Apr 2018
Christchurch, New Zealand21 contributions27 helpful votes
accommodation was very nice. we had a 3 bedroom house that sleeps up to 10 people 2 double beds and 3 sets of bunks and a room with 2 beds in it The place was nice and clean and tidy. It's an easy place to find off the main road south heading to Dunedin from Christchurch, It took bang on an hour from there to Dunedin, Great views also.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Suzetted98, Manager at Moeraki Haven Motel
Responded 7 Oct 2018
Thank you for your review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
thomsonclan6 wrote a review Mar 2018
Inverness, United Kingdom57 contributions28 helpful votes
This place isn't like any other motel I've stayed in on my NZ trip. I could happily spend a whole holiday here. Spacious chalets (we had 1 bedroom). Bedroom has large double bed and substantial bunk beds. There's also a very comfy sofa bed in the open plan lounge. Whole place is very well equipped. There's a washer and dryer in the shower room. There's complementary real coffee! Place is decorated - not like usual very neutral blank motels. For me, best bit was porch with lovely sea views. Just a brief word of warning - all the chalets are up a short but quite steep hill.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Suzetted98, Manager at Moeraki Haven Motel
Responded 7 Oct 2018
Thank you for your feedback and review. Much appreciated
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Moeraki area.
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionMoeraki
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MOERAKI HAVEN MOTEL - Hotel Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Moeraki Haven Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Moeraki Haven Motel?
Nearby attractions include Moeraki Boulders (2.2 km), Moeraki Boulders (2.2 km), and Katiki Point Lighthouse (2.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Moeraki Haven Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and laundry service.
Is parking available at Moeraki Haven Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Moeraki Haven Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Vanessas Cottage Cafe, Moeraki Tavern, and The FishWife.
Is Moeraki Haven Motel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Moeraki.
Are any cleaning services offered at Moeraki Haven Motel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Moeraki Haven Motel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Is Moeraki Haven Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.