We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sands Hotel

Traveller (15)
Room & Suite (12)
Dining (3)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Overlooking the Irish Sea, The Sands Hotel is just 100 metres from the beach. An en suite bathroom and TV are included in each room at The Sands Hotel, and some feature views of the sea .Food and drink can be enjoyed in the on-site bar, which features live music on weekends. Waterford city centre is just 11 km away and the Comeragh Mountains are less than an hour’s drive away.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Dry Cleaning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
HOTEL CLASS
73Reviews
38Photos
0Q+A
9Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 29
  • 16
  • 4
  • 3
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
well restored 150 yo with1/2 km sandy beach frontage and views, excellent dining room, free large breakfast includes fresh local fish, has fancy spa and beauty salon, 1o min off highway, only hotel there
Read more
We booked for in January for this weekend, received emailed confirmation and hotel had our phone number too. Yet didn't bother to contact us to say it was closed down! We found out on arrival, with nowhere to stay! Kindness of Tramore community ensured we were put up by a local
Read more
This is the worst hotel in Ireland staff are terrible we where robbed when we stayed there staff ditent care didn't want To call the guards room door was faulty didn't lock had to leave our stuff in car stay away from this kip should be closed down there not even a registered
Read more
Response from TheSandsHotelTramore, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands Hotel
Responded 5 Oct 2017
Dear Guest The incident that happened with your room was reported to the local Garda straight away. A member of our staff returned to work straight away to deal with this incident which regretfully happened. We cooperated fully with the Garda on this matter and gave them CCTV footage. The lock on door was perfectly fine and we at the hotel have never had an incident like this before or happen since. It is absolutely unfortunate it happened to your family. You have been advised if you wish to claim against losses that you contact a solicitor who will in turn contact our solicitor to put a claim in with our insurance company. This is the way we need to deal with this situation as a company. We have insurance in place in case of situations arising like this one. Again, I would like to stress we are sorry this happened to your family, however these incidents have to be dealt with professionally so that the correct actions are taken. I wish you and your family well and apologies again for the distress caused by this unfortunate incident
Read more
Stayed one night last weekend and was such a bad experience. When we checked in there was a terrible smell of smoke in our room, bedding and towels. We were told by staff we were wrong. Avoid avoid avoid. I had a 4 month old baby with me . the staff were so unhelpful. No
Read more
We had lunch in the Sands Hotel mid week at the end of June. The bar was very quiet but the lunch was quiet nice I had Lasagne and my husband had the beef both were lovely and reasonable. I usually prefer to go to a busy place but as Tramore was very quiet that particular day,
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
The room
Clean Room
Clean Room
The room
The room
PreviousNext
123
"Never book a room here! There are none!"
"Avoid hotel"
"301 was lovely and clean."
"Demand to see before checking in if you absolutely have to stay here"
"Upper floor quiet where I stayed"
PreviousNext
12
ALSO KNOWN AS
sands hotel tramore
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of MunsterTramore
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing