Calabash Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Calabash Hotel

A beautiful hotel which is hard to beat for luxury and relaxation. Large and stylish suites overlooking lawn to beach and the Caribbean! What’s not to love in this beautiful place which is a special treat for anyone who visits.
Traveller (828)
Panorama at the Calabash Luxury Boutique Hotel & Spa
360
Panoramas (3)
Calabash Hotel
Videos (10)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
$1,438
$1,174
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

5.0
#1 of 4 hotels in Lance aux Epines
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
An award-winning, Relais & Châteaux luxury boutique hotel, Calabash Grenada delivers unparalleled guest experiences and luxurious accommodations. Nestled seaside where the Caribbean Sea’s crystal waters meet the fresh Grenada saltwater breeze, you find yourself at the pinnacle of boutique luxury, surrounded by gracious island hospitality that is Calabash Grenada.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Babysitting
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Yoga classes
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary welcome drink
Special diet menus
Snorkelling
Tennis court
Evening entertainment
Airport transportation
Car hire
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French
Hotel links
Special Offer:Summer Meal Plan Offer

Location

L'Anse Aux Epines Beach, Lance aux Epines Grenada
1,095Review65Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,001
  • 65
  • 19
  • 7
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
alpinista44 wrote a review Jan 2024
Arlington, Virginia32 contributions41 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were led to this property based on the reviews touting the level of personal service offered at the resort. Wow!! Those reviews were spot on! From being greeted at reception by the Garbutt family to a wonderful send-off at the conclusion of our stay, every element of the Calabash experience was fulfilling.

The grounds were immaculate. The rooms were beautiful, spacious, and excellently maintained. The food was plentiful, varied, and filled with wonderful surprises based on use of local spices; the afternoon teas were a delight; the chef demonstrations were educational; the staff attention and friendliness were outstanding. My wife (aka, the "water person" in our family) made full use of the Hobie Cat and kayaks while I was happy to make use of the beautiful pool and the views from the beach. Throw in the concierge help in making day trip and airport transportation arrangements and it was a very special trip.

There is a tranquility at the Calabash that makes a warm weather winter trip even more special for those of us living in colder climes.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Adele Garbutt, Owner at Calabash Hotel
Responded 11 Feb 2024
Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for your incredibly kind words and for taking the time to share your positive experience with us. We are deeply touched by your heartfelt review. It brings us immense joy and pride to know that we were able to create a memorable and enjoyable stay at Calabash. Hospitality is more than just a business to us; it is a passion and a way of life. We genuinely care about each and every guest who walks through our doors, and your words of appreciation mean the world to all of us here. Your glowing review serves as a reminder of why we do what we do every day. We are overjoyed to know that our efforts in providing exceptional service, attention to detail, and creating a warm and inviting atmosphere have made a positive impact on your experience. We sincerely hope to welcome you back for another incredible stay. Until then, we send our warmest wishes and endless gratitude for your kind support.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mr Metcalfe wrote a review Oct 2022
7 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Everything about the resort oozes class and sophistication. I travelled with my young family wife and son of 9 months. First of all on arrival they had a car seat set up in transfer vehicle and a modern crib in room as well as a plastic high chair with tray. Any parent will tell you these small details make the most crucial difference to ensure the baby is comfortable and the extra effort didn’t go unnoticed by me and my wife. All the staff were exemplary - helpful and professional without any pretense or fawning fuss made. Our baby made friends with so many of the staff and seeing so many waving him off after a few days blissful rest and relaxation on our first family vacation is something that will live long in the memory. The beach location is private and sedate, the feel is timeless luxury with all mod cons and features to make you feel like a home from home during your stay. In room dining and breakfast set up without any complaint or fuss particularly with a little one again was so appreciated. You have set after set of happy clients here when such attention and care is taken - this maybe a Carribean hotel on the sea but the feel is anything but generic resort more boutique classical elegance reminiscent of Esencia on Riviera Maya or Tea Trails in Sri Lanka (another Relais and Chateaux delight) we have stayed at. Situated on a sheltered cove with atmospheric bluff with water as a warm as bath, fine sand and boats in the harbor it’s highly recommended and we will be back. Thank you team!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Adele Garbutt, Owner at Calabash Hotel
Responded 20 Oct 2022
Dear MetcaT8066XY, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. It was so a true pleasure to have you and your family with us. Thank you also for your very kind and heartwarming comments. Your words perfectly describe what we are trying to achieve. As I always say, what makes Calabash special is the people, both guests and staff. So thank you for contributing to our happy atmosphere.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
vacay1201 wrote a review Oct 2021
New York City, New York305 contributions43 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
After almost a year and half of pandemic living, my family and I decided to head to Calabash in late August (we had stayed there back in 2018, and had a fantastic time). It was a really hard decision to make, as we have an unvaccinated kid. That being said, the incredibly low numbers in Grenada made if feel safer to us than anywhere in the USA (plus you had to be vaccinated unless you're a kid to go there). Adele, Racquel, Shari and the team answered countless questions from me with incredible patience and graciousness. Knowing we would be so taken care of was one of the main reasons we felt comfortable returning during these crazy pandemic times.

Upon arrival at Grenada it felt like coming home. We were SO happy to see the beautiful landscape, ocean and hotel. Our Pool Suite was fantastic (one small incident with plumbing in the beginning that was quickly rectified). We remembered many of the folks that work there and they are all so accommodating; it was such a pleasure to see them again. The food at the Beach Club and Rhodes was overall scrumptious, and well presented. I would love to take a cooking class during our next trip (already booked!) to learn some of their secrets for perfect fish and amazing soups.

In terms of covid protocols, staff wore masks and the hotel provided (for a cost) testing at the hotel for our return trip home. Staff and guests were respectful of distancing and using sanitizer etc.

Because it’s a smaller resort, there are not a ton of activities. Calabash is a wonderful place to unwind, and things never feel rushed or chaotic there. Like I mentioned above, I’d love to take a cooking class or chocolate-making class there. I think some on-property classes like that could be a neat addition that wouldn’t take away from the calming vibe.

Thanks again for a fantastic trip. We look forward to returning soon.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Adele Garbutt, Owner at Calabash Hotel
Responded 25 Oct 2021
Dear Christine E, Thank you so much for your lovely, and beautifully written review. We were so pleased to have you and your family stay with us again. We are very much on the same page with the in-house activities - almost to a tee in fact! Just a couple weeks ago we introduced our weekly activities which include a cooking class, chocolate tasting, yoga, rum tasting & tropical fruit tasting. We very much look forward to sharing these with you on your return. Best wishes, Adele
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
masaccio wrote a review Aug 2021
Huntingdon, United Kingdom1,922 contribution834 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is our second trip and Calabash remains a home of faultless service. On our first day, for example, I needed to leave for a dive offsite at 7.30am but breakfast starts at that time. The hotel suggested that instead of eating in our room, could we come down to beach restaurant at 7. We got there and our order came out as given the previous night and I was at reception for 7.25am as planned. Everything was so unrushed and perfectly done. Service that precise is hard to achieve.

Food in the restaurant remains outstanding and perhaps the Rhodes restaurant is better than I remember it. The beach restaurant is still my favourite though as there is something a little different to most island restaurants and some of the dishes like the coconut shrimp are exceptional. Breakfast in your room tends to arrive at the later end of your chosen window, but if diving you can pretty much guarantee to have breakfast delivered before 8 and in plenty of time to walk over to the dive shop.

The beach is the only slight weak point of the resort in that the water is a little shallow, but the location is just as pretty as Grand Anse. There is typically a light breeze in the bay which does make it more comfortable than Grand Anse and there are also plenty of shade options under the trees. It is by no means a real drawback of the resort, but then Grand Anse is world class.

We went for the cheapest room which is a superb and comfortable junior suite with excellent toiletries and linens.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Adele Garbutt, Owner at Calabash Hotel
Responded 16 Sept 2021
Dear masaccio, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay. It is a lovely read and I am so glad that you enjoyed. Thank you also for your very kind and heartwarming comments. Your words perfectly describe what we are trying to achieve. Our Food & Beverage team have put great effort into our offering and are making it better and better, so I'm delighted that you agree. As I always say, what makes Calabash special is the people, both guests and staff. So thank you for contributing to our happy atmosphere. Best wishes, Adele
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PABOtterrock wrote a review Jan 2020
8 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the moment we arrived until the day we left, our time at Calabash was amazing. Racquel took care us with care and a warm smile every time we needed a restaurant, a trip arranged, even connecting us with a great tennis pro and arranging for a surprise birthday at Umbrellas with party favors!! The staff was so warm and attentive, starting with great breakfasts looking out from our private villa over the beach, fantastic beachside lunches, splendid afternoon tea, and superb dinners. We were lavished with thoughtful gifts in our room ranging from rum, to local coca butters and....more rum! We already miss the many nice people we met and their warm and friendly smiles! The weather and pool were great, a nice little gym to use, and amazing snorkeling right off the beach.
Happy New Years to all our new friends at the Calabash!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Adele G, Owner at Calabash Hotel
Responded 6 Jan 2020
Dear PABOtterrock, Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on your stay at Calabash. We truly appreciate your very kind words. I couldn't agree more. Our staff are incredible. We are very proud of them all. Thank you again for choosing Calabash and we hope to see you again in the future. Best wishes, Adele
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
justinian wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our third visit and every time it seems to get better. On visit 2 the pool area had been totally remodelled and on this occasion we found the beach restaurant had been extended and upgraded and one can dine next to the lapping waves As always our room was in excellent condition. We were staying on an all inclusive basis so our fridge packed with spirits, beer, wine, chocolate and crisps etc were all part of the deal. The staff were as friendly and as efficient as before.One is met on arrival with drinks, towels and infectious smiles Food is of a high standard and the lobster tails gigantic. I was pleased to see that although at the beachside chef had changed the lobster mac and cheese was still on the menu. This is in our experience the best boutique hotel in the Caribbean never mind Grenada.However I would say ditch the flags with which we were issued at the beach to wave if we needed a drink. Not necessary because staff are so attentive they seem intuitively to know when cocktails are required and in any event the beach bar is only a few steps away from the sun loungers. I tried waving it once causing my wife to collapse with mirth. The fact that this is the only thing I would change says it all for this tip top hotel
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Adele Garbutt, General Manager at Calabash Hotel
Responded 23 Feb 2020
Dear institutes, Thank you for such a kind and well written review. You have summarised exactly what we are trying to achieve so well. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us (except for the beach flags!!), as we certainly enjoyed having you here. Best wishes, Adele
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maya wrote a review Dec 2021
Norfolk, United Kingdom420 contributions688 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel has consistently received 5 star awards and rightly so for the lovely setting, good service (especially Front Desk who dealt with all enquires/ queries very efficiently) and fabulous rooms: spacious, comfortable with everything one would expect and more: comfortable bed, excellent powered shower, powerful hairdryer, ice bucket automatically filled every day, fridge with fresh milk, ample bottled water, Nespresso and tea. On arrival also a bottle of excellent rum punch.

Where my review differs from others is mainly regarding the dining:

There is only one option for dining in the evening (room service menu same). Gary Rhodes restaurant where the cuisine is very dated. Intense flavours, sauces over reduced, tiny portions, over salted, most menu items taste the same even though there were daily specials, nothing tasted very fresh or light and menu is over priced. The ‘grill’ choices included aubergine which was undercooked every time, so it was inedible. In contrast the lunch menu at the Beach Club is fantastic - good variety and choices, very fresh, beautifully executed, would have loved to be offered this menu or similar in the evening.

We did discuss this with hotel team and the chef, but apart from one dining evening when a couple more suitable different light excellent dishes were added to the menu, it was back to 'same old' next night.

My other comment not written elsewhere is about the beach. It is a lovely cove but quite inset so not much movement with the sea. Half our stay the water felt murky and very muddy underfoot likely to come from the many yachts in the bay. The sea here is not the stunning aqua marine you find on many other of the beaches. Plenty of sun beds, very comfortable. Sadly on several occasions we had to go in search of towels (usually from pool, which is small, lovely but not used much).

The service was a bit hit and miss at times except experience with Front Desk/Concierge and at Rhodes which was consistently excellent. Staff are lovely but some of particular note include a new recruit Shandy who was professional, attentive, efficient and charming and Desianne at breakfast who has worked there forever!

Overall we enjoyed our stay, it is a comfortable, beautiful well maintained property with fabulous well designed and equipped suites. If dining options changed, we’d be back in a flash!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: All room categories on higher floor for better views and light
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Adele Garbutt, Owner at Calabash Hotel
Responded 10 Dec 2021
Thank you also for your review and comments. We very much appreciate your view and will use your comments to improve our our offering, so that you very much for the feedback.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wigs wrote a review Feb 2022
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom129 contributions90 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
There's much that is wonderful about Calabash. Most notably the staff, especially at dinner. Indeed dinner is a wonderful experience with excellent food and great attention to detail. We loved our very comfortable room (no 15) with its gorgeous balcony overlooking the lawn towards the sea. The pool area is lovely and so serene. I loved my afternoons there where a gentle breeze cooled me, and usually I was alone. Afternoon tea was a pure delight.
However, where dinner was 5*, the breakfasts could only muster 3*. The setting by the beach is exquisite. Almost the best ever breakfast location. However, the food was only adequate and the service often painfully slow. This sounds so fussy but the fruit platter was unexceptional having mainly melon and banana. Where was the papaya?! The pineapple slice, if there was one, was tiny and dry. We had just come from another much cheaper hotel where the breakfasts had been brilliant. Huge choice of fruit and hot dishes which were cooked with more love - and greater speed. We tried breakfast in the room once to see if it would speed things up but so many things were missing (like the pot of tea) and the toast burnt that we did not repeat that. I would not be so picky usually, but this is a 'luxury' hotel and I think that breakfast should meet that description.
We have re-booked Grenada for next year, but not Calabash. I think that breakfast is the main reason. I would also have appreciated one of the owners saying hello. The personal touch goes a long way, and I don't think that should just be left to the staff.

Calabash has many loyal guests who come back year after year. I am very glad we have experienced it and we had a fabulous time - even if we were not as euphoric as most.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Adele Garbutt, Owner at Calabash Hotel
Responded 8 Feb 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us, and I am happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. But most importantly, thank you for your gracious feedback on the areas where you felt that we missed the mark. As a hotel known for fine cuisine, it is important to us to get it right. Our food and beverage offering is very much a priority. We know the breakfast service wasn't where it should have been, and have now managed to correct that, and will keep striving to keep improving the product. I'm so sorry that it wasn't the case during your stay. Very best wishes, Adele
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ben C wrote a review Aug 2021
83 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Picking words to describe the Calabash is more difficult than it seems, perfect, tranquil, romantic just don’t seem to accurately capture the sights and experience.

From the moment you arrive everything is seamless, the laid back and subtle nature of the service perfectly compliments the peacefulness of the resort where if needed, staff in hand instantly but if you also just want some peace and quiet then you will certainly find that here.

Food

The food has to be a major part of this review, every meal be it in your room, balcony or in either the Beach Club or Rhodes restaurant is exquisite. The detail and attention the kitchen staff go to is really quite incredible and all with that classic Grenadian charm and friendliness. The dinner menu changes daily with 3-4 options to choose from for starters, mains and desert and any could be at home on a Michelin star menu around the world. The ingredients are the freshest and most vibrant I’ve seen and leave you perfectly full while not over stepping the mark.

Beach, Dive Shop

All beaches in Grenada are public land upto where the high tide mark is however if you’re looking for a beautiful, calm but quiet beach the Calabash in Prickly Bay is perfect, it’s secluded nature means most days it is just the handful of guests at the resort plus the occasional dingy as owners of the sailing boats moored here come ashore. For the more adventurous there is also the Scubatech dive shop who have a variety of diving and non motorised water sports available and we’re incredibly friendly and experts on diving the best sites.

Elopement

We were also due to have a large wedding but due to covid have to change plans! Between our planner and the hotel staff however they made our big day one to remember and we will treasure the memories forever. Once again the hotels service and food were incredible and we were helped every step of the way be it for documents, meeting the reverend or any other queries we had.

We had the most perfect 10 nights and simply cannot wait to return to celebrate our future anniversaries.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Adele Garbutt, Owner at Calabash Hotel
Responded 17 Aug 2021
Dear Ben & Keri-Ann, You both will forever have a special place in our hearts. Thank you for choosing us for this incredibly special occasion. We enjoyed sharing your special day with you, and enjoyed having you stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes, Adele
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lewis S wrote a review Jun 2022
Ottawa, Canada127 contributions131 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This small, luxurious hotel is a gem property. The 3 dozen rooms are spacious & well appointed, the service polished, professional, & accomadating, and the food is the finest we’ve enjoyed on any Caribbean island & very fairly priced. Unfortunately it has a postage stamp for a beach & it’s located on a bay not the open ocean so the swimming is poor. It does have a pool. We left after 1 week (though we were booked for 2) as we value the sun, beach, & swimming in warm ocean waters over wonderful gourmet cuisine.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Adele Garbutt, Owner at Calabash Hotel
Responded 17 Jul 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay and I am so glad that over all enjoyed your stay. Thank you also for your very kind and heartwarming comments about the hotel, service & staff. I'm sorry the our bay was not to your liking but of course we understand that you view on this.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Golden2022
Salisbury, United Kingdom37 contributions52 helpful votes
You cannot see the planes taking off and landing but you do see them flying overhead -just a few a day. As a matter of interest we did not particularly like Grenada nor the Calabash. The latter was very “cliquey” and there is little infrastructure in Grenada. The beaches are not great - the best part is the interior of the island with its lush vegetation. It’s not like Barbados.
Answer from littleallygator
Westwood, New Jersey139 contributions22 helpful votes
Hi Sara, We just got back from Calabash two days ago - I echo Bob & Anne's post above, it's a place that is unlike any other with a staff that is truly the epitome of perfection (you'll fall in love with absolutely everyone you meet!). We opt in for the all-inclusive option, and this past time we did have to call for dinner times, but it was very informal and something we did when we got there. The fun news too is they just opened a second dinner option too that's a Japanese fusion, so you get double the options! For lunch at the Beach Club, we just rolled up and were always seated, even when it was busy! Their Reservations team is incredible and accessible via email, so if it gives peace of mind, you can always reach out to them as well to double check. We didn't opt in for the spa this time, but knowing Calabash, if you're not dead-set on a specific day and just looking to get treatments, they would be able to arrange spa treatments upon arrival as well through the concierge. We booked spa appointments during COVID, so protocols and procedures were a bit different, so I can't offer up-to-date information on that. I hope this helps! Allison
Answer from FLgirl222
Naples, Florida83 contributions126 helpful votes
There was no entertainment at all when we went 5 months ago due to Covid. I would check. The bar in lobby is open before dinner but atmosphere was a bust, again, due to Covid. I would make sure to check restrictions before you book. We landed in Grenada before anyone told us they had a curfew. Total disappointment.
Carl C asked a question Dec 2021
Pattingham, United Kingdom4 contributions4 helpful votes
Is this hotel adults only
Answer from Bernard
London, Canada35 contributions28 helpful votes
No kids are welcome
Answer from HannahBudhlall
St. George's, Grenada
Hello, Under the current regulations which are in place until 21 September 2021, beach access is limited to 5-10am daily from Monday to Friday. However at Calabash, the portion of the beach immediately in front of the hotel is accessible to our guests 24/7 as it is essentially an exclusive beach.
SunbedEd wrote a tip Apr 2024
6 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Booking directly with the hotel was superbly efficient and easy - definitely recommend doing this."
Read full review
Marc J wrote a tip Mar 2024
Englewood, New Jersey125 contributions82 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Lovely sophisticated low key property."
Read full review
jimatbeechwood wrote a tip Feb 2024
penn16 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The pool suites provide extra space and privacy, and of course delicious cooling after a day in the sun."
Read full review
01Canadian_Traveller wrote a tip Feb 2024
Ancaster, Canada162 contributions41 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Second floor rooms have a beautiful view. Don’t hesitate to explore the beautiful island as well."
Read full review
relaaxed wrote a tip Sept 2023
Norwich, Eng211 contributions99 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Trips to the family spice and chocolate farm can sometime be an option"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lance aux Epines area.
PRICE RANGE
$1,274 - $1,536 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the calabash hotel, calabash hotel st georges
LOCATION
CaribbeanGrenadaSaint George ParishLance aux Epines
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CALABASH HOTEL - Reviews & Price Comparison (Lance aux Epines, Grenada) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Calabash Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Calabash Hotel?
Nearby attractions include L'Ance aux Epines Lighthouse (0.2 km), Portici Beach (0.9 km), and Chabad Jewish Center of Grenada (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Calabash Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Calabash Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Calabash Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Calabash Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Calabash Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Beach Club at Calabash, Rhodes Restaurant at Calabash, and Dodgy Dock Restaurant and Lounge Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Calabash Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Calabash Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Calabash Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Calabash Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Calabash Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Calabash Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fort Frederick (5.5 km), Fort George (5.1 km), and Grenada Airport Monument (2.8 km).
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire