We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Heartland World Heritage Hotel

Traveller (57)
Room & Suite (30)
Dining (11)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Heartland World Heritage Hotel is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Haast, offering a family-friendly environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay. Rooms at Heartland World Heritage Hotel provide a flat screen TV and a safe, and guests can stay connected with free wifi. Guests can also enjoy breakfast while staying at Heartland World Heritage Hotel. Need a place to park? Free parking is available at Heartland World Heritage Hotel. While in Haast be sure to experience local lobster favorites at The Craypot. If you’re looking for things to do, you can check out Haast Visitor Centre (0.3 km), which is a popular attraction amongst tourists, and it is within walking distance. Enjoy your stay in Haast!
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast Available
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Safe
Family
HOTEL CLASS
308Reviews
70Photos
0Q+A
46Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 41
  • 91
  • 78
  • 55
  • 43
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I booked this hotel because without driving we can access the bar. Also this hotel looked great in the photo ,too. When we arrived at Haast we checked in straight away but already my disappointment have been started with the receptionist. The way she talks to us is unpleasant
Read more
Response from Tracey D, General Manager at Heartland World Heritage Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Hi Extokyo Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback on your recent stay in Haast. Firstly I can only offer my sincere apologies to you with the way that our receptionist spoke to you, and lack of any enthusiasm she had when she came to your room to replace your jug. For me, this is simply unacceptable and I assure you I am investigating today into when this has occurred to ensure that this does not happen again. The receptionist that was on duty will be disciplined and will be removed from her reception shifts to begin with, but may also be dismissed. Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention as all feedback enables us to identify our strengths and our weaknesses, and on this occasion an area for immediate improvement. We strive to meet very high standards and clearly on this occasion we haven’t meet the brand and operational standards. As a small gesture to apologise for this I would like to offer you a refund on your accommodation, please contact me directly to take up my offer above. Once again you have my sincere apologies. Kind regards, Tracey Dinan General Manager
Read more
We stopped in here for lunch on a very long drive from Queenstown to Westport. All we needed was something quick and tasty. Sadly this place does neither. There were only about 8 tables occupied, but there was apparently only one staff member working in the kitchen and so
Read more
Response from Tracey D, General Manager at Heartland World Heritage Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hey Simon, Thank you for the your feedback from our frontier Cafe & Bar, my sincerest apologies that we have not met your expectation on this occasion. I agree when restaurants are slightly busy there can be a waiting time, but 45 minutes when only 8 tables, not good. You have identified a number of areas where customer service has let us down, and I will be following up with my team. I have passed on your feedback in regards to your dinning experience to our Head Chef with the request to look into the preparation of the Lamb Shank as normally we received more positive feedback in this regards but we will certainly follow up with the aim to improve the overall quality of the dish. Thank you again for your valued feedback. Tracey Dinan General Manager
Read more
It's located well to capture the market that either are heading to, or heading from the west coast. Pros: The rooms are clean Right beside one of two dinner options in town Much better menu options than the Hard Antler pub, including multiple Veg/Vegan options Cons Limited TV
Read more
Response from Tracey D, General Manager at Heartland World Heritage Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi jjmb Thank you for taking the time to place feedback following your recent stay with us at the Heartland Hotel Haast. We value all feedback whether it be good or bad as this helps show us were we need to improve our standards and systems. Great to read that you found our Frontier Cafe & Bar menu to have more options than the Hard Antler. I have to agree that an hour to wait for an ice cream sundae is way too long and I have passed this on to the Cafe & Bar Manager to re look at how we can improve this, as it is not hard when dropping off plates to be washed that they couldn't quickly do a sundae to bring back out. Unfortunately we are in an area where wifi is still from a satellite dish, so can drop in and out depending on weather, and if we have too many people trying to access the wifi at the same time. The only way to improve this is by the government bringing in fiber networks to remote areas like Haast. Once again thank you for your comments and we wish you safe journeys. Kindest regards Tracey Dinan General Manager
Read more
I have to confess that I had read some negative reviews about Haast in general as well as this hotel, so I was a bit concerned that maybe I'd made a terrible call in stopping in Haast and booking this place. It turns out I had nothing to worry about! I love the location of this
Read more
Response from Tracey D, General Manager at Heartland World Heritage Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Islander Thank you so much for your wonderful review on your recent stay with us here at the Heartland Hotel Haast. For some reason some people do not find Haast to be relaxing when they are only surrounded with native bush, rivers, mountains, wetland swamp and sea, but are instead wanting more than what Haast has to offer. I keep saying this but I do have a terrific team working with us again this season and I will be sure to pass along your comments to them. I have reminded staff that work the breakfast shift to let guests know we have the percolated coffee along with espresso coffee. There is nothing worse than starting the day with a bad coffee, so my sincere apologies for this. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you again in the future. Kindest regards Tracey Dinan General Manager
Read more
Great little hotel on the way to or the way back from somewhere. Nothing special but the bed was fine, shower hot and the room a great size. Breakfast was first class and the restaurant had a great selection. Staff were terrific and very accommodating. Perfect place to rest a
Read more
Response from Tracey D, General Manager at Heartland World Heritage Hotel
Responded 15 Nov 2018
Hi fisher1962 How wonderful you loved our hotel, we appreciate your feedback. We have a fantastic team with us this season and it is great when guest recognise their efforts. I will be sure to pass along your comment to our kitchen team on their breakfasts. Once again thank you for your lovely review and we hope to see you back for a visit. Safe travels and warm regards Tracey Dinan General Manager
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & Beach
Photo provided by managementHeartland World Heritage Hotel
Birds Eye View
Photo provided by managementHeartland World Heritage Hotel
Twin Room
the back yard
PreviousNext
123456
"Very comfortable and value place to stay"
"A good room would be in another hotel"
"Rooms on the inner side are quieter, while those on the outer side have a parking place just in front of the door."
"room facing the mountains"
"Do not consider this hotel or town."
PreviousNext
12345610
PRICE RANGE
US$95 - US$128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel haast world heritage
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandWest Coast RegionHaast
NUMBER OF ROOMS
54
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing