We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Heartland World Heritage Hotel

Save
Share
Traveller (55)
Room & Suite (28)
Dining (11)
Overview
Haast-Jackson Bay Road, Haast 7886 New Zealand See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Family Rooms
Bar/Lounge
3 Star accommodation
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveller rating
40
84
71
49
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
40
84
71
49
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssliding glassnegative reviewsstayed one nightmain buildingthe pubfranz josef glacierjackson baycoastpurposeroute
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 283 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was functional and the bed was good but it is a bit of a soulless place but there is not a great deal of choice in Haast. We had been driving a lot for the previous few days but, on reflection, wish we...More

Thank DeeWhy51
Response from Tracey D, General Manager at Heartland World Heritage HotelResponded 1 week ago

Hi DeeWhy Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Heartland World Heritage Hotel and for taking the time to review this. I am delighted that you found your room functional and the bed good. Our apologies that you did not enjoy your...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Unfortunately found our stay very disappointing. The photos of the room we booked are not exactly true to form - the room we had was extremely small, not at all as it was portrayed in the picture which was very deceiving (didn't have this problem...More

Thank Bronwen C
Response from Tracey D, General Manager at Heartland World Heritage HotelResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Bronwen Thank you again for taking the time to place feedback on your recent stay with us, I am sorry that we did not met your expectations, I am not sure who the female would be or associated with, but I will investigate into...More

Reviewed 1 August 2018

1 night stop travelling from Hokitika to Wanaka. Glad I wasn't staying here alone. Long empty corridor on one side and a sliding door to the car park on the other. Used the single chair to jam this door shut for extra security. Plastic clad...More

Thank Karen B
Response from Tracey D, General Manager at Heartland World Heritage HotelResponded 7 August 2018

Hi Karen Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your recent stay with us. You have my apologies that your stay with us has not met your expectations - this certainly is disappointing to hear. Maintenance have checked all rooms and we...More

Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night on way down the West Coast. The room was very basic and could do with an upgrade. One strange thing was that there was not a bar fridge in the room but rather it was out in the hallway?...More

Thank Jeff H
Response from Tracey D, General Manager at Heartland World Heritage HotelResponded 7 August 2018

Hi Jeff Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on your recent stay with us. At this stage we only have fridges in our Queen/Single units. We are in the process of adding more fridges to our other room types once our...More

Reviewed 14 July 2018

After driving from Fox Glacier we drove into Haast, needing to stop for a coffee, we where drawn to the Heritage hotel due to the roof have "CAFE" painted across it.So we stopped for coffee, the restaurant was warm and had a large fire burning,...More

Thank ColinM3080
Response from Tracey D, General Manager at Heartland World Heritage HotelResponded 15 July 2018

Hi Colin Thank you for letting me know your comments on your recent stop with us for a coffee, I do apologise that when you came in that the TV channel was not atmosphere appropriate, in the morning our breakfast guests like the good morning...More

View more reviews
About
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast Available
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair Access
Pool
Beachfront
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
54
Price range
US$84 - US$177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Hotel Haast World Heritage
Location
New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Haast
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
54
Price range
US$84 - US$177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Hotel Haast World Heritage
Location
New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Haast
Photos
Traveller (55)
Room & Suite (28)
Dining (11)
Pool & Beach (2)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 3 hotels in Haast
Heritage Park Lodge
50 reviews
2.43 km away
Aspiring Court Motel
125 reviews
2.63 km away
Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
259 reviews
23.97 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 8 restaurants in Haast
Hard Antler Bar &
333 reviews
2.33 km away
Prickly Gorse Cafe
45 reviews
2.47 km away
The Frontier Cafe & Bar
153 reviews
.09 km away
Haast - Otoko Espresso
15 reviews
2.58 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 12 attractions in Haast
Haast Visitor Centre
76 reviews
.33 km away
HeliServicesNZ Haast
23 reviews
2.34 km away
Wharekai Te Kou
15 reviews
5.77 km away
Greenstone Helicopters day tours
12 reviews
2.32 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Heartland World Heritage Hotel staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Rooms on the inner side are quieter, while those on the outer side have a parking place just in front of the..."
Read review
"room facing the mountains"
Read review
"Do not consider this hotel or town."
Read review
"Probably wouldn't stay again. Definitely tired and overdue for an upgrade."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing