We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castaways Resort

Traveller (190)
Room & Suite (69)
Dining (20)
Certificate of Excellence
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Castaways Resort is located on the stunning cliff tops of Kariotahi Beach, Auckland.With a fabulous range of services available, friendly and helpful staff and a commitment to providing wonderful experiences to guests, Castaways Resort is Auckland most popular cliff top ocean front resort.Be pampered at onsite Bersantai Day Spa, recharge with a walk along the ocean beach below, savour as you dine on the cliff tops at Agave Restaurant with the sounds of the ocean below, have fun with onsite activities such as 4WDing, archery and blokarting and relax in seaview accommodation - it's all here at Castaways Resort.Wonderful as a weekend getaway, perfect for a stopover during your New Zealand holiday (Aucklands International airport is only 45 minutes away), gorgeous as a wedding destination, ideal for your next conference or retreat and a true escape for a day trip, Castaways Resort is not to be missed!
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Conference Facilities
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Minibar
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Charming
HOTEL CLASS
Reviews & more
271Reviews
236Photos
3Q+A
61Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 139
  • 78
  • 25
  • 20
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We have stayed at this amazing location before and were really looking forward to a repeat upmarket stay with that stunning 180 degree view of the rolling surf of the Tasman. But so disappointing to find that the electric jug wouldn't work, the coffee plunger was broken and the
Read more
+5
Fantastic bungalow villas with an amazing view. Black Beach that’s used by surfers, campers, kites, cars on the beach etc. Maybe a bit pricey villas, but it was worth it. Just the sunset made it worth it.
Read more
Response from MichalJanalik, General Manager at Castaways Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to review Castaways Resort. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back to Castaways in the future. Kind regards, Michal Janalik
Read more
+7
The only reason this is not a 1 star review is because of the views and location. Driving up to the “Resort” we were excited to see the location, the isolation and views are stunning and we thought we what an amazing place, this is going to be a fantastic stay, especially to
Read more
Response from MichalJanalik, General Manager at Castaways Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this feedback. We are incredibly sorry to hear about the above complaints. I can assure you that our rooms are always cleaned and bedding changed after each guest checks out. We are currently investigating with our cleaners and laundry as to why the room would be in the state you have described, and will take disciplinary action where required. Had you made these issues known to us as soon as you discovered them, we would have happily moved you to another room, provided fresh towels, or remade your bed etc. Should you wish to discuss this matter further, please call or email me on 09 236 5041 or manager@castaways.co.nz. Again, please accept my sincere apologies. Regards, Michal Janalik
Read more
We booked a 2 bedroom apartment for one night to avoid driving after celebrating my sisters 70th birthday. The view was magnificent and the rooms well maintained and clean. It was quite a walk ( ok going down but hard going back up ) to get to the restaurant at our age but the
Read more
Response from MichalJanalik, General Manager at Castaways Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to review Castaways Resort. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback such as this. I will pass on your comments to our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Kind regards, Michal Janalik
Read more
+1
What an absolute amazing break at Castaways Resort - we booked the chilled out packaged and it was more then value for dollar. The accomodation was lush, the dinner amazing and the breakfast a very very nice surprise to what was available. We also booked in for a couples
Read more
Response from MichalJanalik, General Manager at Castaways Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Hi there, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Castaways Resort. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team as I am sure that this feedback will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously provide our guests with fantastic service. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards, Michal Janalik
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Plentiful black mould on the vents and back of the AC unit.
Clean your own dishes
View
LCD TV
Blood spots
PreviousNext
12345614
Hi there, Yes the studios are located lower on the clifftops than the chalets, and are built in blocks of 5 units whereas each chalet is separate. But both still have a gorgeous view :) Hope that helps.
0 votes
How far is the beach from the resort?
The resort is right on the beach :) I would say two minute walk
0 votes
Hi there hipalpal - Kylie Hall here from Castaways Resort. Thanks for your questions. Our Coastal Glam Camp sites are located in secluded settings, so yes you can enjoy the outdoors of your camp too. Walking at night is not recommended for safety reasons as our Coastal Glam Camp sites are set on the cliff tops so that we can provide you with stunning elevated ocean views. For a walk to the beach - if staying just the one night, I would recommend enjoying a beach walk before you check in, or after you check out in order to optimise your time at the Glam Camp. If staying two nights, you could venture out on your buggy after breakfast on day one and then go for a walk to the beach. I hope that's helpful and we look forward to having you stay with us.
0 votes
Show all answers
"Room 28 has no table to eat food on or outside table to put a drink. Studios higher up will see the full sunset."
"all the rooms have a great view"
"You must try Agave Restaurant."
"Have only stayed in one room - but all the Winter Studio's had an awesome view, especially of the sunset the next morning."
"Pretty windy situation which I love the sound of, but it can be quite buffeting and not for everyone."
PreviousNext
12345613
PRICE RANGE
US$117 - US$266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandWaiuku
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing