We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Explorer Hotel Berchtesgaden

Certificate of Excellence
Welcome to Explorer Hotel Berchtesgaden, your Schoenau am Koenigssee “home away from home.” Explorer Hotel Berchtesgaden aims to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, which is why so many guests continue to come back year after year. St. Bartholomew's Church (6.1 km), located nearby, makes Explorer Hotel Berchtesgaden a great place to stay for those interested in visiting this popular Schoenau am Koenigssee landmark. Guests can enjoy a fitness center and free breakfast during their visit. Explorer Hotel Berchtesgaden makes getting online easy, with free wifi. If you are looking for some good spots to eat nearby, you may want to check out Hotel Brunneck (0.5 km), Gasthof Bodner (1.4 km), or Echostuberl (1.3 km), all of which are within walking distance of Explorer Hotel Berchtesgaden. Best of all, Explorer Hotel Berchtesgaden makes it easy to experience many great Schoenau am Koenigssee attractions like Jennerbahn (1.0 km), Bayerische Seenschifffahrt (1.0 km), and Rennbob-Taxi (1.3 km), which are a short distance away. Explorer Hotel Berchtesgaden puts the best of Schoenau am Koenigssee at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.
Read more
Property amenities
Ski In/Ski Out
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Show more
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Accessible rooms
Good to know
Great View
Full view
Hofreitstr. 7 83471 Schönau am Königssee, 83471 Schoenau am Koenigssee, Bavaria Germany
Name/address in local language
Getting there
W. A. Mozart Airport22 km
See all nearby hotels
Reviews & more
6Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 89
  • 78
  • 14
  • 6
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
The hotel is quite new, there are some negative things though.
The bed: sleeping quality was low. The bed had dips, and the pillow was very poor quality.
The breakfast: cooking your own omlette is a sweet idea. Cooking your own omlette when the hotel is full and there are only 4
Read more
Response from explorerhotels, Manager at Explorer Hotel Berchtesgaden
Responded 9 Nov 2018
Dear Satc0, Thankyou very much for your feedback. We are sorry that you did't like the bed und the pillow. We can assure you that the quality of our pillows is very high. In general, we set a high value on the quality of goods and materials and put special emphasis on sustainable products. Best regards, Carina and Team
Read more
Very modern, clean , efficient and quiet hotel . The breakfast buffet is outstanding and truly provides a excellent start to a day of outdoor , hiking adventures ! It is excellent value and one will not be dissapointed . The staff is very helpful and organized with quick check in
Read more
Response from Anbieter, Manager at Explorer Hotel Berchtesgaden
Responded 11 Sep 2018
Dear drscdstravel, thank you very much for your great recommendation! Exceptional breakfast and a good night sleep are kind of the most important things for having a great day :) We are happy to hear that you found this in the Explorer Hotel Berchtesgaden so you could enjoy the great landsacpe. Best wishes and we hope to welcome you again, soon Carina, Hotelmanager
Read more
This is not a hotel, actually I may call it modified version of a hostel. We stayed one nite in this hotel (hostel). Poor customer service at the check in. Hotel (hostel) management has a distorted concept about "environment protection=EP". They actually misuse EP as an excuse fo
Read more
Response from Anbieter, Manager at Explorer Hotel Berchtesgaden
Responded 15 Jul 2018
Dear Siamak S, thank you very much for your detailed feedback. The Explorer Hotels are comparable to 3-star hotels and especially customer service and sustainability are very important to us. It usually is what other Explorer Guests appreciate a lot. I am sorry, that you felt different and you didn't like your stay in the Explorer Hotel Berchtesgaden. You're right, there is one iron and ironing board for our guests - of course everybody can take it to their room while using. In this case the lady didn't want to take it to her room, because it was a very quick job she had to do - this is what she told me. Of course everybody can do this in their own way :) Best wishes Carina, Hotelmanager
Read more
Accommodation is in the countryside, it is well here, breakfast is rich. The only mistake is that there are no glasses or water jars, so it's difficult to drink medication and use it for a toothbrush or dental prosthesis.
Read more
Response from Anbieter, Manager at Explorer Hotel Berchtesgaden
Responded 25 Jul 2018
Dear František R, thank you very much for your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. For you next stay: you get a fresh glass at the bar you can take to your room. :) Best wishes from Berchtesgaden Carina, Hotelmanager
Read more
Three of us stayed for one night, in two rooms. The hotel only charged single occupancy for a double room, which was good. The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. The public areas are fine and the hotel is very well placed for the town centre, about a 15 minute walk away.
Read more
Response from Anbieter, Manager at Explorer Hotel Berchtesgaden
Responded 25 Jul 2018
Dear aitchc1, thank you very much for your recommendation. In this case it was lucky you - normally everybody needs to be registered - so the price is per person not per room. You're right the breakfast with over 70 different products which are mostly regional is what many other explorer guests appreciate a lot :) Best wishes and hope to see you again, soon Carina, Hotelmanager
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Photo provided by managementExplorer Hotel Berchtesgaden
Viele tote Tiere im Zimmer
Gibt es die Möglichkeit E-Mountainbikes im Hotel zu mieten?
Hallo Maximilian, ja Du kannst verschiedene E-Mountainbike Modelle für € 20-40 pro Tag direkt im Hotel mieten.
0 votes
Show all answers
"All rooms are quiet as the hotel is situated in a quiet but easy to access location"
"Nice rooms, I think they are all much the same."
"Check the smell in your room before you say yes if you have a nose sensitive to flowery fragrances"
"Couples especially like the rooms are on floors 2,3"
"All the rooms face one set of mountains or the other."
US$90 - US$168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
GermanyBavariaUpper BavariaSchoenau am Koenigssee
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing