We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2131 Hakatere Potts Rd, Ashburton Lakes 7771 New Zealand
E-mail hotel
Hotels.com
FindHotel
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (69)
Dining (12)
Room & Suite (9)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Mount Potts Lodge accommodation caters to everyone, whether you travel in campervans or would like to stay in a deluxe en suite studio or shearers cottage or everything in between, we have accommodation suited to you. We are positioned in an impressive location in New Zealand High-Country amid the Hakatere Conservation Park, Ashburton Lakes, Canterbury. Mt Potts Lodge offers a chance to experience an incredible but little known part of New Zealand, surrounded by mountains on all sides, at the base of Mt Potts (2200 metres) and a five minute drive to Mount Sunday made world famous as the setting for Edoras, capital of Rohan in the Lord of the Rings film. We have plenty of activities for everyone, whether it be tramping, mountain biking, fishing, climbing, or just relaxing and taking in the panoramic views with a glass of wine, Mt Potts Lodge has something for you. In our Cafe, Bar and Restaurant our Professional Sous Chef and Patissiere creates an imaginative seasonal menu with an emphasis on locally sourced produce. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner is served from 8.00 am-20.00 pm. Situated on a 1,200 hectare working farm, there are a choice of animals to feed and pet. Horse riding can be booked in advance. We cater for all events and propose a tailored solution for any occasions function or venue with quality service and facilities.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Horseback riding
Bicycle tours
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Patio
Board games / puzzles
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
BBQ facilities
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
French

Location

Full view
Contact
2131 Hakatere Potts Rd, Ashburton Lakes 7771 New Zealand
Getting there
Christchurch Intl Airport129 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
87Reviews1Q+A10Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 61
  • 17
  • 5
  • 2
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Lisa wrote a review Mar 2020
2 contributions
Beautyful and quite place to stay. Localy and seasonal fresh food. Very delicious. Nice and clean bathroom. Only 5 min from LotR Edoras. Beautyful landscape - a must do! Also a trip worth for people who don't know the LotR films.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from NZaccommodation, Manager at Mt Potts Lodge
Responded 21 Mar 2020
Thank you for your kind words.
Read more
Chris H wrote a review Feb 2020
Bristol, United Kingdom1,880 contributions752 helpful votes
Called in for lunch at the Mt Potts Lodge – the only place potentially serving refreshments on the long gravel road drive up from Mt Somers. We arrived hungry and thirsty to find that no food was available and only black coffee could be served as they didn’t even have any milk. They did have a few bottles of alcoholic and soft drinks. An annoying disappointment, especially as there is no sign at the turn off to warn that food is not available and the next opportunity to eat is around a one hour drive back down the gravel road. Star ratings include a rating for rooms - I clicked on that by mistake and could not undo the rating. We did not stay, so I have no basis on which to give a rating. My mistake - apologies
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from NZaccommodation, Manager at Mt Potts Lodge
Responded 26 Feb 2020
Hello Chris, I am so very sorry this happened to you as I pride myself in looking after all of our customers and making sure they have good food to enjoy because as you state it is a long way to travel just for coffee. Certain circumstances meant that myself (the chef) could not be present at this time so unfortunately you got given a sub par experience. I strongly recommend if you are local visiting us again soon and have a better experience and on the house on my behalf. If you can read our previous reviews then you will see that we are quite consistent in our restaurant. Having limited staff here (2) means that when a unforeseen circumstance such as this one arises then the system falls and crumbles and I am certain this review should not reflect the overall work, time and effort that is put into running this small business. I apologize again as I can empathize with your situation Kind regards, Management
Read more
Alvin wrote a review Jan 2020
8 contributions1 helpful vote
We booked the Silver Birch cottage for two nights here which lies across a small stream (after rainy weather- you will mostly need a 4wd to get over it as it is pretty deep). There used to be a bridge but it got swept away by a flood a few weeks ago (we stayed in late December 2019). You can still use the foundation of the bridge as stepstones to cross by foot. The cottage itself was beautiful and private, fully stocked with amenities, electricity, water, and kitchen. The only modern piece missing was wifi which was only accessible back at the main part of the camp. The food - delicious. We were initially skeptical that one man could manage the entire site and also cook all three meals for the people here. But then we had our first meal and was completely blown away by the quality. The food here was on par or better than most of the meals we have had in the cities. Everything is locally sourced and made from scratch. Menu changes based on what he can buy. The leg of lamb - soft, juicy, tender. The pork belly sandwich was mouthwatering soft and flavorful. The banana and berry smoothie - definitely recommend - it was an incredibly refreshing way to end a long hike. But the winner of the trip was the bread he makes - it was like eating crack. We literally could not stop and eventually ended up buying entire loaves to eat on our own. The view here was gorgeous. The hike up to Mt Sunday offered a great view of the valley. However, just up the road, you can do a steeper climb up Mt Potts which offers a unique view of its own, even if you do not make it to the top. This was a perfect location to avoid the many tourists. At night (if you're lucky!), we had a clear sky, and around 00:00, you could see the stars so clearly, away from any city lights nearby. And if you know where to look - you can see the milky way with just the naked eye! The owner of the place, Lloyd, was incredibly nice and accommodating. We really enjoyed his company and wish him the best!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from NZaccommodation, Manager at Mt Potts Lodge
Responded 2 Jan 2020
Thank you so much it means a lot. I really enjoyed meeting and hosting you guys, I hope to see you again at some point. Kind regards, Lloyd
Read more
LanK245 wrote a review Dec 2019
London, United Kingdom6 contributions4 helpful votes
Great location, close to Mount Sunday which even if you're not a Lord of the Rings fan is a beautiful place to visit. The young man who almost single handedly runs the place is a good host and an excellent chef. Make sure you take away some of his bread on departing. An extra shower for campers wouldn't go amiss but otherwise a great place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Iacopo B wrote a review Dec 2019
Parma, Italy7 contributions1 helpful vote
This place is wonderful. The rooms are clean and the view is beautiful. The owners are kind and the food was surprisingly good, really good ( the bread and all the dishes are homemade !!! ) A magic place to stay. My compliments to the staff.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from NZaccommodation, Manager at Mt Potts Lodge
Responded 30 Dec 2019
Thank you for your kind words, it was my pleasure. hopefully see you again Kind regards, Lloyd
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$72 - US$72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionAshburton Lakes
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mt Potts Lodge
What are some of the property amenities at Mt Potts Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a lounge, free parking, and a business centre.
What food & drink options are available at Mt Potts Lodge?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Mt Potts Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Does Mt Potts Lodge offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does Mt Potts Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Mt Potts Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.