Braxmere
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Braxmere

88 Waihi Road, Tokaanu, Turangi 3381 New Zealand
Traveller (122)
Lovely view
Room & Suite (45)
Pool & Beach (11)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 1 apartment in Tokaanu
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Braxmere is in a breathtaking location that provides an idyllic setting for tranquil relaxation. It is also within a short distance of some of New Zealand’s best skiing, tramping and fishing spots. Reflecting the balance of action packed activities with downtime is done through simple yet stunning design. Host a wedding, take a weekend break or enjoy a corporate retreat.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Beach
Canoeing offsite
Conference facilities
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Fishing
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Dining area
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
166Reviews0Q+A30Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 125
  • 31
  • 6
  • 1
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Alavine wrote a review Jun 2020
Alice Springs, Australia15 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here many years ago and wasn't impressed. Took a chance to see how or if there were any improvements and booked again. . . Wow!!! what a change! Beautiful unit facing an incredible lake view. Amazing shower fcilities, and having stayed in similar places overseas this is above them all. Attention to detail in the new design of the units, a brilliiant meal in very comfortable surroundings at a most reasonable price. The staff are second to none... friendly, knowledgeable and extremely helpful. Front desk staff, restuarant staff, kitchen staff, they're all superb ambasadors for our country. When our NZ international boarders open, you MUST come here.
Locals, YOU NEED TO SEE THIS!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chenara Cameron, General Manager at Braxmere
Responded 21 Jul 2020
Thanks for your amazing review - we are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JohnW_Palmie wrote a review Jun 2020
Palmerston North, New Zealand86 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Well off 'the beaten track', Braxmere shares a bay on the southern shore of Lake Taupo with the Maori community of Waihi. We had a very comfortable stay and could have easily extended our stay a few more days. Best to unpack car early as the parking by each unit is shared and tight so take care when parking. If you intend to stay for breakfast at Lakehouse, which is very good, book your breakfast before 10am to get best selection of breakfast options. After 10am the lunch menu is provided.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chenara Cameron, General Manager at Braxmere
Responded 21 Jul 2020
Hi John Thanks for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Liketorome wrote a review Feb 2020
Dorset383 contributions140 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Each of the units has a superb lake view and provides outdoor furniture and towels for a dip in the lake. Well equipped and designed with a place immediately by your unit to park so no need to carry bags anywhere. Would have marked this excellent if it hadn't been dirty. There was lots of dust around the edges of things (I made the mistake of putting some black trousers in a corner on the carpeted floor of the bedroom) and we found 4 items under the bed, including a pair of socks and some pills. When we handed these in and said where we found them we expected a more apologetic response rather than just a thank you. Maybe it happens a lot so was not as much of a surprise to them as it was to us.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Braxmere2019, Front Office Manager at Braxmere
Responded 9 Feb 2020
Hi Thanks for your response - We are very sorry about the experience you had with your unit, this is not a common occurrence at all. We do try our best to ensure that our units are cleaned to the highest standard. We are pleased you enjoyed the views and facilities.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sam wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We were not able to stay as only 1 of the 2 beds were made up- there were 3 of us.
We booked in prior to the office closing and received a confirmation email from reception with key details and telling us to enjoy our stay.
On arrival we went to the restaurant, picked up our key and on opening the door to the room were met by a very musty smell.
As the room had not been prepared for us we had no choice but to return the key. We just managed to catch restaurant staff as they drove away. We then had to book other accomodation 20 mins away, not easy to organise at 9.30pm but at least other Turangi hosts are keen to look after their guests.
The reception staff have since texted to say that their 'after hours service' needs working on but as the room had not been prepared for us it really didn't make any difference whether we arrived prior to the reception closing or after? Were they going to make the bed and put towels etc out and air the room while we stood waiting?
We would recommend to other guests to check their rooms before paying as otherwise you may end up out of pocket and without a bed for the night, with no staff left to put things right...
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SuperShan1 wrote a review Mar 2024
Singapore, Singapore1,291 contribution334 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This is not a nice lodge. Is a motel filled with mozzies and flies if you open you balcony to look at the lovely view. The view is nice no doubt but the insects drive you crazy. I really can't rate this place as we've no choice. This is a good location if you need to sleep overnight and start early for Tongariro Crossing. It takes only 25min. from Braxmere to Tongariro shuttle car park.

Braxmere lodge yes it has a toaster, a fridge and washing basin, but it does not have a dish washer or a washing machine. We booked this place as we read it comes with Washing machine and dryer from Booking.com. End up, is the compound you need to go out and find the washing place and have NZ 5 in coins ready.

Is good they provide 4 large towels as there's no room service throughout your stay if is less than 4 nights. I feel the bedroom is pretty dirty. The couch is filthy with stains, the cutleries are not clean to my standard. I'm just uncomfortable here. Bright spots is the wifi is stable and fast. Fridge is nice looking. Toilet is big enough and easy to operate especially the shower area, view of balcony is very nice but we can't open the balcony door unless you're immune to mosquitoes and flies.

The manager Sue is very fast and responsive via WA which is a plus.

However, I can't be back again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
prsiebs wrote a review Dec 2019
Myponga, Australia35 contributions25 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
After two flights and a long drive, to find you had no room despite confirming arrival date in writing was disappointing. Then told check in would be brought forward next day.... was the second last room prepared. Basic service would have dictated early check in next day and/or a discount or complimentary meal ( or beverage whilst waiting for room), but no. Beautiful location and nice rooms, but wasn’t a good experience sleeping on a lounge elsewhere first night.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Braxmere2019, Front Office Manager at Braxmere
Responded 9 Feb 2020
Thanks for your response - We are very sorry about the confusion with the arrival date - we did offer to help find alternative accommodation for that night which would not have been at your expense. We try our best to have rooms ready by check in - on the odd occasion they may not be ready by 2PM due to factors such as how many cleans there are, what state the rooms are left in and the time guests depart.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Racheal Raukawa wrote a review May 2021
9 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It is hard to know how to adequately express how indebted we are to Braxmere and their restaurant, Lakeland House, for the fabulous hosts they were at our wedding this May 2021.

Nothing was an issue. We placed a Marquee on their lawn and decorated as we pleased. They accommodated any food requests. While we had arranged grazing tables, we also asked Braxmere to provide an additional buffet. This was a request made only a matter of days before our wedding and it was excellent. They will also cater to your beverage needs, if given advance warning.

The rooms were clean, modern and they all had the added bonus of beautiful views of the Taupo lake.

The venue is relaxed and was more than willing to work with us to make sure our day ran smoothly.

We had our wedding vows, meal and photos at the venue, as it is stunning. There is no need to change locations. Our guests enjoyed the relaxation of having everything in one location, as did we.

Thank you Braxmere.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
bungy69 wrote a review May 2020
Auckland, New Zealand35 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
So we booked early 3 weeks prior no mention of outdoor seating arrived an a breezy chilly day for our table to be outside, then said wanted to be inside got shoved in corner squeezed together. Service was average with a very young staff group, wanted to celebrate mums passing anniversary with cocktails that were not quite why we were expecting. The food was again average and for a group of 11 the first meal were finished before the last meal was served. Beautiful setting but will not be going back ... sorry 😔
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Braxmere2019, Front Office Manager at Braxmere
Responded 3 Jun 2020
Hi thanks for your response - we are sorry that the on site restaurant didn't meet expectations - been the first long weekend post lockdown the restaurant was beyond busy (a separate business to Braxmere)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tony Atkins wrote a review Jan 2020
Bulls, New Zealand96 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We took Grandma out for lunch while holidaying at our Bach at the southern end of Lake Taupo over the Christmas New Year period.

There was four of us at this lovely restaurant a beautiful place on the lakeside with wonderful food a pleasant afternoon had by all.

Recommend you book over the holiday periods especially if you want a table outside.

They have a good range of yummy food.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Braxmere2019, Front Office Manager at Braxmere
Responded 9 Feb 2020
Thanks for your response - we are very pleased you enjoyed your lunch at our on-site restaurant
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Scoootch wrote a review Jul 2022
Auckland Central, New Zealand20 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Its hard to find a place to stay that is as nice as Braxmere, in their part of the world. Amazing views from every bedroom delivered fabulous morning sunrises for the three days we were there. Checking in was easy with the key left in a lock box at the door. The rooms are tidy and adequately appointed with a king bed, comfortable sofa, outdoor table and a huge shower. Occasional water shortages were a small problem that was quickly rectified. The restaurant was adequate. The staff were always happy to hep.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: All rooms are well positioned, at ground level with easy access to the lakefront and the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Ruth wrote a tip Mar 2023
22 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No restaurants or eating places for miles. Self cater, it’s got all you need . And the views from your private terrace are gorgeous."
Read full review
Scoootch wrote a tip Jul 2022
Auckland Central, New Zealand20 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms are well positioned, at ground level with easy access to the lakefront and the restaurant. Room 1 is closest to the restaurant."
Read full review
Han_yinu wrote a tip Jan 2022
Wellington, New Zealand566 contributions114 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Low number rooms get morning sun (1 -6), Rooms 7 - 10 get afternoon sun. All rooms have a view of the lake, the partial lake views are fine."
Read full review
Ross C wrote a tip Feb 2020
Richmond, New Zealand258 contributions50 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Every room has a fine view"
Read full review
Paul E wrote a tip Aug 2019
Wellington, New Zealand35 contributions28 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not sure but I think all the units front onto the lake so no one misses the view."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Tokaanu area.
PRICE RANGE
$199 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandWaikato RegionTaupo DistrictTurangiTokaanu
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BRAXMERE | UPDATED 2024 Apartment Reviews & Price Comparison (Tokaanu, New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Braxmere
Which popular attractions are close to Braxmere?
Nearby attractions include Mount Ngauruhoe (7.3 km), Tongariro River Trail (7.4 km), and Tokaanu Thermal Pools (2.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Braxmere?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Braxmere?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Braxmere?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Braxmere?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Braxmere?
Conveniently located restaurants include The creel tackle house, Hare & Copper Eatery, and Hydro Eatery.
Does Braxmere have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Braxmere accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.