We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mackerel Islands

Save
Share
Thevenard Island, Western Australia 6711 Australia
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Priceline
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (117)
Room & Suite (27)
Pool & Beach (14)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Enjoy an idyllic holiday without the distractions of life’s bustle on one of two spectacular islands. Located 20 minutes from Onslow and only 100km North of Exmouth, a holiday or day trip to the Mackerel Islands provides a wilderness-style experience boasting world–class fishing, diving, snorkelling, swimming, boating, nature watching and relaxation in protected, calm waters. Two of the ten islands – Thevenard Island and Direction Island – offer accommodation and access to an extraordinary experience, where rugged adventure meets isolation at its most splendid. Overlooking the mooring area and swimming bay on Thevenard Island are 13 self–contained, air-conditioned, beachfront cabins (sleeping 2 – 10 people) with all the comforts of everyday living. Your cabin’s shaded outdoor entertaining area is perfect for taking in spectacular sunrises and for watching the local wildlife after a day’s fishing, diving and exploring. A short walk from the beach is Club Thevenard, a 34-room village built around a pool and BBQ area. It offers single or twin rooms complete with ensuite, air-conditioning and all the essentials for up to 50 people. Or, if you’d prefer an island all to yourself, Direction Island may just be the ideal getaway for you. Direction Island accommodation offers a unique and distinctly Western Australian island experience. Located 11 kilometres off WA’s stunning Pilbara coast and nestled within its own coral reef among the spectacular waters of the Mackerel Islands, you can play castaway with up to 8 people on this rustic little island gem. Accessible by charter boat or private vessel, accommodation on Direction Island is a singular, self-contained A-frame beach cabin with simple home comforts that enhance the opportunity to soak up the beauty of untouched nature, reconnect with family and friends, and truly unravel from life’s bustle.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Canoeing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Paid private parking nearby
Secured parking
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Diving
Game room
Snorkelling
Billiards
Darts
Fishing
Table tennis
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Bottled water
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem

Location

Full view
Contact
Thevenard Island, Western Australia 6711 Australia
Getting there
Perth Airport1170 kmSee all flights
Onslow Airport25 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
92Reviews4Q+A18Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 72
  • 18
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Dan J wrote a review May 2021
4 contributions
Had an amazing 4 days on the island, the perfect place to relax and unwind. Snorkelling and beach fishing is a must and thanks so much to the Staff for the dinner under the stars and back beach tour!!!! They made us feel right at home. Would recommend the Cobia cabin to any family group looking to spend some island beach time together. Dan and Sophie
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing M, Guest Services / Front Office at Mackerel Islands
Responded 18 May 2021
Hi Dan & Sophie, We're so glad to hear this, thanks for your lovely review and awesome photos! We agree the Mackerel Islands are ideal for families, having that fun and relaxing time together and creating special memories. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back for another holiday in future!
Read more
Megan A wrote a review Jul 2020
Perth, Australia49 contributions3 helpful votes
We are currently on the lovely Thevenard Island enjoying a gorgeous break from city life. Had not heard of the Mackerel Islands much as a holiday destination- think its another of those well kept WA secret spots We flew to Karratha but you can fly to Onslow or Exmouth- ferry trip over to island where we saw whales. We are having a lovely time- snorkelling, fishing, beach combing. The staff are friendly, there when you go find them but generally leave you to just enjoy the island. Things I wish I had know before I came: You can walk around island but not across due to Chevrons presence. can be very windy in the morning so bring cards The island shop is great but basic- read tins of tuna & corn, no fresh produce Accommodation is very basic but clean & tidy - reminds me of Rotto 20 years ago You cant bring any alcohol to island but can buy here. Things I wish I had brought: uggs for inside sandy cottage Hairdryer; plastic glasses (there are 4 of everything in our cottage as it sleeps 4- some extra cutlery and plates would hv been handy); shell book; more fishing gear as shop limited. Fold out chairs for beach & jetty. Favourite thing to do here: so far squid fishing off jetty at night; dinner under the stars. Just lovely. Will definitely cone back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
CazJD wrote a review May 2020
Karratha, Australia48 contributions16 helpful votes
+1
With the intrastate state regions opening up a week prior, local travel was a no brainer. Instead of following the crowds to Exmouth/ Coral bay, we chose to tow the boat down to Onslow and stay on Thevenard island. Google Mackeral islands and it takes you to their website. Full of good information on how to get here,etc. There are a few things that aren’t happening that should be on the website. Currently they’re not operating a “ferry” across, so its definitely take your own boat. Once we arrived at Onslow, after driving 3 and a half hours, we were told that due to the wind we would have to delay our boat departure. This is for safety reasons as once you arrive at the island you moor on the closest mooring and they attach a stern line to pull the boat closer to shore and hold it steady. The staff then help you unload your gear onto their utes for transit to your cabin. Knowing the above, we could have left our home location later, or casually made our way to onslow. The cabins are overlook the beach with gorgeous sunrise veiws. The cabins themselves are quite basic, but have all the necessary equipment you need whilst on the island. There is a guest laundry down at the shop and each cabin has a rear enclosed area with a clothes line. Our cabin had a little ensuite out back, and also a second seperate toilet (for the men!) On booking you can ask for a portacot and high chair, handy not having to pack those! From the cabins you can also see the boat moorings, which is great for peace of mind. Wind wasnt as favourable for us over the long weekend, the moorings hold in 20-25knot winds! The island staff are absolutely amazing and extremely accomodating. Pre book your alcohol and they’ll put it in your fridge. They have an outdoor fridge and freezer out the back of the shop, and if requested, they’ll pop all your fishing essentials in there for collection early morning. Otherwise the shop is open 8-10am and again 4-6pm. Other ammenities include: Boat and equipment hire, big fish cleaning area, satellite tv, coffee pod machine, little shop, boat refueling. Recommend that you order all your food/ supplies a week or more out. Saves space if you’re taking your boat across. If you live in the North West and want a weekend away fishing, or even something different i highly recommend popping across to the Mackerals.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing M, Guest Services / Front Office at Mackerel Islands
Responded 7 Jul 2020
Hi CazJD, Thanks for your fantastic and detailed review and for choosing to stay with us. As still a bit of a hidden gem, first hand recommendations and word of mouth is beyond important to us, so a heartfelt thanks for helping get the word out! We're also thrilled to hear your feedback on our team and customer service, we really believe in giving our guests the best stay possible. P.S. We're now operating the ferry service from Onslow to the Island every Tuesday and Friday. Guests are also welcome to take their own boat across. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Read more
Paula H wrote a review Jan 2020
13 contributions2 helpful votes
Most relaxing holiday ever. Lucky to experience tranquility at it best. Spent three nights on Thevenard Island in August. Initially booked to take a short seven flight from Onslow to island. Lucky for us circumstances meant we had to take a 40 minute boat trip; that turned into a impromptu whale watching. So amazing, and it only got better when we landed. 5 Adults spent their days roaming the pristine beaches stream with coral (we followed the rules, marvelled at what we saw but left it on the sand). Star watching at night, never seen so many stars in my life. Our Bungalow was fully equipped with kitchen and we had ordered food, wine and beer (Western Australian) which all ready for us on arrival - this saves trying to transport provisions in the heat. The islands are licensed for liquor so you can’t take your own, Small price to pay for staying at this fantastic place. Opportunities to go fishing or to arrive on your vessel. The fish in those waters are world class, so next time I will take a fishing charter. The island has a general store and restaurant; the menu is available the day before and you need to book. Don’t expect fine dining but delicious choices each evening. We were sad to leave and will definitely return later this year.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Cable TV in lounge
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing M, Manager at Mackerel Islands
Responded 5 Feb 2020
Dear Paula H, Thank you so much for your amazing review! The whales never disappoint at that time of the year (July and August), it's always so exciting to see them swimming and leaping out of the water. We love the starry night skies as well, definitely a highlight. We look forward to your next visit and getting to experience a fishing charter - thanks again for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
Read more
Martin B wrote a review Sep 2019
Marrakech, Morocco4 contributions3 helpful votes
Just left Thevenard Island this morning after our annual "Old Boys" 7-day fishing adventure to the Mackerel Islands. Thanks to all to staff involved for once again providing us with a memorable experience. From the moment we arrived in Onslow we were looked after by an incredibly professional and organised team. Special mentions go to Captain Chris and Paul. I've done plenty of fishing charters in my time and, as a skipper, Chris is second to none. The weather was not particularly kind to us this year but through his tireless efforts we managed loads of quality fish including a couple of personal bests. The diving was spectacular and the crays delicious. The food provided by Paul this year was an absolute highlight. Tasty, varied menu with as much as you can possibly eat. Thanks to all the "behind the scenes" crew (Chris B, Sara, Ivan, Oliva) for cleaning/freezing our fish, refuelling the boat, putting up with terrible dad jokes and doing all the things in the background that make this such a awesome experience. Not forgetting our pilot Alex who flew us to and from Onslow/Thevenard, a great way to arrive. If you want an unforgettable (and great value) fishing/wilderness adventure, do your self a favour, get some mates together and book yourselves at trip to The Macks. See you next year.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing M, Manager at Mackerel Islands
Responded 14 Oct 2019
Dear Martin B, Thanks for your 5 star review and fantastic feedback, especially about our staff - the whole team is thrilled to hear this! We love to give our guests the best holiday experiences, and it's so great to hear the 7 day fishing adventure is one that doesn't disappoint! We can't wait to see you and your crew back next year :)
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$196 - US$428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaWestern AustraliaThevenard Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
46
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mackerel Islands
What are some of the property amenities at Mackerel Islands?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Mackerel Islands?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Mackerel Islands?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Mackerel Islands?
Yes, free parking, paid private parking nearby, and secured parking are available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mackerel Islands?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Mackerel Islands have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Mackerel Islands offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Mackerel Islands offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Does Mackerel Islands have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.