We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Salty Dog Inn

TravelocityUS$100*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$108*
US$100*
Great Deal
US$108*
US$107*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Salty Dog Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 165: English reviews
Start your review of The Salty Dog Inn
 Click to rate
Oakland, California, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stopped here one night on way to Bay of Islands. Rooms are very basic, and ours had a strange, moldy smell. However, room was adequate and ok for one night. Plus good value for money. Pros of this hotel: very friendly, helpful staff, free hot cooked breakfast. We had drinks and dinner in the pub, which we loved: good food,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy K
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is a real gem. I was attending a wedding at Plume in matakana, so was trying to find something in central matakana however, this hotel is actually closer! I couldn't have found anywhere better. The salty Dog is a pub and to the right of the pub is the accomodation area. My room was huge, in fact it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ero40
Godalming, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A last minute decision to visit the area and most places were fully booked so we grabbed this vacancy with a little trepidation. On arrival we were pleasantly surprised with the welcome we received and the size of the accommodation that we had booked. The Salty Dog Inn is an English style pub with sports tv, darts board, music etc....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce E
debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback we really appreciate it. We have had terrible trouble with the internet in the units as a free service option as it keeps dropping hence the reason we have outsourced this to another company who then charge us. We had hoped to get this sorted but for now we are stuck with this. We...

Wellington New Zealand
Reviewed 2 March 2017

We were in Whangaparoa for a wedding and booked a deal on the Salty Dog Inn Site which included breakfast and 1 nights accomodation for 3 people. Modern Clean units and the Inn was fully booked with all car parks full that night . It was raining the morning we arrived so bought an Umbrella at The Warehouse next door...perfect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lyfs4travLn
debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We hope you will return in better weather. Warm regards Debbie

Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

Just 35 minutes north of Auckland's North Shore is the lovely little seaside enclave of Snells Beach, home to The Salty Dog Inn! The accomodation is lovely and the bedrooms are larger than most one would find at a County Inn. The Pub is a typical English Pub serving Guinness from the very traditional tap! The Bistro menu has something...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wyntonalan5
debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

What a lovely review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and do hope you will both be back one day soon. We say we are 45 mins north of Auckland but I like you 35 mins north of Auckland's north Shore for marketing. Take care and look forward to your safe return. Warm Regards Debbie and...

Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

I had seen reviews but I wanted to see for myself, I am so glad I stayed at this lovely place, the accommodation was lovely, clean and fresh, the room was serviced every day.😊 The Salty Dog team were fantastic, friendly, helpful and you can tell they enjoy working at the Salty Dog. The complimentary breakfast every day was fantastic....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heronartist
debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us and your wonderful comments. We have a great team and glad you were able to enjoy our environment. Hopefully we will see you again sometime soon. Warm Regards Debbie and the Team

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 January 2017

I only had a short one night stay here with friends over the Christmas break however we had a great time. The rooms were spacious and affordable. I think some of the rooms could do with a bit of an update especially the couches in the studio rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KarabNZ
debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your rating and comments. Point taken, with hotels it is one of those things you are for ever spending money in different areas. Take care and we hope to see you again some time soon. Warm

Whakatane, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 January 2017

The owner and staff went out of their way to accommodate our needs//wishes as we had just come in from fishing with ute & boat in tow. From talking on the phone to when we left we could not fault the friendly service.The unit was roomy & pleasant. We had a great sleep & a lovely complementary breakfast to send...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank baylife132
debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are pleased we suited your needs and hope you will return again sometime. Warm regards Debbie

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Situated in the small town of Snells Beach, which is not far from Warkworth & SH1. Accommodation is in a purpose built block away from the Salty Dog Tavern. As such no noise from the pub. Separate car park too. Good clean room although the shower curtain was, for unknown reasons, missing. Giant comfortable bed. The included buffet breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alannevillenz
debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I will certainly head over for an inspection of your bathroom to find out why you had no shower curtain. I am surprised you were disappointed with breakfast and again will need to ask about why this was. Breakfast come with eggs, hash browns, sausages, bacon, spaghetti, 4 different cereals, orange juice, bread white and...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 December 2016

The room was clean and spacious. Was a bit dissappointed as they advertised a breakfast but because we were there boxing day they didn't have the buffet but instead put 4 slices of bread wrapped in gladwrap, butter and jam sachets in the room with 2 small packets 1 of cornflakes and 1 of weetbix plus some fruit juice in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet F
debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I apologize you didn't get a room downstairs there was no mention of this in the notes. I do have the email that was sent to you via our booking engine little hotelier so I am unsure why you didn't get it. We also did advise all customer of the...

105 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (58)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snells Beach
0.2 km away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
143 reviews
6.0 km away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
72 reviews
6.0 km away
Walton Park Motor Lodge
Walton Park Motor Lodge
#2 of 2 in Warkworth
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Bridgehouse Lodge
Bridgehouse Lodge
#7 of 19 in Warkworth
54 reviews
4.9 km away
Nancy's Garden
Nancy's Garden
#1 of 19 in Warkworth
52 reviews
1.3 km away
Tahi Lodge - Matakana Coast
Tahi Lodge - Matakana Coast
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Salty Do Inn is an English Pub in the heart of Snells Beach, on the Matakana Coast. Known for it's friendly staff and Olde English Pub theme. Our premises are located only a short walk from Snells Beach and a short drive from Algies Bay, Scott's Landing, and Martins Bay. Within our Region we provide many attractions including stunning beaches, local Markets including the Matakana Farmers Market, many Wineries, and much more. Enjoy reasonable and affordable Accommodation in the beautiful Snells Beach - only 50 minutes from Auckland CBD. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Salty Dog Inn

Address: 242 Mahurangi East Road, Snells Beach 0920, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Snells Beach
Price Range: $147 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Salty Dog Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Salty Dog Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Salty Dog Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We satyed in room 3 in was not too noisy”
S3813NOraym, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“we ask for studio 1, so private”
4765625, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We could hear the people in the room above moving around, but not too bad.”
AucklandWino, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“quiet room, and located near sandspit and vineyards”
murrayd487, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“If you can't climb stairs ask for a downstairs room.”
morecambegirl60, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$100*
View Deal
Booking.comUS$108
PricelineUS$107
TripAdvisorUS$100
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates