We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Save
Share
Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TA England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!January Sale: up to -25%
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Trip.com
US$107
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Priceline
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (703)
Room & Suite (315)
Dining (55)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 13/08/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Updated 13/08/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#12 of 21 hotels in Durham
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Overlooking the River Wear, Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham presents a prime location for a visit to England. Voted "Best City in the UK" by Conde Nast Traveller, Durham has all the culture and charm you're looking for in an English town. Find UNESCO World Heritage sites and attractions Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and Durham University less than 3 kilometres away. The 207 well-kept, modern bedrooms and suites offer 4-star amenities. Collage Restaurant offers a unique twist on the British Brassiere with a range of signature dishes and British fare. The Bar serves a food menu, great drinks and classic cocktails early into the morning. Unwind at the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. Enjoy helpful services like on-site parking, express laundry and smart TV's with Chromecast service. The conference space houses 11 meeting rooms which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 500 people.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Laptop safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:January Sale: up to -25%
3889Reviews41Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,616
  • 1,382
  • 553
  • 210
  • 128
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
joolsham wrote a review 16 Jan
South Shields, United Kingdom64 contributions20 helpful votes
From the warm welcome we received from Elise to the helpful check out from Martine the staff in this hotel made this stay very special. The hotel is clean, spacious and friendly. The location is great, walking distance into town with bars and restaurants nearby. The room had everything we needed and was spotless. We had a dinner b&b deal which was good value for money and were well looked after in the restaurant by Kieron. The breakfast was also great with plenty of choice and the buffet replenished regularly. Staff again were friendly including Grazz ( I hope that’s how you spell it) who just couldn’t do enough to make sure we were happy with everything. The spa was clean and we got to try all the facilities, very relaxing. This was my second stay and both experiences have been very good. We’ll be back!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking is £14 but you do get 24 hours from check in. The breakfast times are lengthy so you can...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Stuart Lloyd, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Responded 2 days ago
Dear joolsham , We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and for complimenting our team members who will take great encouragement from your review. It's great to know you enjoyed your stay with us in Durham and we hope to be of service again in the near future. Kind Regards, Stuart
Read more
gadabouts48 wrote a review Sep 2021
Leeds, United Kingdom141 contributions61 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We arrived Friday afternoon and was met with a lovely receptionist at check in. Our room wasn't ready but we had arrived before 3pm🙂 was quite happy to sit in the bar area and wait. Eventually we got our room key for 168 the rooms at the Radisson are a nice size, view looked onto the side of the hotel onto a flat roof, but this didnt bother us. The room was clean plenty if coat hangers,toiletries and drawer space, plus iron and ironing board and hairdryer. Tea making facilities plenty of milk which is good. All our meals were excellent the waiting on staff were brilliant, considering there was 170 people in our group. Breakfast was a serve yourself buffet but things were replaced once they had run out. All in all a great time was had by all.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Stuart Lloyd, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Responded 23 Sep 2021
Dear gadabouts48 , Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is very rewarding for our team to read how much you enjoyed your weekend break with us and we hope to be of service again in the near future. Kind Regards, Stuart
Read more
Sandie S wrote a review 9 Jan
18 contributions
Check-in process is lengthy. We waited a long time for our rooms. Every time I went to see if the rooms were ready, I was asked to resubmit the registration & parking details. The rooms were ok - reasonably spacious but could have been cleaner. Went to the bar but could not find any staff. Dinner in the restaurant was ok. I'd stay here for convenience only as the rooms were expensive & parking was extra. There are various deals you can take advantage of if you can be bothered.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Catherine Draper, Guest Services / Front Office at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you Sandie S for your recent review. I am sorry to read of the issues encountered. Our Housekeeping Team do work incredibly hard to service the departure rooms, however weekends especially can encounter issues with rooms taking a little longer. We will address this and your other concerns with the appropriate teams so that we can work on improving the areas so that our guests have an enjoyable stay. Kind Regards Catherine
Read more
westward01 wrote a review 7 Jan
Nuneaton, United Kingdom22 contributions48 helpful votes
I had an excellent break to see my family over the Christmas / new period, as well having good facilities in the room to enable me to work on the days my company had not granted me leave. All the staff in the hotel were very friendly/helpful and the breakfast buffet gave a good range of items to choose from. I was in an premium room it was in a quiet location with a nice view of the cathedral and castle. I had problem with the room safe which was quickly resolved once reported. On the morning I was due to check out I had an awkward moment, I had put on the room door the come back later signt this was to allow me time to pack use the toilet as required etc. I know the check out time is midday, when suddenly around 10.30 am a cleaner walked in without knocking, I pointed to the door stating the come back later sign was on she apologised as she thought the room was empty! Apart from this small mishap on the morning I checked out I had excellent stay, perhaps in future the cleaners should be informed the rooms are empty and can be cleaned once the customer has checked out at reception.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Catherine Draper, Guest Services / Front Office at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Responded 1 week ago
Dear westward01, thank you for your recent review. I am so pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us over the festive period. I am very sorry that you were disturbed by the housekeeping team and will ensure that this is addressed with the team to prevent issues in the future. I do hope that you will visit us again in the near future. Kind Regards Catherine
Read more
anash377129 wrote a review 3 Jan
1 contribution
My husband and I booked for NYE to stay in a superior river view room but we feel like we were robbed really. There was NO mini bar, the pressure in shower was very poor, we had only one bath robe, there was NO English tea and the blind at window was hanging off! Overall we would have been more cost effective in a standard hotel room! We will not stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Catherine Draper, Guest Services / Front Office at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear anash377129. thank you for your review. I am very sorry to read of your disappointment. I do hope that you had the opportunity to speak with a member of the team whilst on site who would have been more than happy to assist. Kind Regards Catherine
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$110 - US$233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
radisson blu hotel, durham hotel durham, radisson durham
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCounty DurhamDurham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
207
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Which popular attractions are close to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham?
Nearby attractions include Durham Market Hall (0.4 km), Gala Theatre Durham (0.3 km), and Old Tom's Gin Bar (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham?
Conveniently located restaurants include Turtle Bay Durham, Akarsu Turkish Restaurant & Grill, and Bells Fish Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Radisson Blu Hotel Durham located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Durham.
Are any cleaning services offered at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Radisson Blu Hotel Durham offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Durham Cathedral (0.9 km), Crook Hall & Gardens (0.3 km), and Durham Castle (0.6 km).
Does Radisson Blu Hotel Durham have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.