We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Durrant House

Save
Share
Heywood Road Northam, Bideford EX39 3QB England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
ZenHotels.com
FindHotel
Agoda.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (487)
Room & Suite (180)
Dining (35)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 29/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 29/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 10 hotels in Bideford
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Finding an ideal quiet hotel in Bideford does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Durrant House, a nice option for travellers like you.

Guest rooms offer amenities such as a flat screen TV, and guests can go online with free internet access offered by the hotel.

Durrant House features room service, to help make your stay more enjoyable. The property also boasts a pool and free breakfast. If you are driving to Durrant House Hotel, free parking is available.

While staying at Durrant House, visitors can check out Tarka Statue (1.2 mi) and St Mary's Parish Church (1.2 mi), some of Bideford's top attractions.

If you’re looking for a Thai restaurant, consider a visit to The Appledore Inn, which is not far from Durrant House.

If you are interested in exploring Bideford, check out one of the parks, such as Northam Burrows Country Park and Victoria Park.

Durrant House puts the best of Bideford at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Evening entertainment
Children's playground
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Electric vehicle charging station
Car park
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Waxing services
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Washing machine
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Sofa
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Czech, Finnish, Polish and 1 more
1146Reviews32Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 327
  • 334
  • 196
  • 120
  • 169
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Elaine wrote a review 24 Nov
3 contributions2 helpful votes
Visited the Durrant hotel last week on a coach break with friends. Overall the break was enjoyable, the food and entertainment was ok and we enjoyed our stay. We would like for to mention the waitress, Sally I think she was called, always smiling and made time to chat with tables and made our time dining very pleasant and enjoyable.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Durrant House, Guest Services / Front Office at Durrant House
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your review on trip advisor. Its great to read your comments and that you had an enjoyable turkey and tinsel break. I will of course pass your comments on to our team. Kindest Regards, Durrant House Hotel
Read more
j14top wrote a review 21 Nov
Bristol, United Kingdom4 contributions5 helpful votes
We stayed one night - excellent service. Staff very helpful and nothing to much trouble The afternoon tea was all very freshly made and beautifully presented. Dinner in the restaurant was delicious Breakfast was excellent although my friend burnt her hand badly on the toaster - staff very attentive to help Recommend a stay here very relaxing
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Easy to find and lots of parking
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Durrant House, Guest Services / Front Office at Durrant House
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review on Trip advisor. Its lovely to read your comments on your stay and that you found the hotel well run with friendly staff. All of your comments will of course be passed on to the staff involved. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Kindest Regards, Durrant House Hotel
Read more
Fin wrote a review 16 Nov
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
+1
We had stayed at the durrant house hotel during the summer holidays. When we arrived at our rooms they were both absolutely filthy and hairs were found on the beds. One of the rooms that we stayed in had a broken window and was beside an alley way which did not make the room feel very safe at night. We decided after one night that we were going to leave a night early and when we went to check out early we were not offered an upgrade or a refund we were simply just given the email address for the hotel and we were told to email them. After our trip we emailed the hotel and told them how we were very dissatisfied with our stay and checked out a night early. When we got a response back from the hotel they were almost making it out as if it was not their problem and told us that we should have said more to them at the time. After emailing them back again and giving them a chance to give us a refund they did not email us back after. Considering that 2 nights in 2 rooms was £500 we were expecting some sort of refund but we had received nothing from the hotel. Very disappointed and will not stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Would advise not to stay in the cheaper rooms in the hotel
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Durrant House, Guest Services / Front Office at Durrant House
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, I'm saddened you were not happy with your stay and chose to depart a day early. I'm shocked by your comments and we would have of course acted immediately to remedy this on it being bought to our attention. Unfortunately as I do not have your name, room number, dates of stay or details I cannot look into this further for your response. You are welcome to email this over for further comment. Again I am extremely disappointed you were unhappy with your stay and apologies for any downfalls on our part. Kindest Regards, Durrant House Hotel
Read more
Margaret H wrote a review 16 Nov
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Spent a weekend with family at the hotel. I had booked a superior double room no 244.Large well maintained room looking out to the River Torridge and countryside. All facilities in the room including iron and ironing board. Small bathroom but everything available, nice towels, toiletries. Able to access wi fi easily from the room. Very pleasing reception area, bar area and dining room. Decorated beautifully ready for Christmas. Ate both evenings at the hotel, adequate choice of bar meals which can be ate in the bar lounge or dining room. All the meals were hot and plentiful. Excellent breakfast choices all laid out. Order taken for various cooked breakfasts and were hot on serving and on hot plates. Service very good and attentive especially from Amanda. One point that I feel is worth noting. As described in the booking terms and conditions, the hotel does host various events in a separate room which may incur noise usually up to approx midnight. If this is the case then to request a room whereby noise would not be an issue. I noted this a couple of days before we arrived, on speaking to reception there was an event for the 1st night, so a request for quieter rooms was acknowledged and there was no problem. It is worth contacting the hotel first to check if an event is to take place and so request a quieter room. I would have no hesitation in staying at the hotel again as I do plan to travel to Bideford next year.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Durrant House, Guest Services / Front Office at Durrant House
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback on a recent stay with us with your family. Its lovely to hear your comments and that you found the towels to be nice, WIFI easily accessible and meals hot and plentiful. I will of course pass your lovely comments on to the staff involved. I'm glad that on making your request for a quiet room this was dealt with accordingly and that you did have a comfortable stay with us for the weekend and the event was not a noise issue. Again, thank you very much for sharing your feedback. We do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again next year. Kindest regards, Durrant House Hotel
Read more
Jules wrote a review 1 Nov
1 contribution1 helpful vote
+1
Arriving at the hotel you were welcomed with a clean, nice reception area. Heading up in the lift and stepping out was when it started to go down hill. The place is tired looking and dull. On entering my £100 per night superior room, I was welcomed with a large room and then at a closer look, it was like walking into a second hand shop or hostel. The room was dull, worn, tired looking. A tv that only shows a few channels. Two torn, worn settees that I wouldn't let my cat on. Frayed towels in the bathroom. A stained ironing board. A rusty bath. A musky, damp smell in the room. One good thing about the place was the lounge area served good food and the employees were lovely.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Durrant House, Guest Services / Front Office at Durrant House
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your email and feedback on a recent stay with us. I’m saddened that you were unhappy in any way with your accommodation and it did not live up to your expectations. I understand you ,mentioned the towels to us during your stay and am happy this was remedied for you with our sinsere apologies that these were missed in the first instance. Should you have mentioned you were unhappy with your accommodation in general we would have been able to offer you an alternative bedroom in the hotel or offered our housekeeping team to visit your room. We have been taking out all of these old Sofas from the bedrooms and have replaced them with new Sofas and comfy armchairs, this is one of the last rooms waiting for the new sofas and we would have been happy to move you to an alternative, I'm sorry this was not picked up and this sofa will be removed. I'm glad you found the food to be good, and employees lovely. Thank you again for bringing your feedback to our attention, all guests feedback is extremely important to us and is used towards our continuous improvements throughout the hotel and services we offer. I do hope that you had a lovely time in the local area. Kind Regards, Durrant House Hotel
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$102 - US$235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
durrant house hotel bideford
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDevonTorridgeBideford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
125
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Durrant House
Which popular attractions are close to Durrant House?
Nearby attractions include Stained Glass Workshops (2.1 km), Hockings Dairy Cream Ices (2.1 km), and North Devon Maritime Museum (2.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Durrant House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Durrant House?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a pool view.
What food & drink options are available at Durrant House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Durrant House?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Durrant House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Number Eight, Memories restaurant, and Cafe Collective.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Durrant House?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Durrant House?
Yes, laundry service and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Durrant House?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Durrant House offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Durrant House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Polish, Romanian, Czech, and Finnish.