We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Newtown House Hotel

Traveller (77)
Room & Suite (38)
Dining (29)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Old hotel with a warm feeling with superb accommodation.Restaurant open to non residence with full a la carte menu or bar snacks
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Bar/Lounge
Banquet Room
Dry Cleaning
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Safe
Mid-range
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
69Somewhat walkable
Grade: 69 out of 100
30Restaurantswithin 1 km
4Attractionswithin 1 km
343Reviews
142Photos
4Q+A
63Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 163
  • 89
  • 49
  • 21
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We stayed for two nights, in annex overlooking smoking area! The room was just adequate, not enough room in bathroom and shower was not very good, stuck in wall and not easy to move and the spray went wherever it liked, The Blind was broken so when pulled it up only went half
Read more
Response from Events1975, General Manager at Newtown House Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest Thank you for your review and I have taken onboard your comments of which I will be speaking to our maintenance and housekeeping teams. I have earmaked the annex as part of the hotel's planned refurbishment programe in April and this will include improvements to the bathrooms and where possible larger beds Hopefully we will see you again later in the years Kind regards Dave Taylor General Manager
Read more
Booked a double room but as they had a large party in we were given a twin which over looked the smoking ares so the room was continually refreshed with cigarette smell. Whilst the room appeared to have been recently upgraded they clearly did not get round to the beds. No
Read more
Response from Events1975, General Manager at Newtown House Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I have spoken to the reception team and to the best of my knowledge, nothing was mentioned to the staff. If at all possible, I would ask that you contact me at the hotel to clarify a few points as none of our twin rooms overlook or are near to a smoking area. With regard to the headboards and linen, I will review this with the houssekeeping team Again, thank you for your review Regards Dave Taylor General Manager
Read more
A lot of people like the Newtown, so perhaps this was an isolated experience. Restaurant was not busy, people were friendly and welcoming. The food, however, was mostly disappointing. Starters: Home made pate was good, however the menu said Melba toast but we were served it
Read more
Response from Events1975, General Manager at Newtown House Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear customer Thank you for your review. I am pleased we were able to get some things right, but it does sound like you hd a poor experience with us, which is not good. If possible, I would like you to contact me at the hotel, so that we could discuss a return whereby, I can assure you the food will be better. Since your visit, I have employed Jamie Clarke as our new head chef, who together with his team has managed to deliver some fabulous food. Hopefully, you will contact me, so that I can demonstrate, to you the standard of food that our local and customers from further afield keep coming back for Kind regards Dave Taylor General Manager
Read more
Booked this hotel 8 months ago, on,y for them to cancel and reason been overbooked, not, more like the realised there is a big event on and can make more profit, refuse to talk to us, avoid like the plague, the can just cancel for no valid reason. If I wanted to cancel and put a
Read more
Response from Events1975, General Manager at Newtown House Hotel
Responded 22 Jan 2019
Dear Marie Whilst I can understand you frustration, I would like to take this opportunity to clarify a few points. First of all, to the best of my knowledge, no member of staff has refused to speak to you about your cancelled booking. With regard to your deposit, I believe you made your booking via bookings.com. Like most other hotels, our policy is to take card details to secure the booking. Nothing is deducted from the card until you attend or there is a no show. With the limited information you have supplied, it has been difficult for me to clarify your exact booking, however, the issue to the best of my knowledge arose as a result of the Goodwood dates being changed. If this is what you are referring to, then, the reason we have had to cancel some bookings, was to facilitate our many loyal customers who return year after year. With all of this as a consideration, I would suggest if you have not been able to find anywhere to stay yet, that you contact me at the hotel and I assure you, my team and I will do everything we can to accommodate your booking Regards Dave Taylor General Manager
Read more
When we arrived at reception we was greeted by a very friendly receptionist booked in easy and informed us of the elvis tribute and the noise levels i said thats fine as we had tickets .. I must say our room was very clean bed was very comfortable . We settled in then went to
Read more
Response from Events1975, General Manager at Newtown House Hotel
Responded 14 Jan 2019
Dear Guest Thank you for your very kind review and more importantly, I am delighted you had such an enjoyable evening and stay with us. Elvis will be back soon, but we've got some fabulous shows coming up and it would be great to see you again Best regards Dave Taylor General Manager
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Business Centre & Event Rooms
Bathroom
PreviousNext
1234568
Attending a wedding in July 7th & 8th , will need gluten free menu , any problems with that ???????
Does this hotel take dogs?
Hello there Monica.. I'm afraid to say that we don't take dogs at this time. However, a few places local to us do, So I am sure you will find a lovely place to stay won our island with your four legged friend.
0 votes
Show all answers
Many thanks for your question. Our reception is open until 10pm, however there is normally a member of staff here until 11.30/12.00. If you are able to contact our reception to let us know when we you will arrive, then there will be a member of staff here to meet you. Our contact number is 023 92466131. We will look forward to hearing from you.
0 votes
Can you choose a room
"Room 2, in the proper part of hotel, very good and spacious."
"Room 25 overlooks the smoking area with the added bonus of butts on the roof."
"A great venue for group celebration evenings"
"There are two suites available. There are a variety of rooms on offer, some in the old part of the hotel and some in the extension."
"Have been told room 18"
PreviousNext
12345613
PRICE RANGE
US$58 - US$181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHayling Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
29
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing