We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Headlands Hotel

388 reviews
Save
Traveller (16)
Room & Suite (19)
Pool & Beach (1)
Overview
  • Excellent80%
  • Very good17%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“dave and gill”(27 reviews)
“north bay”(48 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (388)Write a Review
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveller rating
309
67
6
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
309
67
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdave and gillthe open air theatrenorth baypeasholm parkfamily roomopen top busbreakfast was excellentsmall hotelfull englisha lovely staywarm welcomeparking on siteonly stayed one nightlovely hotelplenty of choiceplenty of storage spacequiet area
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 386 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2017

Stayed for 3 nights in mid September when the weather was beginning to turn cool. Our room had a view across North Bay toward the castle. The room was clean and tidy, actually could have slept up to 7 people, maybe not enough hanging space...More

Thank Pickle085
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

Dave and Gill are very friendly and helpful. The Headlands has a warm and welcoming atmosphere. The rooms are clean and well appointed. Breakfast is fantastic. We loved staying here and it’s only a short walk to the best water park in Britain. I would...More

Thank Harriet D
Response from David G, Owner at The Headlands HotelResponded 22 November 2017

Many thanks for your excellent review and for all the lovely comments, we really do appreciate it. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and great to see that you would highly recommend us. Hopefully it won't be too long before...More

Reviewed 1 November 2017

We would definitely recommend this hotel. We received a lovely welcome and the hosts couldn’t do enough for us - ordered a taxi, gave directions and offered to sort us a restaurant out for our evening meal. The location was great too - a 2...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank lolalou21
Response from David G, Owner at The Headlands HotelResponded 22 November 2017

Thanks ever so much for your super review and for all the lovely comments, we really are very grateful and so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure meeting you and hopefully it won't be too long before we see...More

Reviewed 1 November 2017

The Headlands is around 20 minutes walk from the town centre - most of it uphill on the way back! There is a car park on site, if full you can park on the roadside directly outside the hotel. Very efficient check in. Very clean...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TakeItEasy59
Response from David G, Owner at The Headlands HotelResponded 22 November 2017

Thank you ever so much for your lovely review and for all the super comments, we really do appreciate it and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is most gratifying to see that you would stay again and wouldn't...More

Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

Our second stay at the Headlands and even better than the first! After a great day in Whitby for the Goth festival we arrived about 5 pm .Superb twin room on the second floor with lovely views of the sea and the castle , and...More

Thank Joanna D
Response from David G, Owner at The Headlands HotelResponded 22 November 2017

Many thanks Joanna for your excellent review and for all the lovely comments especially the ones about the en-suite because we are quite proud of them thanks again, we really are most grateful. It was great to see you again and fantastic to see that...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345678
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Things to do
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$104 - US$217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$104 - US$217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (16)
Room & Suite (19)
Pool & Beach (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Headlands Hotel staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Room Tips
"Room3 easily sleeps 3 but there are 5 beds, a double a single and a set of bunk beds tucked around the..."
Read review
"Just Ask the landlady she is very helpful"
Read review
"Superior rooms offer a sea view and are worth the extra"
Read review
"The newly refurbished superior rooms are immaculate in every way."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing