We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

The George Hotel

Save
Share
116 High Street, Colchester CO1 1TD England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
US$119
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (78)
Room & Suite (12)
Dining (2)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
Updated 13/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 13/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#14 of 22 hotels in Colchester
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Restored to its former glory, The George Hotel has proudly sat on Colchester High Street in Essex for over 500 years. It has always been at the centre of bustling life in England’s oldest recorded town and with historical artefacts, feature beams and period features it really is one of a kind and a place to remember! Guests are welcomed to a lavish stay in our beloved hotel full of charm and history. Featuring a stylish bar, lounge and restaurant, The George offers free Wifi throughout and parking is available to the rear of the building. The 49 heritage guest en-suite rooms are decorated in warm tones, have super comfortable beds and smart TVs, while the individual suites boast emperor beds, some bathrooms with freestanding bath, Bang & Olufsen sound systems and coffee machines. All rooms are full of designer touches and the period features you would expect from a hotel of this age. The town and hotel have proven links to Queen Boudica and the historic Colchester castle is a mere 2 minute walk from the hotel. We are just a 15 minute drive from Beth Chatto Gardens and Colchester Zoo, with Constable country the beautiful Essex coast just a bit further away. Guests can enjoy cocktails, local draught lagers and ales and an extensive wine list from the contemporary bar. Dine in the relaxed two-tiered restaurant that offers a daily a la carte menu inspired by British and worldwide cuisines, using locally sourced and seasonal produce. If you fancy a lighter bite for lunch or a snack, the tapas menu is also available in the heated and magical Secret Courtyard with beautiful Moroccan and floral decor. Quintessential English Afternoon tea will be served in the new Tea Room, ’T at The George’ - an eclectic Victorian-themed experience giving you the chance to indulge with friends over freshly brewed tea, delicious sandwiches, fresh scones and sweet treats (Opening mid summer 2021)
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Car park
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Desk
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
108Reviews2Q+A20Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 69
  • 12
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
_ian_faz wrote a review 9 Jan
Colchester, United Kingdom31 contributions3 helpful votes
This year the George held a lower key New Year celebration. Although no party poppers or dance floor disco it was a great evening. The meal was gourmet standard and was presented and served by a great team. Cannot fault the evening with the Saxophonist in the main area providing an excellent backdrop for those who wanted to dance a little. We also stayed the night and after a good nights rest our breakfast in the morning was excellent. Well done to the whole team.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Worried about parking at the back of the Hotel but plenty of spaces.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Sofya Myakoshina, Other at The George Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Ian, Thank you for your 5 star review, It is always pleasant to read that guests thoroughly enjoyed their experience at the George. This was our first New Year in the pandemic and after the re-opening of the restored hotel, so we wanted to keep it low, to encourage social distancing in the current times. Hopefully next year we can throw a proper party, and dance the night away (fingers crossed). Happy New Year, and Team of the George is wishing you all the best in the New Year! Kindest Regards, Sofya Myakoshina Operations Manager
Read more
1960davidh wrote a review 3 Jan
Colchester, United Kingdom5 contributions3 helpful votes
Extremely expensive and disappointing food! We were informed it would be an" a la carte" menu but this was not the case, it was a limited Sunday menu.We sucked this up as it was a friend's birthday and thought best not to make a fuss, my wife ordered the pea soup but it was no longer available and was offered butternut squash soup. This would have been acceptable but the only vegetarian main course on offer was also a butternut squash curry. When curry arrived it was luke warm and portion size more like a starter than main course . Felt sorry for staff they were polite and trying their best but if your going to charge £18 for a roast you really need to up your game !!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Sofya Myakoshina, Other at The George Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear David, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that your lunch was not as expected, I believe this might have been not communicated to your party correctly, as we offer on Sundays our special Sunday Lunch Menu, which is now added to the website to avoid any future possible confusions. Thank you for giving your feedback, this way we can take this aboard and make sure all of your future visits are excellent. Kindest Regards, Sofya Myakoshina Operations Manager
Read more
Chris F wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
Appalling experience. Industrial conveyor belt main course awful, staff tried to rush us through, we were out just after 1hour, staff dressed slovenly casual, grubby Christmas pullovers, jeans, cost a disgraceful £99 per head, very disappointing experience. Will not repeat this visit. Will be writing to complain. AWFUL.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Location
Helpful
Share
Response from Sofya Myakoshina, Other at The George Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear chrisfD8464TO, Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your Christmas lunch and felt rushed. I can assure you that we were not trying to rush your table, but sorry to hear that it felt rushed. We do think that Christmas time on a Christmas day our staff can wear Christmas attire, to boost their mood and create an extra Christmassy ambiance. This year was the first festive period in the refurbished George Hotel, so we will be taking all the notes on board for the next Christmas period. Kindest Regards, Sofya Myakoshina Operations Manager
Read more
Andree wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
I stayed at The George with my daughter for the afternoon/night/ morning before her wedding at the nearby Town Hall. Having not visited since the refurbishment, we were so impressed with how well decorated and luxurious the hotel now is. So many inviting and comfortable areas to sit and relax and the rooms were lovely too, as was the great breakfast . It was 22nd/23rd December and the entire hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas. The staff were all so friendly and accommodating and made the whole experience even more special. After the wedding service we returned for drinks while the bride and groom had photos taken and knowing we were coming back, an area had been reserved for our party to sit together. Thankyou to the great staff team, we will be returning soon.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Sofya Myakoshina, Other at The George Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Andree R, We are delighted that you had a great time at the George Hotel the night before your special day. George team is wishing you all the happiness and love. Kindest Regards, Sofya Myakoshina Operations Manager
Read more
tomtowns21 wrote a review Dec 2021
Colchester, United Kingdom4 contributions4 helpful votes
The George Bar has come along way over the past few years it’s had a major reverb and is now a lovely place to go for a drink and good dinner. There is great table service which is friendly and efficient (yes just for drinks too) there is lovely snug seething area inside and some outside under glass. I visited with my elderly mum and wife all found it rearly welcoming and cosy even tho it was very busy. Table service was great with all that is going on right now. Very friendly attentive staff very clean seating and bar area we loved it.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Sofya Myakoshina, Other at The George Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear tomtowns21, Thank you for your cosy and war review, we are delighted that you have enjoyed the atmosphere at the George Hotel. Kindest Regards, Sofya Myakoshina Operations Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$66 - US$108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
colchester george hotel, george hotel colchester, george colchester
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEssexColchester
NUMBER OF ROOMS
49
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The George Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The George Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Escape Colchester (0.2 km), Mercury Theatre (0.5 km), and Castle Park (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The George Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The George Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The George Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The George Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The George Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dr Chippy's, Timbers, and Miseria & Nobilta'.
Is The George Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Colchester.
Does The George Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to The George Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Roman Circus Visitor Centre (0.7 km), Dutch Quarter (0.2 km), and The Claudius Gateway (0.4 km).
Does The George Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is The George Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.