We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel

Save
Share
Belstead Road, Ipswich IP2 9HB England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$74
View deal
Expedia.com
US$87
View deal
TravelocityUS$87
eDreamsUS$74
CheapTicketsUS$87
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (671)
Room & Suite (223)
Dining (112)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 06/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
Updated 06/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#13 of 18 hotels in Ipswich
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We are an 88 Bedroom Hotel set in our own grounds but only a 5 minute Drive into Ipswich Town centre. The Manor House section of the Hotel is the original part of the building dating back to the 16th century and a lot of the original fittings still remain and this is also the location of the Restaurant . We also have the leisure centre which is free to use for all guests this includes Swimming Pool, Steam room, Jacuzzi, Gym and treatments are available by prior arrangement.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
1520Reviews22Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 485
  • 448
  • 284
  • 162
  • 141
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Christine S wrote a review 13 Oct
6 contributions
2 day stay with family before/ after my sons wedding. Lovely rooms, great food , excellent manicure and massage helpful and friendly staff. I thoroughly recommend this hotel and restaurant. Couldn't brevity earlier as I'd already reviewed in July.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from MGM Muthu Hotels, Owner at Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Christine S, Thank you for such a lovely feedback and the recommendation. We are very pleased to note that you enjoyed your treatments as much as you enjoyed your stay and your meals. It is our topmost priority to ensure all our guests have a memorable experience and a rewarding stay with us. It was our pleasure to serve you and we will be looking forward to having you back with us again whenever your travels bring you to Ipswich. Best regards, Belstead Brook Team.
Read more
Alice P wrote a review 10 Oct
1 contribution
I had booked a night for my husband and I for our anniversary and was pretty disapointed as the website and reality were on opposite ends. While the grand entrance looks amazing with its nice furniture and marble floors, the rest is a different kettle of fish. The outside bungalow we had been allocated were straight out of the 80s, carpet and curtains still smelled of old tabacco. While it was clean, the smell was pretty bad an followed us home through our clothes. The pool which looked dreamy was ok, but building work were going on, not much zen there. Although, the worst part was the changing rooms. First of all no warning that you needed a padlock rather than a pound coin to use the lockers. Then, the Ladies changing room stunk (like a sewer) and the shower separation panels were filthy, I felt dirtier when I left that I did when I got in. Overall, still more work to be done to bring it to the 21st century. On a positive note, the breakfast was ok.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Avoid the old bungalows outside.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from MGM Muthu Hotels, Owner at Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear W1688OBalicep, Thank you for your valuable feedback and your mixed bag of compliments. We are happy to note that you enjoyed your breakfast. It however concerns us that you were not satisfied with your experience in the leisure club. Your comments have been noted and these will be looked into. We clean our changing rooms every two hours but we are looking towards increasing the same in less interval of time. We do apologize for the inconvenience you had to face and we hope to have another chance to serve you and better your experience with us in a not-so-distant future. Best Regards, Belstead Brook Team.
Read more
jenniej29 wrote a review 4 Oct
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom95 contributions44 helpful votes
Stayed here for a week on an RCI exchange. We had a garden room which was clean and spacious. Breakfast was lovely but our one meal in the restaurant was only average. Staff were friendly and helpful. A good base for exploring Suffolk.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet ask for a garden room.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Kamal Rijhwani, General Manager at Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Jenniej29, for your wonderful review and constructive feedback. Your comments have been shared with the F&B team to look into the meal. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel if your travels bring you back to Ipswich. Regards Belstead Brook Team
Read more
madowninguk wrote a review 1 Oct
Norwich, United Kingdom360 contributions268 helpful votes
I have today returned from a one night Dinner Bed and Breakfast deal with my daughter. This was amazing value at £120 for both of us!!! Easy to find, just follow the signs. There is plenty of parking. Check in at 2 pm was easy. We were given a nice clean ground floor twin room overlooking the garden with comfortable beds, plenty of storage, coffee/tea, an en-suite with a large shower cubicle, basic toiletries etc. We went to the spa/pool area which was lovely with jacuzzi, steam room, loungers to relax on, towels, drinking water etc. A three course meal with a choice of 3 starters, 4 mains and 3 desserts was provided in the evening. This was delicious, plentiful and of a superb standard - compliments to the chef for this - the quality considering this was inclusive with our deal was amazing! (See photos of food). Drinks are extra. The buffet breakfast consisted of cooked food, cereals, toast, fruit, hot drinks, fruit juices etc. We had a light breakfast as we were still full from the previous evening meal. We spent another 1 1/2 hours in the spa as check out wasn’t until 11 am. All in all, considering the price paid, this just cannot be beaten - we both came away relaxed and happy!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from MGM Muthu Hotels, Owner at Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Madowninguk, We are more than enthusiastic about your nice words and we appreciate you took out your valuable time to review your recent stay with us. We are so glad that you had such an amazing stay with us. Our team members are passionate about always delivering a genuinely warm and friendly service and we are delighted to see that you loved your meals and your time in our leisure club. We will definitely pass on your kind appreciation to our chef. All in all it’s a pleasure you had such a lovely and comfortable stay and we will be looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, ensuring yet another memorable experience, in a not-so-distant future. Best Regards, Belstead Brook Team.
Read more
Ualwayshaveachoice wrote a review Sep 2021
Bildeston, United Kingdom23 contributions30 helpful votes
We booked 2 rooms for an over night stay following a family wedding. Upon arrival we found out for some reason the rooms had been cancelled even though they had taken our deposits. The night chap was most unhelpful. It took a further hour before it was sorted then the family room was missing a bed so a further wait for them to find a bed and make it up ! Most of the light bulbs in the room didn’t work ! Bed was like sleeping on the floor - rock hard ! If you planning a stay look elsewhere as you won’t get any sympathy from this place - it was take it or leave it attitude. Never again
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from MGM Muthu Hotels, Owner at Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Ualwayshaveachoice, Thank you for taking out the time to review your recent stay with us. We appreciate your valuable feedback as they help us better ourselves for future. First of all, let me present my apologies for the terrible mix up. We did not have an estimated time of your arrival and we tried contacting you on the number provided but we were unable to get through to you which led to the confusion with your booking. The booking was cancelled but the room was still blocked for your arrival and this confusion led to the removal of the extra bed. We are happy that the same was taken care of, by our team members. Please be assured this is not at all indicative of our service strategy and we have discussed your comments with our team members and make sure all of them are aware of the impact this had on you. Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope to have another opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to Ipswich. Warm regards, Belstead Brook Hotel
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$59 - US$233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
belstead brook ipswich, hotel belstead brook
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaSuffolkIpswich
NUMBER OF ROOMS
88
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Ipswich Escape Rooms (5.0 km), New Wolsey Theatre (3.1 km), and Ipswich Transport Museum (5.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ocean Fish Platter, Takayama, and The Red Lion.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St Peter's by the Waterfront (2.9 km), Pykenham's Gatehouse (3.4 km), and Jean Ingelow House and Archway (3.0 km).
Is Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.