We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best Western Karl Johan Hotell

About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
On Oslo's main street and in the heart of the city centre lies this historic hotel from 1899. Next to the Parliament and within immediate walking distance to a variety of museums, attractions, shops, bars and restaurants. The hotel has 114 rooms, as well as 5 meeting rooms with a maximum capacity of 70 people.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Public Wifi
Breakfast included
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Non-Smoking Hotel
Breakfast Available
Show more
Room features
Suites
Non-Smoking Rooms
Minibar
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Historic Hotel
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
892Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
237Attractionswithin 0.5 km
Reviews (898)
Filter reviews
513 results
Traveller rating
107
221
111
47
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
107
221
111
47
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main street great location business lounge parliament building royal palace christmas market karl johan there is no air conditioning within walking distance free coffee and tea the heart of the city train station short walk grand hotel decent size top floor main attractions
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 513 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

A good location, the hotel itself is a little old and the rooms a little tired but they remain comfortable and clean. The beds are good and the shower fantastic, the bathrooms have under floor heating. TV channel selection could be a little better as...More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Lars H
Response from Leiv R, Leder  at Best Western Karl Johan HotellResponded 1 week ago

Dear Lars H, Thank you for your feedback. It is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked or disliked about your stay you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I’ve stayed at this hotel several times, and the key issue is getting the right rooms. Stay away from all the X07 rooms, as they’re next to the elevators, and isolation isn’t all that good. Some of the smaller single rooms are too small for...More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank geirertz
Response from Leiv R, Leder  at Best Western Karl Johan HotellResponded 1 week ago

Dear Geirertz, Thank you for your feedback. It is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked or disliked about your stay you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future....More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It is the location of this hotel what makes it special; the building is looking gorgeous outside and even charming inside. However rooms are really average, nothin special and in a way not that great to stay for too long,... just ok to get in...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank 365Explore
Response from Leiv R, Leder  at Best Western Karl Johan HotellResponded 1 week ago

Dear 365Explore, Thank you for your feedback. It is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked or disliked about your stay you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future....More

Reviewed 31 October 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in this lovely hotel - 3rd floor - the Karl Johan Suite. The hotel and our room were clean. Bed was comfortable. Minimal street noise heard. Fabulous location - very central. Staff were friendly, approachable and helpful. This was our...More

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank akerrf10
Response from Leiv R, Daglig leder at Best Western Karl Johan HotellResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Akerrf10, Thank you so much for such a fantastic feedback. It is very important to us and we value your oppinion. So happy to hear that you had a great stay with us and you enjoyed your visit in Oslo. We hope you will...More

Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

I can’t understand what some people complain about. This is a lovely hotel with friendly and helpful staff... I lost my keycard on the first day and was offered a new one with a big smile. I got a lovely single room under the roof,...More

Date of stay: October 2018
1  Thank 302laurenceg
Response from Leiv R, Daglig leder at Best Western Karl Johan HotellResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Laurence G, Thank you so much for such a nice feedback. So happy to hear that you had a great stay with us and you enjoyed our hotel. It is very important to us and we value your feedback. We hope you will come...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
David C
20 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from tritralala7474 | Reviewed this property |
Just to give you an indication; from Oslo trainstation to this hotel was €50 which is incredibly expensive and too rediculous for words All predecessors comments are correct; take the train from Oslo airport and its only a... More
1
Vote
Google Translation
greenock9
20 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Leiv R | Property representative |
Hei Greenock9 Debit card is ok, and you can email us: service@karljohan.no Best regards Best Western Karl Johan Hotell
0
Votes
Google Translation
Masterofcans
30 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from kathy88888 | Reviewed this property |
I am not sure which bus stop it is but the driver would know. You might want to consider taking the train in from the airport. You would get off at the Sentrum station and walk just a few blocks. This may be much easier... More
2
Votes
Room Tips
"Many rooms face the inner patio,... not ideal"
365Explore
4 weeks ago
Read review
"Room #306; it had a little balcony. If that door was open, there could be noise from the street below, but..."
457janetm
22 Oct 2018
Read review
"Make sure to request a room that is NOT overlooking the internal roof that has noisy A/C units and fans"
Romil62
13 Sep 2018
Read review
"Hard to say, it is a lottery"
46martinb
12 Sep 2018
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
US$105 - US$244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western karl johan hotell hotel oslonorlandia karl johan hotell oslo
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Norlandia
LOCATION
NorwayEastern NorwayOsloSentrum
NUMBER OF ROOMS
114
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing