NH Collection Salzburg City
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

NH Collection Salzburg City

Traveller (52)
Panorama at the NH Salzburg City
360
Panoramas (6)
NH Salzburg City
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#29 of 122 hotels in Salzburg
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
NH Collection Salzburg City offers guests an ideal location in the heart of the celebrated city of Salzburg, providing modern comfort and top-quality service in an elegant environment as the recognized hallmarks of this distinguished hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Car park
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is officially classified according to Hotelstars Union standards.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Business
Languages Spoken
English, German
Hotel links
Special Offer:GET EXTRA BENEFITS!

Location

Franz-Josef-Straße 26, Salzburg 5020 Austria
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
W. A. Mozart Airport
Vienna Intl Airport
264.6 km
See all flights
Salzburg Central Station (Lokalbahn)
11 min
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles171 reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Nestled in the heart of Old Town, NH Collection Salzburg City garners praise for its prime location, a stone's throw away from must-see attractions and a medley of dining options. While the hotel's rooms earn compliments for cleanliness and comfort, opinions on their size and air conditioning efficiency vary. The modern ambiance and comfortable beds are well-received, though some areas could use a refresh. Despite the high praise for the friendly and helpful staff, guests have noted occasional service inconsistencies. Travelers appreciate the amenities, including a commendable breakfast spread, but some feel that additional costs for parking and sauna access detract from the hotel's overall value.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Unwelcoming
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
171Reviews2Q+A14Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 106
  • 38
  • 11
  • 11
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Arriet wrote a review Aug 2022
Boca Raton, Florida
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel deserves the five stars the front office staff when you check in helpful professional the room was clean good sheets great comforter towels everything that’s necessary for a pleasant stay if you need anything all you needed to do was call the front office toothbrushes etc. breakfast pretty much you could get anything you wanted from cereal lox. Bread hot foods coffee tea !!The chocolate cake was outstanding location couldn’t be better step outside a few meters Newtown with many restaurants shopping etc across the bridge within a 10 minute walk is more restaurant shopping drug stores grocery store etc and if you’re here for the Salzburg Festival everything is within a 10 minute walk
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking is available but that’s extra If breakfast is not included there is many restaurants...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Valentyna Kuzmenko, Owner at NH Collection Salzburg City
Responded 13 Aug 2022
Dear Valued Guest, we are pleased with such a generous review from your side! Our team is happy they were able to deliver a good service for you. We hope to welcome you again as our guest. Till next time! Best Regards Valentina Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pharm-Ilan wrote a review Aug 2023
Kefar Sava, Israel
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The NH Salzburg is in a great location, 10-15 minutes from anywhere you should be in Salzburg City. The rooms are nice and the beds are comfortable. Really great service at the desk (have to mention Monica) as well as at breakfast and in the bar. Breakfast is great with a really wide selection although I would recommend larger glasses for the juices. The hotel has a parking lot that is expensive @ 28 Euro/day but there is a deal with a public parking lot just 5 minutes walk away that was only 18 Euro/day. We had 3 cars so a large difference. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance and the Linzergasse pedestrian street is right there with eats and shops and bars. The river and the old city are really close by. We very much enjoyed the hotel and the attention that we got. We had 3 family rooms: 503, 525 and 528 on the top floor. I would come again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The lobby is somewhat loud so try for a higher room.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Svenja Ahlert, Guest Services / Front Office at NH Collection Salzburg City
Responded 3 Sept 2023
Dear Kfar Saba, Thank you for your incredible review, I am honored by your positive comments! Our aim is to achieve the extraordinary and I am pleased to read that we have been able to provide you with a memorable stay. Furthermore, I want to thank you for your kind words about our staff. Your compliments will certainly be shared with the team, as they would be very happy to hear that they made a lasting impression with you. I speak on behalf of the entire team when I say; it would be a pleasure to welcome you back again. With kind regards from Salzburg, Svenja A., Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Mark B wrote a review Aug 2022
Saint Louis, Missouri
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I selected this hotel for its price, modern construction, and location. We booked a corner family room for just the two of us which meant we got a sofa/sleeper and extra room. Hotel decor is a bit dark but not off-putting. The real standout was employee service. From check-in to breakfast to housekeeping to departure, every staff member was outstandingly courteous and helpful. In particular, Valentina in Guest Relations went above and beyond for us. When our flight home cancelled on short notice she worked with us for nearly an hour to arrange alternate transportation. Adding an additional day to our 4-night stay was seamless even though it necessitated moving to a different room on our floor. Move completed in less than 5 minutes.

Valentina also saved us over €50 on train tickets to Munich by letting us know about a €9 special not available on the Train app. She is an absolute jewel of an ambassador for this property and a terrific asset for any visitor needing extra attention.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Valentyna Kuzmenko, Owner at NH Collection Salzburg City
Responded 8 Aug 2022
Dear Mark, I am very glad that you made your trip home safe and sound and I am very pleased for such an outstanding personalized review! I am glad I was able to help you. Hoping to see you again as our guest in beautiful Salzburg. Best Wishes Valentina Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chrisg151990 wrote a review Apr 2022
Atherton, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice hotel in Salzburg rooms were clean and modern only let down was the pillows were wafer thin which didn’t give great nights sleep. Location was perfect for us halfway between the old town and train station for day trips around 10-15 minutes walk to both, nice restaurants nearby and a grocery store on the next street. Staff were always friendly, would stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Thomas Stopje, Inhaber at NH Collection Salzburg City
Responded 9 Jun 2022
Hello Chrisg151990, many thanks for your detailed review and for taking the time. We exchanged all pillows in 2022 and are therefore surprised at the feedback, but we will carry out some spot checks again. We really appreciate your feedback and we are happy to welcome you back to our NH Collection Salzburg City next time. Greetings from Austria Thomas & Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Girl Takes Mundo wrote a review Nov 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I am no stranger to NH Collection Salzburg hotel as I have stayed here for work a few times this year. It is centrally located in Salzburg and its facilities / rooms are comfortable, clean and make the price of stay worth the costs.

Unfortunately, the downside of this hotel has to be its reception staff. I have noticed from my various stays at this hotel that reception staff aren't the most welcoming or friendly. In one of my visits this year, they forgot to send my laundry to be washed and then failed to inform me. I opted to return regardless of this hiccup but staff continue to lack true hospitality, which does leave a sour taste.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RHT wrote a review Mar 2024
United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel is a little bit out of the centre. At first glance, it seems ok. It’s not. There were several issues with our room concerning its cleanliness - rogue hairs in the shower and wrapped around the shower hose, eyelashes or eyebrow hair on the stand containing the face cloths, and a stain if something just in front of the basin.

The first receptionist to whom we spoke asked us if we were sure it wasn’t us! As the offending hair could not possibly have come from us, we answered no, although this did eeem like an odd question to ask of a guest advising of cleanliness.

This was all sorted by Astrid the following day. She went out of her way to make amends. However, that’s where the positive comments end.

There was one female staff member on reception on the night of 29/2. She seemed to spend quite a bit of time on her phone and wasn’t especially friendly but, in addition, we’d make the following assertion. The hotel claims to have a sauna which is through the hotels garage if you use the lift. They don’t tell you that you cannot access it with your room key without advising reception that you want to use it. We’d used the sauna earlier in the week and had gone through this procedure. We thought that the room key issue had been sorted then but apparently not. We used it again on the night of 29/2 and had yet again had to go to reception to get our key authorised by this staff member so she was clearly aware that we intended to use the sauna. When we got down to the sauna, it was switched completely off so we had to co tact reception yet again. This lady came down and asked us if we’d let anyone know we wanted to use it because they need 20 minutes notice to turn it on. We resisted the temptation to ask if the fact that we’d already asked her to authorise our room key for sauna sending alert her to the fact that we might possibly have wanted to use it. The gentleman who worked the reception in the morning of 1/3 told us that the only ATM available was across the river. It’s not. It’s just past the Spar shop so much closer.

We agree with the other comments about the beds. They are really uncomfortable. The room is hot and the air con is not really effective. Windows in the rooms are tiny and the decor is quite mismatched - not really an issue but worth mentioning.

Plates aren’t cleared away very quickly in the restaurant at breakfast. Breakfast is ok but not special.

All in all, I wouldn’t recommend this place unless it seriously got its act together and employed staff who actually want to provide a service.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you do stay here, try the Alter Fuchs just out of the hotel to the right and right at the top...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Astrid Reiter, General Manager at NH Collection Salzburg City
Responded 4 Mar 2024
Dear RHT, thank you for taking the time and effort to inform us about your experience with us. Our aim is to create an excellent experience for each and every one of our guests. To read that we were unable to meet your expectations is regretful. We have discussed your points with the corresponding departments and sensitize and train our employees to prevent such unfortunate circumstances in the future. We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations and for the inconvenience you have experienced. We truly do hope that we may welcome you back in the future so that we can provide you with the services and facilities you may expect from us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pam m wrote a review Mar 2023
Oldham, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is perfectly located within a short walk to the old town. There are numerous nice restaurants and bars within a few mins walk and there is a supermarket at the end of the street where we purchased food for Salzburg airport which only has one cafe selling baguettes and expensive coffee. The bar area looked inviting though we didn’t use it and the food menu looked ver6 nice too. We only stayed one night but the room had everything we needed such as toiletries including body moisuriser. There was also a nespresso machine and a kettle.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Saintaugiedoggie wrote a review Oct 2023
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A "bucket list" visit to Salzburg was enhanced by the wonderful experience at this hotel. As an American I was unfamiliar with the brand but online the reviews looked promising, the location seemed ideal, and the email communication with staff prior to booking was excellent. At 70 (going on 50) I needed to make the most of my short visit (with my daughter in her thirties along to keep me from getting lost and talking to strangers)! We weren't part of a tour. Just mom and daughter on a self planned trip. And we LOVED this hotel. First, the staff: Vivian, Lawrence, Sid, Emily, Nicole, Aurel and Lars ALL went out of their way to personalize our stay and attend to our needs. Several told us while in discourse about the NH "Collection" hotels in Europe and their locations and ameneties. They were obviously proud to work for this brand. The hotel itself is perfectly located within walking distance (and I'm 70) from just about everything. Lawrence gave us a GREAT recommendation for dinner our first night.( Can't remember the name of the place but "Stern Bier" is their wonderful personal brew! The restaurant was steeped in history. Thanks, Lawrence ). Our room was perfect, bed amazingly comfortable, everything immaculate. And I loved being able to opt for swapping out a "daily room clean" for a beverage at the bar. This place really rocks and we were fortunate to have it as our home base in Salzburg.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: If Salzburg City is your desired location, you don't need to look elsewhere for a great experience.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Astrid Reiter, General Manager at NH Collection Salzburg City
Responded 26 Oct 2023
Dear Saintaugiedoggie, we would like to sincerely thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. A high rating such as this is truly a compliment for our hotel and for our staff. The entire team strives to provide the best experience possible and we are pleased to see that this reflects in your rating. On behalf of the entire team we would like to thank you for your kindness and for staying with us. We truly hope to welcome you again at your next visit in Salzburg.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ant-Traveler wrote a review Aug 2022
Luxembourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very good location; close to all historical places. We booked a family room. It was located on the last floor, with a quite low ceilings, but the air-con worked well so it was not too hot. The room was very clean. Staff helpful. We booked this hotel due to a private parking, but it was not available at the end; however the hotel arranged a public parking with a special price.

The room was very narrow, there was not too much space to open a suitcase. However we stayed there for only one night so in principle it was fine.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Valentyna Kuzmenko, Owner at NH Collection Salzburg City
Responded 8 Aug 2022
Dear Guest, thank you for choosing us for your stay in Salzburg and thank you for finding a time to write a review. We are glad that your stay with us was positive! Looking forward seeing you again in the beautiful Salzburg :) Best Regards Valentina Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Helen W wrote a review Sept 2022
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at this hotel with some friends and we had the best time. The location is great, incredibly peaceful but a couple of minutes away from bars, restaurants and shops.

Check in was fast and easy and the superior rooms we were given on the second floor were spacious and comfortable. The toiletries provided are fabulous, which is important when you just have hand luggage. Also a proper hairdryer which is great. It is the little touches that made this such a nice experience. The room was spotless.

Breakfast. We decided to book breakfast for ease as we had some early starts. You get great choice from fruit to cooked items or continental style. You could also just have cake and Prosecco should the fancy take you.

The best thing about this hotel is the staff. From the people who booked us in, housekeeping, breakfast, bar and the people who checked us out, all were amazing and really wanted you to have a good experience. I would really advise you stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Easy to get from the airport by bus 2, no need for cabs.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Valentyna Kuzmenko, Owner at NH Collection Salzburg City
Responded 19 Sept 2022
Dear Helen, we are very delighted with such a detailed , well-written and kind review from you! It was our pleasure to have you as or guest, thank you for finding a time to write such a nice and peaceful feedback. We hope to have you as our guest again. All the best! Valentina Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PlymouthGill asked a question Nov 2023
Cornwall, United Kingdom37 contributions9 helpful votes
Has the room got a hairdryer please?
DL Travel wrote a tip May 2024
Glasgow, United Kingdom98 contributions49 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Underground car park is very tight. Get clear instructions from reception of how to operate exit gate before leaving car park."
Read full review
Kristine P wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be ready to walk a lot of stairs as the best views are elevated! Buy the Salzburg card! It’s worth it!"
Read full review
RHT wrote a tip Mar 2024
United Kingdom69 contributions11 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you do stay here, try the Alter Fuchs just out of the hotel to the right and right at the top past the Spar shop. Lovely."
Read full review
Sasha122156 wrote a tip Feb 2024
Rockville, Maryland1,260 contribution145 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Upgrade to family room if you need more space"
Read full review
Julie Parry wrote a tip Nov 2023
4 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"More staff on reception. Improve cleanliness in rooms. Large mirror in rooms. More extensive menu. Room service facility"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Salzburg area.
PRICE RANGE
$295 - $477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
nh salzburg city hotel salzburg, nh hotel salzburg, nh hotels salzburg
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
NH Salzburg City
LOCATION
AustriaAustrian AlpsSalzburg RegionSalzburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
140
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

NH COLLECTION SALZBURG CITY - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Austria) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about NH Collection Salzburg City
Which popular attractions are close to NH Collection Salzburg City?
Nearby attractions include Salzburg (0.4 km), Friedhof Sankt Sebastian (0.2 km), and Schloss Mirabell & Mirabellgarten (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at NH Collection Salzburg City?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at NH Collection Salzburg City?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at NH Collection Salzburg City?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to NH Collection Salzburg City?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lazarte Latin American Food, Bistro de Marquez, and Indian Restaurant Taj Mahal.
Are there opportunities to exercise at NH Collection Salzburg City?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is NH Collection Salzburg City located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Salzburg.
Are any cleaning services offered at NH Collection Salzburg City?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at NH Collection Salzburg City?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does NH Collection Salzburg City offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at NH Collection Salzburg City?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
All Salzburg HotelsSalzburg Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SalzburgHotels near NH Collection Salzburg City
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire