Arion Palace Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Arion Palace Hotel

Rovou 80 Vigles, Ierapetra, Crete 722 00 Greece
Traveller (413)
Vue de l'hôtel depuis la piscine
Pool & Beach (89)
Bathroom
Room & Suite (71)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#14 of 28 hotels in Ierapetra
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
The adults-only smartline Arion Palace is a short walk from Lerapetra Beach on Crete's southern coastline. The area enjoys a warm climate, with the highest average number of sunny days and warm temperatures in the whole of Greece. This whitewashed hotel looks out towards the Mediterranean Sea in one direction and towards the mountains in the other. The pool area is lined with lawns and shrubs, as well as pergolas that offer shade from the sun. There's a main pool and a separate one for children. At the pool area is the hotel's bar, where you can enjoy drinks with a sea view. Inside the hotel, the rooms feature a contemporary décor with patterned and colourful touches throughout. You'll have your own balcony or terrace where you can take in views of the surrounding area. Evenings can be spent enjoying meals at smartline Arion Palace's restaurant, or down by the harbour in Ierapetra. You can try traditional Cretan food in its tavernas before having drinks al fresco along the seafront promenade. The hotel offers a shuttle bus service down to the beach, where you can continue by foot towards Lerapetra.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Tennis court
Billiards
Airport transportation
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Table tennis
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Spa
Steam room
Adults only
Convenience store
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, German, Greek
431Reviews26Q+A25Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 177
  • 133
  • 66
  • 31
  • 24
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Artur wrote a review Sept 2021
11 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We've been here for a week. It was wonderful time. The room was big and clean. We were welcomed with complimentary wine and fruits. Room service came every day to clean and change sheets, pillows and towels. The receptionists are very kind and helpful. Can call you a taxi, or make a reservation in a restaurant. If you need an advice where to go they will give you exhaustive answers any time of the day or night. At the pool bar works George, very friendly bartender. Very entertaining person. We met few other staff members (driver, technician, gardener) which are maintaining the facility every day doing a great job. Last but not least the manager is a very open and friendly person and needs to be mentioned here.
The food was tasty. It wasn't very diverse during our stay but it was enough to try many dishes without eating the same every time.
There is a bus to the beach and back few times a day (by foot it is 10-12 minutes if you want).
If you want go to the city it will be about 30 minutes by foot or you can take a taxi for fixed price of 7 euro.
If you are looking a place to chill and relax I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Localization 5/5 (on the hill with great view, calm and not so far from the beach)
Cleaniness 5/5 (room service every day, grass and trees trimmed and watered often)
Staff 5/5 (helpful, polite and very friendly)
Room 5/5 (big, tidy, great views and localisation with 2 entrys (to the hall and on the porch)
Food 4,5/5 (fresh, tasty but I miss more local specialities)
Entertainment 3/5 (tennis, pool, billiard, air hockey, and drinks at the bar. Great for relax, but if you are looking for any animations you will be disappointed)
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kyriakos D, Πωλήσεις at Arion Palace Hotel
Responded 19 Sept 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time for sharing your wonderful comments on TripAdvisor awarding us with such a perfect score. It pleases us greatly to learn that the high level of service you received from our staff, the convenience of location and the condition in the room made your stay with us so enjoyable. Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back soon again, Warm regards, Arion Palace Hotel Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nefro_nyuli wrote a review Oct 2021
Targu Mures, Romania1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have been on Crete before (on the north side), but here in the south was absolutely perfect! The hotel is idyllically located, the staff is amazing (everyone: restaurant, bar, reception, cleaning, shop, etc), very friendly and helpful. The rooms are comfortable, the food and drinks delicious and varied. The beach is about 10 mins away by foot, but there is also a mini-bus service back and forth 4 times/day and the sunbeds are free. Although the sea is a bit difficult to enter because of the slippery rocks, it's very peaceful and not crowded (great in times of pandemic!). Nearby is a restaurant, so you can get a drink/snack/use the toilet (but be aware that on Monday it's closed!!).
To get to the center of Ierapetra and back, there is a fixed price taxi service (7 eur each way).
All in all it was my best beach vacation ever, which I have waited so long for..
Will definitely be back!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kyriakos D, Πωλήσεις at Arion Palace Hotel
Responded 22 Oct 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time for sharing your wonderful comments on Tripadvisor awarding us with such a perfect score. We are extremely happy to learn that we made your stay a memorable and special one. Our team will be delighted to read your words of appreciation and satisfaction. We truly hope to welcoming you back soon again !!! Warm regards, Arion Palace Hotel Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pawel L wrote a review Nov 2021
5 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is beautifully situated on a hill. From the top you can admire the panorama: the sea and Irapetra. Well-kept, nice garden. Large swimming pool with a bar with drinks, drinks and beer. . Sufficient number of sunbeds and umbrellas. There is a gym in the hotel. Meals are OK, there is always something you can choose for yourself, various fruits: watermelons, melons. grapefruits, oranges, peaches, grapes, apples. We would prefer to see more seafood. Very nice and helpful staff. The hotel is clean. The room was cleaned every other day. You can walk to the beach (approx. 10 minutes) or take a bus that runs 4 times a day. You can walk along the beach, almost empty in September.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kyriakos D, Πωλήσεις at Arion Palace Hotel
Responded 1 Dec 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your recent stay in a Arion Palace Hotel and for your time and effort to summarize your positive impressions about your visit. We are all pleased with your comment as it is a big award for all of us. It’s great to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to be up to your satisfaction. We hope το have the pleasure to welcome you back for a future stay. Warm regards, Arion Palace Hotel Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anneandern wrote a review Oct 2022
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom32 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The worst all inclusive I have ever been to.
It could do with a complete refurbishment throughout.
No tea or coffee in rooms, if restaurant wasn’t open you had to go to the pool bar for refreshments & carry it back up.
Food bland, primitive toaster. Ran out of glassware on the evening, people having to use plastic cups.
Good salad bar that’s about all.
The staff are brilliant however.
If you like having cool to tepid showers this is the place to come.
Shuttle bus to beach was like a builder’s van.
Not a nice beach, I would say dangerous slippy rocks to negotiate getting in the sea for a swim….
Overall I would give it 2 stars
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mac P wrote a review Jul 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Peaceful and quiet place, great views on the sea and surrounding mountains. The staff is extremely polite and helpful, always smiling at you. Food was tasty and varied, a lot of fresh fruit and vegetables, good coffee and sweets. Only 2 things that we didn't like were not enough water (you could drink at the pool bar but there should be some kind of water dispenser in the corridors/main hall) and poor air conditioning (it might not bother ppl from warmer countries, but we are Polish and it was hard for us to sleep at night either with AC or with balcony doors open). To sum up, great place, highly recommending!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hans D wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked one week there in April 2020. Then Corona came and the hotel closed. So they canceled the stay and sent us a voucher. No problem so far.
Then they offered an alternative stay in October 2021 which we could not attend.
Now 18 months are over which means that you have a legal right to get your money back. We contacted them again, but still no reaction. Seems they are not willing to refund the money.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kyriakos D, Πωλήσεις at Arion Palace Hotel
Responded 30 Oct 2021
Dear V8321HNhansd, Please read the announcement below : As the RIC2020 CRETE event ended, we would like to thank all participants on behalf of the Arion Palace Hotel. The participants from the postponed RIC2020 CRETE event, due to Corona Virus, used the Vouchers that were granted to them according to the law. For those who did not manage to participate, they will have the opportunity to to extend the voucher for the tourist season 2022 using it in one of the company's hotels. If they don’t want to use the above proposal, the participation amount will be returned within the time limits set by law, with the following procedure: • They should contact the Hotel ARION PALACE by email and request the return of their participation amount. • Arion Palace Hotel will send a relevant document that they have to sign and declare a bank account (IBAN) to which they wish the return. • After Arion Palace Hotel received and checked the documents the claim will be transferred to the declared bank account. • The return will be made only in the name issued the voucher. Kindest regards, Arion Palace Hotel Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ella406 wrote a review Sept 2022
Ramnicu Valcea, Romania16 contributions17 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I went at this hotel in august 2022. For sure, it is not a 4 stars hotel. The room was OK, but the hotel is too far away from the beach. I traveled worldwide, but Arion Palace has the worst All Inclusive I've ever seen. The food was not so diverse and also not so tasty.
Speaking of drinks, it's not possible for a 4 stars hotel to have ONLY one type of cocktail per day, 2-3 types of local drinks and brew sodas.
It was disappointing, it is definitely not worth spending your money here, I would classify this hotel at 2 stars max.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kyriakos D, Πωλήσεις at Arion Palace Hotel
Responded 29 Sept 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We regret to learn that you were noτ satisfied with your stay and you didn't like our All Inclusive offer. Nevertheless, we are grateful for each opinion of our dear guests, which allows us to further increase the quality of our services. With kind regards, Arion Palace Hotel Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
katieloo wrote a review Jun 2007
Sunny Manchester2 contributions9 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Do not stay at this hotel. It is most certainly the worst 4 star hotel on the planet.
We went on an all inclusive basis with Kosmar - never ever again. We checked out after eight hours (eight hours of phone calls to the rep, Rebecca the Kosmar overseas manager in the UK and Sarah the resort manager in Crete) and went to the Miramare Hotel in Ag Nik.

Kosmar were extremly unhelpful to say the least and not at all phased that the description in the Kosmar brochure of this hotel might as well have been describing a completly different accommodation.

We are well used to accommodation being basic in Greece but this place was beyond all belief. It reminded me of a cheap Blackpool B&B that had just opened it's doors for the first time since winter - certainly not the beautiful four star bursting with facilities that Kosmar so wonderfully describe.

Kosmar refused to move us and would not even help us to find alternative accommodation for which we said we would pay for ourselves. We ended up phoning other hotels on the island to find availability and eventually 'escaped' to the Miramare.

The Miramare was fab by the way, could not fault it one bit and can't believe it holds the same star rating as the Arion Palace.
It's just a shame it cost us an extra 1200 euros!

Thank you Kosmar for the crap holiday you provided, the appalling customer service we recieved and the priceless 'couldn't care less' attitude you exude.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2007
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesBusiness service (e.g., internet access)
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sdasfgd wrote a review Jul 2011
Gorzow Wielkopolski, Poland1 contribution8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived at the hotel at 3 a.m with the group of other Poles who booked the holiday there, and we were like "are we the only ones here?!" just beacuse it was so quiet and calm. After a long trip from Poland to Greece we were so tired and the only thing we dreamed of was to finally get to sleep. The receptionist was very proffesional and after no longer than 5 minutes we get the keys to the room. The room was very homely and clean, so that we fell asleep with smiles on our faces. We were so amazed when we woke up in the morning and saw THE MOST BEAUTIFUL view on the sea EVER! It was certainly worth the tireing trip and traveling for 12 hours. So yup, the views are just amazing, like in the fairytale. Food in the hotel restaurant was also very tasty and we enjoyed it so much, that's why we'd always wake up in the early morning saying " come onn it breakfast waitin!". Personel in the hotel was on a really high level , the waiters were the best, it was so much fun to go for the meal every day thanks to them.Also the bar was a great place to spend the nights at, we had all inclusive option which let us drink and eat as much as we can , they have everything , startin with water and endin with alcohol drinks. Chillin by the swimming pool at night is really amazing , you can just sit down with your drink and go swimmin whenever you like. Like a dream , really. And we need to admit that Greeks are also very nice and friendly people ;) Thanks to them we had so much fun there ... We'll cerainly miss it so much and we want to come back there as soon as we can! Damn , why do we have to live in this cold Poland...
Read more
Date of stay: July 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Amazing , the best , nice , cool
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lynpet wrote a review Aug 2008
wales2 contributions10 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel does not cater for the british. The hotel serves cold food three times daily. when you complain the answer you will get is the food tastes better when served cold. I find this very strange as the restaurants all around serve hot food, no complaints there. If you want to go on any excursions you are out of luck, you will have to sort it out yourself. the excursions you can go on are with the german, belgium, french, or other european countries, which i dont mind but i would like to be able to understand what the excursion is all about. the entertainment is non existant. unless you call setting fire to the bar by the head barman every now and again in the evening a bit of fun, i find it a bit dangerous. if you have any teenage children you may as well have stayed at home. the only thing for them is swimming and playing draughts. the gym consists of rusty equipment that does not work. the indoor pool is empty not a drop of water to be seen. the same goes for the water feature outside. we paid for three adults and my son was allocated a fold up bed fit for a child. after two days we moved room. the shuttle bus will cost you one euro each way. if there are not enough people to go down to the town it does not go and you will have to walk.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2008
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Kyriakos D
Heraklion, Greece100 contributions3 helpful votes
Dear guest is possible to keep your room for day use on departure date upon request and availability.For more information and the cost please contact our reservation department at arionpalace@eurohotel-crete.gr. with our best regards Arion Palace Hotel Team
karlvc asked a question Sept 2019
united kingdom25 contributions6 helpful votes
what is the cost of transfer to the hotel from the airport
andycoldham asked a question Sept 2019
Crawley, United Kingdom980 contributions1,423 helpful vote
Does the hotel offer pool towels?
Answer from Irene V
Maroussi, Greece65 contributions15 helpful votes
Yes they do.
paula wrote a tip Oct 2019
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms on the second or third floor probably better for those that need help walking or a bit stiff as the slopes are quite steep."
Read full review
holsaddict3 wrote a tip Sept 2019
England, United Kingdom6 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Sea views on the 4th floor!"
Read full review
Paul J wrote a tip Aug 2019
Manchester, United Kingdom69 contributions42 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"if you don't like your room see the manager I'm sure he would be glad to help"
Read full review
Jeanette C wrote a tip Aug 2019
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Sea view rooms are great"
Read full review
kazza464648 wrote a tip Jun 2019
Falkirk, United Kingdom16 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room facing the pool."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ierapetra area.
PRICE RANGE
$204 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
arion palace ierapetra
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Smartline Arion Palace
LOCATION
GreeceCreteLasithi PrefectureIerapetra
NUMBER OF ROOMS
82
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ARION PALACE HOTEL - Reviews & Price Comparison (Ierapetra, Greece) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Arion Palace Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Arion Palace Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Koutsounari Long Beach (6.0 km), Waterfall of Milona (7.6 km), and Waikiki Cafe-Beach Bar (1.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Arion Palace Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Arion Palace Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Arion Palace Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Arion Palace Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Arion Palace Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Vira Potzi, Schedia, and Zorbas Seaside Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Arion Palace Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Arion Palace Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Arion Palace Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Arion Palace Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, and Greek.
Are there any historical sites close to Arion Palace Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Gournia (11.4 km).
All Ierapetra HotelsIerapetra Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Ierapetra
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire