We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Orca Praia Hotel

417 reviews
Save
Traveller (318)
Room & Suite (125)
Pool & Beach (77)
Overview
  • Excellent34%
  • Very good50%
  • Average13%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“pool beach”(6 reviews)
“camara de lobos”(13 reviews)
“courtesy bus”(19 reviews)
Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Reviews (417)Write a Review
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
69
67
19
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
69
67
19
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool beachcamara de loboscourtesy bussteep rampguaranteed sea viewnearest supermarketbig balconiesformosa beachcoastal paththe local bus serviceno air conditioningroom was largehotel entranceapprox eurosfree hotel busfishing villagesized pool
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 164 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

a superb hotel with every room a guaranteed sea view. clean, modern hotel. large room and bathroom. the food was very wide ranging and superb choice. the only negative point- a long way from funchal but the hotel do provide a free courtesy bus serive...More

1  Thank Dave S
Response from OrcaPraia, Proprietário at Orca Praia HotelResponded 4 days ago

Dear Sir or Madam Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. It is always hugely motivating when one...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

More

Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
1  Thank rlwarren
Response from OrcaPraia, Proprietário at Orca Praia HotelResponded 1 week ago

More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The rooms are adequate, they are quite spacious in fact. They lack electric sockets unfortunately, and some of them don’t work sometimes. The hotel is clean, with the maid visiting every day. There was three lights in our room, excluding the bathroom. The balcony is...More

1  Thank Nicole B
Response from OrcaPraia, Proprietário at Orca Praia HotelResponded 1 week ago

Dear Mrs Nicole Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. It is always hugely motivating when one takes...More

Reviewed 9 January 2018

My husband and I stayed here for 2 weeks last November. Loved it so much that we've just booked again for another 2 weeks April/May and can't wait. The room and balcony were very big and the views magnificent. We were in an end room...More

4  Thank Sandra M
Response from OrcaPraia, Gerente at Orca Praia HotelResponded 10 January 2018

Dear Mrs Sandra Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. It is always hugely motivating when one takes...More

Reviewed 6 January 2018

A very average 3 star hotel 4 miles from the centre of Funchal. We sopped on the eighth floor or minus 8 as the hotel is built in to a cliff, with reception being at the top. Ten floors in all, and down to the...More

2  Thank Nigel S
Response from OrcaPraia, Proprietário at Orca Praia HotelResponded 1 week ago

Dear Sir or Madam Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. It is always hugely motivating when one...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345633
About
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Platinum level
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Free Parking
Beachfront
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Shuttle Bus Service
Airport Transportation
Breakfast included
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$66 - US$183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#4 Green Hotel in Funchal
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#29 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#38 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$66 - US$183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#4 Green Hotel in Funchal
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#29 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#38 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (318)
Room & Suite (125)
Pool & Beach (77)
Dining (25)
Amenities (20)
Family and Play Areas (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Sara0365
20 February 2018|
Answer
Response from OrcaPraia | Property representative |
Dear Sara Thank you for your message and we look forward to your trip to Madeira. We are located 6 km from the city center and 2 km from the touristic area. There are many choices for your meals and we recomend you to visit... More
0
Votes
Google Translation
suec0urtney
26 January 2018|
Answer
Response from OrcaPraia | Property representative |
Dear Sue Thank you for your email We have a project pending since 2016 in town hall waiting for the permits to build the lift. However due to revison to the Municipal director plan and burocratic delays we are still... More
0
Votes
Google Translation
Sara0365
18 January 2018|
Answer
Response from OrcaPraia | Property representative |
Dear Sara As a local I recomend besides the hotel services that you visit the old town and the marina área and try Our famous “poncha” The night life is pleaseant and always easy to return by taxi Cost is about 15 euros... More
0
Votes
Google Translation
PreviousNext
12345610
Room Tips
"All rooms seaview. check for aircon, waves are gorgeous, but if you leave the balcony door open for air, it..."
Read review
"Do not book 10th floor room below restaurant"
Read review
"From what I have seen, every room have a view on the ocean!"
Read review
"Sea view nice."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing