We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Phoenix

Traveller (185)
Room & Suite (81)
Dining (10)
Overview
Untere Wiestistrasse 11, Zermatt 3920 Switzerland See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Bar/Lounge
Fitness centre
Multilingual Staff
Pets Allowed
3 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Reviews(293)
Traveller rating
  • 384
  • 88
  • 11
  • 2
  • 4
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
Show reviews that mention
  • Filter
  • English
eye-on-travel-2
Park Ridge, Illinois
5029
Reviewed 21 Oct 2018via mobile
We chose this hotel as it was the right price and we thought the right location. The price was fine for what we got, but it was a much further walk from train than advertised. We did not take the electric taxi as we were told it was a 5 min walk. We had big rolling luggage and it was uphill. Plus the taxi is quite expensive. Breakfast was good but we had to leave early to take Glacier express train. Nice views of Matterhorn.
1 Thank eye-on-travel-2
WJ_RTW
Hong Kong, China
8456
Reviewed 15 Oct 2018via mobile
I cannot say highly enough about Phoenix and definitely recommend to anyone going to Zermatt.

It’s hotel with love - view are both amazing, we stayed in Matterhorn view room first then on second found a view at the back.

I even love the 7 mins walk as it’s location give you a full view of Matterhorn easily outside hotel or in Matterhorn view room. Also it’s quick to walk up to the viewpoint for lovely morning sunrise photo!

Checkin is good and make you warm to pre asking if you have anything needed help which you may needed as everyone go to Zermatt for first time would have tonnes of queries. Building is well maintenance and you could tell they review daily to make it exceptional.

Prompt and excellent service from 3 various staff from reception, breakfast restaurant.

Clean and comfy room. Their breakfast is amazing. In a small hotel setting with limited space but they do whatever they could give you fresheners and varieties of good which is best among 3 hotels we stayed even some are double price than Phoenix.

My experience is already delighted in my first stay, what make it remarkable further is my second stay.

When they know I suffered from high altitude on my return trip, they are flexibility allow my super early check in and upgrade me to a more spacious room to get rest and recovered.

If only one change I want to advice, maybe give a firmer or extra set of pillows as it’s very flat at the moment.

Well done Phoenix and Kudos to Lauren (hope I pick up the spelling correctly).

Ps don’t miss the restaurant around their corner, best among the week trip we had!
Thank WJ_RTW
RN2travel365
Santa Monica, California
7951
Reviewed 13 Oct 2018
I stayed at 3 and 4 star hotels all throughout swiss on my 3 weeks there. This one had awful customer service.
I made two reservations in the same room. First night was the double room booked as a single room. Second reservation was for a 3 night booking for a total of 4 nights (in the same room). My original booking of 3 nights was paid for 2 people occupancy regardless of how many people actually stayed. I was traveling by myself. I get to the room and it has two beds pushed together with one pillow and one comforter, one towel, one hand towel, and one wash cloth. Ok no big deal. I don't need the two pillows or the extra blankets. After one night I did it was freezing. No one is at the front desk when I leave in the morning to ask for more blankets so I wait until the night. I get back too late from the hike and dinner, and no one is there at night, and even though my NEW reservation has now kicked in I still only have one pillow, one blanket, etc etc. I go to breakfast every morning they tell me two people you can sit wherever (I'm still only 1 person). None of this bothers me, until the second day I ask for more water, and get told no that is only for the beginning of your stay. I don't argue that I've booked two reservations. I ask for more shampoo has run out. They give me another bottle (I don't feel this is something I should have to ask for). On the third day I had invited one of the locals to breakfast (as they had showed me this amazing hike, and had never had a Zermatt swiss breakfast). We have breakfast- again this is included in my hotel. I come back that night requesting another pillow (so I can sit up and read in bed) They still haven't made my room for two people- even though I'm paying for it. She says she will find me one, and then tells me that I need to pay for the guest I had at breakfast this morning? I explain to her that I've actually been paying for two people for 3 nights, and haven't had my room serviced for 2 people the whole time, haven't eaten two breakfasts the whole time, and now they want to charge me $25CHF. I was like I feel I should be refunded for 3 breakfasts not charged for an additional one. She says she will discuss with the owner/manager, and get back to me in the morning (turns out she is the owner?) I go down to check out, and she says no I don't owe the money and no they will not refund anything as that was how I booked it. Funny how they wanted to collect more money for breakfast, and skimp on water and shampoo to their guest (I was out again on the last day), but when it comes to refunding for unused food/pillows/blankets/shampoo it's a no go. Super unimpressed with the service.
3 Thank RN2travel365
Response from HotelphoenixZermatt, Manager at Hotel Phoenix
Responded 19 Oct 2018
Dear Expedia Prepaid Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our 3-star hotel. As we do not have single rooms in our hotel, the room rate on Expedia is the same for 1 or 2 people. In addition, all our rooms have 2 single beds that are standing next to each other. However, if rooms are occupied by only 1 person, we only prepare the room for 1 guest, which is our contribution to help save the planet, by using less energy, water and chemical products. Our reception is daily open from 8 am to 10 pm. During that time and if we are not physically present at the reception, you can reach us through the phone at your disposal on the desk. We would have been happy to meet your expectations and put a second down duvet and/or pillow in your room. One liter of bottled water is only provided on arrival day, after that the guests can use the bottles to refill it with our high-quality tap water, or buy some at the bar. Even if a guest reserves every day separately, it still counts as one reservation. We did not ask you to check-out in the morning and re-check-in in the evening even though you had 2 reservations for the same room category, but not necessarily for the same room. In-house guests are welcome to have breakfast in our hotel, but outside guests normally have to pay for it. This rule is the same in all well-managed hotels over the world. Most of our guests are travelling with their own shampoo and shower gel and therefore we do not automatically refill the shampoo and body lotion. This helps to throw less plastic object. Guests who need more can always ask at the reception. We found funny that you have not realised that the evening receptionist was not the same as the morning. But sometimes an objective discernment of things is complicated for some people. With best regards L. Zavagno / Manager
johnfromwollongong
Wollongong, Australia
8629
Reviewed 10 Oct 2018
5 to 10 minutes walk from the train station. We had a partial view of the matterhorn. Quite location. Everything was clean and modern. The breakfast was nice with a selection of cheeses and small hot food section and pastries. And muesli of course. Little away from the main strip but only 10min walk away.
Thank johnfromwollongong
Sharan G
131
Reviewed 6 Oct 2018via mobile
Located about 7-10 mins away from zermatt station! This was the first time I saw such interiors of a hotel! It was phenomenal! Well maintained rooms as well! Good view from the balcony too! Very friendly and helpful staff! Had plethora of options for breakfast too! Entrance closes automatically at 9.30 pm or so but no worries you can open the door of the hotel with your room card itself! Nobody at reception from 10 pm or so till 8 am.. wifi was seamless also.. only concern was the small flies that entered the room when the windows were left open!

Would always recommend this hotel to anybody who stays at zermatt!
Thank Sharan G
PreviousNext
12345659
About
Description
See why so many travellers make Hotel Phoenix their hotel of choice when visiting Zermatt. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a charming setting with an array of amenities designed More for travellers like you. Hotel Phoenix is a charming hotel offering a flat screen TV, a desk, and a safe in the rooms. Plus, guests can enjoy a fitness center and free breakfast, which have made this a popular choice among travelers visiting Zermatt. Hotel Phoenix makes it easy to stay connected during your stay by offering guests free wifi. Gornergrat (5.2 km), located nearby, makes Hotel Phoenix a great place to stay for those interested in visiting this popular Zermatt landmark. While in Zermatt, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from Hotel Phoenix, including Restaurant Chez Vrony (1.8 km), Chalet da Giuseppe (0.4 km), and Restaurant Whymper-Stube (0.7 km). Best of all, Hotel Phoenix makes it easy to experience many great Zermatt attractions like Zermatt Paragliding, Tandem Paragliding Zermatt, and Zermatters, which are some popular parasailing and paragliding destinations. We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Hotel Phoenix as you experience all of the things Zermatt has to offer. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Spa
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel Style
Ski-In / Ski-Out
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel Style
Ski-In / Ski-Out
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
27
Price range
US$175 - US$378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel Style
Ski-In / Ski-Out
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
27
Price range
US$175 - US$378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Photos
Traveller (185)
Room & Suite (81)
Dining (10)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 110 nearby hotels
Carina Hotel
35 reviews
.05 km away
Hotel Holiday
174 reviews
.10 km away
Hotel La Ginabelle
363 reviews
.10 km away
Sunstar Hotel Zermatt
348 reviews
.14 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 208 nearby restaurants
Walliserstube Zermatt
588 reviews
.08 km away
Chalet da Giuseppe
291 reviews
.36 km away
CERVO Puro
540 reviews
.29 km away
Snowboat
472 reviews
.38 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 116 nearby attractions
Zermatt Ski School European Snowsport (ES)
131 reviews
.56 km away
Summit Ski & Snowboard School
133 reviews
.43 km away
5-Seenweg
59 reviews
.54 km away
Zermatt Tourismus
47 reviews
.45 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
heidi01_12
17 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from hotelphoenix | Property representative |
Dear Heidi By car you can drive only to Täsch (5km away from Zermatt). Zermatt is carfree. The car can be accommodated in one of many parking garages. A shuttle train will take you to Zermatt every 20 minutes. Alternatively... More
1
Vote
Google Translation
Room Tips
"get a matterhorn view, but I wouldn't stay here"
RN2travel365
13 Oct 2018
Read review
"If standard room, ask for one with patio. Else upgrade to get on higher floors for a view."
mariabD9293AT
16 Sep 2018
Read review
"Worth paying extra for balcony and Matterhorn view"
katiepK4771PQ
2 Aug 2018
Read review
"Get a room with a view!"
sfcc11
11 Jul 2018
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing