Hotel Schönegg
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hotel Schönegg

Auf der Burg 1401c, Wengen, Lauterbrunnen 3823 Switzerland
Traveller (251)
winter view from the rooms
Room & Suite (100)
Dining (52)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#5 of 20 hotels in Wengen
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value

Hotel Schoenegg is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Wengen, offering a charming environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

Rooms at Hotel Schoenegg offer a flat screen TV providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with free wifi.

A concierge and newspaper are some of the conveniences offered at this hotel. A sauna and free breakfast will also help to make your stay even more special.

While in Wengen, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from Hotel Schoenegg, including Da Sina Pizzeria (0.0 mi), Pasta & More Restaurant (0.1 mi), and Chez Meyers (0.2 mi).

Enjoy your stay in Wengen!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Sauna
Free breakfast
Game room
Hiking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free shuttle or taxi services
Spa
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Mini golf
Skiing
Tennis court
Walking tours
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Private balcony
Safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is officially classified according to Hotelstars Union standards.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, French, German

Location

Auf der Burg 1401c, Wengen, Lauterbrunnen 3823 Switzerland
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 92 out of 100
92
Belp Airport
Sion Airport
60.1 km
See all flights
374Reviews6Q+A69Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 318
  • 43
  • 7
  • 3
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
clairesbee wrote a review Aug 2022
Sheffield, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had an incredible stay at Hotel Schonegg in July. The rooms are small but comfortable. It is in a great location and perched on the hillside so has amazing views - we had a room on the third floor. We arrived at night and waking up in the morning to an incredible view of the Jungfrau was just...indescribable. Photos do not do it justice, I would come back for that view alone.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: When booking I requested a room on the highest available floor for the best views, which they...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karine Dequeker, Owner at Hotel Schönegg
Responded 5 Aug 2022
Dear Clairesbee, Thank you so much for taking the time in leaving us such a lovely comment about your stay at Hotel Schoenegg. We are delighted that you had a memorable time. Kind regards Karine
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Adrian C wrote a review Jul 2022
San Diego, California
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here 2 nights in June 2020, traveling as a family of four (2 kids 14 and 10). The hotel is beautiful and the family room is really nice and we liked that the kids had a bunk bed and we had two separate rooms. It’s a bit smaller than it appears in the photos so we were a little tight but I guess that’s expected in Switzerland. We enjoyed the views sitting on the balcony, the breakfast was great.

The rooms do not have AC which wasn’t ideal bc we were there during a heat wave which which was 70s-80s at our elevation. We had to keep windows wide open at night to survive so that’s our only complaint.

The location is great. Wengen is a nice quiet village. It was jam packed with tourists down in Lauterbrunen and Interlaken so we enjoyed the calm of Wengen. Easy gondola to Manlichen or cogwheel train to Kleine Scheidegg or down to Lauterbrunen.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeanette wrote a review Sept 2023
Georgia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were so pleased with our stay at Hotel Schonegg when visiting the Wengen area. We were in one of the suites, which had a huge bathroom, and a gorgeous balcony in which we could sit and watch the town square, and enjoy the background views of the mountains. The hotel is historic - you'll have actual keys and not a key card, and you'll walk a lot of stairs, but that's the charm of this place. Beware, there's no air conditioning, with most of the time is fine, but we visited during a heat spell, and the room became 80+ degrees. The management team bought us a fan and set it up in our room to help relieve some of the daytime heat, which was so appreciated! Also, their restaurant, 1908, is terrific, and definitely worth enjoying while visiting.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MMB wrote a review Mar 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I previously wrote a very positive review about the Schoenegg, as over the past 15 years, it has been one of our favourite places in Wengen . However, on 2 recent visits we were bitterly disappointed to find a new menu in the main restaurant and worse still a new front of house maître d'hôtel who was simply terrible. We have been going to the Schoenegg for nearly 2 decades and always been personally welcomed and made to feel special as regular returning guests. On both accaisons we were totally ignored. I would have thought that a new maître d'hôtel would at least ask his guests whether they were first time or previous visitors and make them feel welcome. Customer service is often the difference between 2 venus and unfortunately we will not be going back. Finally, the menu in the main restaurant has been simplified from the previous fine dining which is a shame as it is now the same as many of the other restaurants in Wengen (and every course we chose was extremely salty!). They have lost their USP over the others. A great shame.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Connector51513612898, Manager at Hotel Schönegg
Responded 12 Mar 2020
Dear globaltraveller747 Thank you for your feedback and for your visit at our restaurant. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed about our restaurant. We always welcome our guests warmly and our goal is to offer our guests an unforgettable stay. We apologize that we could not do this for you. We are a little surprised to hear that you find our menu too simple, as most of our guests are very satisfied with the menu and so far, nobody has complained that the food was too salty. But everyone has a different taste… For our menu and as well for our service we have received many compliments. We would be pleased if we could welcome you once again in our restaurant and make it your favorite place in Wengen again. Kurt Ropers Host
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
skaldakimbi wrote a review Jul 2022
3.0 of 5 bubbles
2022, they have staff issues and provide a rather bad service.
At breakfast, you have to search a table which is clean. The waiter greeted us nicely and went on. We had to catch up with him to remind him that coffee would be welcome. These are people who work for the first time in service.
The kitchen only has a rudimentary menu. I do not know who works in the kitchen but it is probably not a cook. I am a hobby cook myself and I would feel ashamed to serve this to my guest.
The location of the hotel is excellent. The rooms are nice and clean. This really works.
Still, under this constrains it would have been more honest to keep the hotel closed. They provide rudimentary service but you, you pay the full price nevertheless.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kurt Ropers, General Manager at Hotel Schönegg
Responded 21 Jul 2022
Thank you very much for your feedback. I apologies for the inconvenice caused, we try very hard to give every day our best and to improve. We still hope you could enjoy your stay with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jjejheinzelmann wrote a review Feb 2021
Basel, Switzerland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a great fantastic experience, friendly staff from the front desk to the restaurant. Great dinner and breakfast. Accommodation is well kept and clean. Front desk went beyond normal expectations, even arranging sports gear to be delivered to the station. Worthy of another visit in the summer!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alice M wrote a review Sept 2022
Ann Arbor, Michigan
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This a lovely little mountain inn in the stunning alpine village of Wengen. We greatly enjoyed the hotel’s charming, yet up-to-date rooms. And the game room where we played cards at night. And the food was quite good – we thought our dinner a cut above the other meals we had in the area. The service was fine, although our check in attendant seemed a bit passive-aggressive/annoyed with us/the world/who knows. If your schedule permits, check out the wonderful town public pool, just a 10 minute walk away. We loved jumping into the pool and hanging out with the townspeople after a day hiking in the beautiful Bernese Oberland!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karine Dequeker, General Manager at Hotel Schönegg
Responded 3 Oct 2022
Thank you foor your feadback. We are happy that you had a wonderful time with, enjoyed the beautiful room and the nice town. Thanks for all the description from the area. Our Hotel, not really a Inn is in a beautiful spot and we love to give our guests the best experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ceecee101 wrote a review Sept 2021
California
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the fourth time we have stayed here and we would not stay anywhere else in the Lauterbrunnen valley area. We have been there for both the previous owners and the current owners. The staff could not be more welcoming, helpful and kind. Thanks to Kurt, Jenny, Soenia, Eva, Samuel and any others I may have forgotten to mention. Special shout out to Jenny who worked with us to change things several times when our airline kept changing our dates. My spouse wanted to take the chef home to California with us. Great rooms, nice deck areas, beautiful views, excellent food and wine and a fabulous staff. Loved doing half board as the only meal we need to worry about is lunch and we often grabbed sandwiches from the bakery in town for our hikes. Thank you once again for a fabulous time!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Room with a deck!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kurt Ropers, General Manager at Hotel Schönegg
Responded 25 Sept 2021
Thank you so much for your great feedback. It was an absolut pleasure to have you with us and we hope to welcome you soon again for your fifth time. Thank you for being wonderful guests.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AP_Phoenix wrote a review Apr 2024
Scottsdale, Arizona
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Charming, fabulous location. Lovely staff at front desk and bar/restaurant. I had a tiny single room but it was cozy and all I needed for a wonderful stay in this beautiful village. Had breakfast everyday on property and one dinner in the hotel restaurant.. all very good. They have a lovely terrace to enjoy views when the weather permits it. I would stay here again.

Note it is a 5+ minute walk from the train and a slight uphill climb to the hotel. But if you have a lot of luggage there is a cart that will take you up or down.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OhFranklin wrote a review Sept 2023
New York City, New York
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We were there during the unusually hot weather this summer, so some aspects probably don't reflect on the general nature of the hotel.

Lovely and helpful front desk staff took great care of us and our luggage. The on-site bar and restaurant are both high-quality with a wide selection. The restaurant seating outside was ideal. That said, service was a bit slow the night we were there.
Breakfast in the morning had all the things you needed.

Our specific room was pretty tight for two people. I don't have the reservation information on what type of room it was unfortunately. Just know that the small rooms are, well, small.

View from our little porch looking out over the village and to the mountains was amazing.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Small rooms are small.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Rick B
Phoenix, Arizona22 contributions8 helpful votes
Hi, actually, a valley facing room and a Jungfrau view room are kind of contradictory, the way the hotel is situated. Most of their room base directly to the Jungfrau. You an see a bit of the valley off to the right, but the Jungfrau is front and center, and thats the "money" view! A few rooms are off the end of the hotel, and they look up the mountain called the Maennlichen. Not as good a view. You definitely want to make sure you reserve a double room with terrace facing the Jungfrau. Good luck and enjoy! Its fabulous.
Answer from Caroline O
Wengen2 contributions
Good afternoon from Wengen, the queensize rooms are really small, for one or two nights perfect. the small double room is with two twin beds such as the classic double room. the best is to book a small double or a classic double and you put that you wish a "big bed" as discussed with Caroline and then we prepare the bed accordingly. When are you planning to come to Wengen. Feel free to contact me directly for your booking : Caroline@hotel-schoenegg.ch Best regards from Wengen, Caroline Ogi / Manager
Answer from Caroline O
Wengen2 contributions
Good evening from Wengen! Did you get my message on Facebook. As mentionned we start breakfast at 7H30 normally, but we can start earlier for you if needed or if it is very, very early we can prepare a packed breakfast for you. Let us know, see you soon in Wengen, Caroline / manager
Wedding66 asked a question Jul 2016
Crowborough, United Kingdom9 contributions
Is there a transfer from the train station to the hotel or is it walkable
Answer from Caroline O
Wengen2 contributions
Yes there is a Transfer! Just let know your Arrival time! Caroline / Hotel Schönegg
OhFranklin wrote a tip Sept 2023
New York City, New York358 contributions148 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Small rooms are small."
Read full review
clairesbee wrote a tip Aug 2022
Sheffield, United Kingdom89 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"When booking I requested a room on the highest available floor for the best views, which they happily accommodated."
Read full review
FloridaHockeyGuy wrote a tip Jul 2022
Florida City, Florida127 contributions53 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Balcony view is best to sit and enjoy a glass of wine while soaking in the view"
Read full review
Ceecee101 wrote a tip Sept 2021
California246 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room with a deck!"
Read full review
Annbosteels wrote a tip Jan 2020
Aalst, Belgium6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"take te chalet rooms quiet and comfortable"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Wengen area.
PRICE RANGE
$654 - $893 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
schonegg hotel wengen
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of BernBernese OberlandJungfrau RegionLauterbrunnenWengen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL SCHÖNEGG - Reviews & Price Comparison (Wengen, Switzerland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Schönegg
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Schönegg?
Nearby attractions include Skiset Wengen (0.1 km), On the Rocks Bar (0.1 km), and Central Sport (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Schönegg?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Schönegg?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Schönegg?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Bären, Restaurant 1903, and Golden India Wengen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Schönegg?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Is Hotel Schönegg located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Wengen.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Schönegg?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Schönegg?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Schönegg?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Schönegg?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Rothenfluh Ruins (6.7 km).
Does Hotel Schönegg have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
All Wengen HotelsWengen Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in WengenHotels near Hotel Schönegg
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire