Metropole Hotel Interlaken
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Metropole Hotel Interlaken

View from balcomy
Traveller (339)
Panorama at the Metropole Hotel Interlaken
360
Panoramas (23)
Room & Suite (261)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#13 of 44 hotels in Interlaken
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Hotel Metropole is located in the Bernese Oberland, surrounded by beautiful mountain landscape. It is towering majestically above the rooftops of Interlaken.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Skiing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Shuttle bus service
Parking
Wifi
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Room features
Desk
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is officially classified according to Hotelstars Union standards.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, German, Italian and 1 more

Location

Höheweg 37, Interlaken 3800 Switzerland
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 99 out of 100
99
Belp Airport
37.3 km
See all flights
Sion Airport
984Reviews11Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 359
  • 367
  • 154
  • 64
  • 40
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
schroedm wrote a review Jun 2022
Olathe, Kansas47 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Our first stop on our Europe tour was to beautiful Interlaken. The highlight of our room was having a balcony to sit out and watch the gathering of visitors as they played by the gardens, enjoyed gelato, or listened to free concerts. Every time I looked at the window the sights got more beautiful. We woke to paragliders floating by our large window - some close enough to even wave. The location was great, and it being the tallest building around made it easy to spot. The hotel gave us a pass to take the buses in Interlaken for free, and although we didn't take advantage of them, it was a great option. A short walk from the train station was nice too. I appreciated that the staff at the front desks took their time to answer our questions and the evening bartender did not hesitate to fill up a large bucket of ice for us!! It was hot in Interlaken while we were there, and the fan in the room (which didn't have AC) was really welcome. Breakfast staff were very friendly and the selection was fine. We used the filtered water station (coffee and tea were available there as well) which was available near the fitness center often throughout our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Beancounter40 wrote a review Jul 2022
South East England10 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My father and I visited in June and had rooms on the 13th floor. The views were truly amazing and far outweighed any other aspect of the stay (although actually that was very good too). The rooms were spacious and clean and the beds very comfortable. Our rooms and en-suites were in very good condition with excellent showers/baths and we felt there was nothing to query. There was a fan for the hot weather but no air conditioning (I think this is the case). Each room has a balcony and table/chairs with fully opening sliding doors to access. The hotel itself is a tall old fashioned tower but I guess that doesn't matter once you are on the inside. The top floor restaurant has panoramic views through wrap around windows (and an outside terrace). Very good food IMO and we really enjoyed our week there. Would definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the room.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pwr175 wrote a review May 2022
Lancaster, United Kingdom2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The suite was excellent with wonderful views of the Jungfrau. Reception were helpful. The breakfast was very good with ample variety and amount and the domestic staff very thorough in their work -- nothing seemed to be too much trouble, including providing a shower mat as we found the shower floor very slippery!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marco von Euw, Geschäftsführer at Metropole Hotel Interlaken
Responded 14 Jul 2022
Dear Guest Thank you very much for your visit in our house as well as your nice feedback. We are glad you enjoyed or plentiful breakfast and the nice view. It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again here in our Hotel. In the meanwhile we wish you all the best. Kind regards Your Metropole Team Guest relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SydneyTravelalot wrote a review Jul 2022
Sydney, Australia184 contributions114 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Don’t judge this hotel based on its exterior. It might look the ugliest building in Interlaken but it is warm with friendly hospitality. Staff is amazing, greeting guests by their name from day1, answering tourist questions even after they clocked off and are on their way out of the building. The upgraded rooms have views that you cannot get tired of and they are more affordable than the 5* hotel next door. Their beds are super comfy to sleep on. Breakfast is generous and good value for the price in town. The only thing I could fault is that the wifi signal is not strong enough on the balcony - but it is full strength 5 steps in the room- this is due to the building being made of lots of concrete. Overall, this has been my best hotel on my European tour and would book it again in a heartbeat.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Choose a higher floor room for the best view, best room furnishings and best fresh air. And the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nahed wrote a review Jun 2021
Geneva, Switzerland27 contributions44 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is the highest building in Interlaken which stands alone destroying the harmony of the classical authentic surroundings. The view is magnificent from all rooms the service is good the room size is moderate and clean. However it’s by no means a 4 stars. No air conditioning just a slow fan no kettle or coffee maker you can serve yourself with free coffee which tastes terrible from the sauna lounge. Last time I stayed in the renovated room which are on the top three floors with modern decorations and nice bedding. This time I stayed in the standard room which is very outdated terrible soft mattress and pillows couldn’t sleep. Bathroom has only warm water and no cold water the minibar was out of order although makes slight noise the only virtue was the balcony with the Mountain View. Honestly until they refurbish all their rooms this hotel should be maximum three stars. I will stay again because of the central location and the view however never in a standard room.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marco von Euw, Geschäftsführer at Metropole Hotel Interlaken
Responded 16 Jun 2021
Dear Nahed Thank you very much for your honest words. Well that is true we are not a beauty from the outside but we are very charming from the inside. We are very sorry that you were not that satisfied with your stay. It is true we do not have any coffee or tea facilities in our rooms therefor we got the coffeemachine in our fitness and sauna lounge. We are sorry you did not like that coffee. It is our plan to rennovate all rooms step by step. Hopefully we can start this winter with the next floors. This time you booked a standard room wich is located from the 1st until 6th floor. As we could research our staff offered you an upgrade in one of our deluxe rooms which you did not want. Once again we are sorry for all the inconvience you had and would be happy to welcome you again here in our Hotel. In the meanwhile we wishing you all the best. Your Metropole Team Anja Lösche Guest relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shaz wrote a review Jul 2020
Ealing, United Kingdom27 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a fantastic hotel. The staff (Sabrina and Mehmet) were very helpful, friendly and welcoming. The hotel is in the heart of Interlaken and so easy access to the beautiful lakes. It is also very close to all the lovely restaurants and shops. We could not ask for a better, more central location and the views from the balcony were breathtaking. One tip if you want to hire a boat, go to the boat hire place called Abegglen in Isleltwald. It's a lot cheaper and the boats are much better quality than anywhere else.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheQuietObserver wrote a review Jun 2022
Peterborough, United Kingdom305 contributions164 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is situated in the centre of Interlaken, easy walking distance from Ost or West train station. To be fair it is closer to the West but nothing too strenuous either way.

The hotel is somewhat of a monstrosity in looks but we booked it because it was high and like the Eiffel tower it's better to be in it looking out than looking at it. We were on a high floor overlooking the city which was a wonderful view with mountains and lakes.

The hotel breakfast was well catered for and varied, near the gym there is a tea / coffee station you can help yourself. The hotel kindly provides a voucher for discount on attractions and public transport - note: you get more discount using your swiss half fare rail card (harder kulm).

The room was a nice size with a safe and mini bar and a good wardrobe space. However it does not have air conditioning...the fan provided was like an asthmatic ant with some heavy shopping blowing on you.

The window's were large but you couldn't leave them open due to heavy rain unpredictability. The trip to Jungjaufroch was easy and takes about 1hr30....note: we were advised that our first class ticket got us on the glacier express cable car which is much faster than the 2nd train journey and boy is it a spectacular ride. Better than the mountain! We never got challenged that we couldn't ride it...so ask!Staff were extremely helpful and friendly, thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mary H wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had booked a room somewhere else but determined it was too small and so we just walking into Metropole and they were super helpful in getting us two rooms for four people! The staff was very helpful and having parking right at the back of the hotel was really convenient. Our room was a bit stuffy and it would have been nice to have air conditioning or a better fan. I was surprised that a large hotel like this did not have air conditioning but this facility is not very common in Switzerland.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marco von Euw, Geschäftsführer at Metropole Hotel Interlaken
Responded 10 Sept 2021
Dear Guest Thank you very much for your visit in our house as well as your nice feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the help of our friendly staff. You are right, we do not have air conditioning in ours, however you will find a stand fan in each room and the housekeeping is happy to bring a second one if needed. It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again here in our Hotel. In the meanwhile we wish you all the best. Kind regards Your Metropole Team Melanie Jaun Guest relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joanne A wrote a review May 2022
Taunton, United Kingdom9 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
A 2-3 star hotel not a 4 star. Breakfast very limited choice and had to pay extra if you wanted fried or poached eggs. It is a very small continental breakfast not impressed at all. Friendly staff who cleared your plates very quickly. The free water/tea/coffee area in need of a dire makeover very sparce uncomfortable seating and not attractive at all. This area was like a 2 star hotel, could have been so much nicer with a makeover that would not take allot of effort to do. I probably would not stay in the
Is hotel again as the breakfast was not at all good.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
janvalstar wrote a review Jul 2023
2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
It's clear why you pay a hefty price for an outdated facility that needs serious renovation; the perfect location in the city center with magnificent view of the Jungfrau (weather permitting of course). The room was simply not worth the money: worn out carpet, shabby curtains, shower/bath did not drain fast enough and all matrasses were way too soft. Service and breakfast were good but not outstanding, all in all: this place misses the grandeur one would expect judging from the price level
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Interlaken area.
PRICE RANGE
$460 - $776 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
interlaken metropole hotel
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of BernBernese OberlandInterlaken
NUMBER OF ROOMS
96
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

METROPOLE HOTEL INTERLAKEN - Reviews & Price Comparison (Switzerland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Metropole Hotel Interlaken
Which popular attractions are close to Metropole Hotel Interlaken?
Nearby attractions include Harder Kulm (1.3 km), Hohematte Park (0.3 km), and Interlaken Activities (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Metropole Hotel Interlaken?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Metropole Hotel Interlaken?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Metropole Hotel Interlaken?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Metropole Hotel Interlaken?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Metropole Hotel Interlaken?
Conveniently located restaurants include Layaly Beirut, Husi Bierhaus, and Korean BBQ Restaurant Aare.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Metropole Hotel Interlaken?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and a sauna during their stay.
Is Metropole Hotel Interlaken located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Interlaken.
Are any cleaning services offered at Metropole Hotel Interlaken?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Metropole Hotel Interlaken?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Metropole Hotel Interlaken offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
All Interlaken HotelsInterlaken Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in InterlakenHotels near Metropole Hotel Interlaken
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire