The Alpina Gstaad
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Alpina Gstaad

Alpinastrasse 23, Gstaad, Saanen 3780 Switzerland
Traveller (795)
View from the hotel of the exterior pool and grounds
Room & Suite (114)
Dining (62)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#2 of 18 hotels in Gstaad
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The Alpina Gstaad is a small, discreet and modern hotel property of only 56 rooms and suites. Set on hillside of the exclusive resort, Gstaad-Oberbort, the hotel overlooks the Saaneland ski village. Gstaad’s pristine valley is surrounded by spectacular Alpine views. Since its opening in 2012, The Alpina Gstaad upholds a global standard of refinement and elegance in the 5-star category. Known for its authentic architecture, local crafts, own herb garden and art collection, The Alpina Gstaad is home to the highest expressions of Swiss design. The Alpina Gstaad offers on-site Michelin-starred restaurant, a wine cellar containing over 1’700 labels, and a range of luxury services to experience. The property hosts the first Six Senses Spa in Switzerland, a holistic destination spa inspired by Asian wellness traditions that draw upon the energy of the Alps and the Bernese Oberland's peaks and pastures. The Alpina Private Art Collection continues to expand and currently includes more than 60 pieces by some of the world’s leading contemporary artists. The hotel offers magnificent views of the Bernese Alps and the Saanenland, an area known for its wide range of Summer and Winter activities.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Babysitting
Electric vehicle charging station
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Game room
Hiking
Ski rentals
Ski school
Skiing
Tennis court offsite
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hammam
Head massage
Light therapy
Massage
Open-air bath
Salon
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Outdoor fireplace
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Butler service
Doorperson
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is officially classified according to Hotelstars Union standards.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, French, German

Location

Alpinastrasse 23, Gstaad, Saanen 3780 Switzerland
Name/address in local language
667Reviews5Q+A63Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 623
  • 27
  • 10
  • 4
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
MonteleoneP wrote a review Aug 2020
Zurich, Switzerland131 contributions100 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Alpina offers a great summer getaway in the Swiss mountains and all you would expect from a true five star hotel. Staff was very friendly throughout, nicely equipped rooms and great spa facilities including an outdoor pool. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were also served outside, which is great on nice summer days and appreciated by many particularly in times of Covid-19. The quality of food was generally very good. For us a highlight was the dinner at Megu, which offered excellent Japanese food beyond sushi and sashimi. Breakfast is à la carte due to Covid-19. Was a bit surprised that we were asked to indicate the time and what we wanted for breakfast the evening before even when eating at the restaurant. In the end, we decided to have breakfast in our room, which worked out well and special wishes (e.g. special fruits or egg dishes) were not a problem. For a family with 2 children the most common room option is to book two connecting deluxe rooms. There are larger suites, but these do not offer separate rooms for the children (except the Panorama and Chalet suite, which might not always be available and are at a much higher price level). There is no option to connect a regular suite or junior suite with a room. We enjoyed our stay a lot and will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Alpina Gstaad, Geschäftsführer at The Alpina Gstaad
Responded 10 Aug 2020
Dear MonteleoneP, Thank you very much for taking the time and giving us your feedback further to your stay at our hotel. Receiving such a good and detailed feedback from our guests gives us the opportunity to improve our services and to strengthen us. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel and experienced all our outstanding services, from the restaurants, the breakfast to the Six Senses Spa Gstaad. In the current situation, some services had to be changed and adapted to the hygiene and safety measures of the Swiss Federal Office for Public Health. Ensuring the health and protection for both our guests and hosts at the hotel, we chose not to serve a breakfast buffet. In order to optimize our room service, we ask our guests for the time in order to deliver you a fresh start into the day. Depending on the age of the children, the interconnecting deluxe rooms are the best option especially if the children are older, otherwise up to a certain age additional beds in the room or suites are possible. We are looking forward to welcome you again in the future at our hotel. Yours sincerely, Tim Weiland General Manager | The Alpina Gstaad
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Burando wrote a review Jul 2020
St. Petersburg, Russia24 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I would like to take this opportunity to thank The Alpina Hotel ( and my family) for an amazing Birthday I've had there!
It was our first time in Gstaad. My daughter and I decided to visit this place in the summer because of the innumerable hiking opportunities there.
We have been traveling quite a lot, staying over months sometimes in hotels all over the world. Alpina amazed us more than any others. My daughter is attending an international hotel and hospitality management school and she agrees that the Alpina Hotel is a prime example of a luxury 5-star hotel.

The friendliness of the staff, receptionists...you feel more like you’re coming back home than to a hotel.
The help of Concierges (we needed help with hiking suggestions, taxi, etc.) and the time they spent with us, explaining everything particular to our situation ( we have a small dog with us) helped us so much.
Our room was amazing. Hotel personnel knew we are coming with a dog and prepare a fantastic sleeping place for him and a very nice place to eat and have water. It was so cute!
We felt very much at home being taken care of with cutest handmade slippers, nice cashmere blankets, and plush pillows to sit on the balcony with a magnificent view of Alpine mountains.
The SPA is “ out of this world “!
We’ve spent almost every evening there, after long hikes. Facilities are countless, comfortable, and very convenient to use.
My massage therapist Aphanasia was a magical help. I would recommend her to everyone, to experience a perfect massage or choose from some fantastic treatments.
From the Restaurants, we’ve tried the Japanese one. It was very good.
Breakfast is delicious. Terrific cocktails in the bar and on the beautiful terrace.

It was my Birthday and the hotel made it so beautiful and unforgettable that I can’t thank them enough! I can’t wait to come back very soon.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Alpina Gstaad, Geschäftsführer at The Alpina Gstaad
Responded 29 Jul 2020
Dear Burando, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback further to your stay with us and sharing your heartfelt message with us. We are very delighted to read that for the first visit to Gstaad you have chosen our hotel. The Alpina Gstaad truly is a magical Alpine hideaway, where personalized comfort, discreet services, artistry and tradition live together harmoniously, and is for each guest a “home away from home”. It makes us very proud to hear from our guests that our hotel is a “prime example of a luxury 5-star hotel”. It is the goal of our ambitious, creative and attentive hosts in every department, to transmit you to “another world” and offer you unforgettable perfect moments at The Alpina Gstaad. We are pleased that we contributed to a memorable birthday. We hope to welcome you on another occasion to Gstaad. Yours Sincerely, Tim Weiland I General Manager The Alpina Gstaad
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nina49 wrote a review Apr 2022
Scotland, United Kingdom134 contributions96 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
One of the best hotels we've been to, check-in was smooth, rooms are gorgeous and spacious. The service is excellent, from the concierge to the housekeeping, to the kids club, the spa.

I liked that they placed little gifts on the bed every day, very thoughtful.

A few things that were very disappointing we’re, at breakfast, they never got my eggs right, I had to send my eggs back three times, to begin with, I asked for runny scrambled eggs and every time, they brought them hard on the 7th day I gave up asking and complaining, don’t understand why making runny eggs is sooo difficult.

Chirro was always very nice, kind and professional.

The bar menu is very limited if your staying for a long time in the hotel. Ordered a rare burger and it came in fully burned cooked, sent it back and second time it came back as medium not even medium rare. Very disappointed

Room service takes an hour, the menu is very limited for a hotel of this magnitude, hot chocolate took 35min.
Ordered at 5pm for 6:30pm room service, they arrived at 6:40pm, not acceptable. Rang for tray to be collected, took them 50min to come. We ordered medium rare cooked Salmon and they all came cooked well done. Not impressed at all

Laundry takes two days, don’t bother, for such a hotel, expected better.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don’t order room service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Alpina Gstaad, General Manager at The Alpina Gstaad
Responded 3 May 2022
Dear Nina49, We appreciate your feedback. We are pleased about your kind review regarding your recent stay at The Alpina Gstaad, and even more so to hear that we left such a positive impression. We do try to make sure all our guests have the best experience they can with us, and we consistently go that 'extra mile' to ensure you leave feeling refreshed and inspired. We regret to hear you were not completely satisfied with our dining services; please be assured that your comments have been noted and we will use them to address the issues you have mentioned. Additionally, we will also be reviewing our laundry services, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope to welcome you back again for another pleasant stay. Kind regards, Tim Weiland General Manager | The Alpina Gstaad
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Roman A wrote a review Jan 2021
Zug, Switzerland359 contributions46 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We were in this Hotel in first decade of Jan’21. On the first day of arrival we had a dinner in the Swiss Restaurant and have ordered typical food which was appropriate quality. The real surprise came with the bill! I’ve never checked my bills before but this time it was CHF451 for four people without vine. So, It drives me to check the numbers. I have found a five mistakes in the short bill with the CHF150 (50%) overcharges!!! With the 7 bottles of water instead of 3, bear and some food was counted in a more volume then we have ordered in reality. We were crossed with the waitress Mariaele when she tried to resist and behaved very rude. Neither Restaurant’s Manager no General Manager of the Hotel brought any meaningful explanations of this situation. Our stay in the Hotel was spoiled unfortunately. It is hard to expect from a such luxury place when you pay serious money for the stay and get robbed at the end. I really hope Hotel’s management should fix this asap.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Alpina Gstaad, Geschäftsführer at The Alpina Gstaad
Responded 23 Jan 2021
Dear Roman A., We had spoken personally after this incident. The bill is always presented for the guests to be able to check it. All items that you had marked were taken off the bill as per your requests. You ended up paying 3 starters and 3 main courses or 4 people at the table. Yours sincerely, Tim Weiland I General Manager The Alpina Gstaad
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ClovisSaad wrote a review Feb 2021
Saanenmoser, Switzerland33 contributions22 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently decided to try The Alpina for one night. We already go there often for drinks and dinner. as we have a holiday home in the region. We already knew the service was of high standard and very friendly and their excellent Megu restaurant, but even though were pleased surprised. Everywhere in the hotel staff is friendly and highly professional.
Our room was beautifully decorated, cozy, comfortable and functional. The mattress is a dream.
Breakfast served in the room was delicious, as we chose the chefs suggestion, a Japanese broth.
Dinner at the Megu was fantastic as usual, with high quality ingredients and attentive service. Do not miss the tuna tartar with avocado and cheese starter. Simply amazing.
The only problem is that the stay was too short. Will return!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Alpina Gstaad, Geschäftsführer at The Alpina Gstaad
Responded 25 Mar 2021
Dear Mr Saad, Thank you for this positive feedback. We are delighted to know that we were able to exceed your expectations and provide you with a memorable experience. More than a place to stay in Gstaad our environmentally conscious hotel, situated in the heart of nature uses local products and resources which are integrated seamlessly throughout the hotel into creating a modern interpretation of Alpine chic. Your kind remarks about the quality service you received will be passed on to all our hosts who contributed to making your time with us worthwhile. The recommendations you have made will inspire our Executive Chef to continue with his efforts to deliver an innovative and memorable dining experience to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you again toThe Alpina Gstaad soon for a hopefully longer visit. Best regards, Tim Weiland General Manager | The Alpina Gstaad
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alina A wrote a review Jan 2023
Geneva, Switzerland1 contribution1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
They could definitely do better for the price. The very fact the hotel paints your room 2 hours before check in and says there is nothing else available is unacceptable. I have been suffering severe allergic reaction, let alone no one reimbursed me for the hazard to my health.
Do NOT pay this much for such poor customer service

The lobby bar has the best food and staff though - come there for dinner but reserve in advance otherwise they will make you stand for 2 hours even though nobody is sitting at tables…
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Alpina Gstaad, Directeur général at The Alpina Gstaad
Responded 1 Feb 2023
Dear Alina, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am very sorry to read that your experience was not entirely satisfactory, and have contacted you directly. I understood following the various conversations that I had with you and your parents that you had enjoyed a good time while here with us in Gstaad. Although we were fully booked we did our best to change your room to accommodate your allergy and try to find various solutions. I hope that we will be able to continue with our conversation and find a mutually satisfying resolution. Best regards, Tim Weiland, General Manager | The Alpina Gstaad
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
J6708HHsb wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Modern high.tech hotel with all the amenities you would expecty from a five star luxury hotel. However don't come with super high expectations because despite the infrastructure and fiendly f&b service staff, the rest needs alot of improvement especially at check in and check out, breakfast quality and variety that is misisng as well as a very strange concierge desk staff that lack the human touch of luxury hospitality. Unless you are a rich Arab, you will feel a bit ripped-off as the prices for extras are insane.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Alpina Gstaad, Directeur général at The Alpina Gstaad
Responded 31 Aug 2022
Dear J6708HHsb, Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback. We are glad that you appreciated the facilities of our hotel. However, we owe it to ourselves to provide quality services to our guests as your satisfaction is one of our top priorities. We regret that your check-in and check-out service was not to your expectation and have taken note of your comments for our consideration. Furthermore, we are sorry to read that breakfast was not entirely to your personal taste and would welcome any suggestions for additions to our offerings next time you are here. We value your feedback which assists us in improving our services and your comments have been duly noted. We hope to welcome you back on a future occasion to The Alpina Gstaad. Kind regards, Tim Weiland, General Manager | The Alpina Gstaad
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen J wrote a review Mar 2020
Morges, Switzerland18 contributions25 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just returned from a magical stay in Gstaad (review of hotel we stayed at will be separate) and having heard a lot about the splendid Alpina hotel, we decided to try it out for a quick drink and to see whether we would prefer to stay at that hotel on our next visit. There is no question that the approach to the hotel and the reception area is quite spectacular. ‘I feel I am going to like it here....’. We go up the stairs to the lounge area where a pianist and singer are playing relaxed music just perfect for a Sunday lunch on the terrace. We only intended to stop for a quick drink but this progressed to lunch and another glass of wine as the weather and ambience were just perfect. People watching and mountain gazing are very much part of the appeal on the terrace: such interesting people to observe - especially if “new money” is the object of your interest and entertainment. Lunch was so so: Caesar salad for me and Brioche Burger for hubby. But unlike our wonderful hotel (the Bellevue), the service was impersonal, insincere and disinterested. It didn’t really affect our couple of hours there until on our departure: I wanted to ask the bar tender where the bathrooms were. I may as well have been invisible, despite 3 people being behind the bar. I am so surprised that with the investment hoteliers make in their establishments to make them truly spectacular and then let themselves down by not insisting on basic manners and courtesy in the foundation requirements of their staff.
For this reason I can only rate them as poor. It’s such a shame as the location, vista and ambience were really on the right track. It’s really unacceptable for people to think that just because their hotel is classed as one of the best in the region, the staff can afford to be so unpleasant.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Alpina Gstaad, Geschäftsführer at The Alpina Gstaad
Responded 3 Mar 2020
Dear KarenJ9, Thank you very much for taking the time and giving us your feedback further to your visit. First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel and that you’ve taken the opportunity to experience a beautiful Sunday at our hotel. At The Alpina Gstaad, we want to offer our guests a personal, discreet yet luxurious hideaway. This unique experience shall be supported by our attention to detail, be it our services, our facilities or even our interior. Therefore, staying (as well as working) at The Alpina Gstaad is not only about being at a classy hotel but about having good memories. Our first-class team strives to provide you with a high-quality yet personal service and to make your visit memorable. We are truly sorry that your visit hasn’t been pleasant as it is our honest wish to satisfy our guests. In this sense, we hope you will visit us another time and giving us the possibility to let you experience The Alpina Gstaad at its best. Magical, alpine, personal. Beyond. Yours Sincerely, Tim Weiland I General Manager The Alpina Gstaad
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The Nomad wrote a review 14 Jun
Houston, Texas204 contributions106 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is situated in the upscale village of Gstaad in the Swiss alps. We stayed here for a night in 2 junior suites. Family of 5. 2 adult kids and a 16 year old. This was in early june. Most of the other hotels in Gstaad were not open yet.

We booked the virtuoso rate which came with breakfast as well as a 400 euro food and beverage credit (200 per room). We were able to use that credit for a dinner at their over priced and lackluster sushi restaurant.(The sushi in the United States is way better). But I do appreciate the included free meal. The rooms were immaculate and well decorated in a mountain chic style. Breakfast was good but the hotel has a serious problem with flies. They were everywhere which you don't expect from a hotel of this caliber. There has to be something that can be done. We also enjoyed some snacks on the patio which were very yummy. The grounds of the hotel were also immaculate. The concierge was very helpful in getting us tickets to the glacier 3000 gondola. The entrance to the hotel is pretty spectacular and the hotel smelled really good. Overall an enjoyable experience. Gataad itself is magical.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LakeView10 wrote a review Sept 2021
Montreux/Blonay, Switzerland36 contributions56 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just enjoyed another summer stay at The Alpina in Gstaad and it remains outstanding ! The Director, Tim Weiland, and his team maintain their traditional top level of service; the rooms and facilities are as wonderful as ever with enjoyable relaxed dining on the Terrace. The gardens, spa and pool are all superb. We highly recommend this property … one of the best anywhere in the world and certainly the best in Switzerland.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: All rooms are great !
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Alpina Gstaad, Geschäftsführer at The Alpina Gstaad
Responded 16 Sept 2021
Dear Lakeview10, Many thanks for your review. It was a pleaure to welcome you back once again and to know that you had another pleasant and relaxing stay with us. We greatly appreciate your mention of our dedicated team who aim to provide nothing short of excellent service to all of our guests and are eager to assist at all times. We look forward to seeing you again next summer. Best wishes, Tim Weiland General Manager | The Alpina Gstaad
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amaliada, Greece4 contributions
Please note that the Hotel is closed on November there are vegeterian options
Answer from Tale1
Zurich, Switzerland42 contributions81 helpful votes
Sorry, were there in the summer and can‘t say! I am sure if you send a mail to the hotel, they are happy to inform.
Answer from TheAlpinaGstaad
Gstaad, Switzerland1 contribution
Hello, thank you for your question. It depends on what you are planning to do at the spa. Whether for day guests or hotel guests, we offer bath robes and slippers. If you plan to go swimming, you have to bring your own swimming costume. If you want to attend a group class or go to the gym, we suggest to bring gym clothes and shoes for exercise sessions with you. We hope to welcome you at our spa.
Answer from SohoJohn
Los Angeles, California56 contributions114 helpful votes
To have a car/driver take you check with the concierge but expect it to cost north of CHF 500 and take nearly two hours. Much cheaper to rent a car or take a train. Train is easy with change in Lausanne. Swiss Rail (SBB) website to see schedules and buy tickets.
AnelizeBeal asked a question Feb 2017
Trancoso, BA170 contributions56 helpful votes
are there ski lockers?
Answer from TheAlpinaGstaad
Gstaad, Switzerland1 contribution
Dear AnelizeBeal, Yes absolutely. We have a ski-room with heated and ventilated lockers for our hotel guests.Also, there is a in-house ski shop if you need to rent any gear. Hope to see you very soon in Gstaad
sandy86 wrote a tip Jun 2023
Herzliya, Israel340 contributions49 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Best hotel in Gstaad by far with best spa!"
Read full review
Nina49 wrote a tip Apr 2022
Scotland, United Kingdom134 contributions96 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t order room service"
Read full review
LakeView10 wrote a tip Sept 2021
Montreux/Blonay, Switzerland36 contributions56 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms are great !"
Read full review
vernon2088 wrote a tip Aug 2019
Bern, Switzerland11 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The hotel is situated in a very quiet part of the Gstaad village."
Read full review
MickD wrote a tip Aug 2019
Lausanne, Switzerland19 contributions31 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go for a junior suite"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Gstaad area.
PRICE RANGE
$2,141 - $2,330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of BernSaanenGstaad
NUMBER OF ROOMS
56
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE ALPINA GSTAAD - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Switzerland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Alpina Gstaad
Which popular attractions are close to The Alpina Gstaad?
Nearby attractions include Lake Lauenen - Geltenhütte SAC - Lauenensee (0.5 km), Pedestrianised Promenade and Shopping Mile (0.3 km), and Historical village of Saanen (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Alpina Gstaad?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Alpina Gstaad?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Alpina Gstaad?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Alpina Gstaad?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Alpina Gstaad?
Conveniently located restaurants include Posthotel Rössli Restaurants Stübli und Alti Post, La Bagatelle, and Mango Restaurant Gstaad.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Alpina Gstaad?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Alpina Gstaad have airport transportation?
Yes, The Alpina Gstaad offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Alpina Gstaad located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Gstaad.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Alpina Gstaad?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Alpina Gstaad?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
All Gstaad HotelsGstaad Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in GstaadHotels near The Alpina Gstaad
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire