We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Victoria

Traveller (452)
360
Panoramas (14)
Room & Suite (247)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The Hotel Royal Victoria is a four stars hotel facing the lake, situated in the historical centre of Varenna, a charming medieval village and one of the most appreciated tourist destinations of Como Lake. The recent renovations have preserved its XIX century aspect; the rooms offer all modern comforts while maintaining the atmosphere of a charming hotel. The bright and comfortable hall provide a refined and attractive atmosphere.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Room service
Bar/Lounge
Free Internet
Spa
Banquet Room
Business Centre with Internet Access
Concierge
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Public Wifi
Sauna
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Minibar
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Great View
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
80Somewhat walkable
Grade: 80 out of 100
26Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
9Attractionswithin 0.5 km
565Reviews
766Photos
20Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 303
  • 179
  • 58
  • 16
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We mistakenly booked the wrong month for four nights. When I contacted the hotel they informed that two of the four nights for the dates i needed were not available. You would think that they would accommodate a change five months in the future (September 2019). Luckily we found
Read more
Great breakfast, great location and breathtaking view of Lake Como. The rooms were clean and simple. The rooms were not luxurious, but the view made this hotel a great choice. Extremely small shower. Curtains to seal off the closet area. You can go to the front desk and ask
Read more
Response from StefaniaCorti-Royal, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria
Responded 5 days ago
Dear guests, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Royal Victoria! Our hotel is directly in front of the lake, just in the middle of the quiet village of Varenna, not so far from activities, restaurants and transportations. Every morning you can enjoy a continental buffet breakfast with a lot of variety for food and beverage starting in the best way your day for discovering the beautiful Lake Como. Our staff is always at your disposal for any need or suggestion with the mission to make your stay as perfect as we can! Hoping to see you again as our guest! The Management Hotel Royal Victoria - R Collection Hotels
Read more
We booked a suite for my 50th Birthday holiday. Room was very nice and clean. Unfortunately, when we booked to come here, we didn't realise that virtually everything in Lake Como is closed this time of year, including half the hotel... The reason we booked this hotel was
Read more
Response from StefaniaCorti-Royal, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, We are glad you liked the room and our hotel. We surely can understand your point of view and our staff saying 'it was on their website.' only tried to explain you that we don't want to lie to our guest telling wrong information, but we corrently inform the guests that the Royal Gourmet Restaurant is open Easter time / mid October. Lake Como has a great summer season, while winter is low season. We do our best offer possible, being open 11 month a year and in lower season only one of the two restaurants we have is open. We did all our best to make your stay the best possible. Best regards
Read more
The night before we left Varenna we enjoyed the best meal we ate in that town or in nearby Bellagio. We were seated in the outdoor terrace overlooking the lake. Our party of 5 could not be accommodated at one table and we agreed to sit at two tables. My trout was the freshest
Read more
Response from StefaniaCorti-Royal, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear guest, we are glad that you enjoy our restaurant with the lake view, the Royal Gourmet. Our restaurant staff is here to accomodate you and your requests. We wait for you to stay one night also in our hotel! The Management Hotel Royal Victoria - R Collection Hotels
Read more
We arrived in Varenna via the ferry from Bellagio. We decided to walk from the ferry dock to the hotel, followed the path along the lake (which offers beautiful views of Lake Como), past some shops and restaurants, and up a few flights of stairs. We were rewarded with a lovely
Read more
Response from StefaniaCorti-Royal, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear guests, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Royal Victoria. The location is directly in front of the lake, just in the middle of the quiet village of Varenna, not so far from activities, restaurants and transportations. All our staff is always at your disposal for any need or suggestion trying to make your stay unforgettable. During each stay we cuddle all our guests with little surprises and perfect service to make every stay unique. Hoping to see you again! The Management Hotel Royal Victoria - R Collection Hotels
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event RoomsFamily and Play Areas
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorRoyal Victoria
The Lake View Room at the Royal Victoria
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorRoyal Victoria
The Square View Room at the Royal Victoria
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorRoyal Victoria
The Lake View Room at the Royal Victoria
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorRoyal Victoria
The Junior Suite Manzoni at the Royal Victoria
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorRoyal Victoria
The Junior Suite Manzoni at the Royal Victoria
PreviousNext
12345649
I doubt it. We were there after the season closed in November but LOVED our time with almost no tourists to be seen. Breakfast in the dining room overlooking the ethereal mist lake was an event in itself. The ferries across the lake to other gorgeous towns will be running with a lesser timetable and we enjoyed those and walking around the lake front
0 votes
Show all answers
do they have lounge chairs to use or rent on their beach?
The beach did not but the pool is overlooking the lake and has chairs. There are also chairs on the restaurant terrace. The beach itself is not really where you would want to hang out, it's small, rocky and adjacent buildings kinda overhang it.
0 votes
Show all answers
Dear Christine, The hotel offer an outside laudry service that get clothes back in 24hour except weekends. In Varenna there are also two self service laundry. The hotel disposes of an iron room where guests can comfortable iron.
0 votes
Show all answers
Dear Guests, The pool is 1.40 m deep. There are some steps to go into. Always at your disposal Hotel Royal Victoria
0 votes
Show all answers
Hello Sorry for the delay in responding I have been away. We selected the Dinner Bed & Breakfast... from memory the only restriction was at dinner where, if we wanted to sit at the very best tables down on the terrace an addition charge was levied. As it was the tables on the balcontywere just as good.
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
1234
"Family room fro space.Lake room for a view"
"ask for a lake front room"
"Loved the Lucia Suite!"
"Request a lake view room."
"The lake view rooms are definitely worth the extra"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$194 - US$548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
royal victoria varennaroyal victoria hotel varenna
LOCATION
ItalyLombardyLake ComoVarenna
NUMBER OF ROOMS
43
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing