Domus Australia Roma
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Domus Australia Roma

Courtyard
Traveller (261)
Panorama at the Domus Australia
360
Panoramas (13)
Bathroom
Room & Suite (140)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#2 of 104 special inns in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Domus Australia is an authentic Italian 32 room Guest house established by the Australian Catholic Church. It is located in the centre of Rome within walking distance to the Spanish Steps, key shopping areas and Rome's major cultural attractions. The superbly restored historic building offers guests a calm and welcoming refuge from the busy tourist pace of Rome, making the Domus an ideal base for pilgrims, groups, families and solo travellers alike.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Street parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Vending machine
Rooftop bar
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Hair dryer
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Sofa bed
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Italian and 1 more

Location

Via Cernaia 14/B, 00185 Rome Italy
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Ciampino Airport
14.2 km
See all flights
Fiumicino Airport
23.3 km
See all flights
Castro Pretorio
6 minRome Metro
647Reviews18Q+A80Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 418
  • 168
  • 40
  • 12
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
BCtravels wrote a review May 2022
Gravesend, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a wonderful hotel in Rome. It is about 10 minutes walk from Termini or Republicca train/metro stations so very central.
It is a boutique pilgrim guesthouse and whilst we were in Rome to visit many churches and the Vatican, we probably didn’t qualify fully as pilgrims but we were welcomed enthusiastically by the charming and friendly staff. The guests were all ages and nationalities and mix of couples, families and solo travellers.
Our room on the first floor was a well sized double room with a huge bed. We had 2 double wardrobes so plenty of storage space. We had a safe and mini bar/fridge in the room, as well as iron/ironing board and hairdryer in the bathroom. The bathroom was plenty big also with a great shower plus free shampoo/shower gel and hand soap.
The breakfast was included and is very good with plenty of hot and cold options - it set us up for busy days of sightseeing!
There is a beautiful church that is part of the hotel and has daily mass there also.
I cannot recommend the hotel and it’s central location, spacious rooms and friendly staff highly enough. We will be returning!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BRPHILL wrote a review Dec 2021
Albany, New York
5.0 of 5 bubbles
When we go to Italy we always stay at the Crosti hotel overnight before we catch the express train to Naples, this time we got into Rome very early and the guy at the Crosti basically said get lost, your room isn't ready. About a block away we stopped into a church to listen to an ongoing service only to find that it was an Australian expat church and that it has a hotel attached. When we came back to Rome a few weeks later we cancelled at the Crosti and booked this place. Good choice. The hotel has nice superior rooms with a little more room than the standard room. Breakfast was very nice, a large assortment of foods, fruit meats & cheeses, as an American, avoid the coffee, it looks like what we have but have tea or order a cappuccino, you’ll thank me. They also offer a dinner menu, and they have a nightly special, ours was, 3 large lamb chops with roast potatoes and desert, along with a glass of wine all for 18 euros, you can see more on their Facebook page. They also have a very large lounge, and a rooftop patio. I think we have found our new Rome accommodations.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Domus Australia, Direttore generale at Domus Australia Roma
Responded 24 Dec 2021
Dear Guest, we're very happy that you enjoyed our quality and we look forward to welcoming you again at anytime!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
masha_maria3 wrote a review Mar 2020
Boston, Massachusetts
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very clean rooms and property, quiet and peaceful oasis close to anything you would want in Rome!
This was the first stop of our honeymoon and our favorite hotel out of 3 in Italy. I would absolutely come back and recommend almost anyone to stay here - solo, couples, families. Not a good environment for party people but I'm sure there are other options for anyone looking for that.

This hotel used to be a monastery and still has a very peaceful and calm feel to it. Out room overlooked a gorgeous courtyard. Such a perfect environment after a day of walking around busy Rome!
We walked to Vatican City, Colosseum and all around town from this hotel.

All of the staff was welcoming and kind, spoke good English as well.
Breakfast had good variety - not only baked goods but real food like scrambled eggs, several sausages, bacon, cold cuts, fresh fruit, yogurts and different coffees and juices.
I am gluten sensitive, and found plenty of options for myself to eat!

5min walk to the train station, no problem even with 2 suitcases.
Thanks for a great stay!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Domus Australia, Direttore generale at Domus Australia Roma
Responded 8 Oct 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review. We are really happy for your kind words. We hope to have you here again in the next future. Kind Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hello wrote a review Apr 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I think you should definitely consider this hotel. Lots of lovely sights are located within walking distance from the hotel, such as fountain Trevi.

The staff clearly work hard and are very polite and helpful. If you need information on train stations, or how to walk to the places near the hotel, they will give you maps and write directions.

Unlike the other Italian hotels I visited during my stay, they provide breakfast and dinner services. The rooms are clean and the hotel has a beautiful area near the dining room where you can eat outside. The food tastes fresh and I enjoyed it. Also, near the hotel there are lots of great restaurants.

If you are looking for a hotel in Rome, I think you should go for this one!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Domus Australia, Direttore generale at Domus Australia Roma
Responded 10 Jun 2022
Dear Hello, Thank you so much for your 5 star review and for recommending Domus Australia to other visitors to Rome. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Timothy M wrote a review Feb 2020
San Francisco, California
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The location of this hotel is great, near train station but in a quieter area. Room was very large as was the bathroom. Decor throughout was very modern. Room was spotlessly clean. The agents at the front desk were always friendly, cheerful and helpful. The breakfast buffet had a wide variety of items, both hot and cold. The only negative thing I found was that the hallways were tiled floors and could be a bit noisy when people walked in the halls. But I would definitely stay at this hotel again when in a Rome.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from domus australia boutique guest house, Direttore generale at Domus Australia Roma
Responded 26 Feb 2020
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review about Domus Australia. We all remain at your complete disposal anytime. With Kind Regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jodragon wrote a review Sept 2023
Surfers Paradise, Australia
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here 3 nights. The premises is a modernised monestary. Our room was large with a small sitting room with a TV, bar fridge. The bedroom and bathroom were quite large and comfortable. There were 2 x king size singles joined together . The room had 2 small ac units that were adequate but would struggle if the os temp reached above 30C. The shower head was very large as was the walking shower. The breakfast was sufficient. The premises is about a 10 min walk from the main train station in a quite part of the city centre. The rooftop bar was closed, which was very disappointing as no reason was given. The customer service manager was ok the duty manager was rude, did not initiate any eye contact, or acknowledge our question why the bar was inaccessible and needs a course in courtesy .
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Domus Australia, Direttore generale at Domus Australia Roma
Responded 19 Nov 2023
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your experience at Domus Australia. We're pleased you enjoyed the spacious and comfortable room and bathroom. We apologise that the rooftop terrace was inaccessible during your stay, as we were in the process of installing a retractable roof. For the safety of our guests, its use was temporarily restricted. We are delighted to advise that we have now reopened this facility. Your feedback on the customer service is also valuable, and we have taken steps to ensure all our guests receive the 5-star service we always strive for.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amy P wrote a review Aug 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Let me start by saying our stay was not without issue. We had a surprise broken bed, which wasn’t able to be fixed the same night, but we were provided an alternate room, and it was fixed by the next day. Was a little scary when it broke and inconvenient, but it all worked out.
We had bought some wine in our Tuscan travels and wanted to enjoy it with friends. We were welcomed to the rooftop, invited to enjoy our own beverages we provided, and given glasses and assistance with opening the bottle. The bartender went out of his way to be so friendly and welcoming and we ended up visiting every night of our stay before our dinner plans. And, even enjoyed the area on our last night, even after the bartender was off duty. All staff was so helpful at breakfast and at the front desk.
This was the first hotel we stayed in where the AC actually worked and worked well, for all rooms. The rooms were bigger than expected, extra pillows were already in the closet, and the sinks were deep enough to fill a water bottle. Showers were great. Blow dryer was awful because it was impossible to use it to style the hair, and it got hot to hold.
The only other thing I would say is that the hotel was a little out of the way. Took about 10-15 min to walk to Termini train station or subway. Normally that’s short but in the record July heat that wasn’t ideal.
I would definitely recommend staying here for the price, staff, and comfort. We will miss that rooftop!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen N wrote a review Nov 2023
Chatham, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel was definitely not a 4 *,we were left without hot water and reception was not at all helpful
and didn't even inform us after a long day we found this unacceptable it never come on till following day.
We booked a trip with the cost us 92Euros when I fact if we went to the Attraction it would of cost us 34 euros but again we we questioned it again unhelpful.Breakfast was very poor and evening meals and drinks were over priced so stock up from the local shop.
The hotel is a good walk to any attractions.Lovely restaurants short distances from hotel which were reasonably priced and excellent quality
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Compass61341 wrote a review Oct 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very friendly hotel from the moment we arrived to when we left. Comfortable and clean. We loved the courtyard and the breakfast. I am gluten free and the staff always made sure there was gluten free items every morning for breakfast. We would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Gluten free available for breakfast WiFi was free
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
aussie1Sydney wrote a review Aug 2023
Sydney, Australia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for 5 nights and loved the place. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was quite large. We found the staff to be very welcoming.Laura and Lawrence on the desk were very helpful while Svitlana in the dining room was always smiling and did a great job making sure the food was replenished.
The Chapel is beautiful and the location is close to everything.
It was disappointing that they are doing maintenance at the top so there is no self service laundry or roof top bar available at the moment.
Yes the room can be hot even with the air con going which is strange when the foyer is so cold.
Overall, I would definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Domus Australia, Direttore generale at Domus Australia Roma
Responded 7 Sept 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking to time to review Domus Australia. We are delight to read that you found our rooms large and comfortable and our staff welcoming and friendly. We are apologise that your visit coincided with the renovations of our roof top terrace. We look forward to having you stay with us again when you next visit Rome. We are sure you will love to improvements to our outdoor areas. Kind regards, Domus Australia
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Burnie48 asked a question Dec 2019
Phoenix, Arizona47 contributions15 helpful votes
Is shuttle service from airport available? Is there a fee for registered guests?
Dear Burnie48 Thank you for your kind request. We are pleased to inform you about the transfer from Rome FCO, LEONADRO DA VINCI or CIAMPINO air-ports to our Hotel. The fee is Euro 55,00 up to 3 people, including luggage, should be paid directly to the driver in cash o by credit card. Your private driver will wait for you inside the airport at the exit after the baggage claim. if you want to book the service, please send us the above information of your arrival to our email address. DATE OF ARRIVAL: FULL NAME: PASSENGERS N°: AIRLINE COMPANY: FLIGHT N°: AIRPORT ARRIVAL: ARRIVAL TIME: waiting for your answer Kind regards
AnnBE99 asked a question Sept 2019
Brussels, Belgium29 contributions5 helpful votes
What is the cost of dry cleaning services offered at the hotel please? Thanks.
Answer from Diane P
Warwickshire, United Kingdom15 contributions49 helpful votes
No idea sorry
Answer from
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Dear Guest. The Bus hop on and off is nearby the Termini Train Station, just 8 minutes walking distance from Domus Australia. If you want we will have the tickets here in hotel. Kind Regards Domus Australia Management.
Answer from
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Dear Guests Check in time is 2pm. If the room is ready immediately at your arrival, of course we will give immediately the key. In any case you could leave the luggage here, have a coffee and we will do our best possible to clean and let you enter in the room as soon as possible. Kind regards Gianluca rafanelli general manager
Answer from
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Dear Guest. Our Reception is opened every day from 06.30am to 01.30am (night time). Thank you very much. Kind Regards G.Rafanelli General manager
Una F wrote a tip Oct 2023
Edinburgh, United Kingdom12 contributions8 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try and get a room facing into the courtyard. "
Read full review
DENNIS A wrote a tip Jul 2023
South Carolina17 contributions24 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Air conditioning barely works at this hotel"
Read full review
Jan F wrote a tip Apr 2023
Upminster, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Eady to walk to from the Termini station "
Read full review
Compass61341 wrote a tip Oct 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Gluten free available for breakfast WiFi was free"
Read full review
Tommi K wrote a tip Apr 2022
Pasturago, Italy27 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Best mojitos in the town opposite of the front door. Worth to visit at Punto41"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Rome area.
PRICE RANGE
$218 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ItalyLazioRomeTermini / Centro / Esquilino
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DOMUS AUSTRALIA ROMA - Specialty Inn Reviews & Price Comparison (Rome, Italy) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Domus Australia Roma
Which popular attractions are close to Domus Australia Roma?
Nearby attractions include Basilica di Santa Maria degli Angeli e dei Martiri (0.5 km), National Roman Museum - The Baths of Diocletian (0.4 km), and DECUS ITALIA (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Domus Australia Roma?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Domus Australia Roma?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Domus Australia Roma?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Domus Australia Roma?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Domus Australia Roma?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gelateria Azzaro, Pizzeria Italia dal 1987, and Pizzium - Roma via Piave.
Are any cleaning services offered at Domus Australia Roma?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Domus Australia Roma?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Domus Australia Roma offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Domus Australia Roma?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Italian, and Romanian.
All Rome HotelsRome Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in RomeHotels near Domus Australia Roma
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire