Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese Hotel

Traveller (1065)
View from the roof
Room & Suite (392)
La Terrasse Cuisine & Lounge at the Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Dining (177)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Get rewarded with One Key
$1,715
$1,636
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#109 of 1,230 hotels in Rome
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
On 1st July 2019, luxury hotel Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese reopened its doors following extensive renovations and a complete re-design by French contemporary architect and interior designer, Jean-Philippe Nuel. Located in the heart of Rome, minutes away from the city’s finest attractions and landmarks, Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese evokes the feel of a traditional Roman home with a laid-back atmosphere and a sense of being truly immersed in the Italian capital. Architecture & Design Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese is situated in a former 19th century Roman palazzo and its original features stood as a prominent stimulant for Nuel’s vision. The landscape gardens of the adjacent Villa Borghese further inspired the new look of nature-based colours, prints and furnishings. The overall design of the hotel is a fusion of ‘La Dolce Vita’ Italian heritage with contemporary French ‘Art de Vivre’, creating a dialogue between the elegance of French classicism and the opulence of Italian baroque, but also between city and nature, heritage and modernity. This is showcased through crisp, pastel colours and Italian heritage art. The downstairs public spaces revolve around statement pieces such as the marble mosaic floor contrasting with the building's original chequered tiles. Rooms & Suites The hotel features a total of 78 rooms and suites and each have exquisite interiors and detailing throughout; Baroque-inspired ceiling art that creates the illusion of a blue sky above, a signature Sofitel MyBed* bed, and a marble bathroom complete with Hermès toiletries. The hotel offers a wide range of accommodation categories, from superior One-bedroom, to the 538 square-feed Prestige King-bedroom Suites. The seven Prestige Suites, some with private terraces, all come with luxurious amenities – leather key cardholders, a choice of room fragrance, indulgent bath rituals, and monogrammed pillowcases. All 78 rooms and suites have access to 24-hour room service. Restaurant & Bar The crown jewel of the hotel, situated on the seventh floor, is the restaurant and bar, ‘Settimo’. One of the highest rooftop restaurants in the city, Settimo is an elegant botanical escape that offers panoramic views of the Villa Borghese gardens, The Vatican City and St. Peter’s Basilica. It displays bold interiors and seats up to 50 guests indoors and 15 on the terrace. Cocktail enthusiasts at Settimo can enjoy sundowners with a view, with one of Settimo’s signature drinks, which comes with specially paired finger food. Settimo serves contemporary Roman dishes using locally sourced ingredients, such as the Supplì alla Romana, Cacio e Pepe and Rigatoni Amatriciana. The Executive Chef, Giuseppe D’Alessio, incorporates traditional Roman culinary styles with his signature flair across the menu. After his studies at the Institute Hotelier and wide experience in various parts of Italy, D’Alessio refined his culinary skills across Europe, working in the restaurants of luxury hotels in England, France and Germany – two of which have received Michelin Stars. D’Alessio arrived in Rome in 2004, for a prestigious position at the famous restaurant, La Terrazza dell’Eden, where he worked alongside the Executive Chef. Meetings and Events The hotel has three meetings rooms, which can host up to a maximum capacity of 40 people, or a maximum banquet capacity of 20 people. The meeting rooms and welcoming lounge can be adapted for events, banquets, cocktail evenings or even private receptions. The hotel’s Meeting concierge are on hand to guide an option of activities and visits, as well as suggesting tailor-made menus, from wine tasting to French patisserie. The hotel is also a popular business centre in the heart of room with boutique secretarial services. Fitness and Wellness The hotel offers guests a fitness centre, which is equipped with a Techno-gym and Sofitel Fit wellness programmes. Location Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese is ideally located in the heart of Rome, by the gates of the Villa Borghese gardens and just minutes away from landmarks such as The Spanish Steps, the Trevi Fountain and Villa Medici, making it a perfect choice for those looking to be truly immersed in the Eternal City. The hotel is also only 32km away from Leonardo da Vinci International Airport, allowing guests to travel with great ease.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Children's television networks
Airport transportation
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Yoga room
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Rooftop bar
Bicycle tours
Walking tours
Nightclub / DJ
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Butler service
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bidet
Bathrobes
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Electric kettle
Radio
iPod docking station
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Accor Hotels.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Green
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 4 more

Location

Via Lombardia 47, 00187 Rome Italy
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Ciampino Airport
14.9 km
See all flights
Fiumicino Airport
22.4 km
See all flights
Spagna
5 minRome Metro
2,723Reviews53Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,773
  • 655
  • 196
  • 64
  • 36
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
doc718 wrote a review Sept 2022
San Francisco, California43 contributions54 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Wonderful hotel in a great location just a 15 min walk to the Spanish steps, perhaps 20-25 min to the Fontana de Trevi, and just a few minutes’ walk to the gates of the Villa Borghese park. One thing we appreciated is that the immediate vicinity is not heavily commercial, so it was a quiet and private-feeling location in a city that doesn't sleep. Note that it's a short uphill walk when returning home from most places. Location was easy to get to by taxi if you’re tired of walking or are short on time; all rides originating from within various parts of the city were less than 9 Euro for us.

Room was spacious and nicely appointed, with both modern and classical touches. Large King bed was comfortable; modern bathroom had a spacious shower and beautiful white marble all around; controls for lights and climate were intuitive and modern. The Illy espresso machine was a nice touch and put to good use. Hotel staff were all friendly and helpful, although we didn’t have to rely on them too much aside from check in and departure. Housecleaning service did a wonderful job daily, but for some reason we only had turn-down service one evening and not the other three.

Sofitel Villa Borghese was a wonderful place to stay for our 4 nights in Rome. Would recommend it to anyone seeking a nice and quiet but central location, a solid dose of luxury, and friendly and helpful staff. Would stay here again without hesitation.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Edoardo Giuntoli, Direttore generale at Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese Hotel
Responded 30 Sept 2022
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to post this beautiful review after your experience in our Hotel! It is a great pleasure to receive all these nice compliments regarding the Hotel, the style, the room amenities and the comfortable bed. What make us also very proud are the nice words towards the team members. Thank you to highlight their friendliness and professionalism, you made their day! We try and provide an excellent service to all of our guests and I thank you for pointing this out in your lines above. We then look forward to welcoming you back to our centrally located hotel. Arrivederci! Best regard Edoardo Giuntoli General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Smartypants26 wrote a review Sept 2021
New Jersey97 contributions26 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is more like 4.5 stars but due to the concierge staff they deserve 5. I was not prepared for how shady the cabs are out there. I got tricked by one and the hotel staff was very helpful. All the cabs that the hotel call are legit but taking one there pay attention to the meter ect. Now on to the hotel

Positives
*very professional & friendly staff
*beautiful & updated hotel
* located near Spanish steps
*felt very safe in this location

Negatives
*they upcharged us 120 euros per night to use the couch as pull out bed after I prepaid for the room. Absurd. Never in all my European travels has this happened. They did try to work with us.
* cleanliness was lacking a bit. A few times someone else’s hair was found in bathroom. Some spots not cleaned in shower. Stain on couch & pillow case. One day our room wasn’t cleaned as they claimed we put do not disturb on.

Regardless of this.. we would still choose this hotel again. Just be mindful if you travel with a child or teenager & need a 2nd bed.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: They upchardge to use pull out couch as a bed.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Want to travel, must work wrote a review Oct 2020
London, United Kingdom127 contributions33 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a great hotel. A total find. Location is 5 mins from The Spanish Steps and it's 25 mins to walk to the Colosseum via the steps and Trevi Fountain. The hotel is immaculate with a fabulous roof terrace and restaurant. What a view at breakfast. Highly recommend
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Edoardo Giuntoli, Direttore generale at Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese Hotel
Responded 8 Oct 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing the Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese on your visit to Rome. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We thank you for the positive review of our hotel. I am most thankful to you for your kind words which are a true encouragement for the whole team. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Rome and thank you for recommend our property! Sincerely, Edoardo Giuntoli General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kitty01382015 wrote a review Jun 2022
Toulouse, France11 contributions5 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
First impressions from the door man to the reception staff were friendly, and the process of checking in was quick and easy. The room was bright comfortable and modern, however there was a lack of information to access WIFI ( you need a code from reception ). The bathroom (ultra modern but not practicable) was tight for space. Larger people might have a problem using the facilities i.e. the toilet.
Our experience of eating dinner in the restaurant Monday 13th June was very disappointing we ordered our 3 course meal at 7- 30pm but received our first course at 9 -11 pm, I noticed at least 3 different tables had been served in this time, they had all arrived after us . The second course ( chicken ) was dry and most likely had been sitting for sometime. After dessert we declined coffee as I told the waitress, we had a plane to catch on Wednesday. We left the restaurant at 10.59pm.
My star rating reflects the restaurant service.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Noise of people moving around on floor above, get a room on floor 6.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Edoardo Giuntoli, Direttore generale at Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese Hotel
Responded 30 Jul 2022
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese. We thank you for the nice words you had about the room and the friendliness of our team members. At the same time, we are sorry to read that your low score and stay was affected by a not so pleasant experience you had at our Settimo restaurant. We apologize for that and we ask you please to accept, on behalf of the entire team of the restaurant, our deepest apologies . We will investigate on what happened and we will take the appropriate measures to prevent this kind of situation to occur in the future. We thank you again for your feedback and hope to regain your trust for a future stay in Rome! Best regards Edoardo Giuntoli General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Traveler03206223020 wrote a review Mar 2023
Brooklyn, New York3 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese Hotel is entitle to at least 3 of its stars. It has been recently renovated and things are sparling new and squeaky clean and well appointed. All of the finishes were high end. There were a few quirky things. There were adequate electrical outlets for recharging devices [we carry many] but they were awkwardly placed so no matter how I did it I had wires hanging off the table or chair that I placed them on. The first visit to the high-end marble shower left me in a bit of a panic when I realized that I could not figure out how to turn on the water but with some trial and error I was able to get that resolved. Then we moved on to the Illy coffee and tea contraption. From all appearances, it has never been used and I am sure that is because no guests could figure out how it worked. The entire coffee cabinet was sleek and fully set up with cups and flatware of various sizes. There is no need to bother with this coffee gadget and risk burning down the hotel when there is a complete restaurant just a few floors above
On our recent stay there appeared to be very few guest although the included breakfast seemed well attended. The lobby and front desk staff seemed pretty disinterested. On our first evening a request for a restaurant recommendation was greeted with a few circles on a tourist map. The front desk staff did not wear name tags as if they did not want to be identified. Our booking had a notation for a complimentary bottle of wine upon our arrival. We joked each time that we returned to the that it might be there but alas, no wine ever arrived. Candidly I have had better personal service at a Marriott Courtyard.
I think that the location of the hotel is great if you are in Rome for business and want a quite evening. if you are in Rome as a tourist I would look for something in a more lively area.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The location is peaceful and outside of the touristic hub-bub
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Edoardo Giuntoli, Direttore generale at Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese Hotel
Responded 1 Apr 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback and taking time to post your comments. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. I am sorry to hear that the room facilities were not to your full satisfaction. All our team is trained to explain the proper use of all room facilities, so kindly allow me to apologize with you if we were not helpful in explaining you how to properly use the coffee machine. After the deep renovation the Hotel underwent in 2019 we equipped all the room with the latest technologies hoping to meet Guests’ expectations in terms of modernity and efficiency. Moreover, I would like to apologize if you had the impression that the team at the Front Desk were disinterested. Our daily main concern is to look after our guests offering them our undivided attention, for this I’m sorry we haven’t reached our aim. I remain at your entire disposal if you wish to discuss these matter in further details. So, please do not hesitate to contact me directly on 0039 06 47 802 2947 or h1312-gr1@sofitel.com. Sincerely, Maria Teresa Sosto Quality & Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NewYorkNYC10003 wrote a review Jun 2022
Miami Beach, Florida91 contributions54 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Let’s start with the good things. Great location, wonderful roof terrace. Beautiful views over the gardens. Quick access to Via Condotti and Via Fratina. We had a suite, which has a nice feel to it with the bedroom separate and one and a half bathrooms. Expensive at more than $1,000 per night but it was the first vacation in over two years, so ok.
Here is where the hotel falls down.
The design in the rooms particular the bathrooms has some serious flaws. For example, the sinks are too narrow. Looks great but not functional. The shower door is constantly in the way. Worse, the bathroom door is a double door and when it is open blooms access to one side of the bed. Our suite only had one closet which had only two drawers and very limited hanging space. These fleas knock it down from a five star to a four star. Where the hotel really falls down is on service. The housekeeper kept on ignoring the do not disturb sign. Worse, on the morning of departure they were unable to bring us a simple coffee for over 30min despite having ordered it the night before. Made for a very stressful and rushed departure and really soured us on the stay. The lackluster attitude of the staff really knocked it down another notch. What saved them of not going down even further is simply the view from our room which was over the gardens.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Edoardo Giuntoli, Direttore generale at Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese Hotel
Responded 7 Jun 2022
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback after your recent visit at the Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese and we regret to read that your stay with us was not living up to your expectations. We will use your criticism to improve ourselves where needed. We apologize for any inconvenience or disappointment caused and we truly hope that you will provide us with a second chance in order to prove ourselves a better host. With kind regards, Edoardo Giuntoli, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Quality Seekers Helsinki wrote a review Jul 2023
Helsinki, Finland33 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese – a sophisticated five star experience in Rome

This recently renovated hotel has everything you need for a wonderful city break. Although a quite small hotel it has all necessary services and with good quality. Nice, very personal atmosphere.

We stayed three nights in April in a Luxury room with balcony. As newly renovated the room was really great and functioning: nice décor, comfy bed, lots of wardrobe space and beautiful and spacious bathroom. Housekeeping worked really well twice a day and everything was spotless.

Top floor restaurant Settimo is exquisite in every way: great atmosphere with the view, delicious lunch and dinner menu, wide selection of quality beverages and cocktails and attentive personal service. Also the superb breakfast is served there with a huge selection of almost everything. Coffee, juice and breakfast entrées are served to your table.

Only one minor problem with the otherwise scenic location of the hotel is the lack of taxis in Rome – much to walk uphill during our stay. Great exercise but time consuming and sometimes a bit sweaty. If You need a taxi we recommend You to ask the reception/porter to order one, we did not get any thru any app.

Never the less a great place to stay in central Rome! We definitely do want to come back! Thank You!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elodie Lacroix, Direttore generale at Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese Hotel
Responded 14 Jul 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for this complimenting feedback. I am most pleased to hear that you have had an amazing experience at Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese. Thank you for your words of praise regarding the service provided by our Housekeeping team, they pay special attention into details: everything is important when you are away from home. The Executive Chef as well felt really proud when hearing that you have had such an enjoyable experience at our restaurant Settimo Roman Cuisine & Terrace as he uses only the freshiest products on the market. Once again thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Elodie Lacroix General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Victoria T wrote a review Oct 2021
United Kingdom7 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely location but rooms are very small (as are most city hotels). Not really anywhere to just sit and have a drink except the upstairs bar and restaurant. This has a lovely terrace and view but a little chilly for an October evening. Although we were staying 5 nights we were told we had to sit outside one evening due to a large booking in the restaurant. The people for this booking only materialised an hour later. Not impressive and a bit snooty we thought. Very slow service that evening as well. Also rooms are in need of a few more shelves and hooks - too much attention to style rather than practicality e.g. there were hardly any drawers in our room for clothes, just hanging space. Final point to note is that although the location is excellent, the rush hour traffic is noisy and starts quite early in the morning!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: October 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Edoardo Giuntoli, Direttore generale at Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese Hotel
Responded 10 Nov 2021
Dear Guest, we thank you for taking the share your feedback on Tripadvisor community. We regret to read that you found the Hotel not enough comfortable for a family stay and that you experienced the lack of space in the room. Our Hotel is an historical "Palazzo" and we can understand that in some rooms the closet space is smaller and can seem not enough for a family travelling and being on holidays. We hope to have the opportunity to better serve in you in the future also to offer you a better experience on our rooftop Restaurant. Best regards Edoardo Giuntoli General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Emilio120 wrote a review Sept 2021
Simmerath, Germany41 contributions30 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel seems to be renovated recently. It is very beautiful and the attention to detail is (as to be expected from Sofitel) really impressive. The luxury room is not large but therefore very comfortable, beautifully decorated, and equipped with the worlds best hotelbeds (Sofitel's hallmark).
The restaurant on the 7th floor with terrace and view of the Vatican has a Michelin star.
The location of the hotel a 15 minute walk from Trevi and many restaurants and cafes in the area is excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Luxury room
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Edoardo Giuntoli, Direttore generale at Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese Hotel
Responded 25 Sept 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to share with the Tripadvisor Community your opinion about the Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese and for writing such a positive review following your stay. We are delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property, the different amenities we offer the atmosphere that we have implemented in the hotel as well as the top floor bar with expansive views of Rome and its historic monuments. But mostly I'm very glad to hear that you enjoyed the warmness of our service. Looking forward to welcoming you soon for another memorable experience Best regards, Edoardo Giuntoli General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LisaMarieSimpson wrote a review Feb 2020
Paris, France74 contributions72 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A chic hotel, but not quite my style, which I would like to say upfront is the reason for the four stars. The hotel itself is lovely, the rooms are very minimalist and modern. Unfortunately my thermostat wasn't working and the shower had a very bad sulfur smell coming from it. I brought this to the staff's attention but didn't make a big fuss because I was only with them one night, but I would think that the housekeeping would note the smell before I did - it was honestly very offputting and I didn't shower in there. Disappointing for a luxury hotel.

Otherwise, the front desk and concierge staff were wonderfully warm and welcoming, and dinner at the restaurant was inventive and interesting with a very hands-on staff. If you are a fan of Sofitel, you won't go wrong with this beautiful location and their very chic mood.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sofitel_Rome, General Manager at Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese Hotel
Responded 21 Feb 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you were impressed by the professionalism and friendliness of our staff. Please rest assured I will share your nice words with them since such feedback helps staff in motivation and recognition. Nevertheless, we have taken into account your observation regarding the thermostat and the smell coming from the shower. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. Please know that the remark has been passed on to the technical service in order to provide our hosts with a warmer welcome and to avoid future occurrence. Again, thank you for sharing you experience and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a future stay in Roma. Sincerely, Edoardo Giuntoli General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
WestCoast787 asked a question Jan 2020
Seattle, Washington80 contributions51 helpful votes
Do they have King size beds?
Answer from G974
Monterosi, Italy234 contributions181 helpful votes
Yes, they have the MyBed which is amazing. It seems to sleep on a cloud ! Truly recommended.
Rodney D asked a question Dec 2019
Virginia Beach, Virginia88 contributions68 helpful votes
Does your hotel have a fitness center or gym. Can you tell me about it or send me some pictures
Answer from Jan
1 contribution
There is a small fitness room on-site.
Answer from Claudia G
Rome, Italy21 contributions7 helpful votes
Hey, the hotel has reopened the 1st of July! I know its too late but maybe it'll help someone else :)
Answer from Yolande Parry
England, United Kingdom77 contributions40 helpful votes
Hello, you don't need to be a guess in the hotel to access the Rooftop Bar but I would suggest you to check at the reception if there is place available. The view is fantastic and the cocktails are great so it might be busy.
Emma G wrote a tip 13 May
Seattle, Washington59 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book breakfast!"
Read full review
Cheryl K wrote a tip Apr 2024
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Several of the very good restaurants require reservations. Sofitel was very helpful in making suggestions and then making the reservations"
Read full review
MMWIS wrote a tip Nov 2023
Mequon, WI65 contributions29 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Join the loyalty program. Staff is multilingual. "
Read full review
karenap wrote a tip Oct 2023
Newcastle, Australia71 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The view from the terrace restaurant at sunset is exquisite!"
Read full review
Julie Neuberger wrote a tip Sept 2023
Salt Lake City, Utah2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"They are pickpockets!! Be careful!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Rome area.
PRICE RANGE
$977 - $1,560 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sofitel roma villa borghese hotel rome, sofitel hotel rome, sofitel hotel roma, sofitel rome, rome sofitel
LOCATION
ItalyLazioRomeLudovisi / Via Veneto / Termini / Centro / Ludovisi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
78
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SOFITEL ROMA VILLA BORGHESE HOTEL - Reviews & Price Comparison (Rome, Italy) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Spanish Steps (0.4 km), I Virtuosi dell'opera di Roma (0.4 km), and Piazza di Spagna (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include I Goliardi Roma, Ristorante Crispi 19, and Ristorante Il Piccolo Mondo.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and a yoga room during their stay.
Does Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Portuguese.
All Rome HotelsRome Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in RomeHotels near Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire