voco Madrid - Retiro, an IHG Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

voco Madrid - Retiro, an IHG Hotel

Traveller (896)
Vista camera piano 8
Room & Suite (451)
Ayre Gran Hotel Colon
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#194 of 471 hotels in Madrid
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Welcome to the voco Madrid Retiro, a completely refurbished hotel that stands out for its uniqueness! Our privileged location just a stone's throw from the beautiful Retiro Park makes it the ideal destination for early morning sports enthusiasts or those looking for a breath of fresh air to get their day off to a good start. Direct access to the metro means you can explore the wonders of Madrid! The hotel hosts an impressive collection of works of art by Manuel Ortega for you to discover, a testimony to Spain's rich cultural heritage. Our rooms and suites combine contemporary design with cosy comfort, creating a warm, colourful environment. If you are passionate about Spanish cuisine, our Bar Lounge delights you from morning till night with its homemade tapas and exquisite cocktails, a culinary journey into the heart of local gastronomy.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Car park
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards

Location

C. del Pez Volador 11, 28007 Madrid Spain
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 73 out of 100
73
Barajas Airport
12.3 km
See all flights
Sainz de Baranda
3 minMadrid Metro
Estrella
7 minMadrid Metro
3,018Reviews61Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,019
  • 1,374
  • 441
  • 110
  • 74
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
marecareee1989 wrote a review Mar 2024
Belgrade, Serbia86 contributions6 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great hotel, perfect location, polite and helpfull staff, very quiet neighborhood. I recommend to everyone who wants a good hotel in Madrid. Everything you want is close by, taxi is not expensive, metro station next to it. Retiro park is amazing.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Richard S wrote a review Feb 2020
Northwood, United Kingdom7 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Within a budget of 70 euros a night, this has to be one of the best hotels on offer in Madrid. Outstanding points were proximity to the metro (just 2 minutes walk to Sainz de Baranda), and to the airport (just 10 minutes walk from the airport bus stop on Calle O'Donnell), the gym open 7-23:00, the friendly staff (who were readily able to assign me a room on a near top floor), and the buffet breakfast to suit almost all tastes. I challenged Sergio at the show corner to cook an egg white omelette filled with tuna and salad, which was no problem! The bedroom and bathroom were spacious and modern. The only drawback was that under scrutiny a lot of minor patching up was needed, but this did not bother me. I hope to stay again and fully recommend it.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from PalomaBCM, Social Media at voco Madrid - Retiro, an IHG Hotel
Responded 23 Feb 2020
Dear Richard S We thank you for the confindence placed in Ayre Gran Hotel Colón to stay during your visit to the city and that you have taken the trouble to leave us your assessment about our Ayre Gran Hotel Colón and comments on your stay. In addition to kind words, it encourages us to continue trying to improve day by day, to ensure that all our customers enjoy an experience as satisfying as yours. As you comment the hotel has a privileged location in a quiet area of the Center, five minutes walk from the Retiro Park, and very well connected by public transport, two taxi stops and own garage. And above all we are glad that the staff has given you the good treatment that you and all our guests deserve. We hope to count again on your presence in upcoming visits to Madrid. Best regards Coral Arévalo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BritBoyInGA wrote a review Apr 2024
Roswell, Georgia797 contributions427 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Really enjoyed my stay in this VOCO, even though there are a few minor issues.

Room was very nice, bed very comfortable and the pillows were 'OK'. There did seem to be 2 soft and 2 firm, but the firm were not as firm as I would like. The bedroom was JUST big enough for the bed, not much room to move around the bed.

There was an empty refrigerator, which was put to good use with chilled soda's from the small convenience store across the road.

Wifi worked well, TV was OK (Only CNN & BBC in English).

The A/C worked well in my room, although I heard others complain their room was either too cold with A/C on, or too hot with it off, and the windows could only be opened with a special key from reception.

Breakfast was very nice, but be warned, if there is a coach trip leaving then the room opens at 7am and it's like a free for all, with manners and etiquette being left at the door. This is not the hotels' fault, it's inconsiderate guests.

Location is not central, but it's very quite, more than enough local restaurants, and easy to jump on public transport or Uber in to any of the central tourist spots.

Be warned, currently the Uber app takes you to the adjacent(just around the corner) Crowne Plaza when you enter Voco !
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Be careful using Uber, entering VOCO currently takes you to the Crowne Plaza just a 2 minute walk...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jem M wrote a review Aug 2023
United Kingdom46 contributions17 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked this as a package hotel with BA. Was pleasantly surprised that the hotel was as seen. On arrival, we were greeted by a receptionist called Sergio, he was so helpful from day one. He supplied every information we asked for with a smile. I applaud his customer service skills. Breakfast provided was ok apart from their scrambled eggs were to soft and runny which is not how I eat eggs. On the second day, I asked if they could put it in their microwave so it would cook better. There is a bar/ cafe which is also open to the public. The location is not too bad, local bus and Metro access within 5-10 mins away. Local restaurants all very close by. Rooms were clean, towels changed everyday.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kay L wrote a review Mar 2023
37 contributions10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Ayre Gran Hotel Colon for one night recently. We arrived quite early not expecting the room to be ready but hoping to be allowed to change somewhere because we had a lunchtime reservation. The man on reception checked us in and gave us a room without an issue so we could settle in and get changed comfortably. He also gave us a map and was nice and friendly. The room was a good size, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a good size. There were two small complimentary bottles of water in the mini bar. The window cannot be opened unless you ask at reception which I don't like. However it was a big window which made the room nice and light and airy. Breakfast was way too expensive at 20 euros or 16 if booked in advance. We got breakfast for two people for half that price outside the hotel. There is a nice looking bar at the hotel and I believe they do food too. I would stay there again but would look out for cheaper advance booking prices.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ayre Hoteles Maganer, Dueño at voco Madrid - Retiro, an IHG Hotel
Responded 18 Apr 2023
Dear 823Kayl, Thank you very much for leaving us this review and for rating your stay at Hotel Colón so positively. We are glad you liked the hotel and we hope you can come back as many times as you like. We take note of your comments and we will take them into account to try to improve in the future. Thank you very much again! Best regards, Anna
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gorm D wrote a review Aug 2022
Helsinki, Finland15 contributions21 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel was very welcoming after a long and hot trip. The hotel is accessable from the metro station within a walking distance. We had a dinner at the hotel restaurant (in the garden) that was cozy and reasonably priced meals. The breakfast was good and special diet (lactose & gluten-free) was available upon request. The hotel and the room was clean and functional. The reception was friendly and helpful. Overall, The stay was good value for the money and we would stay here again in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ayre Hoteles Maganer, Dueño at voco Madrid - Retiro, an IHG Hotel
Responded 28 Aug 2022
Dear Gorm, Thank you very much for leaving us this review and for rating your stay at Hotel Colón so positively. We are glad you liked the hotel and hope you can come back to visit us again. Thank you again! Best regards, Social Media Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AUSTLON wrote a review Dec 2023
London, United Kingdom584 contributions340 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I really want to give this hotel 5 stars but I cannot cos of certain issues.

Reception / Check In
Our check in was awesome. Think it was Matheus and his colleague on 29/12 late at night we’re awesome. So my first impression was great.

Room
For a recently renovated hotel It is clear that the designers have never stayed in the room. The room was spotless and king premium. However no sockets next to bed or USB C charging points. Shower temperature fluctuates and the room was too hot.

Bar
Javier at the bar is a diamond. What a lovely chap. The only issue I had with the bar was that on new years Eve it closed at 7pm. Nothing to do at hotel for New Year’s Eve. Which spoilt things for us.

The hotel is great value for money and I would recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Guest Services / Front Office at voco Madrid - Retiro, an IHG Hotel
Responded 14 Jan 2024
Hello, AUSTLON Thank you for telling us about your experience. We're grateful you chose our Voco Madrid - Retiro for your travel needs. Your review is important to us and will help improve the quality of our service. I have taken the details you encountered to our management for appropriate action. I apologize for that. Our local team is addressing all of them as we speak. We strive to provide the highest standards in accommodation. I hope we get another chance to show you can do better. Our staff can't wait to serve you again soon. Alejandro G. Case Manager IHG Hotels & Resorts Service
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vince L wrote a review Nov 2023
Orange County, California88 contributions9 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the review of the newer, renovated hotel. It's now called something else, i forgot. But it could be more improved. The staff are helpful and nice. But they need to work on changing the address, because the taxis/uber will direct you to a different hotel at the back but same location.

Anyways, the breakfast is abundant and diverse. The rooms are spacious, but the bathroom has a weird layout design especially the shower portion. But otherwise, serviceable.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: The hotel is kind of far away from the city center.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rdefraites wrote a review Mar 2020
Paris, France12 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The best things about this hotel was that room service was very fast. Unfortunately, the first day our room was not made up. We also had problems with the shower head which was uncontrollable. They were not able to fix it. Also, the restaurant was not open on Sunday evenings so we were forced to go out in the rain. Amenities were below average -- no hair conditioner and mediocre towels.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from PalomaBCM, Social Media at voco Madrid - Retiro, an IHG Hotel
Responded 5 Mar 2020
Dear rdefraites, Thank you very much for leaving us your comments and opinion of your stay at our Ayre Gran Hotel Colón. We learn a lot thanks to it and we make an effort to improve day by day. We regret that you have encountered some inconveniences as described. For example the technical problem of the shower. Technical Service always tries to solve possible disruptions. Sometimes, unfortunately, the maids cannot make the rooms, because customers leave the sign of not disturbing and logically they have to respect their express desire. We also feel sorry that you had to go out in the rain to go to dinner. On Sundays the restaurant closes for staff rest, but we have a cafeteria with a schedule from 8:00 in the morning until 12:00 at night uninterruptedly, as well as room service with the same schedule. We would love to count on you again in the near future and that we can exceed your expectations. Thank you very much and best regards Coral Arévalo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mike T wrote a review Nov 2023
6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Voco Madrid-Retiro: a truly wonderful hotel in every respect. Each member of the hotel staff was totally welcoming and clearly focused on making me feel welcome.

From their warm welcome at check-in (Freddy) to the Housekeeping attention to detail and friendliness truly stood out. It made my stay a memorable and delightful experience. Literally amazing, I'll be back. Thank you!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Paloma B
Dear traveller, Thank you very for contacting Ayre Gran Hotel Colón to solve your doubt about the Tourist Bus. We are pleased to inform you that the closest stop from the hotel to take it is Puerta de Alcalá, so to get there you could go walking (around 30 min.), by a regular bus number 20 (around 15 min.) or metro (line 9 and change to line 2 until Retiro stop). We hope to have been useful and to have provided the information you needed to know. For any other request, please do not hesitate to contact us again! Kind regards, Paloma Ballón Community Manager
Answer from Paloma B
Dear Lotto9583, Thank you very much for contacting Ayre Gran Hotel Colón! We are pleased to inform you about the different options to get to the hotel from the airport: Taxi: Fixed price 30€ (around 20 min.) Metro: 5 € supplement (around 40 min. - line 8, change to line 9 until Sainz de Baranda next to the hotel) Bus Express Airport: 5 € (around 20 min. untill O'donnel and 15 min. walking distance to the hotel). We hope that this information will be useful for you, for any other requests, please do not hesitate to contact us again. Kind regards, Paloma Ballón Community Manager
Eti B asked a question Feb 2020
Boca Raton, Florida46 contributions36 helpful votes
Do you have a rate if I want my room ready before 3pm? We are arriving in the morning Gracias
Answer from Paloma B
Dear EtiB, Thank you very much for contacting us, it is a pleasure to inform you that if you arrive to the hotel before 3 pm and we have room available, there is no problem to do the check in after 1.30 pm with no extra charge or if you arrive a little bit more early if you prefere you could keep the bagages in our lugagge room. We hope to have been useful, do not hesitate to contact us again for any other requests or doubts. Kind regards, Paloma Ballón Community Manager
Answer from Paloma B
Dear Catmom95, Thank you very much for contacting us! It is a pleasure to inform you that we provide hair dryers in all our rooms a part of other amenities as he already said, so do not worry about it! Anyway, if you have any others requests or questions please do not hesitate to contact us again. Kind regards, Paloma Ballón Community Manager
Answer from Paloma B
Dear Sonja, First of all, thank you very much for contacting us because it is a really pleasure to answer all your questions about the transport available from the hotel to the airport. Furthermore, there are three options: metro (line 9 and then line 8- 5 €) trip around 30 minutes, the bus express airport from O'donnel street (15 minutes walk from the hotel - 5 €) trip around 20 minutes or the taxi from the hotel to the terminal (doesn't matter which terminal, always 30 € from anyplace of citycentre), so the choice is up to you! If you prefer a shuttle (hotel-airport) do not hesitate to ask at front desk, they can check the prices (depending on the time and number of people). We hope to have been useful in this case and for the other travellers, but for any further information we always stay at your entire disposal. Kind regards, Paloma Ballón Community Manager
BritBoyInGA wrote a tip Apr 2024
Roswell, Georgia797 contributions427 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be careful using Uber, entering VOCO currently takes you to the Crowne Plaza just a 2 minute walk around the corner."
Read full review
Vince L wrote a tip Nov 2023
Orange County, California88 contributions9 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The hotel is kind of far away from the city center."
Read full review
bbhesania wrote a tip Oct 2023
India118 contributions33 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The hotel has been renamed so dont get confused"
Read full review
SANDY-CSHORE wrote a tip May 2023
Falkirk, United Kingdom125 contributions48 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If the walk to town isn’t for you, then get a metro pass for your stay"
Read full review
Suuzyy00 wrote a tip Apr 2023
19 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"The hotel is located in two separate buildings, so if you arrive by taxi be sure that you are in the right one."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Madrid area.
PRICE RANGE
$237 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ayre gran madrid
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Madrid - Centre Retiro
LOCATION
SpainCommunity of MadridMadridRetiro / Estrella
NUMBER OF ROOMS
362
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

VOCO MADRID - RETIRO, AN IHG HOTEL - Reviews & Price Comparison (Spain) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about voco Madrid - Retiro, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to voco Madrid - Retiro, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include MY Hookah Room (0.4 km), AM Experiences (0.3 km), and Vapor Blues (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at voco Madrid - Retiro, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at voco Madrid - Retiro, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at voco Madrid - Retiro, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at voco Madrid - Retiro, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to voco Madrid - Retiro, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Acqua in Bocca, Niña de Papá, and Ruta 108.
Are there opportunities to exercise at voco Madrid - Retiro, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at voco Madrid - Retiro, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does voco Madrid - Retiro, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at voco Madrid - Retiro, an IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to voco Madrid - Retiro, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Royal Palace of Madrid (3.9 km), Plaza Mayor (3.4 km), and Museo Cerralbo (4.1 km).
All Madrid HotelsMadrid Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MadridHotels near voco Madrid - Retiro, an IHG Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire