Hotel Santo Domingo
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hotel Santo Domingo

Traveller (1206)
Superior room
Room & Suite (898)
Breakfast room
Dining (172)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#351 of 475 hotels in Madrid
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Hotel Santo Domingo enjoys a privileged location in the touristic and commercial center of Madrid. One of its highlights are the 200 themed rooms, with wall paintings by emerging artists, the unmistakable hall, with vaults of porcelain and gold leaf, and the public car park, decorated with evocative and magical scenes. More than 1200 m2 with natural light to family celebrations and corporate events. Swimming pool on the rooftop terrace (only opened during summer months) offers the best view of the very heart of Madrid.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Rooftop pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

San Bernardo 1, 28013 Madrid Spain
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Barajas Airport
14.6 km
See all flights
Santo Domingo
2 minMadrid Metro
Callao
4 minMadrid Metro
3,498Reviews73Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 708
  • 1,324
  • 769
  • 383
  • 314
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Wayne McDonald wrote a review Jan 2020
Melbourne, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Great position close to central shopping areas and old Madrid, Plaza del Sol, Plaza Mayor and the Gran Via. A taxi to the Prado was not expensive. The twin room was small but had everything you needed, breakfast full buffet at reduced rate was good value at 14€ Staff friendly but can be busy at times with comfortable sitting in the lobby. It is close to a place for great tapas, Mercado San Miguel, highly recommended for foodies.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
passionflora wrote a review Mar 2020
Cambridge, Massachusetts
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent three nights at this hotel, which is close to the metro and to locations were tour groups meet. It's the perfect location for exploring the city, and many tourist sites including Plaza Mayor and Mercado San Miguel, are walking distance.

We were in the older section of the hotel, so our room was smaller than average, but adequate. The room was clean with a comfortable bed and pillows. The only drawback was that the room was unbearably hot especially at night. We had to ring the desk to send someone up to turn off the heat. Sadly, some of the guests on our end of the corridor were noisy one night, but that's not the hotel management's fault.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MARKETING HOTEL SANTO DOMINGO, Otros at Hotel Santo Domingo
Responded 22 Apr 2020
Dear guest, First of all thank you very much for staying with us. We are glad that you have been satisfied about our location, in Madrid city center, just a short distance from the most emblematic sites and tourist attractions. We are happy to know that our staff efficiently solved the incident on the heating of the room and we appreciate the understanding shown for the specific situation caused by the behavior of other clients located next to you. We hope to see you again in a near future, when the situation returns to normal. Kind Regards, Teresa Amigo Marketing Department Hotel Santo Domingo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Noel0 wrote a review Aug 2021
Puerto Rico
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The Rooms are very nice, clean other that the fan in the bathroom that was full of dust. Restaurant food is very tasty, portions are small but is ok. Beer is very expensive $5 for a cana (small glass).

Service is where is awful. They don't even ask you if you want something at least to me they didn't. They ignored me all the time I was in the pool like 1 hour.

Same in front desk, I ask about the terrace use at checking and they did not explain that anyone could go up the terrace after 7pm and there is no space for guests of the hotel if you want to eat.

Price was very good, cleaning staff was good also.

But is just a 4 star hotel because of location and looks. Not 4 Stars in service.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MARKETING HOTEL SANTO DOMINGO, Otros at Hotel Santo Domingo
Responded 4 Aug 2021
Dear Noel, Thank you very much for your valuable feedback, as we really appreciate you took some time to share your opinion. We have noted your comments and will inform the team to improve our service in the future. Thank you for letting us know and we hope you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Best regards, Clara Vivar Marketing Department Hotel Santo Domingo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ainafigueras2020 wrote a review Feb 2020
Barcelona, Spain
1.0 of 5 bubbles
When we arrived the recepcionist told us that they upgraded our room. The room was overall OK, quite simple and old furniture, but enough. The surprise was when we went to bed (at around 22:00) and the heating was malfunctioning (it was very hot in the room) and there was a wedding just above us! The wedding lasted until 4am, we could hear everything: laughs, steps, jumps, even the different kind of songs they were playing!! I downloaded an app to see the dB, while the norm says that it should be below 30dB in a Hotel at night, the average until 4am was around 50dB in that room. I still cannot believe they gave us that room knowing there was a wedding arranged that night, that is just unconsiderate and not giving a damn about the clients right to rest. I will never go back there and I don't think they deserve anybody going there because of the little care they take of the guests. The room was number 509. The building is probably illegal and the insonorization is inexistant. In case you decide to go, ask for a change as soon as you get that room just in case. The worst thing that can happen in a hotel is that you can't start sleeping until 4am!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
Room Tip: The room was number 509.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
shannon14100 wrote a review Aug 2023
Drogheda, Ireland
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The only thing four star about this hotel is the rooftop view and the location. Rooftop is much smaller than expected. Pool and rooftop are on different levels.rooms is standard. Walls are paper thin. Walls & carpets dirty and was very shocked how dated the hotel actually was because it has so much potential. Pool is also only opened between certain times and seemed to always be an issue no lifeguard one day waiting for over an hour & closed for whatever reason the day after too. Pool is technically "indoor" and we were not allowed use the pool on our last day which I think is a bit strange. Not allowed use room towels at the pool you've to rent a towel for 3 euro but you can keep it for the duration of your trip.Pool area is closed at about 7 to turn into a restaurant which is kind of cool. Plus drinking here is so expensive 13/14 euro for a cocktail. Beautiful views of sunset, could have better ambience with music but overall it does the job I suppose.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MARKETING HOTEL SANTO DOMINGO, Otros at Hotel Santo Domingo
Responded 7 Aug 2023
Dear Shannon, Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Santo Domingo and for your review. We take each of your contributions in a constructive way to work on the aspects that can be improved within the protocols and review plans that we have foreseen in our operations. We hope that in the future you will give us the opportunity to ensure that you enjoy a fully satisfactory stay that meets your expectations. Best Regards, Teresa Amigo Marketing & Communication Department Hotel Santo Domingo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BerlinvsMunich2019 wrote a review Aug 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Quite unfriendly personal, for a room for over 100 Euro a night. The room much smaller and less nice than on the web side. Even if you paid for a hotel with an pool you have to pay extra when you want to uses it. The restaurant was also one of the most expensive in town but the food was average. The receipionnist was giving us wrong information based on the Corona status and therefore we can not recommend this hotel for a stay
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MARKETING HOTEL SANTO DOMINGO, Otros at Hotel Santo Domingo
Responded 9 Aug 2021
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Hotel Santo Domingo. I would like to apologize for not achieve your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I was most concerned to read that you found us over-priced. We do regularly check our room rates against other comparable properties to ensure that our prices align with our competitors. I hope you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Best regards, Clara Vivar Marketing Department Hotel Santo Domingo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrea Dal Soglio wrote a review Oct 2020
Madrid, Spain
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is located in the heart of Madrid, just one minute from Gran Via, one of the main streets of the city.

We had a superior room with a fantastic city view, which we enjoyed a lot during the evening time when the city lights turned on. The room was spacious and quiet, the bed very comfy and big.

What we liked the most was the terrace with the pool. We really enjoyed our glass of wine while admiring a beautiful sunset over the city.

The staff was friendly and welcoming, we will really consider going back for another nice weekend in the city. Very recommended.

Andrea & Mel
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: If possible, choose the rooms with the city view.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MARKETING HOTEL SANTO DOMINGO, Otros at Hotel Santo Domingo
Responded 11 Apr 2021
Dear Andrea & Mei, We'd like to thank you for having chosen our hotel and for spending some of your time in writing your nice comment. We are very happy that you had a great stay with us and It will be pleasure to host you again in the future. Thank you for the recommendation :)) Best Regards, Teresa Amigo Marketing Department Hotel Santo Domingo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maria R wrote a review Jul 2022
Sintra, Portugal
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Very dissatisfied I booked a family room for 2 teenagers and one Adult when getting to the room there was no way 3 people could spend 3 nights in such a tiny room an extra bed just cramped into a small double room and they called it a family room, you could not walk past the bed to the window. I asked for a larger room as the pictures show on their website but to be told no. After expressing my dissatisfaction that I was not happy with the room the only scenario was for me to purchase another room a single which again was tiny.
I did not find the staff accommodating.
Pool area needs in update not a comfortable area.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Charge to use a pool towel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MARKETING HOTEL SANTO DOMINGO, Otros at Hotel Santo Domingo
Responded 14 Jul 2022
Dear guest, We regret that the triple room assigned to you did not meet your expectations and that, due to the high occupancy, our staff could not offer you another room with the required characteristics, as we would have liked you to have enjoyed a fully satisfactory stay. We would like to inform you that the pool and terrace area has recently undergone some improvement works, such as the replacement of the floor in the lower area and the pool tank,, as well as the updating of some of the furniture. We work every day to make our guests feel "at home" and we hope that you will trust us again in the future. Best Regards, Teresa Amigo Marketing & Communication Department Hotel Santo Domingo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Therese wrote a review Jul 2023
Copenhagen, Denmark
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Very old interior and very small rooms.
The walls are paper thin, so you can listen to your neighbors conversations. (Or worse)
The internet is said to be free, but you have to pay to have proper speed for any use.
Only true upside is the central location.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Reed the rules if you are planning to visit the pool. They are very strict.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MARKETING HOTEL SANTO DOMINGO, Otros at Hotel Santo Domingo
Responded 9 Jul 2023
Dear Guest, We want you to know that the description of your stay with us at our hotel is very helpful and we thank you for providing your review. We would have liked your experience to have been much more satisfactory. We have taken into account your comments on the concerns you raised, as we are aware that communication with our guests is an essential tool to help us improve. We hope that you will give us the opportunity in the future to change your impression and improve your experience. Best Regarsd, Teresa Amigo Marketing & Communication Department Hotel Santo Domingo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GreatOtis wrote a review Jul 2022
Madrid, Spain
1.0 of 5 bubbles
First , upon entering the room we discovered the bathroom door was broken. If you closed the door you could not get out of the bathroom. We had to call to get it fixed. Then lunch in the hotel’s restaurant. We have been in Spain for 20 years and without a doubt the worst food ever. The quality of fast food or frozen food with Michelin star prices. We were charged for bread we never ordered nor ate. Horrible. We decided to relax at the swimming pool but they refuse you entry if you bring a towel from the room. Instead you have to pay 3 Euros per towel. It’s pure blackmail. There is no space to even use the towel to lie down. On the upstairs terrace there is not even one umbrella offering shade, with 42 degrees Celsius. The water was warmer than a hot bath. It was impossible to put any charge from the restaurant, bar, or pool on the room. We had to carry cash or credit card inside the hotel. After two hours we went to reception to cancel the second night. He did not even ask us why obviously having had to do it many times already. Everything at the bar is super expensive and low quality. It’s better to do everything outside the hotel. Staff are angry,useless, unhelpful and unprofessional. The only plus was the waiter in the restaurant and I think he was embarrassed about the quality of the food. Avoid this hotel at all cost!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MARKETING HOTEL SANTO DOMINGO, Otros at Hotel Santo Domingo
Responded 29 Jul 2022
Dear guest, We regret that your experience did not turn out as we would have wished and that the rules for the use of the pool area, which forbid the use of the towels in the rooms for reasons of hygiene and protocol, have been such an inconvenience for you. We understand that you are unaware that guests are allowed to bring their own pool towel, but not the one used for personal hygiene in the rooms. With regard to the restaurant in the terrace area, we are very sorry to hear that you do not share the opinion of the vast majority of guests who visit us and who value the cuisine we offer very highly. The opinion of our guests is fundamental for us and we understand that your experience has been far away from the quality of the service we offer to our guests, so we take note of everything referred to, which has already been transferred to the competent responsible to review the points for improvement. Best Regards, Teresa Amigo Marketing & Communication Department Hotel Santo Domingo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tylertopps asked a question Jan 2024
Sheffield, United Kingdom22 contributions6 helpful votes
When does the pool open? Will it be open in April? Thanks.
Answer from Marketing HSD
Madrid, Spain3 contributions1 helpful vote
Dear Joanna, Good morning from Madrid :) In response to your question, we would like to inform you that the swimming pool season is from June to September, so we regret to inform you that the pool will not be open in April. It is an outdoor pool, so it is a service that we offer to our guests only during the summer season. If you need any further information, please contact us directly, and we will be happy to attend you. Best Regards, Hotel Santo Domingo -Madrid-
Sen C asked a question Feb 2020
Greater London, United Kingdom79 contributions7 helpful votes
Is this hotel child friendly?
Answer from G. Yilmaz
10 contributions13 helpful votes
For older children may be. With stroller etc. It will be really hard. And also make sure to book a spacious room ( not sure if any) because my room was pretty small even it had a double bed in it.
Amber K asked a question Nov 2019
Woking, United Kingdom6 contributions
Will your rooftop bar be open at the end of March next year Thanks
Answer from Global Traveller
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom108 contributions73 helpful votes
I was there in October and the bar was open. The pool was closed and covered up, however, the bar was open and is from 8pm weather dependant
Anyny12 asked a question Jul 2019
14 contributions20 helpful votes
Can you use bar/pool area if you are not a hotel guest?
Answer from Marketing HSD
Madrid, Spain3 contributions1 helpful vote
Good morning, The pool is only available to clients staying within their schedule. But the terrace area, called Sunset Lookers, opens every day from 8 pm, with free access for everyone, except for adverse weather conditions or private events. If you need more information, you can contact us directly and we will be happy to assist you. Best Regards, Hotel Santo Domingo
Jane S asked a question Jul 2019
Bristol, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
Do the rooms have a hairdryer? And does each room have air conditioning?
Answer from Poochpeg
Ireland123 contributions76 helpful votes
Yes - there is a hairdryer and the room is air conditioned
D6ebw wrote a tip Apr 2024
Solihull, United Kingdom70 contributions103 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Unless the food improves avoid eating here,"
Read full review
Diego F wrote a tip Oct 2023
Buenos Aires, Argentina9 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not have great expectations "
Read full review
Therese wrote a tip Jul 2023
Copenhagen, Denmark5 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Reed the rules if you are planning to visit the pool. They are very strict."
Read full review
Thomas wrote a tip Oct 2022
Vienna, Austria181 contributions74 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you stay 2 nights for solely shopping in the city you might choose it. Totaly overpriced for the facilities they are offering."
Read full review
GreatOtis wrote a tip Jul 2022
Madrid, Spain113 contributions37 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose a different hotel."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Madrid area.
PRICE RANGE
$168 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mercure madrid santo domingo hotel madrid
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Mercure Madrid Santo Domingo
LOCATION
SpainCommunity of MadridMadridGran Via / Palacio / Centro
NUMBER OF ROOMS
200
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL SANTO DOMINGO - Now $226 (Was $̶2̶6̶3̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Madrid, Spain) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Santo Domingo
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Santo Domingo?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Santo Domingo?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Santo Domingo?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Santo Domingo?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Santo Domingo?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Hotel Santo Domingo have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Santo Domingo offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Hotel Santo Domingo offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Santo Domingo?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Is Hotel Santo Domingo accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Madrid HotelsMadrid Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MadridHotels near Hotel Santo Domingo
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire