We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Avenida

Visit hotel website
Traveller (144)
Panoramas (13)
Room & Suite (141)
Certificate of Excellence


Certificate of Excellence
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Breakfast Available
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Package Deal


Full view
89Good for walkers
Grade: 89 out of 100
42Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
1Attractionwithin 0.5 km
Paseo de Igueldo 55, 20008 San Sebastian - Donostia Spain
Name/address in local language
E-mail hotel
Getting there
San Sebastian Airport19 km
Biarritz Parme Airport43 km
See all nearby hotels
27Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 117
  • 200
  • 103
  • 23
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Dog friendly and convenient for the beach. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel lacks a bit of character but there are restaurants fairly close by. I was tired and didn’t fancy going out so ordered the sushi delivered to the room. I found this disappointing and
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from EDURNEVARGA, Gerente at Hotel Avenida
Responded 5 Feb 2019
Dear Mr PetercF8947PA, we are really happy to know that you have a nice stay in Hotel Avenida. We are really surprised with the Sushi service because it is a good quality Sushi restaurant, we will check it. Anyway do not hesitate to contact us for your next stay in San Sebastian, we will be very happy to welcome to you again. Best regards,
Read more
A small dark room, 1 window, no view, Completely overpriced (nr. 214, 140 €!Dog not allowed in dining room and not allowed to be alone in the room. Eating out or in the hotel not possible at all.Our bicycles got stored in a locked room.Pool/Terrace is very nice.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Miren-Aristi, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida
Responded 9 Nov 2018
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your comments. We would like to point out that prices are not fix, and when you have visited us, it was a banking holiday in Spain, and there were very few rooms available in San Sebastian during the whole weekend. The hotel has not a restaurant for meals, it offers only breakfast service, although there are differente choices for eating in (room service with pizzas and sushi, vending machines with sadwiches and waitres service on late afternoon). For eating out, there are several choices within a walking distance (10 minutes walking). Indeed, we did allow you to store your bikes inside, we also allow you to extend your camping tent in the hotel´s garden, and we allow you not to pay the third night cancellation fees when you decided to modify your reservation from 4 to 2 nights.
Read more
Good clean modern hotel on the hill above San Sebastian Garden and swimming pool with plenty of space to sunbathe. Excellent breakfast and easy beach walk or bus ride along spectacular beach to the busy town centre. Very helpful English speaking reception staff
Read more
Response from EDURNEVARGA, Gerente at Hotel Avenida
Responded 29 Oct 2018
Dear Mr. SomersetFarmerjohn, We really appreciate your review about our hotel. We are very glad to know that you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope to welcome you again in your next visit to San Sebastian. Best regards
Read more
Enjoyed our stay at this quaint out of the way Hotel. Read the reviews about the location. Didn't really bother us but it is definitely something to consider. Room was clean and nice. Breakfast was OK. Serving staff was excellent
Read more
Response from EDURNEVARGA, Gerente at Hotel Avenida
Responded 4 Oct 2018
Dear Dan J, We are pleased to know that you had a good stay in the hotel Avenida. We will be very happy to welcoming in your next visit to San Sebastián. Best regards
Read more
Charming older hotel on the hill ,easy walking distance to local beach and 20-30 minute walk to main town. Clean, comfortable and quiet. Unfortunately, no restaurant except for breakfast and limited selection in a vending machine.Mostly this was okay as we were fit enough to
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from San Sebastián A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Avenida
Responded 2 Oct 2018
Dear Sally, Thank you very much for your kind words and your high rating. We would only like to point out that there is a pizza delivery service until midnight. There are also available at the front desk, kettles for free for our guests. There is also little restaurant in a walking distance (7 minutes), which has its kitchen open until 23.00 hours. Apparently we have not been able to offer you all the information when arriving, and we are very sorry about that.
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play Areas
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHotel Avenida
The Matrimonial Superior at the Avenida
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHotel Avenida
The Matrimonial Superior at the Avenida
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHotel Avenida
The Habitación Básica at the Avenida
Dear Janetviola, We accept pets in our Hotel. They have an extra charge of 22 Euros per pet & night and they are allowed under these conditions: Maximum One Pet per room. It is not allowed to leave the pet alone in the room. Pets must be removed from the room during scheduled cleaning or any other service in the room. Pets have no access to the dining room or the pool /garden. Guests are requested to keep pets near them and on a leash within the hotel premises. Kind regards, Miren Aristi
0 votes
Show all answers
Buenas tardes Luis estamos a unos 2 km del centro, andando son unos 40 min. por uno de los paseos más bonitos de la ciudad, el paseo de la Concha, sino también tiene la opción de coger el bus de la linea 16 - Igeldo que pasa al lado del hotel cada 30 minutos. un cordial saludo
0 votes
Show all answers
está cerca del centro??? se pueden ir andando???
Hola, no está cerca del centro, pero hay autobuses que te llevan y no se tarda mucho. Aunque si te gusta andar es un paseo agradable
0 votes
Show all answers
Buenas tardes Vanessa, el hotel no está adaptado al cien por cien, pero a la entrada tenemos una plataforma elevadora y el ascensor baja a todas las plantas. Siento comunicarles que nuestras habitaciones no están adaptadas. Un saludo
0 votes
Show all answers
Buenos días Sra. Magali, puede hacer el check in mañana a partir de las 12 del mediodía. Reciba un cordial saludo, esperamos recibirla mañana.
0 votes
Show all answers
"avoid rooms on front some traffic noise"
"Rooms are all quiet. Some overlook the old town and other have a view over the pool towards the bay/harbour."
"Ask for a room looking out over the pool, therefore the city."
"Front rooms have a great view of the bay"
"corner room had a nice view to the beach"
US$44 - US$216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
avenida san sebastián donostia
SpainBasque CountryProvince of GuipuzcoaSan Sebastian - Donostia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing