Hotel AMANO Grand Central
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hotel AMANO Grand Central

Traveller (777)
Suite Kingsize Bett
Room & Suite (319)
Lounge
Dining (36)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#177 of 603 hotels in Berlin
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
The AMANO Grand Central is the largest hotel the AMANO Group has built to date. Whether its business travel or a short city visit - it focuses on perfection in all areas: the AMANO Grand Central focuses on perfection in all areas: conference rooms suffused with light and equipped with modern technology, a fitness center with a view of the government district, the premium location and the gastronomic concept leave nothing to be desired. Whether you are looking for a light snack or a business lunch: the ground floor BISTRO serves city visitors or Berlin folk with the finest culinary dishes. After a long day of meetings or a day of exploring the city, the APARTMENT Bar with its spacious and green rooftop terrace is the ideal place to relax and unwind. Here too, the creators of the renowned AMANO Bar put great emphasis on a creative and quality bar culture that enriches the city's nightlife.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Rooftop bar
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is officially classified according to Hotelstars Union standards.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, German

Location

Heidestrasse 62, 10557 Berlin Germany
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 90 out of 100
90
Berlin Brandenburg Airport
20.4 km
See all flights
Berlin Central Station
3 min
Berlin Hauptbahnhof
3 minBerlin S-Bahn
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles2,780 reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Hotel AMANO Grand Central is often celebrated for its modern atmosphere and chic styling, especially the luxurious touches in its bathrooms. Situated conveniently close to the train station, the hotel's location is a hit for its centrality, making the city's attractions easily accessible. While some guests have raised concerns over room sizes and noise levels, the overall cleanliness receives high marks. Service quality seems to be a mixed bag, with reports of both friendly staff and less impressive interactions. Travelers are divided on the value, with some citing unexpected costs, though others deem the pricing reasonable.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Stylish
Rooms
Cramped
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
2,780Reviews74Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,243
  • 1,003
  • 350
  • 102
  • 82
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Scooterboy64 wrote a review Mar 2020
Winsford, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked for three nights with easyJet as I’d never been to Berlin before. Upon on arrival I was suitably impressed,this is very stylish decorated, black isn’t the easiest to make look good but hats of to the stylist here. It’s actually a large hotel but has a very intimate atmosphere that’s pleasing throughout. The rooms are of a good standard and are perfect for the traveller, plenty of toiletries and a free safe are always a welcome sight. You can actually request what time you’d like your room cleaned which gives it a personal touch. We took advantage of the 6th floor bar and it is very impressive, stylish and modern with a fine range of cocktails and beers.
The location of the hotel is superb, only 5 minutes walk from every form of transport apart from aeroplanes lol
I have saved the best until last, and that’s the staff. Every single staff member I spoke to from receptionist to housekeeping was extremely friendly, very helpful and they all seemed to like working there. I will be staying again and would highly recommend anybody else to stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AMANO_Group, Director of Sales at Hotel AMANO Grand Central
Responded 8 Mar 2020
Dear guest, We are happy that you felt comfortable treated during your whole stay. Especially your comments on our service and staff were a great compliment! We hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon again. Kind regards from your team at AMANO Grand Central in Berlin!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ifenne348587 wrote a review Jan 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I absolutely loved AMANO grand central. The location is just a few minutes away from the Haubtbahnhof, which directly provides you with public transport all through the city. Besides this, the Haubthahnhof also provided a supermarket and a 24H pharmacy. The interior of the hotel is very chic. The staff was really friendly. We would definitely recommend the hotel for couples. We are not sure if it is really fitting for families, as the room was mostly consisted of glass, which provided little to no privacy inside the room. Overall a great hotel.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AMANO_Group, Front Office Manager at Hotel AMANO Grand Central
Responded 11 Jan 2020
Dear guest, THANK YOU! We love to read you kind comment and appreciate you taking the time for this! Actualla we do offer family rooms and normal rooms with either the glass or with a closed bathroom. So, no worries if you come back with you family! :-) We would be happy to see you again! Kindest regards from Berlin, Tabea Regelmann Manager on Duty
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Olivia B wrote a review Jan 2020
Trinidad
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Visited from December 24th-27th 2019 as a couple and stayed in a Standard Double Room. This hotel is situated in a perfect location, just opposite Berlin Hauptbahnof station which gives you transport links to anywhere you want to go, and is no more than a 15 minute Uber from Berlin Tegel Airport. For this reason alone, the hotel was worth the very affordable price we paid.

The room was clean, comfortable and stylish and though small, it was perfect for us as we spent the entirety of our days and well into the nights out and about, and used the hotel room basically as nothing more than a place to sleep, shower and then go again.

We did visit the Hotel Bar on Christmas night and the bartenders on hand were great. They suggested amazing drinks for us off-menu and the music, setting and vibe of the bar made for an enjoyable evening.

We would definitely stay at the Hotel Amano again!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AMANO_Group, Manager at Hotel AMANO Grand Central
Responded 19 Jan 2020
Liebe Olivia B, Thank you very much for this great rating. We are delighted to hear, that you were satisfied with the convenient location and we appreciate your compliments. Wish you all the best and hope to see you soon. M. Hofstädter – Manager on Duty
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Willem wrote a review Feb 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Family with three kids in two separate rooms. Affordable upgrade to a suite was a fantastic choice for breakfast in the room (Super market on 5 minute walking distance) and family time
Unfortunately, Wifi in our room was very, very poor. Wifi in children's room and hotel was good
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AMANO_Group, Front Office Agent at Hotel AMANO Grand Central
Responded 1 Mar 2020
Dear willem99999, thank you for your amazing feedback on TripAdvisor. We are more than happy to read how much you and your family liked your stay with us. Your honest and construtive feedback is highly appreciated. Please be sure that we will discuss this point internally. Anyway, we would love to welcoming you and your family back to Berlin and the AMANO Group. With warmest regards and best wishes Annika Knoll Manager on Duty
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HWhite wrote a review Feb 2020
Leeds, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
A summary of our thoughts -
• hotel feels cheap and poorly made/thought out. E.g no radiator/hook for wet towels, no bathroom bin, small bath towels, a whiteboard rubber in the wardrobe?! Taps were red hot as soon as you turned them on but no warning of this? Rooms just seem very small and although they may look good, they feel poorly made and ‘just ok’ particularly for the price paid.
• rooftop bar was very expensive and had no atmosphere and playing a continuous stream of rap and hip hop music very loud.
• staff levels of English were not good so there were miscommunications/lack of at check in
• cleaners left a pile of thrown clothes over the bed in a very untidy pile after I had left some on the pillow. These seemed to be scattered over the other bed with no respect at all.
• location is fair - not the best and not the worst - we used electric scooters to get around as the walk would have been slightly too much.

We feel really disappointed with our staff and wouldn’t recommend it to others. We were pleased to have only 2 days here.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Clare1208 wrote a review Feb 2020
Manchester, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful decor, room was really clean, fabulous location. We had a comfort room and it was nice and spacious although would have liked a couple of armchairs to sit on. There is no hotel information in your room, so we had to call reception to check the breakfast times. There is also a coffee machine in your room, with just 4 pods that you have to pay €1 each for and no tea, seems petty for a 4 star hotel to supply the amenity but charge for it. I would suggest losing the vanity packs, notepad and pen and shoeshine accessories for a free coffee and tea in the room instead. Reception staff did their job, can't say they were fantastic....asked if our room was ready at 2.40pm, asked to wait 10 mins, so we sat in front of the reception, then ended up joining a huge queue at 3pm! Was also wrongly charged for 3 days of breakfast and had to have it refunded. The breakfast has a lot of continental variety and the bread and fruit is nice and fresh. Only scrambled egg, sausage, pork balls and tomatoes for hot food and the price for breakfast is quite high for what you get. The bistro and bar are lovely with attentive staff, really nice to chill out in.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AMANO_Group, Manager at Hotel AMANO Grand Central
Responded 9 Feb 2020
Dear Clare1208, We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We regret that the room was not what you expected and that you were not completely satisfied with the amenities of the room. We are just a 3 stars Hotel. We use your honest words as an opportunity to continue to train our employees according to our quality standards. Wish you all the best and hope to see you soon M.Hofstädter - Manager on Duty
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ashleigh J wrote a review May 2020
Glasgow, United Kingdom
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I stayed here in mid-November 2019 for a city break and loved it! In a prime location directly across from Berlin Central Station, the hotel is beautifully decorated in all aspects with a fantastic open layout. Staff were all very friendly and accommodating.

The amenities were poor especially considered the price of the room per night. Rooms do not have facilities to make hot drinks which I thought was a very basic amenity, we had to go to the bistro downstairs and pay for a coffee whilst standing awkwardly in between guests dining as we waiting for drinks. Rooms also do not have robes or slippers and only one pillow. You will need to visit reception for additional pillows.

The hotel has multiple restaurants and bars which serve a great selection of food and drinks.

Would definitely recommend but did miss those small home comforts, such as a kettle considering we stayed for almost a week.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
soegaardpedersen wrote a review Mar 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I upgraded to a suite cause the room I booked didn't look like the pictures presented for that type room. The suite was great value and I enjoyed the atmosphere of the hotel and will recommend it for all types of travellers. Staff is really nice and despite the Corona virus making life difficult - everyone took the necessary precautions without stressing and made the stay comfortable. One thing would be to add robes in the suite...
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AMANO_Group, Manager on Duty at Hotel AMANO Grand Central
Responded 29 Mar 2020
Dear Guest, We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear your compliments regarding the atmosphere, your upgraded room and especially about our staff. We are very happy to forward it to our employees. To be more sustainable, we only provide bathrobes on request. I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you very soon again! With kind regards, Sarah Mohr
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jbutte379684 wrote a review Feb 2020
Liverpool, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The good - Excellent location, me and my partner walked everywhere from the hotel. Very powerful shower, cool hotel bar.
The not so good - room was really warm all of the time even with the air con on the coldest setting, charging 1 euro for coffee in the room is very poor, no access to water in the hotel or tea. The beds were okay but the pillows were very flat so we had to ask for another one each. The layout of the room was strange with very little storage space besides one small cupboard. Reception upsold us on a larger room when we arrived rather than let us have our normal room for free (it was midday at this point).
Overall just an average experience.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MCB wrote a review Feb 2020
Liverpool, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The good:
1. Location is superb. Right by the main train station with a direct line to Berlin Sch airport.

2. Shower in room is powerful.

3. We walked everywhere from the hotel apart from to the east side where we got a train.

The bad
1. Room isn’t big enough/not enough storage. We arrived for midday and were told we could only have our room before 3pm if we ‘upgraded’ €10 a night to a bigger room. Extremely disappointing if this was an upgrade. One tiny wardrobe, no storage at all. Horrendous. Room seemed ‘tired’ - marks on floor etc. Not good enough for an upgrade that we paid for.

2. No tea or coffee in the room or water. Most of the room seems to be taken up by a bar area which had a stocked mini bar and a coffee machine which you had to pay €1 a pod for. Unacceptable. Luckily there are an abundance of coffee/supermarkets within a five minute walk of the hotel and Berlin is cheap as a city so €2 for a large coffee is a standard price.

3. Pillows/towels/toilet roll. Towels are too small for an average sized couple, pillows are pancakes with a case on them (request another immediately) and the toilet roll wasn’t stocked up so we ran out on the first morning.

4. Trip advisor informed us there was a gym. There isn’t. A primary reason for us staying here and unfortunately we were not informed of this.

We wouldn’t return here. Berlin is a fabulous city and we’d love to return but we would stay elsewhere. £300 for three nights and I’d expect better.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
230371 asked a question Sept 2023
Valencia, Spain33 contributions5 helpful votes
Hay supermercados cerca
Answer from Amstraveler
Amsterdam, The Netherlands445 contributions332 helpful votes
Yes, there is a good supermarket in Berlin Hbf train station (and plenty of prepared food outlets too)
Stephen G wrote a tip 2 Jul
Dublin, Ireland7 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t book here"
Read full review
Travelor wrote a tip Jun 2024
17 contributions12 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take other hotel "
Read full review
Vanja M wrote a tip May 2024
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"We couldn't widely open the window. Just have it in mind if it is important for your stay. It is probably the same in whole hotel."
Read full review
Cati C wrote a tip Jan 2024
London, United Kingdom2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"decent breakfast- but not extraordinary"
Read full review
Sarah M wrote a tip Jan 2024
Weymouth, United Kingdom1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Hotel needs more customers satisfaction "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Berlin area.
PRICE RANGE
$139 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
GermanyBerlinMoabit / Mitte / Mitte (Borough)
NUMBER OF ROOMS
250
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL AMANO GRAND CENTRAL - Reviews & Price Comparison (Berlin, Germany) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel AMANO Grand Central
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel AMANO Grand Central?
Nearby attractions include Berlin Central Station (0.4 km), Berlin Museum of Medical History of the Charite (0.3 km), and Hamburger Museum (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel AMANO Grand Central?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel AMANO Grand Central?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel AMANO Grand Central?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel AMANO Grand Central?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel AMANO Grand Central?
Conveniently located restaurants include Peter Pane, Asia Gourmet, and HANS IM GLUECK Burgergrill & Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel AMANO Grand Central?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel AMANO Grand Central?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel AMANO Grand Central?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel AMANO Grand Central offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel AMANO Grand Central?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
All Berlin HotelsBerlin Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BerlinHotels near Hotel AMANO Grand Central
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire