Hotel des Remparts
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hotel des Remparts

Traveller (64)
Chambre triple
Room & Suite (58)
Dining (19)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#50 of 145 hotels in Lyon
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Our Hotel is situated in the centre of Lyon city. Our building is a classic French style building form 20th century. Some of our room overlook the Carnot's square. All our room have been renovated with all modern facilities
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Breakfast available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Room features
Air conditioning
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Italian

Location

19 Place Carnot, 69002 Lyon France
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 98 out of 100
98
Lyon Satolas Airport
Grenoble-Isère Airport
58.3 km
See all flights
Perrache
2 minLyon Metro
366Reviews2Q+A6Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 95
  • 175
  • 70
  • 14
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Benjimon wrote a review Aug 2023
Preston, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Passing through Lyon for one night, the Remparts was good value, friendly service, with the room clean and comfortable.

Big window overlooking Place Carnot was nice, hearing the bubbling sounds of the city at night.

Large double bed, decent size bathroom with shower, kettle, mini safe, and good wifi

We skipped the breakfast option, instead went out into the square for fresh coffee and pastries
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Steps away from train / metro starting on and car park - though parking is around €25 per night
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SJK wrote a review Mar 2024
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great supportive beds and clean place. Good location for walking everywhere. Wifi is not the best but wasn’t there enough to notice it. Overall, for the price- this was a good choice. The customer service always seemed very friends and kind.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
bspmassachusetts wrote a review Nov 2019
Massachusetts
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel is clean and comfortable. Rooms are small but well organized. Location is fantastic. Next to the Gare de Lyon-Perrache train station which also has stops for trams and the metro. Bike share station is half a block away. Restaurants, stores, groceries and boulangeries close by. Within walking distance to Confluence, the Saone and the Rhone and Vieux Lyon. Breakfast is OK. Staff are helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the hotel are quieter. Floors 2 and above are preferable.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
noagarbian wrote a review May 2022
Rehovot, Israel
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived around midnight excited and did not mind to
. climb to the 5th flour(the elevator was broken) but when we reached the room we saw it was so small we couldn't walk around the bed and couldn't lay down the suitcase. The shower was 40 cm width and it was not possible to stand in it without touching the toilets. We went down to talk to the receptionist and he came with us upstairs to see (no elevator so each time we took the stairs), The night receptionist couldn't believe the size of the room, we could see he was in shock, especially when he saw the bathroom size. We could hear him trying to talk to some managers from the hallway and they did not help him with a solution or even a promise of some compensation. We had to spend the rest of the night there and without taking a shower. The morning receptionist was rude, did not apologize or admit that the room does not meet any reasonable standard . The hotel website and booking.com says the rooms are 12 square meters large and was barely 7 meters. But the unkindness and horrible attitude was worse then the size of the room. It was a really disappointing experience
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KYADTO wrote a review Jul 2019
Lexington, Kentucky
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked 2 rooms. One room was ok, the other had the toilet and shower in the same room, much like a cruise ship. Hotel located very near a Metro Station. Rooms were small, but adequate(After all your not staying in room much anyway) The Breakfast area looked great, however we never ate at hotel.
Upon arrival, the receptionist was busy working with a member of our party, and I asked If I could help myself with a bottle of water. She politely said yes, and asked that I bring her the money for it and I did. The next evening we arrived back at hotel, another receptionist was busy talking to 2 gentleman. I opened the refrigerator door to do the same thing I was allowed to do the day before. The receptionist jumped up, started lecturing me that I should wait until he was done.. Hmmm Ok... Honestly, It sounds petty, but I never been talked to like that by a hotel receptionist. Im sure the person is a good person, but should get some training in how to treat a guest. I will probably look elsewhere to stay on my next visit to Lyon.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The one not having toilet in shower
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter S wrote a review Jun 2019
Albert Lea, Minnesota
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I was a solo traveler visiting Lyon for the first time. This hotel was a great place to come back to after a long day. Comfortable bed, functioning air-conditioning (alone worth it for an American traveling in France), and reliable Wifi. The room was quite small, but well appointed and comfortable. It was also impeccably clean, well-lit, with a pleasant view of the courtyard and the roofs of the neighboring buildings (on the 6th floor). The breakfast was satisfactory, but a bit over priced. Excellent access to public transportation (if you're coming on the TGV, make sure you book your ticket to Lyon-Perrache: you will arrive right outside the hotel). Walking distance to dining and entertainment, but most of the sightseeing areas require transportation.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jimmyd75_12 wrote a review Apr 2018
Dublin, Ireland
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This was actually my second time to stay here and unfortunately it has gone downhill a lot. It is clean and tidy and the rooms are small but nice.

However, the problem arrived when I got to the room and it was 27c outside. I tried to turn on the air conditioning and it wouldn't work. When I rang reception they said that it was turned off as it was not peak season yet. The receptionist was both rude and extremely unhelpful. He said that he didn't have the number of the manager so he couldn't ring them - except if it was a fire (so therefore he did have the number!!) The best that he could eventually offer was to give me a bottle of water - which never actually arrived.

I couldn't work in the room that afternoon as it was too hot. I left the window open when I went to bed - crap nights sleep due to the heat and then the street cleaners started at 4:30am to make sure that I stayed awake!

The breakfast next morning was also abysmal. It was €10.90 for breakfast which was exceptionally poor. A few tiny croissants, some slices of cheese, cold stale pancakes and a bowl of old fruit. They ran out of coffee and the orange juice was not fresh.

When checking out they asked if I enjoyed my stay. I said no and told them why. 'Sorry to hear that' and then continued to charge me the full rate. The reason for no air con had changed to "it is expected to be cold this weekend".... I stayed on the Tuesday night!!

So..... I would strongly suggest that you avoid this hotel until they improve their standards. There are plenty of nice hotel in beautiful Lyon.... this is not one of them.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Edouard F, Gérant at Hotel des Remparts
Responded 9 May 2018
Dear Sir, We are sorry that your experience in our hotel does not meet all your expectations. Indeed the mid season is not a simple period to manage in terms of temperatures because we have no dual system. We are surprised about the apparent lack of courtesy that you mention, while it is usually our strength and we are very vigilant on this point,and we apologize for that. We understand your displeasure and we apologize for the inconvenience you had during your stay. Your comment will help us to improve our services. We remain at your disposal to discuss with you regarding this matter. Delphine
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
happy_customer1985 wrote a review Nov 2017
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Horrible experience at this hotel: stay away if possible, basic hygiene and cleanliness not respected... I changed 4 rooms in 2 nights: in the first room, when going to bed I noticed that the bed sheets had not been changed and were very dirty. They moved me to another room that basically had no shower, then put me in a 3rd room in which there were insects in the bathroom.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gary John. Anthony 25+ wrote a review May 2022
Budapest, Hungary
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed, in this "little gem" of a hotel, for a one night stay.
It was Delightful.
The front of house receptionists - that made you feel welcomed, appreciated and requests of no difficulty for them to service our needs - Wonderful.
Was it because one of the two female receptionists Mother was born in Adelaide, Australia - the country of our birth - being from Melbourne,Victoria - although we live in Budapest, Hungary ???
Trust she accepts our invitation, you have my e-mail address - authority to use for our contact - her planed trip to Budapest, Hungary - that we play a travel guide role to her for her stay.
Internals of this hotel colour of decor carpets - the actual room facilities - Splendid.
Location - the large historic "Place" or Square that fronts the hotel - the vibrancy of life in it, restaurants and outside market - people movement, from "all stations in life" - culture & backgrounds - Joyous.
The railway station next to the hotel - public service of trains, metro, trams and buses - makes a travellers life - Hassle free - and provides easy Mobility around the splendour that is Lyon,France.
5 Star - we rate this Hotel and my reputation is that I'm a hard marker.
We will return - sooner than later.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Front over-looking "Place" or Square - captures the Theme of this historic...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
marriedcouple32 wrote a review Sept 2019
Northampton, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed 3 nights and we're well looked after and very comfortable. We stayed in room 203 which overlooks a small courtyard. Very quiet and cool. Lovely decor very tastefully chosen modern contemporary. Large shower bathroom and great lighting. Super clean with towels changed daily when required. Close to Gare Perrache.... 2 min walk. Next to a lovely garden/square with places to eat and drink and close walk across the river Saone to Vieux Lyon. Staff are friendly,polite and helpful. An ideal base to discover Lyon at a very good price.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JTPDoyle asked a question Apr 2019
Dublin, Ireland60 contributions29 helpful votes
Are there ironing facilities available?
Wander207224 asked a question Aug 2018
1 contribution
When will the construction complete?
Benjimon wrote a tip Aug 2023
Preston, United Kingdom69 contributions18 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Steps away from train / metro starting on and car park - though parking is around €25 per night"
Read full review
Gary John. Anthony 25+ wrote a tip May 2022
Budapest, Hungary294 contributions233 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Front over-looking "Place" or Square - captures the Theme of this historic "place" - in the history of Lyon,France."
Read full review
bspmassachusetts wrote a tip Nov 2019
Massachusetts18 contributions26 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms in the back of the hotel are quieter. Floors 2 and above are preferable."
Read full review
KYADTO wrote a tip Jul 2019
Lexington, Kentucky169 contributions77 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"The one not having toilet in shower"
Read full review
Steven V wrote a tip Mar 2019
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms bad"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lyon area.
PRICE RANGE
$131 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
l hotel dubost, l hotel lyon
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel Dubost
LOCATION
FranceAuvergne-Rhône-AlpesRhoneLyon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
52
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL DES REMPARTS - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Lyon, France) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel des Remparts
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel des Remparts?
Nearby attractions include The Presqu'île (0.2 km), Le GentleCat - Bar à Chats - Restaurant (0.3 km), and Abbaye de Saint Martin d'Ainay (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel des Remparts?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, breakfast buffet, and reduced mobility rooms.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel des Remparts?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel des Remparts?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel des Remparts?
Conveniently located restaurants include Frazarin, La Table d’Ambre, and L'Établi.
Is Hotel des Remparts located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Lyon.
Are pets allowed at Hotel des Remparts?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel des Remparts?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel des Remparts?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hôtel de Ville de Lyon (2.0 km), Cathédrale Saint-Jean-Baptiste de Lyon (1.1 km), and Musée des Tissus et des Arts Décoratifs (0.5 km).
Is Hotel des Remparts accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Lyon HotelsLyon Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LyonHotels near Hotel des Remparts
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire