Castle Court Motel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Castle Court Motel

1643 State Highway, Wellsford, Auckland New Zealand
Traveller (1)
Room & Suite (56)
Pool & Beach (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Thu, 30 May
$153
$151
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 1 motel in Wellsford
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Come join us in the countryside in Wellsford. We are surrounded by country gardens only one hour from Auckland and Whangarei. Featuring 11 quality self-contained units with views over the rolling Northland landscape. Our units are available in single, double, or family sizes. The property’s shared facilities include a playground, hot tub, and small sauna.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Sauna
Breakfast available
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Baggage storage
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor furniture
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Dining area
Housekeeping
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Sofa
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Languages Spoken
English

Location

1643 State Highway, Wellsford, Auckland New Zealand
48Reviews1Q+A12Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 16
  • 25
  • 5
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Cameron wrote a review Nov 2020
Auckland, New Zealand10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for business purposes on the way up to northland. Great place, parking literally outside your unit, all very clean, hosts were awesome. Motel is set back from the road but you can hear a bit of road noise (I was in unit 1), but it's not bad at all. Definitely worth stopping here, particularly if you leave Auckland rather late.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1811027Scott wrote a review Oct 2023
Auckland, New Zealand176 contributions64 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This motel is situated off the main road and quiet with green fields to look out on. Very clean and bright unit with comfy bed. Ideal place to stop over if travelling north or returning home and need a break from driving. Amenities only a small drive away. Kitchenette very compact and lacked a sink to wash up in but ideal for beverages and breakfast. Our parking wasn't quite in front of our unit but not too far away. Would we stay there again if in Wellsford? Certainly we would.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: If travelling south from motel it is much easier and safer to turn left and go up the road and...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christy & Anne wrote a review Nov 2021
County Donegal, Ireland1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed at the Castle Court Hotel wesport for many times over the last 20 years. We never had a bad experience or issues of any kind. A warm welcome on arrival,hotel so clean, staff so helpful. Food fabulous and service excellent. Leisure centre a real treat
With Covid this time we did not expect 100 % but got 110%. We are looking forward to our next stay, Continued success , highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Departure59733309331 wrote a review Jul 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Quiet and accessible motel just out of Wellsford. Really friendly and welcoming host. Sky TV, proper coffee in the plunger, fresh milk, big bathroom- especially for a motel. Great radiant heater that heated up the unit in no time. We had a nice takeaway meal and bottle of wine in the unit and the kitchenette was well equipped . Great value for the price Recommend, and would definitely stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kikki wrote a review Apr 2023
Auckland, New Zealand361 contributions73 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It's not a five-star hotel, but as a motel, it fits the bill as clean, comfortable and welcoming. It is pretty quiet for being on a busy road (not 100%, but not far off). The beds are very comfortable, and the shower is fine. Everything is fine: it's not "wow", but we didn't pay for "wow". We slept well, the service was friendly, and the location was convenient. All boxes ticked.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emmer24 wrote a review Jul 2014
Coromandel, New Zealand23 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
While driving north on a stormy night we decided to check if the Castle Court Motel had any rooms. The place was very busy, but we were able to get room #8, a very spacious room near the far end of the main building. What a pleasant surprise! The man helping us was friendly and very happy to let us see the room, as well as kept us informed of road conditions for the next day.
The room was hugely spacious, the King bed offered a great night's sleep and despite being very busy, we were not at any time aware of 'noise', even from the highway. We also made use of their private spa and sauna, which was a highlight of our cold and stormy night. Highly recommend this motel and we hope to stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Room # 8 is huge and spacious
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katsolo wrote a review Dec 2014
HamiltonNZ222 contributions107 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here one night for work.
My room was a large studio layout.
Superking bed, nice kitchenette and lovely rural outlook.
The bathroom was large with an accessible shower.

The decor was fresh and the room was spotless.

The hosts were very friendly and welcoming.

Just a note about Wellsford. ...i have to say its the friendliness town in NZ. There are two good decor/gift shops along the main street that I spent a while in and got some Christmas shopping done.

A antique /second hand store had some very pretty items at awesone prices.

The indian takeaways made the best butter chicken ive ever had.

I really enjoyed my brief visit to Wellsford and staying at this motel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
suzannej136 wrote a review Dec 2014
Whangarei, New Zealand50 contributions35 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a Do to attend in Wellsford so I booked months ahead, phoning them direct. I phoned them again a few months later to add an extra person and so change the size of the unit. Both times I spoke with different people and each time they were extremely helpful and friendly. The friendliness and helpfulness continued with our stay and I would give the family-run motel an Excellent Plus for their PR :-) The unit itself was small and nothing special but it was sufficient for our needs (I'm not a fan of blockwork). The road noise was not a problem and we all slept very well. I would recommend this motel and the owners to anyone and would certainly stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IT108 wrote a review Oct 2015
Melbourne, Australia1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I was double charged while staying there and the owners behaviour was very unusual. Apparently didn't know 'how to refund' back on the credit card and offered to refund via bank deposit. For a traveller from overseas that is not an option as if something goes wrong or not refunded, I wonder how many people would follow up from back home. I managed to get my refund after all, but somehow it seemed like this wasn't an isolated incident. Now, I'm not a vicious person and not complaining for the sake of it..just wanted to make people aware to carefuly check their payment and if there's anything wrong, insisit on fixing it on the spot no matter what they say.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Grant K, Owner at Castle Court Motel
Responded 11 Nov 2015
Thank you for your review. A mistake was made on your payment of which you were informed with an apology and soon after a refund. We view this as Honest upfront with a positive outcome. You say you are not a vicious person, but maybe a little judgemental and accusing, Honestly Grant & Glenda
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DesMcMahon wrote a review Mar 2015
Lorne, Australia24 contributions29 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I wonted a motel out of Auckland on our way up north I picked this on the net from Australia so we didn't now if it would be up to our expatiations it exceeded them great views clean room easy parking goog price gust great
Read more
Date of stay: February 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: rooms face back to road
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hikucherrington wrote a tip Nov 2023
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"QUIET. CLEAN. REASONABLY PRICED MOTEL. NOT A HOTEL"
Read full review
1811027Scott wrote a tip Oct 2023
Auckland, New Zealand176 contributions64 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If travelling south from motel it is much easier and safer to turn left and go up the road and turn round and enter the highway . "
Read full review
fionamX9082PY wrote a tip Nov 2018
Auckland, New Zealand4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Unit 11 has sheep and ducks in the paddock next door, is quiet, peaceful and bathroom facilities are excellent."
Read full review
Cherie F wrote a tip Apr 2017
Hastings, New Zealand15 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If a group of you, the two bedroom unit was great."
Read full review
Mary J wrote a tip Apr 2016
Sandpoint, Idaho23 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms at the back of property have added privacy with decks"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Wellsford area.
PRICE RANGE
$115 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandWellsford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CASTLE COURT MOTEL | UPDATED 2023 Reviews & Price Comparison (Wellsford, New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Castle Court Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Castle Court Motel?
Nearby attractions include Albertland & Districts Museum (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Castle Court Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a hot tub.
Which room amenities are available at Castle Court Motel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Castle Court Motel?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Castle Court Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Castle Court Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Caffe Cozy, Peppers Cafe, and Te Hana Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Castle Court Motel?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Castle Court Motel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Is Castle Court Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire