We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

The Spencer Hotel

Save
Share
Excise Walk, IFSC, Dublin 1 International Financial Services Centre, Dublin D01 X4C9 Ireland
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
US$362
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/07/22
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Hotels.com
eDreams
Expedia.comUS$362
View all 21 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (887)
360
Panoramas (46)
Room & Suite (626)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from The Spencer Hotel
Updated 21/09/20

About

#37 of 176 hotels in Dublin
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Located on the banks of the River Liffey, The Spencer Hotel is the perfect base to explore all our capital city has to offer. Trinity College, Grafton Street, Temple Bar and many more of Dublin’s famous landmarks are just minutes’ walk from the Hotel. Our city centre Hotel boasts 209 newly refurbished spacious bedrooms which all feature air conditioning, Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary Wi-Fi and bottled mineral water as standard. The Spencer Health Club features an 18-metre swimming pool and fully equipped gym for you to enjoy whilst staying with us. We are a few short steps from the Red LUAS offering a five-minute connection to Connolly Train Station. We have self-parking facilities with discounted parking rates available to Hotel guests. Our spacious Lobby Lounge offers All Day Dining as well the best cocktails this side of the River Liffey.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Indoor pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Public wifi
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hammam
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German
2785Reviews62Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,790
  • 733
  • 165
  • 52
  • 45
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Richard C wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
I would give the hotel Five Stars Loved the Hotel itself, the staff are probably the friendliest and most helpful of any I have ever stayed in. They really do go out of thier way to help from reception to Housekeeping to bar the owners should be honoured to have a team like that . The rooms are spacious and immaculately clean.as is the the Hotel itself. Unfortunately then we come to the Liesure centre, the pool needs drained and bleached of that green staining that covers 50% of the tiles and grout, The whole centre needs a professional clean and general tidy up. They don't provide towels to hotel guests Instead we had to walk back to our room to get those. But no extra towels are provided so we used the wet ones,we had already we used, we then went back down but had no way to secure our locker none was offered by two salient staff who did not seem interested, so had to go back to the room to leave valuables. It's like a council leisure centre unfortunately. The jacuzzi was closed but working I was told so not be sure why this was, but given general cleanliness I suppose it was a good thing. Really let's a great hotel down and also the great staff that work in it such a shame
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Ciara wrote a review 8 Jan
1 contribution
My friend gifted me a night for the two of us in the spencer hotel for my Christmas, it was the best weekend we’ve had in a long time!! The hotel was gorgeous, everything was so clean and the staff were all so helpful and kind, also the food and drinks were outstanding. We will definitely be returning for a weekend break soon. Also, give Anthony at reception a pay rise, absolute queen made our stay 10/10 👏
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris O'Callaghan, Guest Services / Front Office at The Spencer Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Ciara, Thank you so much for your kind words, I will pass your feedback onto the team and they will be delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. It is very much appreciated that you have highlighted Anthony, I will be sure to personally share this feedback with him. We hope to welcome you to the hotel again in the future.
Read more
traaveller1 wrote a review 8 Jan
County Limerick, Ireland203 contributions49 helpful votes
The Spencer Hotel is an easy journey from Heuston station to Spencer Dock on the red Luas line. However, I drove and parked in one of the complimentary spaces reserved for Spencer Hotel guests in the nearby secure underground public car park. On arrival Anthony on reception was efficient, enthusiastic, knowledgeable and very helpful at our check in. As the hotel knew our booking was for a family celebration we were upgraded on arrival from superior room to junior suite. The whole experience was fantastic. They had even gone to the trouble of leaving a birthday card for me in my room and a congrats on your graduation card in my son's room. The room with large balcony overlooking the river was spacious, comfortable and had all amenities I would expect such as cable TV, wifi, coffee and tea making facilities, complimentary water, hairdryer and bathroom toiletries (including a sealed toothbrush/toothpaste set) Bathrobes and slippers were also provided. The bed was very comfortable and the pillows were plush. We had an issue with the room heating controls which once we reported them were fixed quickly. All COVID precautions were in place and adhered to. We had dinner in the East restaurant. The staff had accommodated an unexpected An Post birthday delivery for me which was placed at my seat at the table. The menu was extensive and the food was delicious. They served mocktails as well as the usual alcoholic drinks. The service was attentive but discreet which meant we could relax and enjoy our meal. The breakfast was a self eservice buffet with all the components of a full irish breakfast available, as well as a continental and gluten free selection. There was a one way route marked out to comply with social distancing guidelines. There was an adequate amount of staff on duty to provide tean and coffee. My son was celebrating his graduation and the staff at breakfast accommodated our request with great timing to bring him a mini cake. I got a present of a Spa treatment and the service there was as good as the rest of the hotel, dicretion, courtesy, respect and efficiency were the hall marks of the service. My shellac pedicure has lasted two months so far!! Overall, the hotel is welcoming, modern and comfortable with lovely homely touches such as the roaring fire in the foyer and plentiful seating areas. It is in a fantastic location to reach Dublin city centre easily and is great value for money. However, it was the staff and service that made our visit that extra special. The ease of dealing directly with the hotel to make our bookings and their flexiblity when we had to change some details was greatly appreciated., While we were there the friendliness, efficiency, attention to detail and adapting to our individual requests made all the difference. I would definitely return to the Spencer Hotel and have no difficulty in highly recommending this hotel to fellow travellers.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Front facing rooms have river views
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris O'Callaghan, Guest Services / Front Office at The Spencer Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Anne Marie, Thank you so much for your kind words, I will pass your feedback onto the team and they will be delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. It is very much appreciated that you have highlighted so many of our team. I will be sure to personally share this feedback with them. We hope to welcome you to the hotel again in the future.
Read more
Annio_7 wrote a review 5 Jan
Belfast94 contributions59 helpful votes
Visited with two friends for a birthday treat. walking distance from Connolly station which was handy. We enjoy a dander so strolled into city centre but took short taxi ride to restaurant in evening. Breakfast was busy so a little slow with a special request, choose your time wisely. Great selection on offer though. Bit of a mix up regarding a table in bar area for drinks but understand it may have related to social distancing. Reception staff very helpful. Would return.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris O'Callaghan, Guest Services / Front Office at The Spencer Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Annio, Thank you so much for your kind words, I will pass your feedback onto the team and they will be delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you to the hotel again in the future.
Read more
Aoife B wrote a review 1 Jan
1 contribution
We had a lovely meal and cocktails in the lounge bar. Laoise was our server and she was amazing, always checking we were looked after with a smile on her face. The atmosphere in the restaurant was also great. Thank you so much Laoise for making our stay more enjoyable!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris O'Callaghan, Guest Services / Front Office at The Spencer Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Aoife, Thank you so much for your kind words, I will pass your feedback onto the team and they will be delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. It is very much appreciated that you have highlighted Laoise, I will be sure to personally share this feedback with her. We hope to welcome you to the hotel again in the future.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$157 - US$319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
dublin clarion, clarion hotel dublin, clarion dublin hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Clarion Hotel Dublin IFSC
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty DublinDublin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
209
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Spencer Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Spencer Hotel?
Nearby attractions include EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum (0.3 km), The Jeanie Johnston: An Irish Famine Story (0.2 km), and The Famine Sculptures (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Spencer Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Spencer Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at The Spencer Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at The Spencer Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Spencer Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cill Airne, Musashi IFSC, and Ely Bar & Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Spencer Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Is The Spencer Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Dublin.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Spencer Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Spencer Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Spencer Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and German.