We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Abbey Hotel

Visit hotel website
Traveller (151)
Room & Suite (61)
Dining (23)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Perfectly located in the Heart of Donegal Town convenient for all local amenities an ideal base for touring the stunning County Donegal. The Abbey Hotel is conveniently situated for beautiful coastal drives and main signature discovery points of the Wild Atlantic Way including the famous Slieve League. Seasonal nightly entertainment in The Bar, Concessionary Parking, Complimentary Leisure Facilities (in our sister Hotel the Central next door), Disabled Access.
Read more
Property amenities
Room service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
River View
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website

Location

Full view
73Somewhat walkable
Grade: 73 out of 100
20Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
14Attractionswithin 0.5 km
916Reviews
201Photos
11Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 323
  • 292
  • 147
  • 85
  • 69
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
stayed for 3 nights. Room was at the back of the hotel so had no view which wasnt a problem.boiler nearby was a little nuisance.. Breakfast was okay but could have more staff serving the food. Could have more variety of bread. The staff were friendly but it wouldnt be a place
Read more
Just stayed for two nights at the Abbey. Staff were friendly and helpful. The room, which was at the back of the hotel, was very average unfortunately and we had kettle failures both mornings which was strange and a real nuisance. We ate breakfast there one day and if you are
Read more
Response from Elaine M, Director of Sales at The Abbey Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Shimore Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, thank you for your kind comments about our friendly and helpful staff. We pride ourselves on customer service excellence. I am sorry for the issue you encountered with your kettle, we would have been able to remedy this had you have reported same during your stay I am sorry you didn't have the breakfast experience that we would have wished for you, we usually receive wonderful feedback about breakfast and this would not be our usual standard In the future i do hope you have an opportunity to return so we can remedy your experience with us Kind regards Elaine
Read more
We stayed there on 16th to 18th Feb we go here always first hotel I come to when I want a break from home to relax.. love it here coming for years food is amazing an staff is so lovely can't do enough to make sure ur stay is nice an relaxing... thanks abbey hotel an staff.. will
Read more
Response from Elaine M, Director of Sales at The Abbey Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you Tracey for taking the time to review your stay at the Abbey Hotel It is a pleasure to read your lovely review We are delighted you enjoyed your experience. Here at the Abbey Hotel we pride ourselves on our wonderful team of staff and their dedication to customer service excellence so thank you for your kind comments. In our menus we are very lucky to have a fantastic culinary team and we can work with so many local produce inspired by the Wild Atlantic Way Thank you for your review We look forward to welcoming you back on the 30th March Kind regards Elaine McInaw
Read more
Took a group of sixteen to the Abbey Hotel. Great hotel. Central location. Staff fantastic kind, helpful, considerate. Nothing is too much for them. Rooms spacious and clean. Warm too. Food is excellent. Fresh - something on the menu for everyone. Worth a visit anytime
Read more
Response from Elaine M, Director of Sales at The Abbey Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Cli0dhnaM Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Abbey Hotel We are delighted you enjoyed your experience. Here at the Abbey Hotel we pride ourselves on our wonderful team of staff and their dedication to customer service excellence so thank you for your kind comments. In our menus we are very lucky to have a fantastic culinary team and we can work with so many local produce inspired by the Wild Atlantic Way Thank you for your review We look forward to welcoming you back Kind regards Elaine McInaw
Read more
Today on the 27th January 2019 between 4pm -5pm I sat for 15 mins at table 11 which is situated in front of bar and wasn’t acknowledged or served. Staff were not busy as they were chatting away behind bar and even as I tried making eye contact would not acknowledge me. Very poor
Read more
Response from Elaine M, Director of Sales at The Abbey Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Cassie I appreciate you taking the time to review your experience, i really can only profusely apologise as this is not at all our usual standard of service. We take on board your feedback and will be investigating same but in the meantime i do hope you have an opportunity to return to us so that you can experience our usual excellent service and we can remedy your impression Kind regards Elaine McInaw
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Photo provided by managementThe Abbey Hotel
Family Room / Diamond View
PreviousNext
12345613
Hi. I know this is a few years old, but how did you get across to Ireland? ferry? from where?
When is the country music weekend on
Our Country Music Weekend is on 19th - 21st January We also have a Country Music Weekend 9th -11th March
0 votes
Show all answers
Is their a swimming pool suite for residents?
Yes, but its next door in the adjacent hotel. there is also a nice hot Jacuzzi, enjoy :)
0 votes
Show all answers
Do you have a lift to all floors.
Yes. There are elevators to all the floors.
1 vote
Show all answers
Hi thebres The Abbey Hotel has lots of Entertainment check out their Facebook page @abbeyhotel our events are on there and we update it weekly with the bar entertainment. Hope that helps, catherine
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
123
"Ask for a quiet room when booking"
"Best views are on the river side."
"We had a room to the back of the hotel and it was very quiet"
"Ask to see it first or go elsewhere"
"Stay somewhere else that is clean and has parking"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$125 - US$219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the abbey hotel donegal townabbey hotel donegal
LOCATION
IrelandDonegal Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
117
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing