We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Craigmonie Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality

Save
Share
9 Annfield Road, Inverness IV2 3HX Scotland
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
US$133
View deal
Official Site
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (193)
360
Panoramas (13)
Room & Suite (196)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 09/10/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Craigmonie Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality
Updated 09/10/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#16 of 37 hotels in Inverness
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Welcome to the Craigmonie Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality we are situated in a quiet leafy residential area, yet only a matter of minutes from the centre of Inverness, Scotlands newest and fastest growing city, the hotel dates back to 1880 with the ambience of a country house, the Craigmonie Hotel offers a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere in which to enjoy your stay, whether it be for business or pleasure. This fine independently run highland hotel boasts 40 well-appointed en-suite bedrooms ranging from single rooms, superior doubles and gorgeous family rooms. You will find a warm welcome complemented by professional service and a range of facilities for both you and your guests to enjoy throughout your stay at the Craigmonie Hotel.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Business
Languages Spoken
English
808Reviews11Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 351
  • 256
  • 128
  • 45
  • 28
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Drillerkc2014 wrote a review 13 Nov
Chesley, Canada60 contributions61 helpful votes
3rd time here. They held our money from covid time which made life easy. Parking can be difficult as there are a lot of meetings some evenings. Very easy access to countryside by car and easy 15 minute walk to all downtown restaurants. We ate there 1 night and food was enjoyable. Good selection of whisky. Breakfast is normal Scottish buffet. Good, not spectacular. Staff are all pleasant and helpful Room 251 was large and quiet. Layout is disjointed due to age of building and additions. Rooms are just showing their age after renovations, but mostly clean. We will return. Thanks
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Niall MacLennan, General Manager at Craigmonie Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your last 3 visits to the hotel and that we are situated in a convenient area for your needs. We are delighted that you enjoyed dining in our restaurant and our selection of whisky's were to your liking. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon. Kind regards, The Craigmonie Team
Read more
Charles S wrote a review 13 Nov
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom852 contributions616 helpful votes
My wife and extended family stayed at the hotel for 5 nights in July this year on our visit to Scotland. The 19th century 'country house' style hotel is situated in a quiet residential area with a large off road car park. We found the hotel to be comfortable with a relaxed atmosphere and excellent facilities managed by friendly attentive staff. On the first evening, following a tiring journey by road from the lake district, we decided to dine in at the hotel. The meal was fine but we were alone in the main empty dining room as everyone else was in the warm cosy lounge bar area watching a Scotland euro football match. It was a short walk, approximately 15-20 mins, depending upon pace, to the centre of Inverness, we dined out at various restaurants for the other evenings of our stay, there are plenty from which to choose. The hotel facilities include a small indoor swimming pool of which we took advantage. Overall a most enjoyable stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Niall MacLennan, General Manager at Craigmonie Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Charles, Thank you for taking the time to review your previous stay. I am delighted to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us in July and found our staff to be efficient and helpful. I hope you were not too lonely in the restaurant while dining with us and were not to inconvenienced by any football supporters. We hope to welcome you back when you next return to Inverness. Kind regards, The Craigmonie Team
Read more
Family holidays wrote a review 2 Nov
fortwilliam11 contributions8 helpful votes
Stayed at this hotel with family and had family weddings at this hotel oh my whatever went wrong Booked a room through late rooms .com to stay at Craigmoinie as thought it would be better choice at £114 per night Booked on 3rd October as travelling for business to stay evening of 4 th October Unbelievable room was dirty looking cold and camp bed for my 27 year old son that would be uncomfortable for a child So I gave them benefit of doubt and just asked for different room The girl on reception was polite and kind unlike the duty manager Callum Who proceeded to tell me it was my fault for booking wrong room Long story short we were forced into the street to look for another hotel without a refund at 8 pm at night We managed to get into Holiday inn express stoneyfield inverness What a relief this was and I must add warm clean and comfortable At £115 for the night So at this point I am now £300 out of pocket I was assured by craigmoinie general manager I would have refund in 5 days or so We are now a month on and nothing no refund and disgusted I will never stay in this hotel again its just awful service Stay in a travelogue at £29 rooms are better I have given a month before writing this review to see how they deal with the issue which I feel is fair In my opinion it’s not the problem it’s how you deal with the problem that counts and basically you haven’t So you leave me no choice
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Avoid like the plague
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Niall MacLennan, General Manager at Craigmonie Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I would like to begin by apologising that the cleanliness of your room was not up to standard, Housekeeping has been made aware of the issue and please be assured that is not our usual standard of service. Unfortunately on the night you stayed the hotel was fully booked so we could not find an alternative room for your stay. You had booked a family maisonette suitable for 2 adults and 2 children therefore the room was set accordingly. The hotel has not taken any payment for this booking and we contacted the third party you booked with on the 4th of October, while you were in house to make them aware of the complaint and to issue you a full refund. The Reception Manager has advised you to contact the third party to approve your refund, which we are unable to do for you as they need confirmation from the guest. If you require any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us directly. Kind regards, The Craigmonie Team
Read more
anonymous2705 wrote a review Oct 2021
London, United Kingdom37 contributions5 helpful votes
We stayed here for 1 night in a family room with our kids (age 3 and 7) in October. We had breakfast and dinner here too. It was nice but maybe slightly expensive for what you get. The children's meal was a good deal but probably better suited for older children as it was way too much for my 3 year old. The hotel is a bit tired but this is probably reflected in the price. All the staff were really nice and friendly. The kids enjoyed the pool but the ladies changing room was very dirty and the shower in the changing room was scalding hot. I ended up changing the kids by the poolside. We didn't walk into town but I think it would have taken longer than 10-15 mins with kids.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Sarah L wrote a review Oct 2021
5 contributions
This hotel is a bit worn and tired in decor - but good in all the right places for a comfortable stay. Beds and pillows comfy, you can run a lovely hot bath bath anytime in about 60 seconds, shower also good. Spotlessly clean everywhere. All staff are friendly, helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Delicious proper hot chocolate from the bar 😊. 10 mins walk from the centre of Inverness. Didn’t eat here so can’t comment on the food but a happy , comfy stay and would return.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$88 - US$230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
craigmonie hotel and leisure ltd., craigmonie hotel inverness, craigmonie hotel leisure ltd
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Swallow Craigmonie
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandScottish HighlandsInverness
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Craigmonie Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality
Which popular attractions are close to Craigmonie Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality?
Nearby attractions include The Malt Room (1.0 km), River Ness (1.0 km), and North Coast 500 (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Craigmonie Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Craigmonie Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Craigmonie Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Craigmonie Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality?
Conveniently located restaurants include Milk Bar, Cheese & Tomatin, and Nar Mediterranean Turkish Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Craigmonie Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Craigmonie Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Craigmonie Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Craigmonie Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Craigmonie Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Inverness Castle Viewpoint (0.8 km), Inverness Town House (0.9 km), and Highland Railway Company 1914-1919 Memorial (1.1 km).