We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Pentahotel Inverness

Save
Share
63 Academy Street, Inverness IV1 1LU Scotland
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
US$99
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/01/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$99
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/01/22
Expedia.comUS$99
Priceline
Official HotelUS$99
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (322)
Room & Suite (58)
Dining (30)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 03/01/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Pentahotel Inverness
Updated 03/01/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#27 of 38 hotels in Inverness
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Important information on limited service Due to the current coronavirus (COVID-19) situation, we are experiencing temporary limitation of our service in some destinations. Please keep up with the latest information provided on our website. For your own health and safety, we continue to closely monitor the situation, following guidelines from the World Health Organisation and local health authorities. Thank you very much for your understanding. - From our beautifully central location on Academy Street, pentahotel Inverness is your perfect base for a perfect stay in the capital of the Scottish Highlands. Shops, attractions, historic sites and the knockout northern beauty of our landscape are all here, waiting for you. And of course there’s no escaping the famous Nessie, our rarely spotted but very important local celebrity. You never know, he might be staying with us at the same time as you. Autograph opportunity…
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Kids stay free
Highchairs available
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Car park
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Telephone
Electric kettle
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
VIP room facilities
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Polish
1708Reviews13Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 493
  • 578
  • 356
  • 158
  • 123
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sus wrote a review Dec 2021
3 contributions
On 3rd Dec I booked into the Pentahotel in Inverness and allocated a room. We then proceeded to our room and entered only to find out someone was already allocated this room, very embarrassing!!!! We returned to reception and was greeted by a very unhelpful and rude receptionist who did not apologise for her mistake and was downright rude in my opinion, adding to our awkwardness.  We were very reluctant to even speak to her. She allocated us another room. We then unpacked etc, my husband left for a meeting leaving me alone. Approximately 15 mins after, someone was trying to enter my room, I felt very anxious and nervous as I was in my own. I opened the door to find two ladies trying to use their key to get in, I explained what had happened to us and advised they go to reception. I have stayed in many hotels in the past and have never experienced this before, I have never felt unsafe or insecure in a hotel until now. I emailed customer services to highlight what happened asking for a reply within 5 days or I would publish a negative review. I’m still waiting for a response. I really am very disappointed with my experience in Inverness Pentahotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Don’t book this hotel.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
stevebintley wrote a review Oct 2021
Bedford, United Kingdom5039 contributions823 helpful votes
For a central location in the city this is an ideal hotel, being very close to the train and bus station as well as being surrounded by restaurants and pubs. The river is a short stroll away and you certainly feel like you’re in the middle of all the action. I arrived quite late in the evening on a Friday but the arrival process was slick and the staff friendly. Reception is located behind the bar as per all the properties in the chain, so it can feel busier than necessary, but the small lift was quick at getting you to the accommodation floors. The rooms itself was a decent enough size although did feel a little sparse. There was a working desk along with a lovely book on the city sights although drink facilities were lacking. The armchair was comfortable, as was the bed, but the view wasn’t much. The bathroom had a large walk in shower with disappointing damage to the glass wall, and although the metal sink wouldn’t be to everyone’s taste there was at least plenty of storage space surrounding it. The restaurant and bar was comfortable with some good seating options for both singletons and groups. Drink choices seemed to be very limited, although with the number of immediate options outside this shouldn’t be too much of a problem. Overall for a short stay where you need to be in the city centre I’d recommend and would certainly return. The room wasn’t the most cosy however so I’m not sure I would consider for a holiday base but with the exciting surroundings there wouldn’t be much need to spend an excessive amount of time there!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Ann L wrote a review Oct 2021
Sutton, United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
Arrived for 3 days stay. Noted one loo roll, 1 small glass bottle of water and 1 glass in room. Room very cold and attempts to increase heating didn’t work… no way to increase heating! Room dark n dingy and duvet too small for bed…pillows gave no support and rotten sleep for 2 nights. Asked staff to please put loo roll in room but no luck ! Overall would not recommend and would not stay again. Only plus was central location of this place. Might be better to book Travelodge directly opposite next time !! Pls don’t waste your money and book alternative accommodation for your stay
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Wimpie Blatt, General Manager at Pentahotel Inverness
Responded 20 Oct 2021
Dear Z3755QHannl Thank you for reviewing our hotel and I'm sorry to hear your stay was not an enjoyable one. We strive to provide our guests with the very best customer service and whilst we are by no means perfect we do work hard to improve and respond to any feedback, good or bad. I will be sure to pass your comments to our team and I do hope that if you would like to discuss this with me personally you would contact our hotel directly. I do hope you will accept our apologies for the issues you encountered and I hope you will consider our hotel again in the future. Sincerely, Wimpie Blatt and Team-Inverness
Read more
Jim Fraser, on my travels :) wrote a review Oct 2021
Barton Seagrave, United Kingdom473 contributions209 helpful votes
Sorry, but would not recommend this place. Lets start from the beginning...the attitude of the staff at check-in ruined the first impressions. Now let's talk the room; I realise this hotel is trying to be different, trendy and all that, but what low level lighting that worked made for a very dark room. One light that had its switch on the floor would only work if we stuck a chair on it. The bathroom was a mess of damp up the walls, a strange bit of scaffolding off the top of a cabinet was the only hanging space and two of the sockets in the room were faulty. Add to that the strange and very rough grey second pillows left in the room to sleep on, my wife and I both feel we would have got better elsewhere for less. However, on a positive note, the breakfast buffet each morning was superb and the hotels location great...but we wont stay here again when next in Inverness and therefore I don't recommend this hotel. Other reviews mentioned the attitude of the staff and when I booked this hotel, I took those reviews to be a matter of personal opinion. However, having experienced the place now for myself I have to now question the management for allowing poor hospitality and poor maintenance. :(
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Check in is really late at 3pm and I would avoid it as this is clearly when the staff are most...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Wimpie Blatt, General Manager at Pentahotel Inverness
Responded 20 Oct 2021
Dear X8685WHjamesf Thank you for reviewing our hotel and I'm sorry to hear your stay was not an enjoyable one. We strive to provide our guests with the very best customer service and whilst we are by no means perfect we do work hard to improve and respond to all feedback, good or bad. I will be sure to pass your comments to our housekeeping team. We have always received great feedback on our rooms, beds & décor. I have also taken your feedback on board and as the key person looking after this beautiful hotel, I can assure you the team has always been very courteous, respectful and eager to seek ways on a positve Penta guests journey. Again, my sincerest apologies that on this occasion we did not satisfy your expectations and should you find yourself in need of accommodation, please do let me know as I would like to provide you a second journey to see what we normally do the best. Wimpie Blatt & Team penta-Inverness
Read more
pildyboys wrote a review Oct 2021
Ossett, United Kingdom684 contributions99 helpful votes
We had a faultless stay here. The room was spotless and the food very good. Slightly disappointed with the drinks selection they seemed very under stocked. But could have had a massive party at the weekend I guess. Joined the rewards scheme and got a nice discount. Nothing was too much trouble Will use these at other locations I hope. .
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Wimpie Blatt, General Manager at Pentahotel Inverness
Responded 20 Oct 2021
Dear pildyboys Thank you for reviewing our hotel We very much appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and giving us a 5 star. We are very proud of our hard working team and we continue to look for new ways to improve our service for our guests. As per national news, there is a shortage on CO2 production followed by a lack of lorry drivers to move goods around the UK, sadly this has a direct impact on the hospitality trade, hence the reason for no draught beer and various lines in our Penta lounge not available. This is unfortunately outside of our control and my team is devastated that they couldn't showcase our amazing drinks line up. Please let us now of any future requests and we will be delighted to cater for all your needs. Keep safe & see you soon! #pentalovesyou Wimpie Blatt & Team penta-inverness
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$64 - US$213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ramada encore inverness hotel inverness
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
pentahotel Inverness
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandScottish HighlandsInverness
NUMBER OF ROOMS
90
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Pentahotel Inverness
Which popular attractions are close to Pentahotel Inverness?
Nearby attractions include The Malt Room (0.1 km), River Ness (0.4 km), and North Coast 500 (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Pentahotel Inverness?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Pentahotel Inverness?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Pentahotel Inverness?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Pentahotel Inverness?
Yes, a parking garage and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pentahotel Inverness?
Conveniently located restaurants include Milk Bar, Cheese & Tomatin, and Nar Mediterranean Turkish Restaurant.
Is Pentahotel Inverness located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Inverness.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Pentahotel Inverness?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to Pentahotel Inverness?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Inverness Castle Viewpoint (0.4 km), Inverness Town House (0.3 km), and Highland Railway Company 1914-1919 Memorial (0.07 km).
Is Pentahotel Inverness accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.