We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Traveller (175)
Room & Suite (340)
Dining (47)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Relax in style and complete comfort at the 4-star Macdonald Highlands Hotel. With 151 luxury rooms-with-a-view and its own signature restaurant, Aspects, boasting spectacular views of the Cairngorm Mountains, the Highlands Hotel is ideal for discerning business and leisure travellers. For relaxation there's direct access to Aviemore Activity Centre, a TV lounge with comfy sofas and a DVD player, and the cozy Laggan whisky bar.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Room Service
Free Parking
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Conference Facilities
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Mountain View
HOTEL CLASS
948Reviews
584Photos
13Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 239
  • 286
  • 227
  • 119
  • 78
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Great Staff specially one of the Manager's Devan been looking after us in the Giovanni's Restaurant on Thursday Night, beautiful place & a lot of activities. The Giovanni's has a very nice interior...
Read more
We stayed here over the 1/2 term break two adults two children. We wanted a close getaway with the kids that had something for everyone. We knew weather would probably not be up to much so we were looking for a hotel with a pool and activities close to hand, this hotel looked to
Read more
Response from General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Joanna Many thanks for taking then time to post your feedback on trip advisor. I was sorry to read your disappointment in the Aspects Restaurant and the service delivery issues you encountered. I have passed the feedback on to Chris, our Aspects Manager for action. Its the great constructive feedback which I know he will find helpful. I found the feedback about the pool/wave machine etc really helpful and we are looking into what kind of extra exposure we can offer in line with our life guard commitments. Once again and many thanks for your feedback Aviemore Resort General Manager
Read more
My husband and I stayed here for what was ment to be a 3 night break , we left after 2 nights .. not only were we told on arriving that we could not have the king room we paid for but the service was shocking! Waiting over to hours for room service which we never got and had to
Read more
Response from General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Responded today
Dear Lisa Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback in trip advisor and I am sorry elements of your experience were not up to scratch. I was disappointed to read your comments about room service and breakfast and I have forwarded them to Chris our Aspects Manager for his action. Neither these aspects of your stay are difficult to get right and could have easily been avoided. I was interested to read your comments about the leisure and spa facility. I take on board your point about advertising a relaxing break but the reality is that we accommodate many families here and cant always guarantee a quiet environment unfortunately. I am sorry that your experience has left you lacking in confidence in both our product and also booking.com as a booking platform. If you would like to speak with me further please do not hesitate to call me at the resort Chris Harrington Resort General Manager
Read more
Really disappointed with this visit. We arrived at 3:30 and one of our rooms was not ready. There is a wave pool but the waves are only on for 5 MINS at the top of the hour. It was a great slide but the slide is only open for 20 mins after the waves ( 3 hours a day) and because
Read more
Response from General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Robert Many thanks for taking some time to post your comments from your recent stay with us at Aviemore Resort and I was sorry to read your feedback that most of which was easily avoidable. The comments about the wave machine has been repeated by other trip advisors and it is something we are looking at. The comment about the waiters arguing was also frustrating to read as menu knowledge is not a difficult element to get right. I fed this back to our Aspects Manager for his action Robert. The most disappointing part of your feedback was, by far, the attitude of the employee at reception. I am sorry if she came across as rude. No business wishes to be described as the worst and please rest assured I will endeavour to make the things right moving forward Many thanks and kind regard Aviemore General manager
Read more
Just returned from a 3 night stay. We were upgraded to an executive room in the McDonald Highland. The room was a good size but really cold with the heater turned up full. Needs another heater. Lack of drawer storage space and some coat hooks behind the door would be useful. The
Read more
Response from General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Responded today
Dear Elaine Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback on trip advisor and I was sorry to read of your disappointment at our product. Some of your comments reflect a good product but poor service delivery and please rest assured that we are looking at how the rooms are heated and also how the heat is maintained in the rooms. Generally our breakfast receives good feedback and i was sorry to see your comments about the temperature of the food as its is something that is not particularly difficult to get right. I passed on this feedback to our Executive Head Chef for his review and action. I was sorry to read about the confusion with table allocation which must have been quite embarrassing, I think managing the volume of guests at pinch points could be slicker. Once again many thanks for the feedback and please understand that all feedback received is used as a valuable instrument to improve our business. Kind regards Chris Harrington Aviemore Resort General Manager
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachFamily and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorMacdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
The Tomatin Suite at the Macdonald Highlands Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorMacdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
The Executive Double Room at the Macdonald Highlands Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorMacdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
The Classic Double Room at the Macdonald Highlands Hotel
PreviousNext
12345668
"Highland hotel is a fair hike from the amenities. Don't book Highland Hotel if you are very infirm as there are split levels."
"Building 2 has a shortcut access to leisure facilities."
"If its a family stay (over 4 adults) take the lodge.."
"Just check everything is to your liking when first accessing the room especially if of restricted mobility"
"Top floor water pressure not good so shower quite weak."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$104 - US$251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
macdonald highlands aviemoremacdonald highlands hotelhotel macdonald highlands
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandBadenoch and StrathspeyAviemore
NUMBER OF ROOMS
151
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing