We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Britannia Edinburgh Hotel

Traveller (676)
360
Panoramas (34)
Room & Suite (313)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Situated on the banks of the Waters of Leith in the West end of Edinburgh City Centre, the Britannia Hotel Edinburgh has 223 bedrooms and is conveniently located within easy reach of many of the city's major attractions.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast Available
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Wheelchair Access
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
River View
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
82Good for walkers
Grade: 82 out of 100
14Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
8Attractionswithin 0.5 km
Neighbourhood
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighbourhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theatres and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Read more
See all nearby hotels
2,088Reviews
829Photos
27Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 155
  • 349
  • 449
  • 388
  • 747
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
We booked The Brittania for 1 night and in such a short space of time it’s surprising how much can be wrong with a place. First off on arrival the car park for the hotel is tiny ok that can’t always be helped but they charge you to park there! You don’t get the courtesy of
Read more
Unfortunately the room was cold. You have to pay £5.00 for parking and the reception said if you want park your car on the road. The breakfast is unreasonable expensive as with £12.00 you can eat out in a pub. Also the windows in the room don't close very well as a result you
Read more
I stayed here for two nights at a not very economical price. What a big mistake that was!! Never again!! When I booked online, it was clear that the room didn't have windows. Fine, no problem... I only want the room to sleep. Besides the room medium size, this one was on the
Read more
Stayed at Britannia Edinburgh on Saturday 16th and 17th February I don’t have one complaint about this hotel I got a lovely room in the corridor behind reception we also had a fridge in room which was good for keeping out beer warm we had dinner both nights and each night dinner
Read more
Previously we have stayed with the britannia Hotel chain in Manchester and the rooms were lovely and clean. We chose to stay with this chain again in Edinburgh as we had a good experience before. When staying in hotels we don't expect much, just a clean comfy room. The room we
Read more
Response from Britanniahoteledin, General Manager at Britannia Edinburgh Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello Mattcas2019 Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us at the Britannia Hotel Edinburgh, Your comments have been passed over to the relevant departments and will be investigated so thank you for your feed back, Regarding your pillow situation, We have recently had all new pillows in the rooms so its sad to hear you didn't find this comfortable, you mention about the parking, This is actually incorrect you can pay for 48 hours - This being the CHEAPEST IN THE WHOLE OF EDINBURGH. hope to see you again soon. Thanks.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorBritannia Edinburgh Hotel
The VIP Room at the Britannia Edinburgh Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorBritannia Edinburgh Hotel
The Twin Room at the Britannia Edinburgh Hotel
clean bed
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorBritannia Edinburgh Hotel
The Family Room at the Britannia Edinburgh Hotel
PreviousNext
12345659
Do you need key to access the lifts ?
Keys are not needed to access the lift.
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi is there a lift?
3 including the service elevator that accesses the lower ground floor.
0 votes
Show all answers
Car parking availability
Yes there is parking. Ample space in fact.
0 votes
Show all answers
They do have irons. The one in a room I had left it’s mark on the floor, but I would advise staying somewhere else.
0 votes
Show all answers
Do the rooms have tea+,coffee facilities
Yes they do have tea and kettle.
1 vote
Show all answers
PreviousNext
123456
"Just Don;t go to this hotel. Avoid at all cost!"
"Stay somewhere else!!!!"
"none! dont book here!"
"Ask for room overlooking river."
"room 6 faces the river and no road noise,i did notice some rooms close to the main road which i think would of been effected by traffic"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$43 - US$181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
travelodge edinburgh west end hotel edinburghedinburgh travelodgeedinburgh travel lodge
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Belford Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghWest End
NUMBER OF ROOMS
223
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing