We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Jewellery Quarter

Save
Share
98-104 Constitution Hill, Birmingham B19 3JT England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Hilton Honors Discount
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
US$97
View deal
Travelocity
eDreams
Hampton
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (237)
360
Panoramas (12)
Room & Suite (129)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
Updated 30/03/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Jewellery Quarter
Updated 30/03/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#60 of 127 hotels in Birmingham
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A warm welcome awaits you at the Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North. Our modern hotel is just a 10 minute walk from the city center and offers easy access to the M6/M5 Motorway. Perfect for both business and leisure travelers; The National Indoor Arena, ICC and Broad Street are just a 10 minute walk and the hotel is adjacent to St Paul's Tram Station.
Read more
Room & Suite (129)129
Full view
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Safe
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 4 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Hilton Honors Discount
1337Reviews17Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 479
  • 495
  • 194
  • 84
  • 85
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
OmarK wrote a review Dec 2020
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom58 contributions45 helpful votes
08/12/2020 If you travel regularly, you will be familiar with the concept that "Top Secret Deals" aside, you really do get what you pay for. Now, it's lockdown again, Birmingham is at level3, so my expectations were tempered; no breakfast buffet, no restaurants open, eating in my room etc.But this was still very disappointing. On check-in, only one member of staff on duty, very polite and helpful and dealt with quickly, but neglected to ask for my Hilton Honours membership number. No member upgrades offered. All staff have been helpful, pleasant and very efficient given restrictions imposed. No night time disturbances written about by other guests, but i was staying mon-wed. Nearest cashpoint at the Tesco Supermarket further up the street. Room (112) was decently sized, furnishings in good condition and "clean stay" stickered (are you not already cleaning all these extra areas? should I be worried about that?). Window had view of flat roof between another bank of rooms, with a thin slit of a "view" but blessedly VERy quiet and didn't have to worry about the railtrack facing rooms and the constant tram noise. Some noise from nearby lift, but hotel was largely quiet, with floors 2-4 closed. Large shower with plenty of hot water, but lowish pressure..Basic tea and coffee supplied, toiletries were bolted to the wall dispensers, towels clean and fresh smelling, but a little stiff. Little else provided. Bed was firm and creaking springs, but comfortable. Heating would not go higher that 24c, noisy gurglings on startup so turned off during the night. Breakfast was a continental affair served in a pizza box (Banana, ham, cheese, sausage roll, bread roll, yoghurt, waffle, croissant, juice box, additional tea and coffee) . Overall it was okay and edible, and as good as I could hope for having already been advised to expect this (see pic). One 2nd day, returned to my room and housekeeping had not been in. Given that we are required to eat in our rooms, this is far from ideal, and I resorted to leaving my bin and empty takeaway boxes outside. I don't know if this is a policy under lockdown or if I had been forgotten, but nothing had been mentioned at check-in. Pros: Good location, plenty of power sockets, modern feel and furniture in good condition, nice pillows and towels. Cons: Hard bed, tiny window will not much light, housekeeping forgot about me, edible breakfast, but you'll want to get something elsewhere. Overall, this is NOT a hotel representative of Hilton and expectations should be set accordingly. I won't complain too much for £40/night and given lockdown requirements closing many other local hotels, but this fell far short of the "Hilton Service" I've been accustomed to. Premier Inn or Ibis would be nearest competitor.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Stick to internal facing rooms for a quieter night.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Claudia Soler, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Jewellery Quarter
Responded 30 Mar 2021
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review regarding your stay at Hampton by Hilton Jewelery Quarter. We are delighted to know that you found our rooms interior was to your liking. We are disheartened to know that you were not satisfied with your breakfast experiences. Since our hotel has been closed since March, we've been improving on our services and offerings and do hope you will reconsider a visit again soon !
Read more
mani_gla wrote a review Oct 2020
Glasgow, United Kingdom230 contributions137 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Arrived early evening and had a smooth and attentive check in good customer service. Rooms are a bit on the smaller side but clean and well maintained. Upon checkout again attentive staff smooth check out. Overall a great quick stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Claudia Soler, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Jewellery Quarter
Responded 7 Apr 2021
Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Jewellery Quarter as your place of choice and for taking the time to leave such a remarkable review. Your positive review will be shared with the entire team, so we can continue to take pride in serving you. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Read more
TravelsRwe wrote a review Oct 2020
Surrey25 contributions64 helpful votes
So a one night stay was enough at this Hampton, positive side being that the hotel is right by St Paul’s Metro station and a very short walk. Some people have stated that the tram can be heard in the room but this should be the least of your concerns (and in fairness I never heard it at all). Check-In was fine and friendly enough and the room allocated was the standard Hampton Room with the usual features. However literally just along the road is a cheap off licence and upon returning to the hotel later that night, the youths buying alcohol were making a nuisance by coming into the hotel and playing with the lifts (which are not card control). However it’s the paper thin walls and cheap construction with no noise insulation that really disturbed our night, room next door clearly had more people than should have with door slamming, screaming and hallway noise, Nelly the Elephant and her family in the room above stomping away meant that a room swap near midnight had to be made - only for morning noise from another room start up - Ugh.. No hot breakfast is available (even though the bar is open during the afternoon and evening) and a food bag is left outside your door. The contents of which leave a lot to be desired and most of which was left, far far below the quality that is normally served. Checked out early as couldn’t bear to be in the room any longer. Still waiting on manger to contact myself despite broken promises and useless Hilton Customer Services - Actually just avoid this particular Hampton and stay elsewhere...
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Claudia Soler, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Jewellery Quarter
Responded 7 Apr 2021
Greetings TravelsRwe, I am so sorry that external noises disturbed you during your stay and please, accept my apologies if this issue was not attended to as quickly as it should have happened. In the future, if you do stay with us, please let the front desk know if you are being annoyed and they will be more than happy to assist you. Please don't hesitate to email us directly for any further assistance at BHXBN_hampton@hilton.com
Read more
peterbC8150KU wrote a review Oct 2020
Morden, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
Spent a night in this hotel. As others have found security at might is basically non existent. Doors left open all hours with non residents coming and going at all hours. Minimal (1) staff member plus a useless security guard at night ! People in rooms who should not be in the hotel so had to move rooms at midnight ! Hilton should have more staff on. An off licence next to the entrance selling cheap alcohol only makes matters worse. Agree with others... no breakfast served due to Covid-19 yet bar open all day ! Bagged excuse of a breakfast dropped ( yes literally ) outside the room, not fit to eat ! Don’t ask for a call back from the hotel as you will be waiting and waiting .... they do not honour their promises either....after staying in many great Hampton Inns around the world this has to be the most unsafe and worst. There are many better hotels who will really value your business in Birmingham so I would suggest looking elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Claudia Soler, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Jewellery Quarter
Responded 7 Apr 2021
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Jewellery Quarter and for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. Please, accept my apologies for any dissatisfaction you experienced during your visit, we have had taken note of this, and although we do experience technical difficulties, we have placed this as a priority and have resolved this issue. Unfortunately, we do not control people's whereabouts, we ensure your safety is our number one priority. I know the breakfast is not your ideal full breakfast, however, we have tried to provide a reasonable breakfast within government guidelines. I am sorry if the variety of food offered for breakfast did not meet your expectations. I have shared your comment with the relevant department to check if any improvements can be made. Should you need any further assistance, please feel free to email us directly at BHXBN_hampton@hilton.com
Read more
Carl-Darren M wrote a review Oct 2020
5 contributions5 helpful votes
We stay at Hilton hotels often but I do forget the Hampton brand is the bottom rung of their chain. Compare it to an Easy Hotel or Ibis budget. This hotel is no exception. We chose to spend a Saturday night. On arrival, we asked where the nearest car park was, and we were advised to stay at the NCP 1/3 mile away at a cost of £10. However, we found a car park at the back of the hotel for £6.00 for 24 hours. Guessing the hotel is on commission with NCP. Once we were allocated our room, we found the window was a narrow slot in the corner of the room looking at a brick alleyway and no other natural light. We switched rooms to another room with a slightly larger window. When you look at the hotel from outside, it appears there was a shortage of glass when the hotel was built as all windows at the rear of tiny compared to the room size. The room was ok. Whilst there was a kettle, the 1 coffee sachet and 1 tea bag were hardly adequate for a double room. The main problem was the thin walls. We had a mother and child at the side of us and the mother allowed her child to run up and down their room which echoed into ours. The noise was so bad we requested to move rooms again. (this was after 4 hours of the noise). Reception were initially not helpful and took the side of the noisy neighbour. Only when I went to reception and said I want another room or I am moving to another hotel, did the relent. We were moved 2 doors up from the noisy room yet even then we could still hear the thudding of the child running (although not so loud). The whole night was completed by the absolute rubbish served for breakfast in a paper bag outside our door. Due to COVID, normal service could not happen so instead we got the equivalent of 80p of long-life poor-quality food. A piece of rubber cheese, defrosted bread-roll, long life orange drink, couple of satsumas. hardly a Hilton breakfast. We didn't even bother to eat it but went into town for breakfast. Funny how the hotel can't do breakfast due to COVID, but the bar was fully operational. If you want a cheap hotel room with no frills, average customer service and essentially no breakfast after a noisy night, then this is the hotel for you. We will never book a Hampton again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Claudia Soler, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Jewellery Quarter
Responded 7 Apr 2021
Greeting Carl- Darren M, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Jewellery Quarter. On behalf of the hotel, please accept my apologies for any dissatisfaction you experienced during your visit. Your detailed review showed that you were unhappy with some aspects of your stay. Firstly allow me to highlight we do not get any commissions on parking, however as a hotel entity, we want to always provide the most reasonable and best safer options. although there are many on-street car parks, The NCP car park is a secure monitor parking. It is very unfortunate that you were not happy with the room assigned and that you were disturbed by external noises. I believe that the agent who was on shift tried their best to rectify this situation as best as possible. I am sorry if the variety of breakfast options did not meet your expectations. I have shared your comment with the relevant department to check if any improvements can be made. Thank you for sharing your feedback as we strive to improve our service, to better serve you in the near future.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$70 - US$173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandWest MidlandsBirminghamLadywood
NUMBER OF ROOMS
109
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Jewellery Quarter
Which popular attractions are close to Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Jewellery Quarter?
Nearby attractions include Escape Live - Birmingham (0.3 km), Clue HQ - The Live Escape Game (0.4 km), and Escape Reality (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Jewellery Quarter?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Jewellery Quarter?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Jewellery Quarter?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Jewellery Quarter?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Jewellery Quarter?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Folium, 24 Carat Bistro, and Coffee Tales.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Jewellery Quarter?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Jewellery Quarter?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Russian, Polish, Romanian, and Slovak.
Are there any historical sites close to Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Jewellery Quarter?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Birmingham Back to Backs (1.6 km), Steelhouse Lane Lock-up (0.7 km), and Soho House (1.8 km).
Is Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Jewellery Quarter accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.