We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich

Save
Share
1200 Chester Road Junction 5, M6, Birmingham B35 7AF England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Orbitz.com
Priceline
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (65)
360
Panoramas (29)
Room & Suite (124)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#83 of 127 hotels in Birmingham
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
This modern, comfortable hotel offers guests great value just off the M6 and within easy reach of Birmingham city centre. The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich, is situated just 25 minutes from the heart of the city and 8 miles from Birmingham International Airport. Other nearby venues include the NEC Arena and popular family destinations such as Cadbury World, Drayton Manor and Sealife Centre. The hotel features 110 guest rooms, all well-equipped to offer you a most comfortable stay. All rooms feature en-suite bathrooms, free Wi-Fi and digital TV among other amenities. Guests can relax in the hotel's 24 hour lounge bar, enjoying the laid-back atmosphere, a refreshing drink or tasty snack. A Express Start breakfast is served each morning in the Great Room. Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich has a well-appointed meeting room which can host up to 25 delegates. The hotel's skilled team will assist you in planning and hosting your next corporate occasion. Complimentary parking is provided in the hotel's on-site car park. The hotel's friendly team are available 24 hours a day at reception and look forward to welcoming you to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Meeting rooms
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
266Reviews10Q+A29Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 63
  • 92
  • 58
  • 30
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Elina Michaelidou wrote a review Oct 2020
London, United Kingdom311 contributions99 helpful votes
Despite being satisfied with most Holiday Inn Express stays I had, this one was disappointing. The room was not very clean, as there was dust on the side tables and desk, and the carpet lacked a recent vacuum cleaning. The bathroom seemed clean but I wiped it down before using it to be on the safe side. Also, I didn't see a note in the room or in the common areas regarding the COVID-19 precautions they follow (e.g. cleaning procedures), apart from asking you to wear a mask when entering the hotel. The continental options of the breakfast were very poor, and I had only some bread with jam. The good thing is that breakfast was covered and served by a staff member, so guests don't come in contact with other's guest food.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Claire Cowlishaw, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich
Responded 19 Oct 2020
Hello Elinamic, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback about your recent stay with us. It is disappointing to read that you did not have a great stay with us and that you felt we did not have the correct Covid- 19 protocols in place. We are following the IHG Clean Promise and we have all of the correct procedures in place to keep our guests and teams safe. There is a sign on the reception desk with a list of our Covid-19 procedures. We follow the IHG Brand Standards for our Express Start Breakfast and I am sorry you felt this was poor. Your comments will be shared with all departments in the hotel. We appreciate all feedback from our valued guests and it helps us improve the service we provide. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Claire & the team.
Read more
Chris&Anthony wrote a review Oct 2020
London, United Kingdom385 contributions78 helpful votes
This is a very good HI Express, it's one of the older HI properties that I have stayed in but it is more than adequate and far from poor. The staff are excellent, coping really well with the COVID issues. Breakfast during my stay was a takeaway affair and was not very good, I was told this was changing the following day. Comfortable nights stay yet nothing exceptional to report
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Claire Cowlishaw, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich
Responded 5 Oct 2020
Hello chris-anthony-uk, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are pleased to read that you found the team excellent and that the we are coping well with Covid-19. Your comments have been shared with the team. We appreciate all feedback that we receive from our valued guests and hope to be able to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Claire Cowlishaw General Manager
Read more
Meeeeeeee wrote a review Jul 2020
Birmingham, United Kingdom1 contribution2 helpful votes
Having grown up in the hotel business I know what it is to serve and do everything you can to make your customers comfortable during their stay. I was absolutely appalled by the way I was treated during my 11 night stay. My stay was booked by a well known telecommunications company to include breakfast. Already doing difficult job during these testing times as well as being away from my family I just wanted a peaceful and easy going stay that I usually get from other hotels. Whilst I will say that the majority of the staff were pleasant enough there are definitely 1 or 2 bad apples here. If you thought that was the best who you could be for your customers, you are in the wrong job. Suffice to say the breakfast order which was a reduced meal due to Covid 19 was continuously messed up after the 5th day to a point I no longer wanted the breakfast from this hotel to avoid any hassle. Their reason for this inconsistency they said was because I hadn’t ordered the bacon bap the night before which absolutely absurd and ludicrous as all my other colleagues had only ordered once at the beginning of the stay. I felt I was victimised during my stay for some unknown reason compounded on the last morning by an a more senior lady staff member shrieking good morning repeatedly at me. The whole experience was very weird and disconcerting. We shan’t be staying here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Claire Cowlishaw, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich
Responded 15 Jul 2020
Hello unusal-suspected, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback about your recent stay with us. We were disappointed to read that you did not have a great stay with us and you were disappointed with the staff. I am sure you can appreciate, we are all working and living in very unusual and unprecedented times. Here at the hotel, we have had to change the way we operate many parts of the business and the guidelines can change on a daily basis. One of the areas that has changed is our breakfast and breakfast service and it has been very much trial and error until we found the best way to accommodate all of our guests safely. We are sorry that you found it chaotic. During your stay, we had decided to provide the same breakfast each morning but we found that a number of guests did not collect their breakfast and we changed to asking every guest in the evening for their breakfast order. This was communicated to your group and majority received their breakfast without a problem. Again, please accept our apologies for any confusion and not meeting your expectations. Kind regards Claire and the team
Read more
Loveallthingsspanish wrote a review Mar 2020
Newbury, United Kingdom430 contributions204 helpful votes
Stayed here recently while working nearby, the great thing about HIE is you know what you are going to get and it is usually good value, good friendly staff ( all of them) decent room, and a decent breakfast, with good free internet. There is a pub next door, but I tried that before and it’s all a bit fast food and deep fried for my tastes, so I strolled down to Fort Dunlop (15 mins, all pavement and lights) where I enjoyed a really nice Indian called Duet, oddly enough serving Italian food as well. Would certainly stay again, I am always amazed some people pay £60 for a double with a reasonable free breakfast then score a place 2 simply because they want the Hilton but could only afford the HIE, makes me laugh.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from ClaireC4846, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich
Responded 26 Mar 2020
Hello Loveallthingsspanish, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are pleased to read that you had a good stay with us and found the hotel good value, the team good and friendly and that you enjoyed the Express Start Breakfast. I agree with you about Duets, it is a beautiful restaurant that serves delicious Italian and Indian food. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Claire & the team
Read more
Patsy B wrote a review Mar 2020
Hampshire, United Kingdom22 contributions4 helpful votes
I have read other reviews, have to say we had ground floor rooms, ours must have triple glazing ...no noise. Staff very friendly.clean rooms, bed not comfortable to be honest, mattress did feel old..quite soft. Pillows hard. Bar did not much in the way of choice for draft beers...sad to say they ran out during our stay. (Did not like the pub next door, carpets dirty, dirty tables.) Breakfast was fine.. all staff helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: We came off the motorway and used the collector road at castle Bromwich.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from ClaireC4846, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich
Responded 26 Mar 2020
Hello 615patsyyb, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to read that you had a good stay with us and found the team helpful & friendly, and the room clean . I will check the bed in the room you stayed in, thank you for letting us know. We appreciate all feedback from our guests, it helps us improve the service that we provide. We do hope to be able to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Claire & the team
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$69 - US$100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
castle bromwich hotel birmingham, holiday inn express birmingham, birmingham holiday inn, holiday inn birmingham
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Castle Bromwich Inn
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandWest MidlandsBirmingham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
110
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich?
Nearby attractions include Castle Bromwich Hall Gardens (0.5 km), The Sentinal (Spitfire Island) (0.4 km), and Castle Vale Central Park (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich?
Conveniently located restaurants include Duet Cuisine, Manor Farm, Dining & Carvery, and Nouka.
Does Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Birmingham Back to Backs (7.8 km), Steelhouse Lane Lock-up (7.2 km), and Blakesley Hall (4.1 km).
Is Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Castle Bromwich accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.