We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (70)
Room & Suite (145)
Dining (39)
Ratings and reviews
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good27%
  • Average17%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“the pub”(99 reviews)
“great barrington”(13 reviews)
“real character”(4 reviews)
View all reviews
What's included
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed
Spa
Airport Transportation
Suites
Fitness centre
4 Star Hotel
A traditional 17th-century Inn, The Fox Inn is set in the prettiest pub setting in the Cotswolds, on the Banks of the River Windrush, just a minute from the A40. It offers a traditional pub bar with log fire as well as gorgeous riverside dining bar with wood burner. The Fox has 7...
View all hotel information
Location and contact
Great Barrington, Burford OX18 4TB, England
70.9 km to Birmingham Intl Airport
View nearby attractions and restaurants
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (392)
Filter reviews
389 results
Traveller rating
119
106
68
58
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
119
106
68
58
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubgreat barringtonreal characterbeer gardenwindrush rivergroupon dealset us up for the daychoice of cerealsfull englishmain barsunny dayevening mealreal alerelaxing staycotswold stonebeautiful roomshort break
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 389 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

The restuarant overlooking the river was a big let down and inside the pub smelt of dogs,not supprising as the owners dog sleeps anywhere he wishes.But my biggest complaint was being overcharged for my room as i was charged three separate times for the full...More

Thank colin p
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having done a long walk from the NT Sherborne estate which went past this pub we decided to head back there for lunch. It's in a very picturesque spot beside the River Windrush and with only a minor road passing by, is very quiet. Our...More

2  Thank Chris M
Reviewed 13 June 2018

What you see is what you get...great position & lovely riverside location. Would benefit from a reverse makeover, unfortunately period features have been lost by tasteless 'improvements' over the years in what is a very old pub. Not for the faint hearted but beer was...More

1  Thank george b
Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

I am not one for writing reviews, but after a groupon booking was made and was not up to expectations, I contacted the owner, hoping for an apology- who since has been hostile and rude. The booking was made by myself and my siblings for...More

5  Thank ha1987nz
Response from LordyTwizzle, Owner at The Fox InnResponded 5 June 2018

The person writing & posting this review has never stayed with us!

Reviewed 23 May 2018

Stoopedby chance,look behind tthis Inn to thelovely watersde setting.great oysters,excellent steak and kidney, top hole gins allon a lovely May day.we were tere for lunch and checkedthe rack rateon line later which seemed a bit pricey. However lunch on a sunny day or dinneron awarm...More

Thank Peter W
View more reviews
About
Description
A traditional 17th-century Inn, The Fox Inn is set in the prettiest pub setting in the Cotswolds, on the Banks of the River Windrush, just a minute from the A40. It offers a traditional pub bar with log fire as ...More well as gorgeous riverside dining bar with wood burner. The Fox has 7 en-suite letting rooms, 3 pub rooms and 4 Riverside Mews Rooms which have been completely renovated, to create 4 fabulous individual rooms including a Large Bridal Mews Room. Each room comes with exclusive fishing rights for a private area of the river (free Wi-Fi and free private parking). Guests at the Fox Inn can enjoy accommodation with breakfast included with locally-sourced, home-cooked food and real ales. There is an eating area in the bar, a riverside dining bar, and an outdoor riverside heated patio. Just 4 miles from Burford, the Inn is set in the heart of the Cotswolds. It is only 5-10 miles away from Burford, Bourton-on-the-Water and Stow-on-the-Wold. Oxford, Cheltenham and Stratford-upon-Avon are all just a 40-minute drive away. Less
Hotel class
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Pool
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Beachfront
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (70)
Room & Suite (145)
Dining (39)
Pool & Beach (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Richard B
17 March 2015|
Answer
Response from LordyTwizzle | Property representative |
Dear Richard, We have several hairdryers available for guests, just ask when you check in, and we will put one in your room. Many thanks for you enquiry. Kind regards, Mel Simpson
0
Votes
Cath E
24 January 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from LordyTwizzle | Property representative |
Dear Cath, Many thanks for your enquiry, we have the fishing rights for the whole stretch of the river that runs through our garden, only sections of it are suitable for fishing, due to trees etc, but there is plenty of... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Rooms exceptionally nice for an 'inn'. Pleasantly surprised by the high standard."
Read review
"Try to get a room that overlooks the river."
Read review
"Great Views and Good Size Room - on the Upper Level."
Read review
"Dogs allowed in some rooms"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing