We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Angel at Burford

Save
Traveller (48)
Room & Suite (2)
Dining (1)
Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good27%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“the pub”(36 reviews)
“high street”(25 reviews)
“warm welcome”(21 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed
Free Parking
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (330)
Filter reviews
326 results
Traveller rating
198
89
26
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
198
89
26
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubhigh streetwarm welcomequiet side streetlovely placelovely mealroaring fireovernight stayporkbooked a tablefish and chipsyorkshire puddingcourse mealfree car parkfollowing morningscallopsfood was fantastic
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 326 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

A historic B&B in a historic pastoral town. The staff was very nice and friendly. Pub is a locals favorite. You'll have good conversations and feel welcome. The food was farm fresh and healthy. The room was spacious and quiet. You won't be disappointed.

Thank Chuck S
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This picturesque little inn/pub/restaurant shows its age - mostly for the best. Lots of character and Tudor bits everywhere. The room, though small, was comfortable and had a lovely view of other olde houses. Bathroom was small but fine. The carpets, however, were filthy, and...More

Thank Ruhu61
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Angel for one night to celebrate our anniversary. When researching, I spotted the offer of Dinner, Bed and Breakfast for a set price. I enquired what dinner consisted of and was advised that we could choose any two courses from the...More

Thank eag387
Reviewed 3 April 2018

So we brought a voucher from Travelzoo as we are local and this place seemed to have very good reviews. £35 for a two course meal, a bargain right? Well unfortunately not. Having tried to book a few times without success as their voucher allocation...More

Thank Odie1kenobe
Response from Gemma F, Owner at The Angel at BurfordResponded 26 April 2018

Thank you for your review and we apologise sincerely for any shortfalls you may have experienced. We did have an extremely busy bank holiday this year, in fact our busiest ever, and it did deplete our menu somewhat - with four days of no deliveries,...More

Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

Visited the Angel last week for an evening meal with friends and we had a great time. Lovely cosy atmosphere inside and good food. I went for the fish and chips which was very good, and the chocolate fondant for dessert - little disappointed with...More

Thank Libby A
View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$140 - US$171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$140 - US$171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (48)
Room & Suite (2)
Dining (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
cbeilby
17 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Trevor G | Reviewed this property |
No, off street parking is difficult. But there is a very big car park very close to the Angel which is free to park and about 5 minutes to walk.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Go for rear room."
Read review
"avoid back room above the kitchen!"
Read review
"Room at the top of the cottage in the back costs a bit more, but it was spacious and excellent."
Read review
"Never stayed sorry."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing