Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Lancaster Gate Hotel

Traveller (808)
Panorama at the Lancaster Gate Hotel
360
Panoramas (9)
1 queen and a twin bed
Room & Suite (475)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sun, 28 Apr
$312
Fully refundable before Sun, 28 Apr
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
$375
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#605 of 1,131 hotels in London
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Lancaster Gate Hotel is located across from Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens and is a short stroll away from Portobello Market, The Albert Memorial, Albert Hall, Marble Arch and Oxford Street. The hotel has 196 rooms with modern amenities and special facilities for business travellers and families. Our Serpentine Restaurant & Bar offers international dining options as well as our popular breakfast buffet. We also provide 2 meeting rooms for small-scale business meetings, conferencing and events.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 1 more

Location

66 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NA England
2,913Reviews95Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 576
  • 1,339
  • 675
  • 196
  • 128
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
mseichi wrote a review Feb 2020
Phoenix, Arizona102 contributions68 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The travel company we booked our trip through had us at this hotel, and I think this place was great. Coming from the US, and knowing rooms in Europe are a lot smaller (from previous trips to other countries) I didn’t count that against the hotel since it was expected. Our room was clean, the staff was friendly and attentive, and the breakfast was well stocked and staffed with very attentive personnel that was quick in getting things cleared, so even looking at a full crowded restaurant area, you never thought anything was slow. The location was great since there was Hyde park right across the street and bus and underground tube stations nearby. There was a good selection of pubs and restaurants within walking distance, and even at night, it never felt sketchy in that neighborhood. All in all, a good place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Linda M, General Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel
Responded 19 Feb 2020
Dear mseichi, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Ihope you will consider staying with us again when you are next in London.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tsyxoulaki wrote a review Jan 2020
Athens162 contributions74 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
It was a very good hotel and in a very good location,just 5 minutes from Lancaster gate underground. The room was very clean and warm. Though it is a quite neighborhood, the noise from the other rooms of the hotel is disturbing. The mattress needs to be changed ,it was the most terrible mattress I have ever slept. It caused me back pain and sore muscles. The second thing I didn't like was the breakfast. For 12 pounds it was that poor that i thought i had been cheated. Do the reservation without breakfast, there are many places near that provide breakfast in half the price. Fox these problems gentlemen and your hotel will always get 5 stars reviews
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Linda M, General Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel
Responded 4 Jan 2020
Dear tsyxoulaki, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and I am sorry you were disappointed with the mattress. We have replaced all the mattresses in the hotel in the last 18 months and I am sorry to hear that you did not like the new firmer mattress. I am equally disappointed that you did not feel our breakfast was value for money as we usually receive compliments for the array of food in our hot and cold breakfast buffet and we feel it is good value for a hotel in our neighbourhood. Sorry not many gentlemen in our management - mostly women. Thank you again for your invaluable feedback.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Loulabelle87 wrote a review Aug 2021
Essex55 contributions39 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel was very clean, our room was spotless. The hotel is in a great location right by Hyde Park with a 5 minute walk to the tube station.

I would definitely recommend the hotel investing in bigger beds as we found the double bed very small and the room was hot even with the air conditioning on.

The hotel provided free shower gels, soap and shampoo as well as tea and coffee. I would definitely stay again if I was coming to this part of London.

There’s a lovely pub just round the corner called The Leinster Arms which is well worth a visit.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Linda McMillan, General Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel
Responded 8 Aug 2021
Dear Loulabelle87, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you will consider staying with us again when you are next in London.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Millie Boyce wrote a review Oct 2020
3 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I am currently a guest at Lancaster Gate Hotel and felt compelled to write a review due to the fabulous service I’ve received.

I initially booked a one night stay after a nearby hotel (Central Park Hotel) was so completely disgusting and scary that I decided I couldn’t sleep there and needed to book elsewhere.

Luckily I found this place, on the charming Lancaster Gate road and only £10 more expensive than the house of horrors I was escaping. I checked in early at 12pm which proved no trouble at all, and with no extra charge that sometimes comes with this service. It was quick, the receptionist was lovely; very polite and friendly. I was given a PPE pack which was a nice touch. The hotel is decorated in a more traditional style which personally I love as it feels more luxurious than modern decor to me. The corridors are smart and well maintained and I didn’t have the feeling of dread opening my door that I did in the flea pit I’d just left.

My room is absolutely beautiful. It features a double bed with 2 bedside tables, a coffee table with 2 arm chairs, a large desk with a TV, a trouser press, an ample wardrobe and a great sized bathroom complete with a bath (rarely seen in hotels of this price point, in my experience). It honestly reminds me of a room I’ve stayed in at the Marriott. The decor is tasteful and the furniture all matching, glass topped and of good quality. Everything is spotlessly clean and the lights are all in a convenient place giving a very cosy feel.

This morning I awoke after drinking a few too many Brandies with a friend and decided that rather than rushing home I would stay another night. I went down to organise this with reception, and the angel at the desk whispered to me that the rates were cheaper online than what they could offer and so to return to my room, make the reservation, and to call down via telephone once I’d done so. Just such a kind gesture to save me a few pounds and so so appreciated.

I’ve not long returned back to the hotel after a whole day out and a lovely receptionist commented “ahh Miss Boyce we were just talking about you, wondering if you were safe as it’s getting late”. As a young solo female guest I can’t explain how endearing a comment like this is, and thank you so much for making me feel looked after.

I have stayed in 5 star hotels at £500/night that don’t have the comfort and customer service of this hotel, and likewise have stayed in dirty gross dives for £80+/night. This hotel is exceptional. I will be back at the earliest opportunity. Thanks again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Linda McMillan, General Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel
Responded 13 Oct 2020
Dear Millie B, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is such a pleasure to receive a review like yours and I will ensure that it is forwarded to all our staff so they can see that their hard work is appreciated. We will be delighted to welcome you back when you are next in London.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CalleF wrote a review Feb 2020
Helsinki, Finland158 contributions33 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Lancaster Gate Hotel strikes a good balance between quality, location and price. The hotel is located in a calm neighborhood a longer but doble walking distance from Paddington and 7 minutes from the Lancaster Gate Tube station. The reception and bar area are nice. The rooms are of fairly good size (by London's standards at least) and while a bit "old fashioned" the room 1011 was in good shape, not worn or run down, minus the carpet that was stained. The bathroom is large and well appointed. The only clear minus or problem is the noise as some other reviewers report here: voices and steps in the corridor are easily heard into the room. The real shocker is the level of noise when someone is taking a shower in the next room: it carries through astonishingly well, enough to wake you up. You can also listen in on louder conversations through the walls. Summarized, with very friendly and professional service the hotel gives an overall feeling of a fresh and well run no-frills 3 star hotel. But do stay away if you are easily bothered by noise from the hallway or the adjacent rooms. I rate this a "Very good" because overall the experience was very positive for a hotel in this price point.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: 1011 was quite adequate, facing inner courtyard, but beware of noise leaking trough the walls
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Linda M, General Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel
Responded 9 Feb 2020
Dear TjalleF, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and I glad you were generally pleased with your stay. I have taken note of all the comments made and we will use these to try and improve our service going forward. Thank you again for your invaluable feedback.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
marilyn20_13 wrote a review Feb 2020
Sydney, Australia9 contributions6 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is in a great location; within one minute walk to Hyde Park and a couple of minutes to Queensway station as well as a bus stop which takes you into Piccadilly.
Only recommendation is if you are given a room in the basement (which is a whole floor of rooms) ask to be moved to another level. Was originally placed in a room in the basement and after 1 hour of being there asked to move to another which they happily did. The basement room had no natural light, only a radiator to heat the room (which was cold and did not warm the room up), the shower was either extremely cold or extremely hot and the TV did not work. When moved into a room on the upper levels, the heating was central which was great as you could control the heat level, shower worked and there was natural light- just had a much more lovely feel.
Room is also very very small, where your suitcase just fits on the floor but takes up the whole floor space. So if you are an international traveler with big suitcases and carry on you will be pushed for space.
Overall though the hotel was welcoming, staff are friendly and the breakfast was fresh with a great range to select from.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Linda M, General Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel
Responded 11 Feb 2020
Dear marilyn20-13 Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and I am delighted you enjoyed our location. All of your comments are very appreciated and will be used to improve our customer service. Thank you again for your invaluable feedback.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MaloneFrank. wrote a review Apr 2021
Bristol, United Kingdom118 contributions74 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great hotel for short stays where you are not looking to spend too much time in the room and mostly out and about. The room was clean and good size. The bathroom was good size also, compared to some of the other hotels I have stayed at in and around the same area. Ofcourse the location is absolutely ideal; right next to Hyde Park, Queensway and Lancaster gate tube stations also only a 5-6 minutes walk away. Staff was very helpful. COVID measures in place were good without being overbearing. This was my second time staying in last two months and would happily stay again on my next trip
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MariaTips wrote a review Aug 2021
Dresden, Germany155 contributions97 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is located near Bayswater and Queensway metro stations, in a very nice neighborhood close to the city center, and the ladies in the housekeeping are extremely polite and helpful and the rooms were pretty clean, and that's it.
The rooms need definitely renovation, the shower was super uncomfortable, and I am not quite sure if it is due to the covid restrictions, but when we asked for cutlery, the reception replied that if we wanted we could only have one fork and a knife and we had to go to the reception to take them or there was an extra charge of 2 pounds as room service. WIFI is just ridiculous. If you want to do some home office, then you have to pay for a decent wifi connection, which is 3pounds per day. I am not sure if I am going to visit it again. There are plenty of other hotels in the same area, which I have stayed in before and were much better.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter M wrote a review May 2021
Taunton, United Kingdom134 contributions65 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice friendly check in at reception. Room was a good size for a few days stay but there were a couple of issues . The shower sprung a leak which was reported to reception and fixed with a new unit immediately so no complaints there . The double bed was in fact two singles fixed together but unfortunately they were not level and the mattress was lumpy in parts and not the most comfortable. Breakfast was very good and nice and hot but can somebody please go round cleaning up spilt food from the floor . All in all a good stay and we will definitely return . All the staff from every department was very friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Linda McMillan, General Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel
Responded 23 Jun 2021
Dear Peter M, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and I am delight you enjoyed your stay with us. All of your comments are appreciated and we will look into all the items raised. Thank you again for your invaluable feedback.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ali wrote a review Sept 2020
17 contributions10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here with my daughter for the weekend in a twin room. The hotel is in a really good spot with Hyde park just across the road. We were able to check in early as our room was ready which was good as we could leave our cases in our room. We were given a COVID pack on check in which had a mask, gloves and a wipe which was a nice touch. The room was clean enough I felt comfortable walking round bare feet (which I don’t always do at home!) The lady in the restaurant with blonde hair was so friendly and helpful, I wish I had caught her name to give her a mention. Downsides: my pillow was rock hard and We only got one each (single bed) with hindsight I should have called reception to ask for another. I couldn’t sleep well because of this. We had to pay a fee to leave our luggage in the luggage room after check out so we could make another day of it in London, which I didn’t expect. Also I left an item in my room and ended up paying £11.70 to have it returned- £6.70 next day delivery and a £5 admin fee. Thought the admin was a bit steep. However, I would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Linda McMillan, General Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel
Responded 29 Sept 2020
Dear alikerr82, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. All of your comments will be used to help us in improving our hotel and service and for this we are grateful. Thank you again for your invaluable feedback.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ola Geir S asked a question Nov 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Hi is this the old Charles Dickens Hotel? 1998 thanks in advance .
Answer from glorybee693
Yeovil, United Kingdom31 contributions3 helpful votes
I'm afraid I don't know, sorry not more helpful
Answer from Phyllrab
Scotland32 contributions46 helpful votes
We never used the restaurant but I think is open in the evening.
Rosemary W asked a question Jul 2020
Norwich 4 contributions13 helpful votes
What time is breakfast
Answer from SHECheshire
Cheshire57 contributions51 helpful votes
Not sure when it starts-very early I think. We ate around 9am when it wasn’t too busy- finishes around 10am
Rosemary W asked a question Jul 2020
Norwich 4 contributions13 helpful votes
What time is,breafast
Answer from Sightseer593648
North Vancouver, Canada20 contributions44 helpful votes
Pre-virus breakfast was served buffet style and was available all morning. I suggest checking with the hotel for a current update.
hughesieUk wrote a tip 8 Apr
uk19 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go elsewhere for breakfast"
Read full review
martin592017 wrote a tip Mar 2024
London, United Kingdom25 contributions21 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you want a nice drink use The Swan two minutes away!"
Read full review
Climber753715 wrote a tip Mar 2024
5 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t bother"
Read full review
Trippersx2 wrote a tip Dec 2023
Market Drayton, Shropshire131 contributions63 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms at the front have better views."
Read full review
Mark K wrote a tip Dec 2023
Kilbarchan, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Refuse any room at the rear of the hotel as you won't get a good nights sleep without ear defenders!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the London area.
PRICE RANGE
$214 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
park inn london, park inn hyde park
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
196
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LANCASTER GATE HOTEL - Now $248 (Was $̶3̶2̶8̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (London, England) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Lancaster Gate Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Lancaster Gate Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Italian Gardens (0.5 km), The Magic Hour (0.3 km), and Bayswater (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Lancaster Gate Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Lancaster Gate Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Lancaster Gate Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Lancaster Gate Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lancaster Gate Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chamuyo Bayswater, Bella Italia, and Nipa Thai Restaurant.
Are any cleaning services offered at Lancaster Gate Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Lancaster Gate Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Lancaster Gate Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Lancaster Gate Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Italian, and Russian.
Are there any historical sites close to Lancaster Gate Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Houses of Parliament (4.2 km), Tower of London (7.3 km), and Churchill War Rooms (3.8 km).
All London HotelsLondon Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LondonHotels near Lancaster Gate Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire